Rent Evolution Worlds for GC
view large frontback

Evolution Worlds

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.6

260 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME GAME!!! Play it as soon as possible!!!

posted by rpger19 (ARLINGTON, WA) Oct 14, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's been too long since I've played this game, so this review will be rather short compared to other reviews I've done.

First of all, ALL of the characters are cool in their own way. Secondly, the characters are all pretty likeable. Third, the battle system is great. The moves are cool, the story's amazing, the gameplay is awesome. There are lots of extra's. The voice acting is great too! This is an HUGE improvement over the Dreamcast version, because it adds on a whole new story arch at the normal point that it ends! This game is just that great! Now, there are things about it which are negative, but, seeing as I haven't played this game in SUCH a long time, I can't really think of them. Except, that I think the dungeons can get tedious...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Evolution Worlds

posted by wolfie1377 (LAYTON, UT) Aug 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i was okay with this game, i didn't hate it, but i was more going through the motions then getting into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Goods?Bads?

posted by Gcubedude (CARLISLE, PA) Jun 26, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game needs something they didn't have when this game was made in 02: GRAPHICS. I could care less about that, but that would make me change my rating =D. However, the atmosphere, details really made me think that this would start off and go throughout the game well. In my opinion, I was way off. It did catch my attention at first, but once I figured out that it's turn-based, blah. I mean, with turn-based, they attack you, and you just stand there lol. I kept dying and dying lol. I'm stressing myself not to give any spoilers, so I'll stop right here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is the worst game i have ever played

posted by tacojuice (SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

This game was the worst game i have ever played and i think always will be. Do not rent this game unless you want your head to explode!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Evolution Worlds Review

posted by luffy (COS COB, CT) May 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Personally I got annoyed by it's length without breaks because I don't want to spend money on something that allows us to keep on going later. But the looks and reality are not so bad. The worst part is you can't change how you look on screen a big complaint from me because seeing your guy act like an idiot when your not controlling him is bad enough but the that can't dress snappily what so ever. Equipment like cyframes why can't we find or buy them Liniar runs down too she cant only have a terrible Frying pan with only one better option that if you use chain or pepper you'll barely be able to afford.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The originals were better, but still welcome

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

A combination of the two Evolution games from the Dreamcast. Both were good games, even though they were dungeon crawlers for it's time. I am glad they compiled it and bought it first chance I got. The main difference about this game is that they tie the two stories together by cutting some of the middle levels out so that by the end of the game, you are about the same level you would of been had you only played one of the two games. I guess they figured the average person would grow bored if they grinded enough XP for two whole games. I honestly don't remember if they cut out the scenes that happened between the cut levels as it has been so long since I played the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Childhood Nostalgia!

posted by iBOCK09 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game is a very entertaining RPG for the Gamecube. Originally a 2-game installment for the Dreamcast, both games are combined into one giant 40+-hour dungeon-crawling RPG game. The characters are unique, the weapons are unlike any others you'll see in any other game, and the monsters are eccentric and whimsical in design.

This was the first RPG I had played in the Nintendo Gamecube, and it's definitely one of the best. E.S.P really did an amazing job with this RPG, however I do feel like a couple of small things were missing, maybe there should've been more dungeons or a little more content, but there just seems to be something a bit off when I played it.

Otherwise, this game is very enjoyable, and it brings back memories of my childhood when I played it for hours on end. Definitely add this to your GameQ, and be patient, because it's actually really rare to find/get in stores and even online.

Evolution Worlds is a sleeper hit in every sense of the word.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

:)

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

I have a very good family memory associated with this game. That is why i like it so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Weirdo's going on an adventure.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

....What is the point? All you do is level up, talk about the past, meeting weirdo's, (the annoying little boy) and playing music to dead flowers. The two main characters Mag and Liner are such weirdos! Mag is way annoying by saying things like.."Hey! I see a bird flying in the sky!" and "Grey, don't bring that up!" and "LETS GO! I'M SICK OF WAITING!" Liner dosen't talk, but she is nice. (She's so weird!) Actully ALL the characters are weird! For example Grey. He is the most annoying person in the game! He says things like "DON'T GET YOUR CLOTHES DIRTY MAG!" and "Liner can heal dead flowers." even "WHAT!?!?!?! YOU LOST YOUR CYFRAME?!?!?" I think Grey is super annoying! We can't forget Chain. She is way too annoying she's always loud! Someone who is really a weirdo is Pepper! I hate her! Anyway, I can't stand ANY of the characters. Or the music or the story! So please don't join these weirdos on they're adventure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

All I Wanted Was Turn-Based, and I got It.

posted by TheApester (MCGREGOR, TX) Dec 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

So far, I had played about, oh say three-four real-time RPGs, when I made the decision to obtain Evolution Worlds (as a rental). It's pro was that the game was written in turn-based format, which was what I was quenching as of then. Well, Evolution Worlds delivered what I wanted, and JUST what I wanted. In a negative way. When I purchase games, I'd like to have the DVD case, the well-conditioned disc, an instruction manual for assistment,and maybe some flairs and goodies, especially if the game is from a big-name company. But, RPG-wise, Evolution Worlds sorta gave me just the disc.The story could be described as game-fodder; you can pay mind to it, even if it's unnessecary. It caught my eye for at least a week, but not the protagonist. Look, I know the story is something to sneeze at when the protagonist, if a boy, seems attractive, even if he's not.
I was highly relieved by its nostalgic genre, but then it was just cheesy. You have attacking, skilling, talenting,moving, items,defense, and escaping. Basic. But it's what you must do that tuned me out. You trek through a dungeon to the highest point and then fight the boss. Then you go through twenty minute-long cutscenes, and then you can get back to controlling him again.
I just saw the Dreamcast version's graphics, and, frankly, I'd prefer cel-shaded over three-diemension this time around.Music? Not very orchestrated.
However, Evolution Worlds hosts the good flavor of quality at times, and it'd taste like Final Fantasy or Dark Cloud in some cases. If you'd like to experience that turn-based flavor on the GameCube without playing a game related to Square Enix, then it'd be best to view this.
But, then again, why would you spend some time on this when you could steal looks at famous games like Dragon Quest VIII, Final Fantasy X, Kingdom Hearts II, and other sure-fire RPG classics?
And if you wanna stick to the GC's RPGs, why not Tales of Symphonia or Skies of Arcadia?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A really bad remake..

posted by MinaOasas (EL RENO, OK) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I thought this was a really bad remake of the first Evolution game. Didn't like the voice overs. Didn't like how they changed the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »