Rent Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan for 3DS
view large frontback

Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

158 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you liked EOIII you'll love this one.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Mar 14, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

There are at least 4 overland areas to explore with at least 3 dungeons in each, some big, some small. The overland maps have various "boss" monsters as do the dungeons. You use the things you find in your explorations to create new equipment for both your characters and your skyship. As your skyship is upgraded you can reach new heights and explore previously unreachable areas. I agree with another reviewer that the graphics aren't up to the 3ds standards, but they are way better than psone and a definite improvement over previous installments in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good retro dungeon crawler, but doesnt utilize 3ds

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Etrian Odyssey is an Atlus series that mimics the classic dungeon first person RPGs of the 80s (Wizardry, Bards Tale, Eye of the Beholder). This version is for the 3DS and has some new features to the series.

Positives: Retro style dungeon crawler for those who love to grind, deep gameplay and character building, lots of enemies and dungeons, lots of secrets and areas, making your own maps is oddly addicting, new Casual setting is good for newcomers

Negatives: Lousy graphics (Playstation 1 quality), total lack of voice, weak sound effects, poor 3d implementation, no story, characters have no personality, too much reliance on text descriptions

Summary: This feels like a regular DS game that was quickly slapped onto the 3ds. Lousy visuals, the 3DS is capable of much better. Still, this is a great game for those who grew up with the old style dungeon crawlers. There is a lot to see and do, you will be able to grind all you want. I enjoyed building up my party and going into the dungeons and making my own maps. The new airship travel is kind of lame, but does add a little bit of variety.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoy Making Maps with This

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

This is the first entry in the series I've played, and it was absolutely worth trying. Map making wasn't my favorite part, but exploring the dungeons, finding treasures, and completing objectives is just so satisfying. I seriously recommend this, even if you're not a hardcore RPG player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Very Good Game

posted by R0b0 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game was very, very good. It had all the things you want in an RPG. It gives you many choices on weither you want to be kind, weither you want to be cruel, or even if you want be the snide sarcastic type of character. You have the coice to do so, quite funny too.

Another cool aspect is the exploration. You draw your own maps! I loved this tool! If you can't get something in a dungeon with your current equipment, you just mark your map and come back later. It was beautiful... :') I don't want to give too much away, but for every map you get past, later on, you can come back and there will be new missions in each one.

The draw back is that if you don't have a lot of time on your hands, this game can take FOREVER!!! I played for about a month, and only got through a quarter of the game in that time... You can look at that as good or bad if you want, it's just a lot of gameplay.

So, I hope this was helpful. Either way, enjoy yourselves future adventurers. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »