Rent Eternal Sonata for PS3
view large frontback

Eternal Sonata

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

2382 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good game, but...

posted by MKulka31 (GREENSBURG, PA) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

36 out of 41 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I really enjoy Eternal Sonata and am currently still in the process of playing it. 26 hours into the game and I'm still highly involved and interested in what Namco has put out in Eternal Sonata. While sometimes the storyline drifts off into ways that doesn't seem like it should, it's a fairly easy storyline to follow. I also enjoy the way to conduct battle with the "Action Bar" giving you a set amount of time to act. It starts off easy to ease you into the battle sequences, then progressively gets more and more challenging. If you enjoy Final Fantasy-esque type games, then you should have a good time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PS3's First True RPG doesn't disappoint.

posted by Twilight43 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Ok, I'm only like 5-6 hours into the game and I love it. The characters are unique in their own way. The story is different from any RPG that I've played. In a good way. Battle system is a great mix between turn-based and real-time.

Story: Pianist and Composer Frédéric Chopin is on his deathbed and has a BEAUTIFUL dream of a world where people with fatal illnesses have magic powers. A group of unique characters(all for their own reason) travel to Forte Castle to speak to Count Waltz. I won't ruin anything for you but lets just say the story does have some good plot twist.

Characters: From Allegretto to polka or beat,march salsa even Chopin himself, all are unique and play there own roles in the story. Game would feel like it was missing something if any of the characters were missing.

Sound: Beautiful scores from Chopin himself and other composers. great music. one word to describe it: Beautiful.

Gameplay: Batte system never gets old. great skills to unlock. Unique mixture of tactical turn base and real-time battleing. Watch gameplay on myspace to see what I mean.

Overall: Wether you played it on the 360 or new to the game completely. this is not a rpg you wanna miss. Rent it, Buy it just don't pass this game up.

Replay value is great( I hear) near side quest unlock as well as harder difficultity.

All-In-All----Play this Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Abit Confused By Previous Reviews

posted by KiTtiAK (VAN NUYS, CA) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

It Feels As Though Many People Are Playing This Expecting It To Be Final Fantasy, When, In Reality, It Is Very Different, And (Compared To FFX-FFXII And A Few Other Choice FF Titles) Is Much Better!.

The Gameplay Is Excellent
The Battle System Is Refreshing And Very Easy To Understand, And As You Progress Through The Game, Gets More Challenging, Which Is Always Fun.
This Game Also Has The Ability To Accommodate Two More Players (3 In Total) So That Each Person Can Take Over As One Of The Playable Characters In Battle.
(Haven't Tried This Yet, But I Am Very Interested And Will Edit This After I Do.)
The Story Line Is Interesting And Hasn't Gotten Old Yet (I Am 14 Hours Into The Game And Only On Chapter 3)
The Graphics Are Warm And Not Overdone
I Love The Score (I Think Mainly Chopin)
Each Character Is Great And Unique In Their Own Ways

All In All
A Great, Fun Play
Definatly Has Replay-ablility
Great Job Namco

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than 360

posted by Moginabox (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

This is one of my favorite RPGs from the 360, and when it came out on PS3 with more things to do, I was extremely happy, and never disappointed!

This game isn't for everyone, but it contains a solid story. People might find it dumb or silly, but the gameplay, music and graphics make up for it.

Music: 9:
Graphics: 8
Gameplay:9
Story 9
Overall: 10

I gave it a 10 for the extra content included in it that the 360 didn't have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, may get you fustrated

posted by arumat (DAHLGREN, VA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pros:
- You get to use over 9 characters (on ps3)
- This game is some what challenging.
- It's better than ff13
- You can skip videos

Cons:
- You need to press circle button at right time to block some damage, if you don't, you will get game overs a lot and will never beat the game.
- Before you start, you NEED to use a walk through, well unless you like wasting a lot of time roaming around and not knowing what to do next. (as well as skipping a lot of treasures and events) (it is straight forward at first, but get's puzzling later on)
- Character betrayal (see spoilers for more detail)
- The main character is too magically girly
- When they show real life pictures with a person narrating...SKIP IT... it's a history lesson that is boring and not important to the game.

--------------------------------------------
SPOILERS!!!!

Warning, do not read what is next unless you really want too... it's not my fault if you look.

Do not use the characters:

Chopin, Claves, crescendo and serenade if you do not need to. They all are temporary characters and will not help you with the final boss.

EVEN WORSE SPOILER!!!!!!!!!!!

I extremely do not want you to read this part....

7579879867549799676008708663
8608967868963989072487324556
6886chopin is last boss785978594
7978594373956785784986784987
6888claves is traitor and dies7958
7354674567784934758423494968
7087serenade is spy and leaves96
4689068607079097889608870000
799crescendo leaves party forever
5465978909754971959578680859
7367557564678057597678079568

remove numbers to see message.
safe guard for people who don't like spoilers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An RPG just barely

posted by MetalmanDT (BEAR, DE) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The landscapes and presentation of this game are good. However, there are too many downfalls to this game to qualify it as good.

The Story: Very, very un-engaging. Maybe when this game was one of the first RPG's on the market for PS3 people had low expectations and wanted to get their hands on anything related to that genre but, terrible....just terrible. The dialogue is annoying at times. Beat, really?? Do you have to question everything in such a simplistic 5-year old vocabulary???

The Graphics: Great for what they were set out to be. The world itself was beautiful. Music complemented the theme that was intended

The Gameplay: Good for about the first 6 hours. After that you start to get the itch for more of the RPG aspect. New weapons, new armor, and new skills are extremely scarce in this game. The strong point is that the skills are cool to watch in battle. Otherwise, armor and weapons make NO difference to the characters' appearances, but only attack and defense powers, which are all useless due to the fact that there are absolutely no variation in enemies in a given point of the game. All of this does not qualify as an RPG in my opinion.

A good attempt, but not a game worth playing for the hardcore RPG fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

though beautifully created still a weak game

posted by johnnyme95 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game at first seems quite fun, but soon ends up becoming quite tedious to get through. I gave it a fair chance and played for six hours and got to chapter 3. The game creators worked hard on developing a beautiful landscape and did a great job, but forgot to make the game actually fun. The game has lots of mazes that need to be gone through where there are lots of battles that eventually become a task to get through. The storyline is childish and weak. It seems like that every character says the same thing, which makes the cut scenes annoying because you keep telling yourself that the other dude just said the exact same thing. The leveling up system is as simple as can be and is just as linear as the game itself. you get experience and level up. the only thing that you have to look forward to is if maybe you get a new ability. I made it to level twenty and only got about four. the weapons simplistic and you either find them in chests or you buy them. If you are interested in Chopin then you will get to see the history of his life as cut scenes in between chapters. As a game as a whole it has been done poorly but i still give it a five because the beauty of the anime. One other thing. it gets quite annoying that you can't change the camera angles. I would not recommend this game to more mature players because the story and gameplay most likely will quite annoy you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could have been a better game

posted by Triplesix (MONTEREY, CA) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I expected long, drawn out cut-scenes since this is an anime rpg. I was glad to see I could skip them if I wanted to. After the first few hours, I started skipping the cut-scenes that I hadn't seen yet because the storyline was becoming like work to watch. I tend to like games of this genre that are linear where I just bash monsters and level up as I go. They entertain me and I usually play them once and send them back. Other posters compared this game to Final Fantasy but I think it was more like Fable. What turned me off and made me send the game back was the obnoxious battle system. I like turn based combat, but the mashing of the O button to defend made me feel like I was playing Dance Dance Revolution or Whac-a-mole. I won't play this game again but I would recommend it for anyone who wants to endlessly tap a button at precisely the right time over and over again, during every combat encounter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally!!!!!!!

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Finally a decent RPG for PS3!!!!!! This is a different story than usual, cute little characters dealing with terminal illnesses, and the meaning of death. But this is a very good game that for any fan of RPG is worth renting let alone can hold it's own as a worth while buy. If your even considering renting it, you'll probably make a good decision in regard to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful.

posted by GreyFox (EAST WINDSOR, NJ) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of 10 minute cinematics for every 1 minute of game play, this game is for you! Kidding aside, this game would have 10 minute "video's" that could have been easily summarized into about 30 second video's, long pauses, unneeded camera turns, and exceedingly unneeded dialogue to explain the most mundane things. The game was far too japanized, and makes chopin look like a tiny little asian boy. Turn based action that of FF7, so basically you walk a few steps, load into a battle, do the same old spamming of a button, kill it, victory dance, load out, walk some more, rinse and repeat and the occasional 10 minute cinematic that explains absolutely nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its okay I suppose

posted by Zennshi (AUGUSTA, GA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To me a good RPG is not what this game was. Then again I am sorry to say that the Final Fantasy series spoiled what patience I have for cut scenes. But honestly something this cutest merits an entirely new category of RPG, like BRPG because I hate to say it but you have to watch at least half an hour of cut scenes before going into a fight.

The fighting system looks a lot like a mix of Valkyria Chronicles and Grandia, which worked out A W E S O M E. But I realized how unmanly I felt as I was playing a little Swedish girl bludgeoning a tiny watermelon monster with an umbrella... Then after I shook that off and said to myself "Once I get to the main hero I will surely feel more manly as he will probably be using a sword the size of a car", only to find it was an equally homoerotic looking male using a tiny sword (lol compensation joke here) with a little brother in a dress (not kidding) as a side kick (who uses a very manly warspike with a freaking GUN in it). I soon realized that this is a classic example of what Yahtzee describes JRPGs being. This is a game meant for an extremely cute animal loving crowd, even if you end up beating said animals to death.

Oh and the other hero that I played before starting to feel the cooties being transmitted into my brain, was a dude in a top hat and suit smacking things with a very very small (lol another compensation joke here) stick. I think that says a lot about the dudes who play the game... and like it.

T for teen is right, under 15 for males, and 13 for females.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

3 Things

posted by jonesey (JEFFERSON CITY, MO) May 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OK, so this game was really average at best. I hold my RPG's to a high standard and there are three qualities which I look for.
1. Compelling Storyling: Well the story got off to a slow start and was far from compelling, however it gets a plus in this category because it's so darn deep. I mean this is about existence, life and it's inherant meaning and how one should experience it. Doesn't get any deeper than that. For that reason alone I have to give it a plus is this category.
2. Gameplay: I find standard turn based a little boring, this mixes it upa little with a turn meter that forces you to make the most of your moves and stay alert as good timing goes a long way. But as most recent RPG's have shown, no one has got it quite right yet. I mean, I'd like to be able to strategize and not be rushed, however I don't want to be playing a dressed up version of Parappa the Rappa, hitting buttons in time for the whole game. Really, no plus in this category for me.
3. Graphics: Graphics are not great, but the artwork is amazing. Definitely some creative minds at work but I was hoping for more from the PS3 than just stunning sut away scences and standard gameplay graphics. On the Fence with this one, so I'll just give it a 6 which I think describes it perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Maybe a bit Nonsensical

posted by AdamPeck (EDEN PRAIRIE, MN) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was good, it had many of my favorite types of combat, the enemies are clearly represented on screen, instead of the route final fantasy took with random encounters. And its a controlled area with free motion, which really gives you tactical room to maneuver. The characters are waaaaay to cheesy, they lacked much personality and never spoke there age. Face it a 14 year old boy would be cussing his fanny off. And wouldn't it be great to have a awesome fight scene SOMEWHERE?? This game feeds the urge for a RPG well, but it also kinda ticks you off. The battles can be a little cheap, and you will be forced to grind for a while. And its to short to really keep you going for to long. There seems to be a lack of conflict through this game as well, there really doesn't seem to be anything that you really need to do. The main conflict is the entire world around you, but your not involved in that at all. I give this game an 8, its good but it could be great, had it just grown up just a little.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Eternal Sonata hits a flat note.

posted by Jio430 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game was not very good. The FMVs are very confusing and the game does not draw you in. It feels more like a poor man's rip-off of the Final Fantasy series. I originally rented this game because I enjoy playing RPGs but this is one of the few RPGs that left me feeling bored from the beginning. I would not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Eternal Sonata

posted by lacosteboi (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Finally a good rpg came out for playstation 3 and so far this is the best i played for rpg genre.
The game play, the story, the graphics and the characrers are nothing compare to enchanted arms.
if your really a rpg fan, i suggest you try this first before listening to other reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eternally Lame

posted by Pumarega (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I wanted to enjoy this game but couldn't keep the desire to strangle all of the lame characters down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An ETERNAL Story That Doesn't Feel like a Eternity.

posted by PRFAN1013 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

For a somewhat lame title. I have to say this is one of the most original stories i have ever encountered. The soundtrack is superb the graphics are beautiful like a moving painting. This is a great game and shouldn't be missed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The intro is more like a movie.

posted by SANman1911 (Thrall, TX) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

So 20 min after you insert the BD you can start the game. Like many anime titles the opening movie is a super drama. Game play id good if you like Zelda like titles. Like Zelda the graphics are cartoonish and feel flat. I didn't get far into the story as I burned myself out on Zelda back in the Super Nintendo Days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eternal Sonata

posted by onmars (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

that was a good game that i play and it was fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Eternal sounds about right.

posted by Saally (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game was ridiculously boring. The first hour of gameplay only has about 10 minutes of gameplay. There are far to many movies in the game, you can't even call them cutscenes! After and hour of game time and only 10 minutes of play and that's only the intro?! The game was immediately shipped back to gamefly...I wouldn't recommend this game to my worst enemy. I felt guilty even giving this game a 1, just didn't seem like it even deserved that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

eternal sonata

posted by mordrid666 (CINCINNATI, OH) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this is by far the worst rpg that i have ever played i wouldn't even waist my money on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a game for me.

posted by Sindyw (DAVISON, MI) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I had this game for one night. The graphics and music were nice but it took way too long to be able to actually play the game. Other reviews stated that it was 3 minutes of cut-scenes with 1 minute of game play and others said it was a good game. My experience was with the first. Lots of cut-scenes and not enough game play time. Would not recommend this game to anyone who is looking to play an actual rpg type game. We sent it back the next morning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's okay

posted by mixedgoddess18 (MOBILE, AL) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I really really REALLY wanted to like this game. The story idea was original and beautiful but in my opinion was not executed properly. It fell flat and was disappointing at most times. It was down right boring it felt like I was playing a game ment for little children. There was no challenge what so ever and the enemies were repetitive; not to mention the fact that the boss battles were a joke. I did however like the soon that they took on the combat system it was the only thing keeping me from falling asleep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) May 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

another crapping game smh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eternal Sonata

posted by Solbady (FOREST HILLS, NY) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This game is a fantastic piece of work and it has to be one of the most challenging games on this generation of system.
Eternal Sonata, a JRPG from Tri-Crecendo, brings you into the world of Frédéric François Chopin a Polish pianist that moved to France and accumulated tuberculosis at the age of 39. The game brings you into the world of his dreams where the characters and areas are strangely named after musical elements.
The game does have some flaws and pros. The voice acting is down-right superb, while the Japanese dub is fairly well bad... The combat system works really well and feels like Final Fantasy 7 as how you run into your enemies. This is not turn-based as Final Fantasy though this is more of a hack-and-slash RPG putting elements of the Tales series.
At some points of the game you will feel completely and utterly frustrated and angry, I did not finish this game but got through about 95% of it then chucked my controller at the wall. Some of the encounters are down right near-impossible and puts you on the verge of ripping your hair out of your head. The bosses are all unique and there are some re-used skins that are used on some enemies but it isn't a huge concern.
Overall this game is fantastic, and I recommend it to anyone that loves a great JRPG, and a challenge. Just don't give it to your friends with bad anger issues!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse