Rent Eternal Sonata for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Eternal Sonata

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.1

6465 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the weirdest Japanese RPGs you'll ever play

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Sep 25, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

90 out of 100 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The entire world of Eternal Sonata is set in a dream that composer Frederic Chopin is having while on his deathbed. And no, that's not a spoiler - you learn this at the very beginning of the game. Anyways, since this dream world is in the mind of this famous composer, everything is music-inspired: everybody's names (Jazz, Allegretto, Polka, etc.), staircases that are piano keys and play music when you walk on them, water fountains shaped like guitars... You can find pieces of sheet music throughout the game, little collectibles that you can match up with other pieces of music to play songs and unlock bonuses.

Unlike most traditional JRPG's, the combat isn't turn based. Well, it is, but instead of navigating menus and selecting "Attack", the combat plays out in real time. When it's your turn, you actually move your character around and hack away at enemies, or use special attacks. Regular attack is mapped to the A button, and special attack is the Y button. Each character has a light and dark special attack, and which one you use depends on if you're standing in the light or shadows when you hit the button. Enemies also are affected by the light/dark, becoming stronger or weaker, and some can even drastically change shapes. This system is much more entertaining and fun, especially for those out there that think turn-based games are "boring". Also, there aren't any random encounters. You can see the enemies walking around the world and can avoid a lot of them if you wish.

Lastly, I MUST talk about the graphics. This game looks awesome. Not in a next-gen, hyper-realistic or Gears of War way, but in that it looks like a cartoon. Everything is brightly colored and sharp, and the animations are pretty smooth. It's actually really ironic in a way since the story is really dark and depressing.

The only letdown is that this game is really short for an RPG. On top of that, the story kind of unravels at the end, which was a slight disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect

posted by username2011 (WASILLA, AK) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can honestly say this is one of the best games I've ever played. The gameplay is fun, the unique combat is great, and the story makes you want to keep playing and playing and playing. If your spectical on whether or not to play this, I say you should give it a chance. I'd give it a perfect 10 if there wasntn't so many cut scense. P.S if you find yourself having trouble in battle farther along in the game, try out the Viola, March, and Salsa combo. You can bring Viola into a light area and heal arrow over and over, while Salsa and March rack up an insane amount of hit points. This should make it so you do max damage and almost never have trouble with your characters dieing. Hope this helps convince you to try this one-of-a-kind masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing

posted by freakazoid_13 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like a lot of people, I read some fantastic things about Eternal Sonata. I mean, how bad can a game be that's about Frederic Chopin? Unfortunately, the game was frustrating and disappointing.

Not being a fan of turn-based combat, I thought I'd give this game a try because of its real time combat and engaging story. The combat was instead only a mild step up from turn-based, as you can run around on your turn or consume a potion before your turn runs out, and when it's not your turn you can sometimes try and block in coming attacks. But you'll still find yourself tapping X and Y for five minutes with identical results. Gear and weapons don't change your appearance or even change animations during combat, so it makes improving gear and weapons almost pointless. As a result of the repetitive combat system, I gets very old very quickly. And yes, they're not random encounters because you can see them coming, but you're still transported to a "fight scene" and most of the time you can't avoid them.

Yes, the game is very pretty, but it's completely destroyed by the fixed camera perspective that doesn't let you appreciate it or your character's attractiveness. The fixed camera is probably one of my major complaints about the game. It's so far away from the character that I found myself squinting most of the time to try to make out where I was going. The lack of a map didn't help either. I got lost in th woods countless times.

All that aside, I was looking forward to the story line, which sounded genuinely unique and interesting. It was, however, poorly executed and hardly if at all driven by player actions or combat. On top of just flat out ghastly voice acting and cliche, poorly written dialogue, over the course of gratuitously frequent and long cut-scenes make this game virtually un-playable.

If you like poorly executed animes about potentially good ideas and don't mind monotonous combat, maybe you can stomach this unfortunate title. I couldn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ORIGINALITY AT ITS BEST

posted by pigpig24 (COCOA, FL) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off let me tell you this is undoubtedly one of my favourate games throughout all of the games on market currently being saturated with unoriginal ideas or uninspired first person shooters. Placing this wonderful idea of a game all the back in 2007, but its age doesnt show too much at all. Showing definite promise from japanese rpgs much like the successful 2008 game Tales of Vesperia.

This game revovles around the famous composer Chopin in 1849 as he is on his deathbed only to drift through dreams and have an adventure full of twists,love,evil, and of course good. With totally inspired graphics,catchy writing and gameplay dynamics in battle and out of battle make this game truly unique. It would be a shame not to expirience this game or not all of it ,filling in some of the most critical parts of chopins life to provide backround and character development amonst the characters.

Even now after beating it twice and being on my third playthrough I cant wait to play in a world undescribable filled with chopins classic as it revovles around him and how he will try to comprehend how to make a piece of music showing emotions and life. He will try to understand what is really reality while at the same time chartering in locations beautiful and not so beautiful with a team of colorful people tackling on monsters,bosses, and a war against tyranny of epic porportions.

If its not clear already Eternal Sonata is a gem that very few know about and give great credit for. If you are looking for something new or are into appreciation for artistic things and a great RPG this is a match made in heaven. Games that think outside the box such as this remind me of mixing a great story like that of bioshock and a GREAT rpg like Tales of Vesperia really show that there is no over selling this game; it IS THAT WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its worth a least a try and of course a full purchase if you are as enthusiastic as I am.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great story, slow battles

posted by rustedpyre (ANTONITO, CO) Oct 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved the story behind this game. However, I gave up and quit it about halfway through because battles seemed so slow and repetative, and some of the voice acting really irked me. I wanted to love this game, but I got distracted by other games halfway through, and that minor irritation let me just give up on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's about time Xbox 360 got a game like this.

posted by Jumpman (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

23 out of 27 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game is the best turned based RPG for 360. The story line is great, the graphics are amazing, and if your not a fan of english dubbed you can chooses Japanese voices instead. Each Character has hes/her own personality that you grow to love. This game also features up to three player co-op when battling and each player can choose who they want to be. I really Recommened renting this game, It's a great game that I enjoyed more than anything for the 360. 10 out of 10!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing Game

posted by Toasty (FORT MYERS, FL) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I have to say this game is crazy good. I hate Anime and I still love this game, the music is amazing and the graphics are great as well. Must buy.

One thing a lot of people miss is that you can play this game coop with up to 2 other friends. This is unusual for an RPG. The fighting is great funI have pretty much played this game from start to where I am now (about 17 hours in). I absolutely love this game.

I have never had any issues with items, in fact we rarely use them. Maybe this will change later on when things get harder. Personally, I like the item limitation as the game would be too easy if they were limitless.

I like the linearity of the game. It's a matter of taste I guess. Since this game is coop, the linearity works in your favor when you are playing with friends (who wants to watch you figure out mazes and backtrack all over the place trying to figure out where to go next?). The game moves at a very brisk pace.

We thought the voice acting was excellent with a few minor exceptions. The main characters were played perfectly.

And I would like to doubly highlight that this game has one of the best soundtracks to date. It is absolutely magnificent. Probably the best soundtrack that I've heard this entire generation.

If you like Japanese-style role-playing games, you cannot go wrong with this game. You will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Final Fantisy VII meets Appleseed 2004

posted by factor8 (PARKER, CO) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Pros:
The concept art is strikingly similar to Appleseed's 2004 anime hit. The game play is reminiscent of the FF series and the sequences are truly a work of art. Speaking of art; the game encapsulates Chopin's history in the story.
Cons:
Some of the cut scenes are a bit too long (thankfully we can skip it) and there's just a tiny bit of redundancy between areas; but, otherwise it's a very solid game for those who want to "relax" a bit from Halo 3 and Heavenly Sword! (Best games ever!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you like unique RPGs with adorable characters..

posted by Brainasium (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I heard a lot of really good things about this game and it lived up to them.

The artwork and spells are beautiful. The character are diverse in their abilities and have interesting/bizarre backgrounds.

The battle system is addictive and gets more challenging as your party progresses. Your character levels but your party will also. In higher party levels the battle system is more challenging but your new abilities will offset this.

There are plenty of items to collect lots of achievements to unlock, many of which can only be gained by a second play through.

I though this was a really fun game and I actually bought it cause I knew I would want to play it through again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A different twist on RPG games

posted by drakejcl (DENVER, CO) Sep 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off I found the game's storyline to be both capturing and refreshing. It's not your same old same old with magic, dragons, a brave hero wielding a sword thwarting the evil empire, etc. While it has many of those qualities that draws RPG fans in, it presents itself in a manner which I found to be quite intriguing.

Now not to give away any spoilers, but the very start reveals that you may in fact be in the imagination of a young boy. While this has be done before it gives an explanation to the fantastic world which you enter. Also adding a musical based approach in place of typical leveling up and secret items which adds to the game's varying from the crowd quality. It also provides some historical accurate side-bar cutscenes giving the game a educational benefit without it actually being a boring learning style game.

The cutscenes themselves are not really anything ground breaking though and in fact can be a bit too long in the tooth for my personal taste. It adds a slight draw from the game sometimes but really it is not so bad that you turn off your console in disgust. I suppose this is just the wave of the future with the advanced methods of placing information onto a disk.

The gameplay itself is a live action style which I prefer because it keeps the game from becoming stale. The game is turned based with turns being decided on each character's quickness both friend and foe. From there you are alloted a certain amount of time to move, heal, use items, attack, etc. with each using a certain amount of clock time.

Overall with the exception of Oblivion, which I really don't consider to be a true RPG, this game is the best so far for the 360. Now granted the competition is slim with really only Blue Dragon and Enchanted Arms, however it is still a game you can invest some quality gameplaying time into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eternal Sonata = OK

posted by artboy909 (SUFFOLK, VA) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful


The battle system changes as the game progresses...giving you less and less time (real time) as you get "better" (higher Party Rank).
I am used to turn-based for the most part (as most of us are) and it was a bit hectic at times, but I liked the change overall. The one BIG thing about the battle system I did NOT like was the "guard/counterattack" I like to think I'm pretty quick on the button pressing, but some mobs give you about a millisecond to press it, and unless you have fought that monster before a few times, and memorized it's pattern, it is almost impossible to "guard". Not a huge deal, because it is very easy to heal/ revive, but it is annoying.
There are a lot of cut-scenes IMO, (maybe not "alot", but I just completed the game and my XboX wireless has cut off now at least 10 minutes ago, and the scenes are still coming). Maybe it was just how they were placed, and the drawn out scripting, made it seem long. You can skip them though (thank god).
No "sudden battles" which I like (you have to run into a mob to initiate combat)...and the story is OK. Fixed camera which I really don't like (it does a poor job overall of showing you where you can go).
As RPGS go, it is quick...I'm still waiting on the end cut-scene..but it is definitely quick, and the ending will leave you thinking huh? It came out of NOWHERE= BOOM ! it's over.... ???!!!
The whole "play a song with a NPC" thing is pointless, and takes too much time.
For a beginner RPG'er, it is probably ok, especially those who generally play action type games, not turn based....for more experienced RPG'ers, it's probably worth a run through since it is short, and there aren't any good ones right now anyway, but don't expect greatness.
-NOTE- Seasoned RPG'ers : Don't waste too much time "exploring" getting stuff/ hard to get loot, it really doesn't matter too much (I know you will anyway) the bosses for the most part are REALLY easy, as long as you trained on mobs a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautiful! I do not play this type of game but wow

posted by pike747 (Kirkwood, NY) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I rented this because my daughter likes it but I spent a beautiful and relaxing Saturday afternoon playing it and just really enjoying the music and the graphics. So peaceful, so different than the games I typically play with all of the bashing, smashing, and crashing, shooting, blowing up. There are battles but they are not the violent clashes I m used to.
I really do not care for turn-based rpgs but this game is something special!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What could have been...

posted by Ecniv310 (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

An amazing idea + excellent graphics usually = a great game. Unfortunately that is not the case when you miss some serious steps along the way.

Poor variety in the enemies, repetitive combat, and the biggest issue for me: the lack of changing graphics for equipment. Your characters look the same regardless of what they are wearing. Even the weapon graphics do not change. Kind of makes the joy of obtaining that uber new weapon kind of, blah...

All in all, the idea of an RPG based around musical history is a cool one. And the cell shaded animation looks great, but it is missing the key components that games like Final Fantasy always seem to get right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eternal Sonata is briefly beautiful

posted by Dataplume (LOUISVILLE, KY) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Eternal Sonata is easily one of the most beautiful titles for Xbox 360 to date. Sadly it doesn't deliver the same meticulous quality to the other elements of the game that it does so visually. Especially in the dialogue department.

The dialogue in this game is very difficult to bare at its best unless your a die hard fan of anime and can stomach the stuff. Cut scenes sometimes lasting in excess of 10 minutes leaving you feeling like your watching more of the game then your actually playing. When you are given the opportunity to play, the game feels like its missing something having limited interactivity with your environments, primitive puzzles, and very linear play.

The fighting system though unique is also very repetitive. Each round consists of the use of similar fighting techniques that only change based on the variations of monsters you fight and whether they fall in lit places or shaded areas on the board. Unfortunately the cast of monsters is short although there are some beautifully designed bosses proving once again that the game is a graphical masterpiece.

I'd recommend the game to anyone who just wants to see what a next gen game should look like but don't expect much more unless your in to mindless RPG'ing fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lacks depth expected, needed more development

posted by GrtPenguin (MUNCIE, IN) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed in the game as a whole. I had read reviews on here and was expecting a great game, only to be disappointed once i started playing.

The Bad:
The enemies are all the same throughout the entire game, either little flying guys in the light, or large slow guys in the dark. And they have a limited amount of models, using the same 6-8 throughout the game, it gets very boring.
Character models never change. When equipping new equipment, be it weapon or armor, the model never changes. It makes upgrading very unexciting.
The world is completely linger, and every zone is just like the last, a stupid maze just in a different setting.
Overall, the game lost my interest very fast, and i would not recommended the game.

The Good:
The graphics are very nice, they have the cell shaded look, but everything is very crisp.
The story is good, very in depth, with alot of character depth throughout the story.
The fighting system of this game seems to becoming the norm, seeing the bosses and choosing to engage them or not. And once engaged, has a turn based real time fighting. Its very unique and adds a since of actually taking part in the battle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Very Pretty Game

posted by JohnDeHope (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game, but at some point, I just lost interest. The graphics look great. The combat is fairly mundane I think. I'm not a guru of the rpg world, but it felt similar to other games. There are some unique differences, but they don't change the actual experience much, they just change what you manually do. The end result is the same (attack, magic spell, use item). I'm sure I'll pick this up again sometime and finish it. As it stands I didn't make it all the way through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic...

posted by Matt1448 (PROSPECT, CT) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

How anyone can give this game less than a 9.0 is beyond me. Most likely those that are reviewing poorly are those that should not be playing a game like this in the first place.

In terms of RPG, this ranks among the best all time. The only storyline that has ever immmersed me more was the all time greatest game ever made, Final Fantasy VII. The story here isn't as bizarre as most reviewers make it out to be and is actually a great reflection on life and death if you have the patience to endure the extremely long cut scenes and history listens.

In terms of gameplay, the combat system is very straight forward but very intuitive. Magic is nonexistent for the most part, aside from some that is built into the "special moves"

The characters are great and all unique in their own way, you never get bored with them. Overall I love the old school feel you get from playing this game, it really brings back the good ol' days of the RPG, before abominations like Two Worlds were allowed to be developed.

Great game.....play it...and pay attention, you may actually learn a thing or two!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

eternal bore

posted by evilwildchild (FREMONT, CA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

game drags
is boring and makes you care less and less as you play it

great music

horribly long cut scenes with poor acting
just a bad game with potential

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for the ADD (like me)

posted by CtOffnSrdd (LA PLATA, MD) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is easy to play. It has enough action to keep you entertained, and the action is easily avoided if you just don't feel like fighting a million stupid minions. The plot is a little cheesy, but it's good enough that you want to continue to follow it. Highly recommended for recreational (mindlessly play and relax for a while) players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Colorful, warm, cute....... That is action packed.

posted by Lithium (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This is a Wonderful RPG.

This games looks good. It is colorful and bright, Which brings you into the fantasy world. If you are looking for a game with disgusting amounts of charm and beauty, well you got one right here.

Amazing music I loved it.

The fighting moves along at a great pace, And gets to be a nice challenge later on. Fast but not overwhelming.

The story is nothing that will surprise you.
But it is a good one. It is a journey and you go on it with unforgettable characters. It is enjoyable, but don't expect the most epic story ever.
with great graphics, music, and fighting getting into the story is easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best traditional RPG for the 360

posted by SoulSlayer (BUENA PARK, CA) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Man I knew this game would be interesting to say the least but I didn't know it would be this frickin awesome. Graphically and musically this game is amazing and so far I'm really enjoying playing it.

Storyline 8/10: By now you should know the basic storyline of the game. Yes it is weird with the Chopin influence, but is also really interesting and entertaining.

Graphics 10/10: Beautiful, the scenery's the characters just shine with some other worldly glow. If you have a HDTV and like rpgs your gonna love this.

Gameplay 9/10: Its really innovative it combines action style combat with rpg elements. It also has a really fun combat photo system (Selling these photos will be your main source of income). Theres also no random battles!

Overall 9/10 Excellent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Traditional JRPG..short attention span not welcome

posted by Extimp7 (HARRISBURG, IL) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I was fairly excited to play this game. I think everyone can agree that RPGs are obviously missing from the 360. With Eternal Sonata and Blue Dragon, I was looking forward to the new influx of story and grinding.

Before I get to the negatives, I'll mention the positives. Beautiful graphics, gorgeous music, interesting concept. Innovative-ish battle system that kept the repetitive battles somewhat fresh. Overall with an HDTV this game simply sparkles.

I don't know if it is because I'm getting older or what, but my attention span for sprawling cut-scenes every 10 minutes isn't what it used to be. The default setting is for the voice acting to be in English, I highly advise switching this to Japanese. It's no different than any anime, the original japanese voice acting simply fits better and helps at least keep your attention during what seems to be 70% of the game.

Overall, I'm glad I played the first few hours of it, but if you lack the attention span of the nerdy 13 year old I used to be, then you may find yourself checking your watch or watching the mail for the next fast paced shooter.

Overall I give it a 5/10, which may seem harsh..and probably is. But it's how I felt about it. If you're into very traditional JRPGs with a unique story, then buckle in for a sparkling and entertaining several hours. If you aren't, then you'll find yourself getting frustrated very early on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Can only recommend to Japanese RPG's fans

posted by Matt1207 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After playing the extremely short demo on Xbox Live I thought I'd check this game out, as I didn't really have anything else available in my queue. If anything this game has confirmed for me that I'm not really a fan of Japanese RPG's and that I need to stick with the other RPG's like Mass Effect and Oblivion.

I had a few problems with this game, the first being that there is no objective screen for you to look at. So unless you're paying 100% attention during the long cut scenes you won't know what you're supposed to do, and even then it's not always clear. Also there is no map or mini map to show where you have been, or a directional arrow to show the way you should go. This left me disoriented in a couple of places during the game and wandering around aimlessly until I got lucky.

The biggest problem I personally had with this game though was the story line, which is a serious one when playing an RPG. It started off promising, but the more I got into the game, the more I felt like it was aimed at a less mature audience. The voice acting for some of the characters was very painful to watch during cut scenes and once I started skipping them because of this I knew it was time to return the game.

That being said, if you're a fan of Japanese RPG's like Blue Dragon and Lost Odyssey then you'll probably appreciate this game more than I did. The cell shading in the game is beautiful, and I'd like to see more games try this rendering technique. The inventory system is simplified with a weapon slot, armor and two accessories, along with 4 magic/special move slots, but it works very well for the game. The combat system was very easy to learn and this part of the game was a lot of fun.

After playing the game for 15 hours though, it was not very challenging. I know that you need to play through the game twice to get a lot of the achievements, but I just could not invest that much time into a story that was boring me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for me, but you might like it.

posted by Kikaida (GLENDALE, CA) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Total play time: Over 5 hrs over a couple days, ratings prompted rental.

Well, this game is not for me, it might be for you just not me. It does hearken back to the old Final Fantasy days (just not as stunning). Except the actual mechanics of this RTS is way better than the old FF (haven't played the latest so I cant compare)

The problem for me was that, well, I'm not 12 years old (no offense meant for older fans). I kind of look at the 360 as a more mature oriented device than a GameCube or Wii. That being said and just coming fresh off BioShock, Mass Effect and Gears, this game sort of feels way too kiddyish.

Don't get me wrong, I was looking forward to something a little more light-heated and I understand thats how a lot of RTS games are. But they don't have to be so cutesy.

Some puzzles seemed to be put in because they are "supposed to be there" and proved to be more irritating than intriguing. Yeah you knew what to do but instead of fun, it's laborious. I felt like a mouse running in a wheel sometimes. Some times the camera angles keep you running in circles because you cant see where you are supposed to go (45" screen fyi)

The characters, to me, were really pansies. It's hard to find words to not offend others. But at the same time I want to express my experience. I found them to be a source of irritation.

Speaking of irritation, when you use your special attack. The characters have to say what it is every freakin time, the same exact way (unless you have full echo). Over and over and over. "SKY DIVIDER! SKY DIVIDER! SKY DIVIDER!" OKAY! I GOT IT THE FIRST 500 TIMES! Sheesh. Such a simple option to include to disable, or make it so its one out of 10 times they say it or have different versions. Nope "SKY DIVIDER!"

I found the graphics to be little washed out and nothing too spectacular. Actually, FF rendered backgrounds smoked these into the weeds and thats PS2. I know this isn't FF, but the bar has been set. Either keep up or get an honest review. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beautiful Game, confusing story.

posted by leviathan (MECHANIC FALLS, ME) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First of all let me say I like the game. Don't like it enough to push the keep button, but it is a strong like.

The game's story is an interesting concept all the characters live in a dream world of Fredrick Chopin while he is on his death bed. And let me just say the world is fantastic colorful and very eye catching.

The story however, lacks coherency things just seem to happen for the sake of happening in the game without any real explanation. To put it in short terms the ending is just out there and comes from left field.

Game play is rather interesting there are some tactics involved in it, in battle most monsters have two forms that they can take, one when they are in darkness and one when they are in light. As you move along in the game it becomes more important to use your items, weapons, or the field to change the form for the monster into something more manageable. for instance there are snake like creatures in this one tower that hit fairly hard and it becomes difficult to get a block in. However if they are in Shadow they turn into bats which makes them easier to deal with because their attacks are slow and they have less hit points. Special abilities of your characters work in a similar fashion so you may find yourself trying to figure out the best way to hit the monster in the shade or in the light to pull off the most damage.

Boss battles particularly the last couple can be frustrating and may take several treys to win, but not to the point where you are throwing your controller down and giving up on the game.

all in all great game. I hope this continues as a series something like final fantasy for the Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse