Rent Escape the Museum for Wii
view large frontback

Escape the Museum

Not Rentable
Also on:DS
GF Rating
3.1

268 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Kdonato (MIDDLESEX, NJ) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Games of this nature on the Nintendo DS BLOW this one away. The graphics are horrendous, music is annoying and just the whole game play done poorly. This couldn't been a fun game.... I HIGHLY recommend skipping it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 20, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The idea of going into a musuem was to take a look at history of certain eras or certain lands. Which, I say, is more fun than playing Escape the Museum.
In this hidden object game, you play as Susan Anderson. She's with her daughter, Caitlin, at closing time when an earthquake hits, doing very serious damage to the building and everything inside.
Susan rushes Caitlin off to the security room, then goes out and looks for anyone else left in the building.
Then, for some reason, she gets trapped in a room and has to make her way back to Caitlin. This is where the game starts.
In the game, you have to get through several rooms via three ways. First, you can find several objects listed.
Or you can play a jigsaw game where you rebuild a painting by putting the right pieces in the right places.
Or you can gather up items and use them to solve puzzles (like smash wood with an axe or chop down a column to blast open a door.)
Problem is, this game has awful graphics. Even when I zoom in to get a better view of what's in the room, it turns everything into a bunch of blurred pixels.
Finding the objects on the list is easy - you get a help button that will give you an idea as where an item on that list can be found. But I found it to be bland and boring.
Putting the puzzle back together is kind of fun. But why am I piecing these paintings back together again?
The worst of the bunch is sovling puzzles with objects. First, finding said objects was tough because the graphics are so bad. I had to scan through every inch of the room to find those objects. It's aggrivating.
Then, some of the puzzles don't make any sense. It's easy to get stuck, and if you do get stuck on a puzzle, then the game comes to a complete halt.
There's a story attached to this game, but I wasn't thrilled by it; it felt like they put it in just to get me to the next room.
Escape the Musuem is a budget title in every sense of the phrase. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

My Kids Didn't Like This One

posted by newfymom (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) May 8, 2009

Member since May 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I picked this one out for the kids (ages 6 and 12) because their queue was getting short and the cover picture looked like maybe it was linked to the "Night at the Museum" movie. (Come to find out, it's not.)

My kids didn't play this very long at all, definitely less than 30 minutes. My twelve-year-old daughter complained that the graphics were terrible, and that the game was not exciting at all. My six-year-old tried to play along, but quickly lost interest.

I would not recommend it. I was particularly astonished at how poor the graphics were.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

do not event rent it.

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Jan 26, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

Not only would I not buy it but I would rent it.
And for me I wouldvrent it again because I just rented it. =D
It is a very cheezy game. The story is there in a museum and there is a earth quake and the mom is trying to get back to her daughter.

This game is like I spy or big fish games (which I love).
The only thing is the objects are small so you have to hit B and push your wiimote towards the senser to zoom and take it one spot at a time. Iwish I never waited a week to get this game.

I hope I saved you time and money =D
Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Escape the Museum

posted by momof2fl (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game was awful, and confusing. Don't waste your time with it. It was NO FUN AT ALL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ESCAPE T5HE MUSEUM

posted by motter4123 (Vernon, TX) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

THIS GAME WAS NO FUN JUST AN AWFUL GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game, don't waste a rental on it

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

I found the first object but couldn't get it in the right place to turn off the laser. A person with a X over them kept popping up in places depending on where I pointed at the screen which only added to my frustration. I didn't find this game fun just frustrating. Don't even waste your time with it. It's not even worth a rental and I would personally give it a -1 if we had this option with the ratings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a good picture

posted by tiarose (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

This game was not put together too good. Some parts of the playing area is so small, you can't read what the clues are. (And I have a nice size t.v.) The way they rate you is not good either. I didn't care for the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time.

posted by memath (RODEO, CA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The game is not crisp enough to be able to pickout what you are looking for. Zoom actually makes object more blurry. You can go over same are more than one time before things pop up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor play

posted by amlaboy (FORT WORTH, TX) May 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

We never got past the first search because of poor visibility. It was difficult telling even what things were, let alone having to search for specific items. I rate this a 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not 4 me!

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Apr 29, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

Hello - I wanted to like this game. I love good puzzle oriented games - this does not qualify. Basically a point & click "find the hidden picture game". Two big problems - first even on my 52" Samsung LCD could you make out the pictures. Secondly - the puzzle portion of what to do with the "found" items may be challenging to a pre-k child - then again it's possible that they wouldn't be. I far more enjoyed "Safecracker" (exrtremely challenging) & Broken Sword for Wii games of this genre. Cheers! D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »