Rent Escape from Bug Island for Wii
view large frontback

Escape from Bug Island

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.5

270 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a bad game, but short

posted by Madyrn (BURLESON, TX) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

They story isn't anything you haven't seen in any number of sci-fi movies, overgrown bugs attack. It picks up half way through when an certain occurs, but then falls back to bug bashing.
If you like to melee in games you may like this one as your best weapon at any given time (except the last boss) is your best melee weapon. You don't get a range weapon until much later and its not very useful in comparison.
I found the bosses to be far too easy, showing that it may be more suited to younger or less skilled players, but despite being easy, it was still a good fun game. I was able to beat the entire game in about 4 hours on my first play through, and that was completing all of the side objectives it gives you, ranging from destroying a certain number of boxes, collecting certain items or killing so many of a certain species in that level. It does have unlockables for your replay, much like the other games in this genre, so it does have some replay value. There are tons of recovery items all over the island, but i never had to use one playing on normal.
I think the best thing was not having to run back to any past location to unlock things, like you see in many games in this genre. You may get items for use in future areas, but you never have to go back to another area to use an item. THe game is very linear which adds to its ease of game play. You won't have to keep notes on where that door was that needed that key you got six areas later, for example.
I enjoyed the game enough to play it through and do the objectives, but not enough to play through a second time to beat the time ranking or try hard mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For a video game about bugs, it wasn't horrible.

posted by utmostrose (DANVILLE, KY) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not a big gamer, and so when I finally best this in 11 hours, I wasn't too upset with myself. The whole look to this game is dark, and you basically have to use the map to find your way around. You also have to follow through with some objectives that you may not care about in order to continue on with the rest of the game (which is annoying). What is most annoying, though, is this game looks easier to play than it is, meaning, it should seem fairly simple to execute the plan of action in order to do what you want, in the eyes of you and whomever else is watching (and that's when they start saying "Just do blah blah blah!" and you're like "I AM!"), but the game sometimes has a difficult time reading, responding, or behaving in the way that it should-- meaning that it had been programmed, which means you may be sitting there for some time doing the same thing over and over, with it not working, and then on the 42nd try, it DOES work.

Other than that, it was okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

5 minutues of fun

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Jul 29, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

13 out of 20 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

well, the game starts out with a corny story. then is fun for about 5 minutes of playing. i like the idea of the game, but it needs a lot of spice to be nice. rent this game for a young child, not an adult type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fans of low budget sci-fi/horror...

posted by Wraythe (GLENSHAW, PA) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

..should at least give this one a try... and play it for more than an hour.

I'll try and keep this simple... Graphics: Merely ok; Controls: Good; Gameplay: Ok; Sound: Below average; Reply: Very low.

Once you get through the beginning areas, the game starts to pick up. I'm not a fan of "save points", but the game is easy enough that it doesn't matter. I love the survival horror genre and this works 'ok'. It's no Res. Evil, but it will hold your attention long enough to finish it.

It isn't the best game out there, but it's better than a lot of other Wii titles and I enjoyed it... for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

awful

posted by Moesn2gbs (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 43 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

nerdy game bad buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Sucks

posted by Princess1989 (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I used to own this game and got rid of it. It's not scary unless your afraid of bugs. You keep dying if your health gets really low. Waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Similar to original PS Resident Evil

posted by rhythmguitarhv (SPRING BRANCH, TX) Dec 4, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

This is a basic survival horror game. Even though it wasn't groundbreaking, it wasn't a broken game. Simple, but it was effective. I played this over two years ago when my Xbox 360 had the red ring of death and I was happy to be playing something. You go around looking for missing pieces (keys, etc.) and defend yourself while doing so. With the new PS4 and Xbox, this may be a bit too dated, but if the early PS1 era Resident Evil games are your genre, then give this a whirl.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bug Island

posted by NannaBear60 (BENTON, AR) May 3, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

I do not have this game. Could you please send it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Give It a chance!

posted by tidusguy99 (SHOW LOW, AZ) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

This game is low-budget happiness. The game is fun, and give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ESCAPE FROM STUPIDITY ISLAND!!

posted by keygemm (NASHVILLE, TN) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 WORD.........SUCKFEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worse than i had thought

posted by shawncdh (OREGON, WI) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

i knew this was going to be bad, but it was even worse than i had imagined. graphics were average but the sound was really awful and we must never speak of the gameplay. Save the time and bang your head against the wall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kinda Boring

posted by kidsreview (AMARILLO, TX) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

It was kinda of boring, kinda scary, took to long to find bugs to kill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as horrible as you think.

posted by dahveed (LEANDER, TX) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

If you play this game with R.E. games in your head, you're going to be disappointed. But, if you're looking for a fairly easy survival horror game, this is a pretty good choice. The graphics and gameplay kind of remind me of the Dreamcast's Blue Stinger in many ways. I'm not sure if that's a good or bad thing. It's a rental not a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Escape from Bug Island

posted by xlre12 (OMAHA, NE) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

First of all i think this game is horrible because you half to play has Ray who frowns a lot there are 2 other charters that you cant play has Mike and Michelle you the worst thing about this game is that it barley gives you hints the grphich are ok for nintendo the game play is awful but wat I do like about this game it tells you if your right handed or left my review is. U RULE GAME FLY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

who buys this stuff?

posted by twizelix12 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

really this game is sooooo stupid. come on bug island. its like a 60s soap opera on drugs. onistly its likethe utter poo in my toilet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Nov 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

This game is pretty bad. The game doesn't seem like it was designed for wii. The controls are much to be desired. This is just a terrible game. Bad graphics too. Bad sound, bad voice overs. Overall...just terrible. Don't buy and don't even rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So you want to ignore the reviews...

posted by banzibill (CABOT, AR) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

...and try the game for yourself. Well, that is your right to do so, but be warned.

The only thing in this game the appears to work right is it's ability to suck! Need more info, please read on.

Ok, I didn't get this game for the story. Good thing too because anything decent it may have had to offer was ruined by the terrible audio delays. By this I mean that you have to wait 5-8 seconds between each characters script. Blah.
Even this was about the best thing I can say about the story.

Gameplay:
OMG aweful!!! Resident Evil 1 had some challenging control issues and camera angels...yet I loved that game. I even thought Obscure was alright. But these chaps went a step backward by trying to make it innovative with the motion controller and failing miserably.

Look at the manual to see what I mean.

Also, you have to be right in line with an enemy to kill it and when you have 15 of them around you, you have to change your character placement little by little to make sure you are lined up correctly to slay the next beastie.
Not to mention you can't attack while moving.
Your character sticks to everything. Run into a tree, have to back up and turn around. Not lined up right with the stairs, have to back up turn around. And when I say turn around I don't mean just turn around. You have to follow a flight plan and maneuver your boat for a character around in a circle towards the direction you want to go.
Walk into a room and your controls are reversed due to the view angle. By the time I killed my 4th ape I decided I had enough.

They don't provide enough space to warn people properly about this game. I wasn't expecting much and still was blown away by how bad it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Extreme disappointment

posted by King4day (CHARLOTTE, NC) Sep 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Much like movies, I find the beginning is very important in keeping the viewer from getting ancy and staying interested enough to pay attention.
This game starts with 3 people going to an island that is (knowingly) filled with insects that are of abnormal sizes to "study" them in hopes of yada yada yada.
The story starts with 2 guys and a girl sitting at a camp fire.
One Guy (Ray I think, {both drama queens}) holds a shotgun (just incase something bad tries to attack them.)
Everytime Mike or the girl are talking to Ray, he points the gun at them and u think the story is really about to pick up.
Apparently he's not actually pointing it but is just supposed to be fidgeting with it while talking.
Mike wants to ask the girl to be his BFF or something and Ray (knowing this) interrupts and asks her first. They were friends since before high school apparently and he goes and does something like that "because he didn't realize how great she was until you started talking about her".
I don't care if this game is meant for kids or the elderly. This story had me getting sick from the story from the get go.
After she runs off to 'think things over', you start in a VERY dark area with a stick as a weapon bumping into things in hopes they are an entrance or an item.
I met my first set of bugs, could barely attack them before feeling further sick and putting the game back in the sleeve to start my season of Metroid 3.
Much like 'Two Worlds' for the 360, this game has no business being on the Playstation 1, let alone the Wii.
Please heed my warning and stay away. I understand everyone’s into different genre's of games, but this one is no where in the ballpark where I can see even someone in Howard Sterns 'Wack Pack' enjoying it.
You're best bet is to buy an old NES game like Contra, Athena, or Bayou Billy instead of wasting 4 days for this game to arrive, realize how disgusting it is, and sending it back before the mailman leaves your block.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This Is First Year Game Production; DONT RELEASE!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Aug 29, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

Despite the reviews I gave this a try; bad idea!

This game has the premis to be a killer app; but instead they took it from a drawing to animation and then did nothing to it and decide to release it!

This was a waste of a rental because you just basically point and click with a ton of dialoge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »