Rent Escape From Monkey Island for PS2
view large frontback

Escape From Monkey Island

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

326 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Back in the day

posted by Jariah (HAYWARD, CA) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Back in the day this game was probably a great find. Seems like a natural progression, from pc to ps2, and it works relatively well. However, I kinda thought it was a bit boring and not terribly funny. Some of the jokes were just silly and some of the puzzles made no sense at all (wood chips in a perfume bottle?). The point and click concept works extremely well online due to the non existant load times for cut scenes and action. The game is deadly slow and keeps the playtime going for hours just going from one screen to the next. I know, I know everyone loves the Monkey Island games for pc, but this is not pc and its just not as fun on this platform, probably why Phantasmagoria, the Seventh Guest, Full Throttle or Sam and Max have yet to hit any console. Anyone remember the horror that was Myst for PS2? Talk a bout a nightmare. This game is better, just be prepared to sit for hours listening to bad one liners and watching choppy animation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun but has you by the nose

posted by problemati (VALLEJO, CA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok, the idea of the game is fun. The characters are fun. The humor is funny and irreverent. So why down I like this game???

Ok, the game requires you to figure out what the game designers want you to do in each situation. Now remember, it is not your choices that count. You have to figure out what choices that the game makes to pick, you have to do them in a certain order and at a certain time.

If you like being led around by the nose like a cow during a video game, then ok. If you want to do any free thinking, then this game is really not for you.

Thanks for reading and good luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great comedy

posted by gr33nw0lf (OTTAWA, KS) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was a classic example of the Action/ Adventure games I played growing up, though with a witty twist. The language was meant for a younger audience. but not to much that you felt, more smart than the game or more stupid because you wasted your time on pre-school style gameplay. if you never played the series the begining gives you a recap of what happened. though this game does have it's inside jokes but you do not need to be a fanatic about the Monkey Island series to get. Some of the puzzles took me a while to get but if you are either curios about Adventure games or you love them check this one out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not so hot.

posted by TwoBitHood (MORRISTOWN, NJ) Jul 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I found thid game a little slow and very silly, but hey maybe your into that. Since this was the first out of the series I have played, this may be a harsh assesment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVED THIS GAME

posted by jovana (madison, wi) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The story line was funny, very funny and intelligent. It cute as heck and adorable for children but "tongue in cheek" at times, and that keeps adults entertained. I was fully grown when I played this game and this one coupled with Blazing Dragons were the funniest most entertaining games I ever played; Just in case you missed it, I still love this game! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not that thrilled

posted by scoobie (TAMPA, FL) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

It was like a interactive saturday morning cartoon. Cheap looking graphics and corny jokes and slapstick lined comedy. It was a very disappointing game that only took me 7 hours to complete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Funny X3

posted by Ileia23 (RED BLUFF, CA) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game never gets old for me. It's very creative, clever, AND hilarious. You have to be clever enough yourself to beat it. But overall I give it a 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Huge disappointment!

posted by EndersGame (EL PASO, TX) May 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I normally love games of this genre, games such as Shadowgate, Deja Vu, King's Quest, and Leisure Suit Larry. I never played the previous Escape from Monkey Island titles, but I've always heard good things about the series. Therefore, I was excited to pick of this forth installment.

However, I was extremely disappointed in this title. It was extremely boring, not funny (the main selling point of the game is that it supposed to be funny), and most of the puzzles were random and did not make any sense. The only slightly fun part of the game was playing Monkey Kombat.

I'd only recommend this game for huge fans of the Escape from Monkey Island series. Even then, I'd only recommend renting it, because I was able to beat the game in three hours. If you are not a huge fan of the previous games, stay far away from this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »