Rent Enslaved: Odyssey to the West for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.7

5560 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enslaved in Greatness

posted by 25DonkRd (ATLANTA, GA) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

65 out of 68 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (EOTTW) is a great game that features one of the best, if not the best (alongside Metro 2033), game stories of the year. Unfortunately, its lack the length and replay value to really make it worth the 60 dollar price; however, it is definitely worth the rent.

The voice acting and the story are top notch and the people who lend their voices and faces (including Andy Serkis Gollum/Smigel from Lord of the Rings Trilogy who plays monkey--he also directed the project) do a great job of conveying all the emotional moments of the story. The world is grand and desolate and it is really hard to resist the temptation not to find out why this place which was at once so beautiful is now tattered. And this all leads up to the ending which is as stunning as it is moving. The game is worth playing just for the story.

The graphics are almost as good as the story. The game envioronments are all varied and equally detailed brillantly. Occasionally however there are some texture pop ins durings cutscenes and frame rate slowdowns during fights with more than one enemy.

Combat gameplay is breezy, simple and, depending on how you level up your monkey, easy no matter the difficulty. If this were a game based solely on fighting, like Ninja Gaiden 1 and 2, this game would be boring and repetitive. Thankfully, the developers knew their strengths.

When you are not fighting or watching cutscences, you are doing platforming and solving puzzles. The platforming, like the fighting, is simple and the puzzles arent exactly mindbending. They were fun, easy and got me what i wanted: to the next part of the story without much trouble.

EOTTW's campaign clocks in at around 10 hours and there wasnt much to do after it was over. And for that reason it isnt worth 60 dollars. But it was worth my time. It is something to experience; it is better than the sum of its parts. Shove this game in your Q and enjoy what it has to offer. You'll like what you put in there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very decent game

posted by abloobudoo (MESA, AZ) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is a GREAT single player game. AWESOME level design and PHENOMENAL voice acting and animations. The story is predictable, but sufficient enough. It took me about 8 hours, roughly to beat. the only thing that didn't make this game a 9/10 is the fact that all the little things made it annoying. For example, there was some points where the game would glitch me ahead a checkpoint but keep the old objective so I had to reload the last checkpoint a couple times. Not too much of a big bother, but still, really? But besides that, if you love and/or enjoy Adventure games and have less than 20 bucks and you need a nice little fix, then I definitely recommend this. By all means this IS a GOOD game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enslaved:odyssey to the west

posted by Teek77 (GREENVILLE, PA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

52 out of 57 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

5 things i personally care about.

Gameplay: While the puzzles and combat are nothing we haven't seen before, it all works. The upgrades really feel like ther helping and not just tacked on. Monkey is a bit over aggresive in his movements, but after you learn to compensate it's not bad.

Story: It's surprisingly engaging. It's typical, trouble at point A, alot of trouble at point B, possible salvation at point C. The pacing and characters are so well done though that you actually care.

Graphics: Gorgeous!

Length: Short 8-10 hrs.

Fun Factor: While it won't blow your hair back, the combination of story, gameplay, and graphics combined to make a very enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I escaped yes!

posted by loganator57 (CHARLESTON, WV) May 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was greater than i thought it would be. A very good game! A good RENT but not BUY.

Pros:
Great graphics
Good storyline
Easy Controls
Trip the girl helps you upgrade yourself
Very enjoyable

Cons:
Horrible ending
Hard "puzzles"
Pretty short (beat it in 2 days)
Some of the bots are hard to kill, but not that many
Didnt want to play it again

All in all a VERY good game. I would highly reccomend it to anyone I know who has a account. A good RENT not BUY. My gamertag is LOGANATOR 57. Add me. Ill see u in the games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Suprisingly Good

posted by Tylerb9987 (NORWALK, CT) May 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has more heart than I have seen in a game in a long time. Superb voice acting, great dialogue, balanced fighting, gripping story line. While this game is not trying to break any boundaries with gameplay, it does stand its ground and does not disappoint. For fans of God of War, Dante's Inferno. It's not a terribly long game, but it cuts out all the grizzle and gets straight to the meat, and boy did it taste good. Play it. You won't be let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enslaved....by a great story!!

posted by andyg316 (KENTON, OH) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was not sure what to expect going into this game, considering that it is a modern twist on an old Chinese story. But I was thoroughly captivated by it from start to finish. The graphics make the post-apocalyptic world in this game look gorgeous! The controls and scheme of the game do feel a bit repetitive after a while, but that should not take away from the fact that this game is truly a work of art.

Normally I will play games and not really care for the sidekick that you have with you, because usually they are an annoyance. But Trip is very different. She is not only helpful in platforming situations, but she pulls at your heartstrings as the story progresses. I will not spoil it for anyone, but I will say that I actually ended up caring about her character, and caring about her story.

If you like platforming games, you will love Enslaved! It is a rather short game, but definitely worth the rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

worth a rental

posted by Gator415 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Sep 11, 2012

Member since May 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game for the most part was pretty good. it did get a little repeitive now and then but it did a good job of mixing travel sequences with climbing and combat. graphics are pretty good and the story kept me going, only complaints i have is that combat is the same from start to finish and the game is a little short and there isn't much reason to play it again but overall i say give it a shot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pleasantly surprised

posted by SPARKEDinsanity (CENTENNIAL, CO) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good story, fun gameplay. A lot of Assassin's Creed style climbing, and good strategic combat. Although, because it is so short, and there is very little replay value, I would only recommend this as a rental. Once you beat the story, the only thing left to do is collect tech orbs and masks. It's pretty linear, so once you play through it, you've pretty much seen everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More like Enslaved Odyssey to the best

posted by Keith41862 (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like all action adventure games it has to have a long storyline that will keep you into the game for a while and enough combat to keep you entertained while playing the game. Enslaved had exactly all of that and more. It starts you have as Monkey; an enslaved human on a slave tranport ship controlled by robots called mechs. Then you see this girl escaping, her name is Trip and she knows everything there is to know about technology and evantually is going to become your partner throughout the entire game. She than causes the ship to crash and you have to escape. Monkey is basically a freerunner but a lot better. He can jump and climb to various heights and has great combat skills with his staff. It is a really good game, but he only problem is (and its a small problem really) when you're fighting mechs there can be a lot of them you can get overwhelmed. Otherwise I reccomend getting this game because it is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Am I a beatem up, Platformer, or Puzzle Solver?

posted by Taskman (DULUTH, GA) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thats what this game really struggles at, identity. As an avid gamer I will look past flaws and play through a game. Metro 2033 a recent example. However with Enslaved, I literally quit on Chapter 3 because it was just very boring to me. The story and fighting brought me back but be warned there are flaws.

Summary:

The wall climbing and platform jumping seem to take center stage and they really come off as long and boring. You dont get to choose your route, your told what to grab if it glimmers. The puzzles were really weak, in almost all cases just required one opposite change and its solved.

However the fighting is what got me back into it, I really liked the fighting as many people have mentioned. It can be very intense but frustrating also. The games requirment that fights take place at eyeball zoom level means you cant see anything around you. Combos are not explained very well, and they almost don't exist anyway. In fact towards the late part of the game, your going to find it still fun but repetitive as you dont have new moves but when it works, it works really well.

Overall, its good for quick rent but I wouldnt buy this game. Which is sad, because you dont often see publishers take these kind of risks on new IP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must rent/buy

posted by NwTrivial (GIG HARBOR, WA) May 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Enslaved: odyssey to the west was an extremely beautiful and playable game. The designers went all out to deliver not only an amazingly detailed and "destructible" environment, but intuitive and ergonomic controls, and a compelling, unique storyline with lovable characters. This was literally a game that i could not put down. I highly recommend this to fans of games like drakes fortune and other adventure type games. Rent or buy it, either way you have to give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't Miss This Opportunity

posted by CruelNemesis (NORTH FOND DU LAC, WI) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just finished playing this game. What a hidden gem this game is. Because this game was released in October, it must have gotten passed over by some of the bigger titles that were put out during that time frame. Game play was incredibly solid. (All characters that have to climb the outsides of buildings should be done this way) The actual story board for the game was fantastic. The characters were engaging and believable. You start out as Trips' slave and end up doing whatever you can to help her. Only problem I have now is, I don't see a part 2 coming down the pipe and I'm hooked on it! Do yourself a favor, if your looking for a something to play during this down time of new releases, give it a shot. Especially if you like your games to have a good story attached to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BRAVO!!!!

posted by MoeJoeKing (ARAB, AL) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its been a long time since I have thoroughly enjoyed a game such as this.

this game is getting bad reviews from people for no reason that i can understand (probably because the today's gamer does not care for story lines anymore)

the controls for this game was a 10
ive never felt such a fluid well working set up like this gave

graphics was a 10
beautiful backgrounds and had 0 frame rate dropping and character details and textures where great

STORY was over 7000+
i have never played a game with such a great story in my life!
and ive played a ton of games

weapon upgrades in this game actually have a greatly noticeable change (unlike other games where you can upgrade only to find the enemy health has went up as well) This alone makes you feel more powerful as you progress thru the game

PLEASE GET THIS GAME IF YOU READ THIS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New and different

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of those rare titles that is both original and adds new elements that really work well. The platforming is almost idiot proof which I really enjoyed. The story is interesting and the characters are well developed. The graphics are next gen or rather where they are expected to be, theyre amazing. Now we get to the game length, a pitiful 8 hours. Boo. Due to that, it is an excellent rental only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pleasantly surprised; worth a rent

posted by Brandon619 (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Enslaved is a great mix of action and puzzles, with surprisingly good characters as well. Some may think that it is a short game, but I think it is just the right length for what it is. There's not much else to do after completing it once, but it is definitely worth that one playthrough at least.

Every now and then you rent a random game that you've never heard of just because it looks interesting or fun. This game fits that mold exactly: it's a hidden gem among the typical shooters and endless trilogies of games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This games got something.

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

These games sometimes surprise in one direction or the other. They are either a let down from what I thought they would be or as in the case of this one, they are a welcome surprise. this game got more interesting as it went along. I thought it might be like demons forge, but only in the since of a duo fighting to make it. No bow and arrow, and he did all the fighting, she did the hi-tech. I enjoyed this game and I would recommend it, for a teen rated game I found it interesting anyway. Thanks Game-Fly for a great play at no risk to me. Billy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Underrated

posted by Itzz_HK (CHRISTIANSBURG, VA) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It didn't seem worth the full purchase when it came out. I found that renting it was great. It wasn't too long, but what I ended up playing was a quality game with a good story. The gameplay and combat was fun and interesting. I definitely think this is worth at least a look!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very, very unique game.

posted by HYRUL3 (NASHUA, NH) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game took me by surprise. WOW. Very unique, fantastic story and characters. The dialogue is awesome, especially from the halfway point to the end, when you meet Pigsy. The banter between Monkey and Pigsy is fantastic.

The game itself is a nice mix of climbing mechanics and close combat, but the primary focus is the climbing and acrobatics.

The character designs and visuals are also something worth noting. In an industry preoccupied with bald space marines with gritty, dark and brown visuals, Enslaved is a huge breath of fresh air. The main characters are all very unique, and the visuals are breath taking. The game world is just gorgeous to look at.

Also, there's a FANTASTIC celebrity cameo at the end, I won't spoil it, but stick with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Some bugs but great storyline

posted by Sethmac75 (SEYMOUR, IN) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game the storyline is a quasi-matrix feel to it but all in all it was a good game. Loved the acting and mechanics of this game fast paced for the seasoned gamers yet simple and easy to understand the controls for the beginner. Although it was not without bugs that were sometimes annoying but all in all a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An overlooked gem

posted by CrkdWookie (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Reminds me of Beyond Good and Evil in all of the right ways, but most especially in the fact that I think it's one people will look back on and wonder why nobody played it or appreciated it when it first came out.

The gameplay is a bit simple, but still fun and rewarding. The story, though, is compelling and the voice acting and facial animations in the cut scenes are absolutely phenomenal. One of the few games where I think you'll get genuinely emotionally invested in the characters and their plight.

Monkey and Trip's Odyssey is one you won't forget, and one I think a lot of people will kick themselves down the road for not discovering sooner. I'd hate to say something as trite as "destined to be a classic," so I'll just leave it pointedly unsaid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, not great.

posted by Chase413 (ENUMCLAW, WA) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

19 out of 25 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Enslaved feels like god of war meets uncharted in many ways. That's not a bad thing but you will find yourself wondering at times why it feels like neither of those games core concepts were fully realized.

Combat is simple and far to easy even on the hardest difficulty while moving around in the pretty world feels restricting yet satisfying in some ways as you tear through fantastic looking areas.

Ultimately it was the characters and the story that got me to continue this game. Monkey is great, literally and physically, giving you a sense of calm in a very chaotic world. His personality fits perfectly in the games gloomy world and his partner in...crime. I guess you can call it is pretty good as well. They interactions together are solid and you can tell the voice actors got into playing their respected characters.

When all is said and done you will have several thoughts I think.

#1 - Monkey is a mans man with a mans dream.
#2- The game feels short, but is enjoyable.
#3 - The ending is terrible.

I wouldn't suggest purchasing this game, not by a long shot. Not due to quality, due to length. I beat this game in about 6 hours and it has no replayability in my eyes.

That being said, since you are a fellow gameflyer like myself, add this to your queue and enjoy the short, but generally satisfying adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SHE'S REALLY GOT ME NOW

posted by bigfreaky (TULSA, OK) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Modern action games always deliver a mixture of beatemup action, platforming, puzzle-solving, and cinematics. That’s what I was expecting with Enslaved, but I was honestly surprised. It certainly has most of those things, but not in the balance to which I have become accustomed. The cinematics and story are the game’s key features, and the rich, colorful graphics, unique art style and amazing animation really put this one in a class of its own in terms of its visual and narrative impact. Though the specifics of the story are simple, the detail in the characters’ facial animations and the quality of the motion acting allow them to convey a level of emotion that is almost never seen in video games.

The puzzles play a much larger part in the game than the action, and this is what surprised me. This is not an extended escort mission in beatemup form, as I had originally assumed. Trip is rarely treated as an object to be defended in an endless brawl. Nor is she an absentee co-op partner controlled by brain-dead AI, like playing Resident Evil 5 single player. In fact, you are almost never at the mercy of her AI as almost all of her actions are either entirely scripted or directly controlled by the player. Trip’s actual function is that she is a continual puzzle element that must be moved and manipulated in each area, like a sort of living version of the companion crate from portal.

It is a short game, and I certainly would not have complained if the game had stretched its length with more robotic beat downs and epic boss battles. And it’s not without some rough edges either - but whatever it may lack in technical polish, it certainly makes up for in its story, likeable characters, excellent visual design, and solid combat. The puzzles are well done too; none of the ideas are repeated too often, and most of them made me pause to think but they weren’t so tricky that I had look up a FAQ.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Cinematic Experience

posted by TheBleed (DETROIT, MI) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

12 out of 23 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Rarely does a game come along where it feels like a high production $200 million dollar movie. Enslaved feels so epic you can't help but marvel at it's production values and voice acting. Really loving the pacing of the story and the sheer amount of plot advancement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD JOB MONKEE!!!!

posted by wally79 (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is similar to many games that are out there such as prince of persia. The mechanics are simplistic not to hard too master. The jumping sequences are way to easy , I think i only died twice in this game. The show stopper is the wonderful graphics and a very engrossing story between monkee and girl. It was fun and decent ride definitely a rental at best. A few minor bugs like the girl not being able to move prevented me from giving it a higher grade. Acheivements are pretty easy in this game and if your an achievement maniac, I recommend starting of on hard so you dont have to play it again!!! I expected more from the team that did Heavenly sword!!!! Apocalypse never looked so beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Beautiful looking game

posted by MizoOfOz (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This game looks gorgeous. Not denying that. With this being developer Ninja Theory's second game, they already have down how to make a game look good. Sadly, it takes more than that to make a game good all the way through.

The story is somewhat interesting enough to keep you engaged till the end, which is where it does a complete 180 and feels more like something that would belong in the plot of the Matrix.

The controls are bad. 9 times out of 10, I would suddenly start attacking in the wrong direction, getting myself killed in the process. And the camera during combat would position itself at an angle making it hard all the way to next to impossible to see what was going on when fighting.

Aside from the sudden and nonsensical ending and the control and camera issues, the game is pretty good. Worth giving it a rental just to see the beautiful graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse