Rent Enemy Territory: Quake Wars for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Enemy Territory: Quake Wars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.8

3563 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid, but far from perfect.

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

48 out of 55 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

The two biggest problems with QW is that it lacks a "story" mode, and its online gameplay is too tightly wraped around team/squad play. Most of todays console first fps(which QW is not), feature long and indepth single player stories. From "Space Marines" to "Super Soliders", the often cheesy backdrops at least add purpose and imersion. QW is greatly lacking in this. Strogg bad, attack this, or defend that, good enough, next! Campainge is a string of attack or defend "missions", played with a team of bots against a team of bots. Ok, ok so its about online multiplayer!
Well here is were the game gets into trouble. Be warned this game is NOT for PUGs(Pick Up Groups/randoms). This game favors the hardcore clans. And that is fine, if your one of the estimated 12% of the people playing FPS that are apart of functioning clan. The problem is the game focuses so intensly on mission objectives and the class you picked that unless the whole team moves as one and everyone fully understands how to best play their own class(hint medics have to heal), you will get crushed. This is no Halo, one lone wolf won't mean much in this game.
QW also has some gameplay balance issues. Attacking sides almost always win. And the Strogg have some unfair advantages on the battlefield.
The graphics look solid. The game controls are done well. And I can find very little wrong with the game. However the lack of splitscreen imo, makes having bots pointless. And the team work factor requiered to win, ends up in players swearing at each other, shooting each other and generaly lead to a mess. It reminds me alot of playing MechAssualt 2 on LIVE. Randoms just can't compete. I know that the FPS game needs to evolve, but too tightly focusing on team tactics isn't the way to go. Esp when, as with QW, your only going to be on teams of 8. That means that the 12yr old that refuses to play his class right, will lead your team to defeat. And you will get rolled.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's a love or hate it kind of game

posted by otakusan (KNOXVILLE, TN) Dec 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game Enemy territory: Quake Wars is a kind of Love or hate kind of game (as you can see in the title). The game has little to no story, but the enjoyment is in the gameplay. great graphics lots of challenge, yes the strogg vehicles are more powerful, but the strogg guns aren't as good as the GDF's. This game was a great if not excellent attempt to bring amazing multiplayer to people with low budgets. So, I will say this try before you buy folks, but if your multiplayer centric then buy it immediately. ??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great!

posted by mecha12 (ALDIE, VA) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
This game has a variety of different missions and objectives to play.Also, you can choose to be on the sttrog's side, (evil)or on the GDF's side (good). so every time you switch teams for a mission, the objectives are diiferent. Also, the guns are great.

Cons:
The graphics arent the best ive ever seen. whenever you die, you pretty much look the same every time. Also, if its the only game you ever play, youll eventually get sick of it. so unless your planning to buy a ton of game fly games and trade them in at game stop, (whitch would be totally stupid) then only rent this game, do not buy it.

(exposition! :) )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What happened?

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wanted to see how this ended up on the 360 after playing it on the PC. It was so awesome on the PC. And what gets me is they had well over a year to perfect it on the console and it ended up horrible, in comparison. The graphics are OK, where the PC version looked legendary. The controls are sloppy and limited. You've got all the same missions and the benefit of X Box Live. I was pretty dissapointed. If you have a decent PC get this for the PC if you're a Quake fan, otherwise it's worth checking out. You can rip around with bots if nobody is on. You've got 2 sides. The GDF and the Strogg. Each with their own respective weapons and tools which correspond with each sides objectives. This game has a few different types of vehicles. The Strogg vehicles are actually very fun, the GDF are pretty bland, but if you can pilot the helicopter you've got it made. I had issues with accuracy. It was rediculous, on medium the Strogg bots strafed liked some kind of insane gaming professional. It was tottally unrealistic and annoying. You couldn't hit em' no matter what. They were pretty dumb, until they finally did come after you then you were toast. Point is, this is a great game with alot of potential but lost so much luster in the change over from PC to console. PC games used to be so much more advanced than console games, now they make games with the console in mind instead of the PC and you've got limits on everything. It's barely even worth owning a gaming PC anymore. Hopefully Doom 4 and Rage will change that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

RENT ME ONLY!!!

posted by RSPUTNIK (MIAMI, FL) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a rent me game. It's a shooter like Battlefield 1943 style, you have several classes to choose from and several vehicles you can operate, although there are some cool things you can do like paint target with lazers, it feels poorly executed and very rarely it will have any effect on the battlefield tactics. The game physics feel outdated, the sights don't move when you run, and there is no muzzle rise from recoil. You can get some entertainment out of single player campaign, killing bots by the hundreds can be rewarding if somewhat repetative. Good luck finding anyone on line to play with, i've had the game for a week and never saw more that 3 people in game lobby.

Just rent it for a couple of achievment points or stay away for good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

O.K. is O.K.

posted by hoboman (STAFFORD, VA) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has not much to say. You go around the world either trying to save the world as the G.D.F. or trying destroy the world as Stroggs. The controls are familier, but frustrating at times. The graphics seem really familier to Quake 4. The game has no story, no polish, no fun. The multiplayer-like single player does not work. I have not tried the multiplayer but I don't think I will. Don't try this game.

4 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing Like Quake

posted by dude923 (MILLBURY, MA) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't let the word QUAKE trick you into renting this game, its nothing like Quake and a poor game. some find it interesting, compared to other Quake games, I find this very substandard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just not finished...

posted by LtBeefy (STAMFORD, CT) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Quake wars is a multiplayer-focused game much like the Battlefield series of games.
It added on to things such as choosing your own type of soldier and weapon, giving a bit more variety and numerous different abilities to each different class of soldier. However, the game is incredibly inconsistant. Multiplayer online tends to be very laggy, and getting stuck in the terrain is common, and you'll have to make yourself respawn in order to stop a glitch or un-stick yourself from the terrain.

Apart from the glitches, multiplayer modes are made to be played with a large number of human players. However, you will never find many other players on this game to play with, resulting in a shallow game with just a few players and bots on enourmous open-spaced maps.
The bots in the game can be turned on to substitute for a lack of players. Unfortunately, the mindless "run-and-gun" tactics the bots use is a very poor replacement for human-controlled characters. There is no legitimate single-player campaign in this game. Just the same mode as multiplayer-except only with the terrible AI.

The game also sounds quite horrible. I sensed no improvement on gun-sounds whatsoever, and if you are playing with bots, they constantly will be shouting at you with generic phrases that were intended to be used as a human player would use their mic, except this only makes the bots much more annoying to play with. I suggest you don't waste your time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not so good

posted by Designer88 (ELYRIA, OH) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ET: Quake wars has its ups, but unfortunatly its weighed down by its downs...
ok if you are looking for a great bot match, this is it. Oh or go rent shadowrun. Both have really good PVP simulation. However online both games struggle with lag as well as replayability. In the age where Halo can make a game that records your battles and forge allows you to build unique scenarios, This game is seriously lacking.
Some of the big bad issues. The feats system is non existent. You find yourself getting these awards flash on your screen, but then try and figure out what you have and what you can do with it, good luck. Also the tutorial sucks, and with a game as complex as this they could have taken a lesson from shadowrun and made a very detailed tutorial. ALSO there is no story line. The missions could have easily been streamlined into a seriously good story. But they didnt. ANd my last grief is the load times are long. not too long, but still having to wait more than thirty seconds for anything nowadays sux.

well thats my 2 cents, and with this game im gonna ask for my change back.
See u on live
tsuzu

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the worst...

posted by keebl3R101 (MANSFIELD, MA) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Enemy Territory: Quake Wars is an online shooter that reaches into decent territory at its best. It tries to blend fast paced action with a class based shooter, but doesn't do either very well. Some cool ideas are present, and there are some redeeming factors, but very few willl want to spend the time to find them. In the end a fair shooter, but why settle for this hybrid when you could be playing the better games that are fully fast paced, or fully tactical class based.

Also graphics were sub par, if you care about that kind of thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just can't compete to the PC version

posted by Vandelay (SPOKANE, WA) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The PC version of this game is great - but the sad truth is that squad-based games go a lot better on the PC than on consoles. I am not sure if it has to due with the audience (I think there tends to be a lot more people who just want to run around and kill stuff on the console shooters - at least that is the case here vs. the PC version). The game requires team-based play, and requires people to handle their respective roles during the game (medics need to act as medics, not try to kill everything that moves, etc.) Bottom line is that it just wasn't ready to be ported over from the PC in it's current state. If you've got a PC, it's worth getting if you can find it in the bargain bin (I got the collector's edition for $20). But save your money, and your rental, and avoid it for the 360. I'd give the PC version an 8.5 out of 10 for comparison here - just to emphasize that the problem isn't the inherent ETWQ game - its the 360 version of it that is the problem. Even playing offline is fun on the PC - the bot AI is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

jeez come on activision

posted by grotto34 (SMYRNA, TN) Jun 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is pretty bad i didn't even get to the next continent in this game the driving mechanics are awful....u drive with the left stick only which makes it tough with enemies around....not to mention the fast paced game play some may like it but it goes way to fast....i forget if your a super-soldier or not but you move extremely fast for an earth soldier and the guys aren't that great overall i might pass because this game just shows activision not at its best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A better game than the reviews say

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jun 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I read all the reviews for this game and i still wanted to try it and i even bought it. This game is much better than those reviews say though they give it like a 6 and a 7 but i thought the campaign has objectives and it keeps it fun. The Live is pretty good for this game too. The graphics are just a bit above most games but not as good as Call of Duty 4. Personaly i really like this game and i think you will to. There really isnt many games to chose from this time of year besides GTA IV so you should give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Failed Attempt

posted by Haildred (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game has a great concept: complete objectives with different classes while fighting the other team who is trying to do the same thing. It fails miserably. The graphics are terrible and the game play hurts from variety. The campaign has no story what so ever and is the exact same as online play except for the fact that all of your team is made up of terrible AI. There is no customization in classes as well which should be a core part to this game. All in all, this is a good concept but falls short of what it could have been. Rent it if you like this form of game play but whatever you do don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I suggest skipping it

posted by HippyVock (FITCHBURG, WI) Jun 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

28 out of 45 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is fairly terrible. Single player mode only differs from online in that all your companions are totally brain dead bots which have no concept (and you have no control over) of how to play the game effectively.

Multiplayer mode doesn't fare much better with plenty of technical glitches such as lag, spawn inconsistencies, and overall flatness in the graphical qualities of the game. Sure, there are different classes to keep things mixed up, but the only thing that dictates a class are the weapons and tools you get-not the speed of the character or health, etc. so everything kind of feels the same. The impression I really came away with after many multiplayer matches is having my character parachute in-run for a very long time only to maybe shoot one tiny figure in the distance before dying and repeating the whole thing. Finally, counting on your real teammates to do their job? Let's just say I found myself hanging in the wind a LOT.

Bottom line: I'd skip this one unless you really, really like Quake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

could be fun

posted by Hydrus (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I really think this game could be fun if you could get a good group that worked together. It just seamed to feel like a lot of randomness to me. The strogg vehicles are more powerful than than the gdf also. I would not recommend to buy, just rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what its cracked up to be

posted by Woodchippr (GRANGEVILLE, ID) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game needed a lot more fine tuning before it was released. Unfortunately the developers didn't see it that way. When you release a video game in the wake of such games as COD 4 and GTA IV, its imperative that you make sure that it can hold an audience. I received the game yesterday and within a matter of a few hours I had the game beat and found myself going back through playing the game again as the opposing force I was just fighting. The scenery was the same, the missions were the same, the only variant was you were the aggressor as one team, and the opposing force the other. You play on 4 continents such as North America, Africa, etc. The only variant in these continents is the scenery changes. For playing on a continent, it was a very small environment to be fighting a war on. A well placed sniper just a few steps away from the base you start at can actually kill the opposition as they are leaving their base, and the sniper doest have to move. There is only one way into the battlefield most times, and a well placed group of personnel can make short work of your waves of people. Your spawn points are all the same, and again a well placed person with a sniper rifle can make it hard to keep boots on ground. There wasn't really a fun aspect to the game, as it became pretty repetitive and you have to keep changing personnel in order to complete missions. There are vehicles in the game too, but without someone wanting to get on the gun of the vehicle, you are a sitting duck. Vehicle controls are pretty mediocre at best, anyone that has played any Cabelas hunting or fishing games can control the vehicles as it utilizes your left joystick for moment. There are vehicles that fly (helicopters and alien craft) but it is so hard to get the hang of them that you spend most time crashing and not enough time getting the hang of the almost impossible flight controls. I would rent this game if I was bored, but I had it one night and Im already getting rid of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why was this game ever made?

posted by Stellar (VACAVILLE, CA) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Ok to start off this game may look cool from the cover box, but you will be mislead by this. The reasons why this is a bad game. 1. You run way to fast for a normal human and it is impossible to aim or snipe. 2. Finding the objectives are a little rough. and 3. The AI is incredibly stupid. They stand still when a enemy is attacking them. Rush their own base and so on. If you are bored and all ur games in your gameQ are unavailable. Id rather play a old xbox game than rent this again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you liked Wolfenstein for XBOX...

posted by KINGACE (HOLLIS, NY) Jun 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

If you liked Wolfenstein for XBOX you'll more than likely like this game. First time play is confusing at times because some objectives donut seem to be layed out clearly but once you learn it becomes easy. Team work is essential to complete the missions online, offline your bot buddies are DUMB AS BRICKS, which makes the single player "campaign" harder than it needs to be, but playing single player will help lay out objectives more clearly for online play. As my title says if you played Wolfenstein for XBOX you will feel that games genes flowing thru, from the different classes, to the objective based teamplay. So give it a shot if you like to work as a team and get the job done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Least exciting most boring thing I've ever played

posted by bkendall (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I can't even describe how horrible and uninteresting this game is.

Campaign mode was tiresome and repetitive, and there was no one online.

CPU AI has goofy names, trying to be cutesy... just no good all around.

I apologized to my 360 for making it touch that cd.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring!!

posted by musicfilth (WHITE CLOUD, MI) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Game gets old quick, nothing exciting. You basically have set objectives, that made me YAWN. Do this do that but nothing that really stands out. Wheres the blood, originality, but thats just my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This doesnt deserve the name Enemy Territo

posted by Headache (CLAREMORE, OK) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First things first... this is a Quake spinoff, not a new Quake game. This is a "sequel" of sorts to the PC free-to-play /free-to-download game Return to Castle Wolfentstien: Enemy Territory... which was a great multiplayer only game.

This game was initially developed with consoles in mind, but consoles were put on back burner and it was ported to pc. I played PC version extensively and it was good. Then, for some reason... when porting it back to consoles... something happened. ID took a bunch of stuff out, that they never should have. The netcode is broken... no clan support... no squad support... unbalanced weapons/ vehicles... list goes on.

This game is worth a rent, if you are lucky enough to get into a lag-free match. Just bear in mind that this is not intended to be anything more than a multiplayer experience. Maps are nice, only 16 players in a match... but objectives keep action focussed to one area usually. Gameplay is like a cross between any twitch based fps (quake, unreal) and battlefield series. Action is arcadey... not tactical at all. Very fast paced.

I really don't know what John Carmack was thinking with this one. ID dropped the ball big time here. I ran out and bought it, and took it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a rental

posted by The1TruGod (RUMFORD, RI) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is OK. The campaign and the multi player are the same. I have jumped into mp games to have the host not be there. Quitting is ramped. Graphics are ok. they game does require team work which is a hard thing to find. go in with a group of friends and you'll find it easy to dominate. rent it. this is going to be short lived

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

PC is better!

posted by Dasopm (Brunswick, ME) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game, Nobody plays. Bots suck, Don't rent find another. or get for PC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I highly recommend at the very least trying it

posted by imscuba (SCRANTON, PA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game plays exceptionally well in my opinion. The different classes dictate which tasks you are needed to perform, and you are given the ability to switch between them whenever you feel necessary, meaning you can edit your strategies as necessary against human or AI opponents. With a variety of different AI difficulties you can have quite a challenge or a walk through the park. It also offers a variety of weapons ranging from laser pistols to chain guns as well as some unique vehicles. The online multiplayer is fun, but lacking the number of players at the time. If anyone is thinking about trying this game i would suggest it without a moment of hesitation and offer them to play with or against me online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse