Rent Enemy Territory: Quake Wars for PS3
view large frontback

Enemy Territory: Quake Wars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.3

1276 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

cool but needs more

posted by gutarjunky (SUN VALLEY, NV) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the gameplay is super fun its like a multiplayer with bots and objectives kind of like unreal tournament but i wish it had an actual story, in the first cutsene there is a hint of a story but nothing after that and while the gameplay is fun after a few rounds of any objective based map (witch is most of the game) gets boring and repetitive and no one plays multiplayer not a single game being played in the lobby

this game is a rent only. it has great potential if the game devs had put in a story or something

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Decent game

posted by Leolego (FALLON, NV) May 7, 2009

Member since May 2009

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Now, I have to wonder why this game gets such a low rating.
The things you can do in the game are amazing, Such as calling in artillery cannons, Then firing them where you please (If its in range lol)
calling in a Hammer Launcher???? (Lol it shoots 1/4 Nuke missiles sort of)
Many other things.
you can choose many different classes, Then what weapon you wanna use. Then drive a variety of vehicles such as, The tank (YEAH!) Helicopter (Wierd Name) ATVs (OFFROAD FURY MAN!!!) APCs (My Favorite) APC CAN DRIVE ON WATER!!!!, And Boats (HIGH SPEED WATER ACTION) AND A SEMI JET!!!!!!! (HIGH SPEED DOG FIGHTS SORT OF) and then if you play as the bad guys. you pretty much have the same vehicles In alien form. Now im gonna get detailed with classes.
there are Rifleman,Engineer,Medic,Special Op?, and i dont remember lol
Each has their special weapon, Such as Rifles,Shotguns,Shotgun again lol,Sniper Rifle, And im sure the last class has a rocket launcher,
Each has special a ability Rifleman, Uh not sure rofl, Engineer, can repair vehicles and the objective (IF REQUIRED) Medic, Can restart your heart with Defrillbrators!,Special Op, CAN DISGUISE HIMSELF AS AN ENEMY!!!!, and the last one.... uh not sure, dont remember again.

Objectives, Repairing The Generator lol, carrying the FOOTBALL!! (lol data disk) and transmitting the data to a satelite dish, and other stuff,

NOW IM SAYING THIS GAME DOESNT DESERVE THE RATING IT GOT ITS VERY GOOD.
RENT IT NOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun multiplayer game. Don't beleive bad scores...

posted by FrankCrank (RUTLAND, MA) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I played this games demo version expecting a real bad game. I was most surprised. The game is actually very fun.

It's all about the multiplayer. I played the catch the flag and I had a good time.

The graphics are good. Their not BAD, like some of the posters have been posting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not all that bad.

posted by humans (GLENROCK, WY) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

19 out of 25 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Well from everyone's bad reviews i just say that it wasnt all bad. Yes i could see why you would say that this game is not as good as most games out there right now but i say everyone has a opinion.

The Good:
Well first off is that the graphics that everyone says suck arnt that bad like the water effects are really great, the buildings are somewhat good they do have a somewhat lived in feal(I use the term somewhat lightly). The load screans are not that long to load. The critics say that If you are new to the Quake War series then you have time to learn about it online while you are waiting for the ridiculus load screen to get done. It doesnt take that long for it to load. The guns and movement are ok they do move smooth with the game and it will give a good experiance. There are more to this but i cant remember anything else.

The Bad:
Now time for the bad. The "Campain" (Or however you spell it) Isnt really one at all. And once your done with your 3 or 4 missions in each area you loose all your Battlescense's and your upgrades. The explosions could be much better. Also one that i thought that would be possible that you can destroy a little bit of the environment to bad you cant.

End:
All in all this is a good game for all of those who want somthing to ceap them buissie for a while. But for veteran Fps players (not like myself) should go along the lines of CoD4 or somthing else. This is a good game but I cant make up your mind for yourself you rent this game and if you like it buy it if not then write a bad review like everyone else. And go onto the next game to trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not nearly as bad as reviewed

posted by zombie1991 (TAYLORVILLE, IL) Jun 17, 2008

Member since May 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have no idea why this game has been getting bad marks. I've played the 360 and PS3 versions and prefer the PS3 version. It has features that the 360 version does not. One IMPORTANT feature is first person in vehicles.

There are others. But what it really what it comes down to is whether you like the controllers or not. That should be your decision maker right there. The gameplay is EXACTLY the same on both consoles.

Me and my sons all prefer the PS3 version as far as visuals go for some reason. That's a moot point right there though. Games today shouldn't be judged by visuals alone. Visuals can be astounding. But if the gameplay isn't there, the game isn't worth squat. This game IS FUN.

It DOES have a single player. It's practice for playing online. But if you don't have online, then it's still good. The AI, on hard, IS FREAKING HARD!! That's another feature that the PS3 has. You can pick how accurate the AI is with weapons AND how they play AND whether or not they'll complete objectives. If you have both consoles, like I do, get it for whichever controller you like. If you have a PS3 you shouldn't be disappointed with this game. It's GameFly after all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay game, worth a quick rent.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Feb 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for a party me and my bros where having and I had huge expectations for it and thought it would be really cool. When I rented it, I realized that I was mislead. I would give this game a 6.5, since I can't give it that, seven it is. This is just an average game with not much potential. It has good graphics and cool weapons, but the actual game-play is not that great. The re-spawn times take forever and finding a fight in the massive battlefields is very hard, and if you do find one, you die too fast to kill anything. So then you have to re-spawn again and go back to that same fight zone and hope to kill something. So this entire game evolves around specific battle spots that are so packed you die in one minute without firing more than five shots.

Pros: Awesome graphics, cool looking vehicles, sweet looking bad guys and good weapon selection.

Cons: Game-play is poor, combat is bad because you die to fast and all the fighting is always only in one spot. Driving vehicles is extremely tough. Enemies are almost invincible.

I say that you stay away from this game unless you love special strategy fighting games, I tried it and was not super impressed, but you might want to give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I think I went into it w/ the wrong expectations.

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Jun 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

In part that might have been because I just spent the week before playing Unreal Tournament so I was expecting something a little more in that vein, a series of quick/fun bot matches. There is certainly a little more strategy involved here, more along the lines of the Battlefield series (I believe, I haven't played that that much) without the ability to change characters on the fly. Overall it's not a bad game, but I didn't enjoy it as much as I was hoping I would.

First the good parts... the graphics and sound are pretty good, nothing ground breaking but certainly up to the standard of the current gen of consoles. Without the booklet the individual levels/sequence of the game took a little while to figure out. However, the tasks on each level offered a variety of things to do, so unlike UT with just the three different types of levels, there seems to be a lot more going on. The ability to select from 5 different classes of characters also means you are not going to get into a "run and gun" rut and you can choose how you want to approach each level. Even though I didn't try it, I suspect the multiplayer/online aspects of the game are going to be the prime attraction for most people.

Now the bad parts... as mentioned without the instructions the overall structure of the game took a little time to figure out. I mean it was easy enough to jump into the action, but there was no tutorial, or even briefing at the beginning of each level, so how to go about the tasks was confusing at first. Additionally once you get into a game it seems just to be an endless loop. On the individual levels you play one side then the other over and over. For the "campaigns" you seem to play through the same sequence of levels again and again. Overall there was not even as much of a story line as what UT3 tries to have.

As a multiplayer I'm sure this is going to be fun for a lot of people. As a single player I recommend renting it first to see if it clicks for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible

posted by MrRampage7 (HADDON TOWNSHIP, NJ) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok. I put this in my system. Played it for about 2 mins. after those 2 mins. were up i put it back in the slip and shipped it out. Now the title has the word quake in it. This game feels nothing like quake. The title should really say A very badly made game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun never stops

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Aug 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

thanks to respawning. This game was good. Personally, I liked unreal tournament better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game Ive ever played and thats sayin somthin

posted by 65_Shelby (WINSLOW, AZ) May 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

well i will start with the good...

Now on to the bad
Terrible just plain terrible and i usually try to like every game i get
So first of the grafics. Just terrible it looks like one of the last psx games they game out with. You can even see pixels.
Controls, Extreamly horrible. If you've played Battlefield or Call of Duty then your used to the usual R1 to shoot and L1 to iron sight. And the press of a button to toss a grenade, not in this game R2 to shoot and L2 to aim. AND you have to press a button to get the grenade you want then you have to press R2. and he tosses his grenade like a baby would a baseball. Hardly giving you any time to turn and "run" because there is no sprint button. Its basicly crouch to walk and stand to sprint. The cars and tank (they said there where choppers but in the 10 min i played the only one i saw was an enemy) controls are terrible as well you have to push the L stick up to go and you still have to use the L stick to turn. "Why don't you just switch the controls" you may ask, but you can't just an even worse setting for legacy and southpaw controls.
Now on to the gameplay type things. Sniper class is bad because the enemy moves to fast and your scope moves WAY to fast to even get him. Only the shotgun has actual iron sights.( if your like me then you like regular iron sights with out the red dot or ACOG scope) all the other weapons have ether a red dot or a scope for your sights(you don't even get to choose the sights) you don't get perks like in Bfbc and CoD. the AI is stupid, They just stand there as if they werent in a war zone. If you need amunittion then your gonna have to die and then respawn and if you need a medic its just best to wait for the next respawn counter time. Now im a fanboy of Battlefield Bad Company 2 but still this excuse for a game is just a plain bad.
DO NOT RENT I WARN YOU

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I feel like the survivors from flight 815 of Lost!

posted by Ju399446 (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 5, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

First timers please be aware that without a manual Quake will be difficult to learn how to play. I'm giving you my review as a first timer playing the Quake Series and learning how to play was difficult. Finding out the objective of the game on my own was challenging. I thought there was going to be a campaign mode to the game so I could actually roll into the style of the Quake series but that proved to be an illusion I must have made up for myself.

Although this game was hard to play, I must say that if I did know how to play it seems like IT WOULD BE AMAZING! Action packed without a doubt. Being able to choose which type of character and fighter you are in any shooting game automatically boosts its ratings!

Simply put, Quake can be compared to Team Fortress Classic from the Orange Box. You can build machines and choose characters. However, do not expect being able to learn how to play Quake as simple as one would TFC because you wont.

Gave it a fair because I was not going to give it a plus for the difficulty of learning how to play, nor did I want to give it a negative review for my lack of knowledge of how to play...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

All doors unlocked

posted by The0ne (PLEASANTVILLE, NY) May 29, 2008

Member since May 2008

5 out of 21 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing with great graphics and all but that's not what i want to talk about. All the other quake games to me were just warm ups for this game. Which, is a combination of enemy territory (its own game) and Quake wars, the best game ever made (so far because eventually they'll make a better quake wars) in first person shooters. And you can also be your own class in multiplayer so that's an add-on in my book. Yet, this game never stops getting my attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth playing!

posted by bredav0043 (JOHNS ISLAND, SC) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is the worst Playstation3 game that I ever played.The game has low graphics and has bad game play.This game does not even have a story mode.This game really sucks!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wants to be Battlefield 2.5

posted by JonnyKill (WINTERSVILLE, OH) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

IMHO it wants to be Battlefield 2.5, but falls seriously short in many ways. Graphics are below par for the PS3, and even stutters on frame rate. The way vehicles move is horrible. Using the left stick to steer often made the tank get stuck and hard to turn(practice may minimize this, but an hour was too much for me). When on foot, always running looked odd and felt disconnected. And audio for vehicle engine sounds is way off. The quad bike sounded like Vespa's or mopeds.

I like Quake and Enemy Territory was pretty good too, ON PC. This game just needs a ton of work to be worth playing. If you play or have played Battlefield 2. Play it again, this game just can't come close to the quality of BF2. Too bad BF2 is not available for PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER

posted by Gamesmash (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the worst games ever made. I was a huge quake fan prior to this game. They really let me down with this one. Poor graphics sluggish game play. Avoid this one at all costs!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is pretty bad!

posted by cuz100 (EAST HAVEN, CT) Jun 30, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Well, first off the graphics were terrible. I know graphics don't really matter but, they were so bad for a PS3 game I cried a little. They looked like any other PS3 game at all. Next I think there are to many vehicles and the controls for them are very bad as well. Online game modes are very bad and the single player campaign is defiantly dumb. I totally say get Metal Gear Solid 4 over this if you haven't played it yet or even better get Call Of Duty 4. Same all some shooter way better campaign and online is way way better. I thought this game was going to be fun too but look what happens it turned out to be very very bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STAY AWAY FROM THIS GAME

posted by tobak3 (GREENVILLE, SC) Jun 14, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is one of the stupidest first person shooters i've ever played. the graphics are the worst i've seen on the ps3. the aiming system is screwed up. It starts out slow then gets fast which makes it impossible to shoot moving targets. there is nothing in this game that is worth your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I thought First-Person Shooters were Good Games,

posted by Tinsley316 (CHESTERFIELD, VA) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

until I played Quakes Wars, i would buy any first-person shooter sitting on the shelf at a store. But when I played this game, I felt the need to watch what I buy. First off, there is NO difference the online play and offline play. The graphics are pitiful for a PS3 game, and ther is NO challenge. I could honestly say, Activision could have done better, but it is as if they didn't care much when it came to creating this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Save your money

posted by NEMO77 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2004

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Go play call of duty this game just doesn't cut it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

H O R R I B L E

posted by simba007 (CEDAR PARK, TX) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Seriously, in this day how can games come out to this level and people still play them?! Worthless gameplay, no campaign, it looks like the game was thrown together in a few weeks. I love FPS's, have played a ton of them, this one is just HORRIBLE, SKIP IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Addition To The Series

posted by rwalker573 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I really enjoyed this game, despite the lack of story... which is already provided in the game series already. This is more of the tactical/strategy side of the games, which was lacking in the games before hand

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BAD GAME (FOR CONSOLE!)

posted by ILL_TECHNiiQUEZ (MONTEBELLO, CA) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Okay so i started playing this, and right away i was sent into a battle, there is absolutely no tutorial on how the heck to do the objectives so i was kinda lost and trying to move was a bit hard. also the controls could use some time getting used to, and driving.. why not use two different analog sticks??
Its cool how you can get into all kinds of cars and stuff but this game failed as a console game, now if it were PC this game would be really good, but its not, and console gamers like to know what theyre doing, and how the heck to do it.. the graphics arent as bad as people make it seem, and theres a little fun to the game just not enough.
Pro's:
- Good variety missions, classes, vehicles, etc.
- Graphics not to bad
- Doesnt feel the same every time (like cod)
Cons:
- Hard to move
- Don't know what to do
- Die to fast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible, just terrible!

posted by Clankrocks (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

I was really disappointed with this. The description made the game sound really good, but it wasn't. Game play was terrible, the graphics were terrible, multiplayer wasn't fun. Huge disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BAD

posted by shmeegul7700 (NORWAY, ME) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

well i got WAY less than i expected i will admit that i kept the game for a few days but because it isn't that bad but the gun-play is like brink they say vehicles are like battlefeild but half of the controlles were tacky get if you want but this guy says DON'T

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Quake Wars Review

posted by Dslayer619 (ARLINGTON, NE) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is definitely one of those games where the description/story line provided by Gamefly is very misleading. I had a good vibe from the game when I first looked at it, but once I started playing it the game did not live up to the game play expectations I had formed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse