Rent Endless Ocean for Wii
view large frontback

Endless Ocean

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

2912 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's such a relaxing game!

posted by cekeys (RICHMOND, TX) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

40 out of 41 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

When I first saw the game I thought "Oh, this will be a nice, interesting scuba game." When you sit down to play it, you have no idea how relaxed you'll be when you're done.

I'm going to say this up front; there is no action or violence in this game. There is no attack button, or slashing action going on. It's straight exploration. You start out as a research marine biologist with a non-swimming partner on a boat on an imaginary island. The storyline progresses by talking to your partner or checking email.

You dive into the deep blue and explore a beautiful 3d ocean where you find a plethora of fish and sea life including whales, sharks, crabs, dolphins, sea turtles and a many other fish.

The music is just incredible. Some of the tracks are original, but others are from the exceptionally talented artist Haley Westenra. We even bought 3 of her albums just because of this game. If you're not a fan of the music, the game allows you to listen to your own MP3's on an SD card. A feature that to date has only been seen on Excite Truck, which is a shame.

So don't knock it until you try it. Get in on the peaceful deep blue and go play with some fish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More an "experience" than a game

posted by jeanniepep (NORTH BRANCH, MI) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

40 out of 42 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I've been looking forward to this game since it was first announced, and Nintendo does not disappoint! The controls are easy and intuitive, and the graphics are beautiful. Swimming around and exploring the ocean is relaxing and fun, and discovering a new fish or artifact is always a little bit of a thrill. But boy, when a huge whale quietly emerges from the depths, it really does send a chill down my spine! There are enough goals and missions to keep things interesting, but as "gaming" goes its really more of a fun, relaxing experience than a traditional game. Some of the ocean creatures look a little intimidating (especially in the dark abyss!!) but so far none have attacked. The megamouth shark sure didn't appreciate being poked, though! Some of the fish, particularly the bicolor parrotfish and sailfin tang, seem to like me and follow me around, which is sort of cool. Having new areas to explore keeps me coming back to Endless Ocean every day!

Only thing that keeps it from being a 10 are some minor framerate issues and the music options. It would be nice if a few songs would shuffle during a long dive, playing the same one over and over gets old no matter how much you like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Endlessly Addictive

posted by lightsaber (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

58 out of 63 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

When Endless Ocean first arrived i wasn't quite sure what to think of it. Quite honestly from other reviews i had read i wasn't expecting very much from an educational title (as most video game reviews out there are calling it) but i believe most of these reviews focus a little too much on the educational part of Endless Ocean and not enough about what makes the game truly fun and addictive, the exploration. The exploration is what will keep most players intrigued enough to play to the end. That being said there really isn't much else to do in this game and its' simple control scheme promises no complex interactions with most of the game world but for everything this game doesn't do i still found myself wanting to find that next new area to explore. Yes there is plenty here for the people who want to learn a little about the ocean and its' inhabitants but that isn't the primary focus of this game. The primary focus is about dropping you into a world and letting you explore that world at your leisure. This game taught me just how much fun exploring the hidden depths of the ocean could be. While most will brush this low priced gem aside for the very few who do decide to give it a try they will find themselves endlessly addicted to Endless Ocean.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game for education and laid back fun

posted by dolphinjen (HEBER SPRINGS, AR) May 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game, However renting it is somewhat of a difficult way to actually beat the game. They took a lot of time to make sure that the game was fun and educational but there are tons of things that must be done in order to beat the game. Renting is a great way to decide if you like it but buying is probably the obly way to beat the game unless you have plenty of time to spend on the game daily and then plan on keeping it for a month or more.

Lots of educational information about the animals and loads of fun training each animal you befriend. Takes a long time to beat it....so I recommend playing it a while and then buying it if you like this sort of thing....even my teenagers enjoy the game.

We bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The world's most relaxing video game

posted by trillsie (HARRISBURG, PA) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to this game since I heard about it. I thought the idea of swimming in the ocean and exploring was a great idea. I had read all the reviews and even seen short videos of the game in play.

I got it home and played for four and a half hours. The music and graphics are amazing. It's not that difficult to learn to swim and there's easy walk throughs at the start of the game.

There is actual game play involved as you have to get pictures of certain fish or places, befriend and train dolphins, and accomplish other tasks. The difference is that you don't have to if you don't want to. You are able to unlock aspects of the game by accomplishing the tasks though.

You can also play your own MP3s, but I don't plan on that as the music that's there really fits the different scenes and is really beautiful.

It's also a learning game as you interact with the fish, you learn more about them.

This game isn't for everyone. This really is a different breed of video games. If you're looking for something different, give this game a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oh the beauty of the Ocean

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my fiance. However, I sat down to play it and it has become my new addiction. I absolutely love this game. I have played it for three days straight now. You get to see lots of really cool fish and other marine animals. There are task that you must do, but it is not a game that can be rushed. It truly is a relaxing game. I have never enjoyed a game so much. However, for you hard core gamers that like lots of action and violence, you better rent something else. There is no real action in this game. Something that I find a nice change in pace from other games where you are trying to beat the clock. I cannot wait to try the second installation of this series. This is a must rent, easy enough for children (as long as they can read) but enough challenge and entertainment for adults. Oh and yeah if you want a video game that talks to you, this is not it. There is a lot of reading, it is kind like playing underwater Sims.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Endless Ocean: Got some time?

posted by VegasRiv (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Today, we're looking at Endless Ocean, A unique and in depth (no pun intended) game based on the sport of scuba diving. I was very impressed overall by the graphics and sheer attention to detail presented in this game, the environments were rich in detail and at times, shrouded in mystery as the divers flashlight beam brought unknown sea-life and new areas to explore. At times the semi-erratic camera does complicate the diving, but great fun overall.
The missions were clear and some a bit complex for the younger set, but adults will have a great time.

The Pros:
Great Scenery and overall undersea ambiance.
Incredible attention to detail of the many species.

The Cons:
Game is quite lengthy for a quick play.
Camera following your diver sometimes twists and turns, disorienting the player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game!!!

posted by BronxNY (WARWICK, NY) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS AMAZING!!! The graphics are so good, its like they are in HD even on a non-HD set. The gameplay is amazing too!! You get o collect artifacts, swim with and train dolphins(The best part), and ride and catalog other amazing and diverse creatures. My suggestion to all: When Gamefly puts a "Buy It" on this game, do as the name implies, buy this game! Its a great game, and trust me, you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Endless Ocean

posted by sampey (YORKVILLE, IL) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The whole family loved this game. It brought the family together to find the fish and complete the tasks. I like there is no blood or violent scenes. My kids did find the abyss creepy. But once they realized they wouldnt get eaten, it was much better! Its a great family game. I find myself playing it. Its worth the rental and buy once it goes on sale.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Impressed

posted by amanda214 (HAW RIVER, NC) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For a game that is more of a relaxing vacation, it is not as boring as I thought it had the possibility of being. This low-stress game offers artifacts to collect, caves to explore, and interaction with the sea life. Also, the characters are kind of intriguing, like the nerdy girl on the boat that can't swim! My husband makes fun of this game when I play, but I think it is not much of a spectator experience. I find myself also getting excited to spot whales and other sea creatures. Very different than any other game experience!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Interesting But Not Immersive

posted by gamerantah (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The premise is great and it certainly has potential but it really fell flat. I never felt like I was interacting with the sea life. You flick the remote or push a button and the on-screen hand responds but the fish do not. It's a jarring reminder that you are just playing a game. The visuals are wonderful. The music is soothing, though early on very little of it is unlocked making it repetitive. Swimming is intuitive. The discovery aspects, finding and learning about new creatures, is a bit dull. You spot a fish, flick your remote at it a bunch of times and then a fact is available for viewing. The water is fluid but the game play is very broken up. And what's up with the horrible dialog? There's no voice acting, it's all text — way too much text. It's also hard to distinguish who is doing the talking. Despite my rank, this concept has potential and I would love to give a sequel, which addresses these issues, a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

interesting and simple

posted by ryannn (SUSSEX, NJ) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

i love salt water fish and have a few tanks of my own. this game is a fun gae because not only is it simple and easy to understand instructions and quite fun but is is also teaching me alot about the fish. great idea. now they need a salt water fishing game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cool graphics, BORING gameplay

posted by pillster (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jun 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I gave this a four purely on the graphics. Everything else was just so not there. I tried, I really did. But fondling fish, talking to some absent minded gal on a boat, and continually being told to turn around when I wanted to explore just put it over the line. I probably put in about 2-3 total hours of gameplay spread out in about 4-5 days. I just couldn't do it.

and this is wi-fi?? I tried so many times to try and figure out HOW it was wifi and still have no clue. I don't even understand the point of it being wifi. What, fondle fish with someone else that is online?? wooohooo, can't wait...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just OK

posted by justgotawi (OLNEY, MD) May 8, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The premise is great, and I like exploring the worlds that I'm playing, but I was disappointed with this game because:

- Too much text to read. I don't understand why the characters can't talk, why do I have to read everything one line at a time?

- There's no real interaction with the sea life. You tickle or pet a fish, but it doesn't react. Most of the fish don't even eat the food you give them. Why can't I feed them chum or live bait, why must I throw powder at them? It would be great to dangle a live fish at a sea lion and have him grab it from me, or to get in a cage and feed sharks.

- There are no real goals - you find an area, find a fish. That's it.

- There is no danger - no sharks to be wary of, no killer octopus to watch out for. No rip tides or undercurrents.

- There are no amazing underwater features - where is the Titanic-like shipwreck? Where is Atlantis? Where is the Loch Ness monster?

This game wasn't a total loss for me - I do enjoy the exploration aspect to games, but there wasn't enough crazy interesting stuff to explore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Endless..............Ocean

posted by Bukka62 (CHARLES TOWN, WV) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

My 6 year old granddaughter enjoyed it for one day and then lost interest. I enjoyed playing it just to have the aquatic scene (like a screen saver) on my TV as sort of a way to relax.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

soooo sloooow

posted by fervently (GREENSBORO, NC) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It takes a long time for this game to get sorta interesting. after 20 minutes, your like, "lets shoot some sharks". All you do is ID fish, take pictures & check your Gmail. Lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

For Non-Gamers ONLY!!!

posted by Bladerunnr (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

I had high expectations for this game because of the solid Gamefly rating it had. I thought it would be a fun game for my girlfriend and I to play together, but even she thought it was a waste of time. First off, the graphics are disappointing, even by Wii standards. When the game starts you think to yourself that it may have a lot of potential but after about 20 minutes you realize that this game is really nothing more than swimming around, looking at boring seascapes and poking fish with your finger, literally. You have to feed fish and actually poke them several times in a row just so you can get info pages containing less information about the sealife than a third grade text book. If you want to learn about sea-creatures, go to an aquarium. If you want to have fun playing your Wii, don't rent Endless Ocean. Period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Where is Atlantis?

posted by roseofdoom (KENT, WA) May 1, 2008

Member since May 2005

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

This game was lame My god was it bad. First of all the controls suck. Now I did not think this was going to be a really fun game, I thought it more on the lines of pretty the controls make it so you can not see the pretty because you are yelling at you tv. Now I know this game would not focus on gameplay, but I did think atleast that it would play smoothly. Even the people in my house who don't play a lot of games, and play more Casual games, and even they found this game weak. They try to follow some story, so about 2 hours in the game you get to look at fish that don't suck. Come on are clown fish that cool? No. Oh, and I think they try to add some lame love story, which sounds bad for a game about fish, but it gets worse. This girl is crazy (guy if you play a girl I think, but I don't know) She takes a stray penguin in the first 5 minutes of the game, and makes you talk to it. She also can talk to fish, but seeing how fish don't really have emotions so I don't think they can talk much. You have these missions to show idiots fish, and after looking at one fish they seem to say how we need to help the ocean, real subtle there nintendo. You also pet fish to learn about them. I bet fish really love being pet .wink. Now why don't you go pet a shark. Also this game is not open ended at all. You have like a mile on room to roam at most. Also the game is meant to relax you, but I don't think swimming in the wrong direction would relax me. Lots of people will tell you this game is great, most of these people I are not gamers in any way. All I can say that is good about this game is that it looks kinda nice if you can get your guy to look where you want, and the music is fine. If you like pain, or happen to worship under water gods who drive men crazy this is your game. If you enjoy not being boerd this game will not work for you.
DO NOT RENT THIS GAME IS YOU VALUE YOUR SOUL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for kids

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Feb 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

If youve ever been diving, you probably wont like this game, its much more fun to dive in the real world. The game dosnt offer much, its pretty basic. graphics are ok. controlas are ok as well. entertained me for 2 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game!

posted by mbeka (CLEVELAND, TX) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

helped me relax enough so i can meditate and even sleep better... when i have the funds, i'll buy it. awesome game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun Game

posted by jen_52 (STANWOOD, WA) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I really enjoyed the game, it was a fun change from most games, you don't need to collect jewels to level up etc, you get to be a diver and for the most part just chill, look and some fish learn about them and just have fun. I found it very relaxing, would definatly recommend this game to anyone, no matter your age.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of a Kind, Remarkable!

posted by Holden602 (FOLEY, AL) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I have played a plethora of games for the Wii. Most of them you walk (or fly, float, race, run, ride) around and shoot people or objects. Others are semi-entertaining half excercise, half finesse objective based games.
This one breaks the mold. There are no other games that allow you to discover, at will, the ocean and it's great mysteries. Finding species that you have never seen or heard of before, this game takes you on an odyssey. It also teaches you a lot about each animal encountered.
My nephew was very hesitant about trying this game due to the lack of "killing and explosions". I put a bunch of his favorite songs on an SD card and walked him through the beginning and that was it. I have never seen him get so involved in a game (especially after three weeks of daily play) and so excited to find and discover new items. He is nine years old, plays all the first person shooter games and enjoys this game more than those and maybe more than I do.
Very impressive. There are some quirks but nothing you can't overlook.
The second one, "Blue World" has more challenges and the animals you encounter are more realistic (i.e. sharks attack you, barbs on Lionfish actually hurt and you have limited air supply) but this one is more relaxed and low key. Still a great game. I have both games, play each one depending on my mood.

Highly Recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

only a 4 because...

posted by malique (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i gave it a 4 only because i think it could b a little better......i mean there are some really cool parts but it could be a little better...but i like the fact that you can interact with the sea life.....but i was just looking for something a little more than something that a 7 yr old can do.....because i am thinking of becoming a marine biologist....instead of a vet but.....again this game was a little to childish for me..sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Endless Ocean Eqeals Endless Plaing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by cutiebutie4545 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Endles Oceans is a fun,but disguised learning game. Cute fish, scary sharks and adorable dolfins!! I love this game because you get to be a diver, see exotic fish go into mysterous caves and more!I practily stayed up all night playing. It is a COOL, WONDERFULL AND MYSTEROUS GAME. I will be sad when i send it back. :{

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

insperasinal(sorry)

posted by the4thson (SANTEE, CA) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

i havnt played the first one,but i have played the second,the second game is beutiful and colorful,and it make you feel what you see,from the peaceful islands to the dreadful abyss,i hope the first game is just like it,but they should make a 3rd game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse