Rent Endless Ocean: Blue World for Wii
view large frontback

Endless Ocean: Blue World

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

1044 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow. What an Amazing Journey.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

38 out of 41 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Okay, so I played the first one briefly, and loved it. It was an entirely new experience from any other game I've ever played. Now I normally play games like Uncharted, inFAMOUS, all on the PlayStation. So I'm an avid gamer of shooters and adventure games, but this game is defiantly an experience that does something every other game couldn't do, it relaxes. The graphics are superb, a few minor technicalities, but overall, the udnerwater seqeunces are amazing. The fish have so much life, the storyline is great, something the first one lacked. This game also has one new item that changes a lot of gameplay. That's the pulsar. Its a gun-type thing that heals sick fish, and scares off violent sharks and such. It adds a new sense of realism to the dangers of diving, and adds in excitement.

Pros: Amazing life in the ocean, huge environments, awesome fish, great storyline, amazing treasures, the pulsar is a nice touch. Greatly likable characters, simple controls. This game is a masterpiece, and excels at relaxation.

Cons: The camera is a pain in small spaces. Walking on land is a tiny bit odd.

Overall, this game is amazing. I will defiantly be buying it. Its a wonder of a game that's relaxing when you want it be, and a marvelous adventure when you feel like that. Its not for anyone, but like I said, I normally play upbeat, intensely fast-paced games on the PlayStation, and I LOVE this game. So if you like shooters or such, don't turn this game down instantly. And all the 1-star reviews are from sugar-addicts who got bored because they're not blowing off some cursing dudes face. Give it a try, hopefully you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Impression

posted by Shamakan (PRESCOTT VALLEY, AZ) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

People seem to think that all games need to be violent and bloody to be "good" games however I love this game, other than the control mechanics, which I find to be sluggish and troublesome, the game is fun, at least from my point of view. It allows a person who never has been scuba diving to experience the thrill of it. While it is true that this is not a violent game, it has a serene peace to it. For those of you out there looking to break away from the violence and trouble in the world, I guarantee this game will, at least for a time, help you accomplish that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Scuba divers apply within

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

23 out of 26 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

As someone who loves the water, and scuba diving in general this game is great. They nail the sounds of being underwater including the breathing.
The game itself has you on a mission to research the Dragon Song and find pieces of the mystery of it, and an ancient castle sunk underwater.
At the beginning of the adventure you create your diver, meet with a salty sea captain who teaches you the ropes. ( He reminds me a lot of Jacques Cousteau ) and meet his daughter Oceanna who will accompany you on some dives. After your intro he takes you to your home island. As the game progresses you can buy and store new dive gear here, and get some items for creating a custom coral reef to explore, as well as items for the island itself.
The gameplay itself is simple. Hold B to swim, and look at fish while exploring the environment. You can interact with the fish by feeding them, taking pictures or using a pulsar gun to heal or calm them down.
The big difference this time around is the Ocean does feel a lot larger and you are not limited to a small dive area. Each section of the world map has a fairly large ocean for you to explore. You are also limited by your air supply this time around. However the more you dive the larger your air supply gets. ( Kinda like real life where the more you dive the better you get and the less air you actually use as you become relaxed underwater. )
The animals underwater are gorgeous and move gracefully just like fish in real life.
If you are a diver, or are curious about being a diver. I'd recommend this game. It's not for everyone since it is not a typical game, but it's a great exploration experience and gives you a decent idea of what it is like to go scuba diving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by jen_52 (STANWOOD, WA) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't get very far into the game, but, i really enjoyed it, there are a lot more animals in the ocean other than fish like the last game. I love the whales, makes it a bit of a different game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Rent!!!!! Addictive!!!!

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I bought this game after renting the first Endless Ocean. I loved it so much that I assumed that I would like this game. However, there are not words to describe how great this game is. We have not played a single other video game since buying this one. It is so addictive. It is better than the first one, if you liked the first Endless Ocean but thought it lacked action, then this is the game for you. I don't want to spoil anything about the game, but there is some action, better graphics, and the toys are cooler. Also, if like me you had trouble getting some of the fish in the first game to identify themselves, the creators of this game have fixed that issue. So if you liked the first game, you will love this one. Like I said for the last three days we have played it almost non-stop it is so addicting. If you did not try the first Endless Ocean, I recommend that you start with this one, it is so much cooler. However, I do not recommend this version for small children, let them stick to the first Endless Ocean. (Oh and the Aquarium is way better too)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game!!

posted by DoranneB (CLINTON, TN) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I wasn't sure if I would like the game, but wanted to give it a try. The first day playing it, I liked it, but wasn't sure how much. After giving it a 2nd try, I began to love it and quickly became addicted to playing. The storyline is awesome to follow along with, but when you just want to relax and explore at your own pace, the jobs in treasure salvaging, working as a diving guide, and befriending & training dolphins, are a lot of fun! My personal favorite job in the game is the photography requests. I find it a lot of fun to locate certain fish & creatures, and set up the best photographs I can take, hoping my works will make the magazine covers. Photography is one of my passions, so naturally this part of the game was especially appealing & fun to me. I love that I can explore, and dig up treasure, work on photo requests, train dolphins and have dolphin shows any time I want to take a break from following the main storyline. That money earned comes in handy near the end of the game!
I recommended Endless Ocean: Blue World to my daughter who lives in Germany right now, so she and I could use the internet feature together. We both added the Wii Speak to it so we can enjoy chatting, while we dive together. A lot of fun exploring and a lot of laughs via Wii Speak & the internet. Amazing feature for us!!
I love this game and it didn't take long at all to decide to keep this rental (for only $14.99!!). I finished to the end of the storyline and I am STILL going, trying to complete my treasure finds, and the last of the underwater creatures for my encyclopedia on the Nine Ball Island table. There are still many tasks and quests for me to do before I have explored every last bit of this game. After that, I see myself starting over from the beginning!! Excellent game. Amazing graphics. Very relaxing, yet still challenging, as you explore the beautiful underwater world. A must have, in my opinion. I hope there is a 3rd version in the near future!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BORING?!?!?!? Not hardly!!

posted by Chakotay (AMARILLO, TX) Dec 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I read several of the negative reviews of this game and was surprised there was ANYONE who didn't love this game. It seems that they didn't try the other jobs and missions tasked to their diver. One reviewer even criticized the game not letting you go ashore.
Um... hello! Every piece of land you come to you can go ashore.

One person said all you do is swim and take pictures. (You don't have to take pictures, but you get paid for it and it's fun) Only 2 of the things you can do.

One person who rated it a 1 because they couldn't use their items didn't spend any time figuring it out. You can use everything you buy. Swim suits and so much scubba gear that you can look normal, or wild and crazy like a swamp creature, or ninja.

MY REVIEW:

This game was fun for me. I liked discovering animals and creatures, filling up my encyclopedia. I enjoyed the treasure hunts, I befriended all the dolphins and whales available. I loved the photo assignments and when a buyer put my photo on the cover of their magazine, I saved it on my SD chip. I gave tours, found treasure for myself and for collectors who paid good money for items. I trained my dolphins (as well as took them with me on missions to I could hang on and swim faster) and gave dolphin shows. I kept the museum exhibits fresh and exciting (my only complaint was not being able to place coral or vegitation in the Huge tank.)

There is so much to do in this game, but you don't HAVE to do it. You are a paid diver, so you need to get some $ You have a main story line that comprises a large chunk of the game, but at the same time, you still have to work sometime.
Once you finish the main story, you can quit your job and leave, or stay, raise a butt load of $ to excavate the Cavern of the Gods. Why anyone would leave before getting in there is beyond me. But you have to work hard to raise the money. Double up, take a tourist to the same place you need a photo, or do a photo shoot and salvage task...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really one of the best games on the wii!

posted by Stategist (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Really I think its worth the rent and buy because you have to do all the side quests and the mystery that will keep you thinking!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Endless Ocean: Blue World for Wii

posted by jrod11 (GRANGER, IN) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and I think I have found the best game I have played in my life. I ended up buying it from Gamefly. I recommend this game because it teaches you about sea animals and takes you through exciting adventures. You heal many animals like manatees and mantarays. You also get to fight sharks that are very dangerous. This game is packed with many things to do and I never get bored with it. It is never-ending. It is the best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOOOO GOOD!!!

posted by HDForLife (KATY, TX) Jul 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the Endless Ocean series!!! All of them made me cry at the end. I just wish that they would come out with another sequal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Adventure Time

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jun 14, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The original EO focused mostly on a relaxing experience. This one is an adventure game. It has no time limits, so enjoy and explore before you move on to the next mission. You can customize your character, either male or female. The downside is that you cannot choose your first hairstyle. You are stuck with short black hair (I have long brown hair) and you cannot choose a new style until you find the missing scissors that your friend lost. (Stupid, isn't it). Nonetheless, this is a fabulous and beautiful game. The story is along the lines of `National Treasure` or `Indiana Jones` as you try to solve the mystery of an age-old legend and find a massive treasure. You train dolphins and can have up to eleven dolphins as your partners (the original was limited to only three). There are some new species added, such as the beautiful Minke Whale. There are numerous treasures to find and mysteries to solve and hidden areas to discover. It is educational (about the ocean life) and non-violent. There is no foul language and parents can be comfortable allowing children to play. (There are shark attacks, but all the sharks do is smack you around with their tails, not eat the diver)
This is one game that I will never grow tired of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's Great!

posted by gamegrade (EVANSTON, WY) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is better then the first. It has better graphics too. It makes the water more murky making it look more real. I give it a 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally-a game that is more than a shoot 'em up!

posted by WoMensan (MIDLAND, TX) Dec 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am six days into my rental and really love this game! Most games are too linear and killing everything that moves is no longer fun. Enter Blue World. I have scuba dived a few times, so was unsure it would be fun. What's refreshing is the game's speed is driven almost completely by the player. You can dive like a crazy person and advance faster or see more places, if you want lots of dive assignments for money you can, but you can also play for the enjoyment of the game's diverse marine life, hidden treasure, and unexpected dangers. This what makes me love it. You might see different creatures at different times of day, there is diving at night , orienting yourself in ice caves, shark infested waters, and even river diving. I especially enjoy swimming through the ruins and shipwrecks, and the luck of the draw in what I salvage!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Like Suba?

posted by ChuckYaz (MESA, AZ) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found this game very educating and intrigueing. It kept me attached to my machine for hours. My family even began to get involved as I was going through the adventure of the 'searches'. The layout of the controls are a bit confusing at first but I got the hang of it after a couple (2) hours of play.
I Really like the save options that it provides for a person to log and record all of the activities within the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by GravyGame (YOUNGWOOD, PA) Mar 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked it for the most part. The animals LOOK like they do in real-life, they act the same, and somtimes it's fun to see how they react when you touch them. However! The game just didn't get me like some other games (Star wars Force unleashed, Spider man1 ect.) All you do is sort of swim around, and your "Corsour" Has to be on-screen or else it's rather frustrating to swim. But it still has AMAZING fish detailing, most games just take a natral animal, and just give it a different name, not this game! The only reason it didn't hit me was because... well it just wasn't as exciting as a few others. Although I still think it's a pretty good game, it is exciting, I might get it... However, other than that I can't help you... you'll just have to see for yourself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by sheryl (BEND, OR) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I loved the first Endless Ocean. Aimless, meandering and all. So different from anything else I'd played. It had its flaws, and this game does improve in some ways. But now the game seems to push you through, the characters won't shut up about the next mission you're supposed to do. There's tension and danger (though nothing bad really happens). I can't imagine who this will appeal to--not someone looking to chill, given the "suspense." Not someone looking for superfun adrenaline, it's too slow. The last straw for me was getting to a point where I could not save unless I successfully escaped from a trap. It let me keep trying but wouldn't let me save. I finally powered down the Wii out of boredom and frustration and stuck the darn thing in the gamefly sleeve without even checking to see where it would have had me restart my game. It's very reasonably priced, and given some improvements in the graphics and guided tours it might be worthwhile for somebody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Is it worth buying?

posted by UndertakR (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

After final game play I find the game to be enjoyable. I would recommend purchase and 25 doesn't seem an unreasonable price relative to cost of other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Please, get the first game

posted by Mario11168 (RIO RANCHO, NM) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Get the first Endless Ocean. At least.. If you want an ocean simulator where you go around petting fish. I'm serious.

This game is trying to be an RPG. You level up the more you're underwater, and you get to stay underwater more for the higher level you are, but even then, the air gauge drops way too fast. The most I've been able to stay underwater is 30 minutes, while in the first game was literally an hour, which actually let you fully explore whatever area you're in. This game makes you go through missions, timing you by how much air you have and making you shoot angry sharks with a pulsar type gun that (if they hit you) will drain your air gauge even more. You can also shoot fish to heal them, and that would have been cool if the sharks weren't so aggressive and you could stay underwater longer!

Now if I wanted realism, I would get money and go scooba diving myself, not expect the video game to be realistic. The first game was way better than this game since it didn't feel like a part underwater RPG with a shooting element mixed in. They should have kept the first games ideas with larger areas to explore and the same general mission line (where the fish weren't aggressive, the mission line was COMPLETELY optional and you didn't HAVE to do it to get to new areas, and you had a lot more air in your tank). So please, get the first Endless Ocean, and skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What the ?

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Apr 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

Actually a 1 is being kind - should be 0 or negative if it were available. You go on a fake scuba diving trip - are they kidding? Complete garbage - enough said about this. D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Endless Ocean

posted by kingrich (MC DONALD, PA) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is an interesting game but he gaeplay is a little oo complex for children.I tried to help my 7 and 8 year old brother and sister to grasp he concept of the game but it is just too difficult for them and yes i know it is E10+, but they are bright children and i tought they would be able to ge the games concets a controls bt they had a hard time with it. I didn't really enjoy the game as much as i though i would though and overall i wouldn't reccomend this game for a buy but yousould rent it and see what its all about if youlike exploring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not 4 me

posted by cjstaud66 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

As far as graphics it's pretty good. It's just not what I thought it would be. If your into just basicly swimming and exploring underwater, go for it. I'm not the scubadiving type so it was kinda boring to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Slow

posted by ncluff1989 (CARVER, MA) May 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I have played awful games before but none like this. If your stuck at home for weeks and have nothing else to do, then this game may be alright. But I found it to be boring all you do is swim. And endless being in the name is appropriate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

In a word...

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by bbutler (SAINT CLOUD, FL) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I was all excited to get this...Played it for 30 min and was so bored...The game starts out like a movie...Credits,music...Took forever just to start the game...Nothing like I thought it would be...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't rent !

posted by Bustamucho (CAMP VERDE, AZ) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This has to be the most boring game I have ever rented, yes, I realize it is not really a game, but to me it was completely pointless, and I RAN to the closest mailbox to return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse