Rent Enchanted Arms for PS3
view large frontback

Enchanted Arms

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.5

1251 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Game that Doesn't Live Up to its Potential

posted by asgeras (IOWA CITY, IA) May 9, 2007

Member since May 2005

30 out of 33 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like Enchanted Arms. When it first came out on the 360, I waited, due to bad reviews. They added some stuff for the PS3 version, so I decided to check it out. I'll let you know what I encountered, so you can decide if it's worth your bother.

First off, let me state that the prologue/ prelude is a horrid, horrid experience. The plot is dry, the voice acting is terrible (the Japanese and English voice actors both did a crummy job), and the load times are horrid, even when you're walking into a small room with no interactive object. It was almost so bad that I sent it back.

After the prelude, things definitely improve. The load times drop to something bearable and the Japanese voice actors were still pretty bad, but improved to a level where I'm not grabbing my ears in pain.

One of the saving graces of this game is the battle system. It uses what I referred to as a strategy for idiots device, which is a 4 x 6 grid, of which the enemy can move around their half, and you can move around yours. It's nothing too fancy, but can be a little fun, and can be interesting in some of the harder battles. However, the battles are way to plentiful in this game. There are moments when I've gotten done with a battle (which usually takes a fair bit of time) only to be pulled back into battle within the very next step.

My last complaint is the tutorials. The game tends to think the player is a moron (which might have to be the case, if the player bought the game). It explains in explicit detail how to do everything from opening a chest, to swimming.

Well, there are definitely other bad qualities about this game, but I'm running out of space, and probably boring you as well.

If you are desperate for an RPG for the PS3, rent and try it. I would be lying if I said it didn't have it's moments. Unfortunately they're much further away from each other then the next battle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a bad RPG...

posted by Raligan (KNOXVILLE, TN) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was OK. I'll rate it on Combat, Storyline, Control, and Graphics.
Combat: 3/5 The combat system is well explained and, while a bit odd, easy enough to master and exploit. Eventually the battles get tiresome, the encounter rate is a bit on the high side.
Storyline: 4/5 The story, while predictable, did have some 21st century edginess which was horribly pulled off (they had an LGBT character in the beginning), but well acted over all (though his voice did get incredibly irritating voice was enough to make me hit the mute button on a number of occasions). I give them credit for trying. The ending was also surprisingly solid- it tied everything up, blessedly leaving no room for a sequel.
Controls: 3/5 The controls were limiting inside of combat, and outside they were often clunky. I still don't get the point of using the 6-axis controller- it worked well enough but it just seemed out of place. The tutorial quickly became incredibly annoying- reach a ladder, hit x. Want to swim? hit x. See something unusual? Hit x. Break a box? Hit x. Jump at specially marked locations? Hit x... or shake the controller?... It walked you through it every single time you would come to something, always giving the main character a chance to ask them to repeat it. The protagonist is a moron, though, so I guess it was in character.
Graphics: 3/5 Average quality graphics for HD- though I don't think they exploited them enough. There aren't any significantly long loads or laggy scenes, and the movies and sequences look good, but nothing breath-taking.
Overall, the game wasn't bad. I'd give it a 6.5 on a ten scale. It was pretty long, had replayability (I guess, I didn't want to max out all the other golems). If you don't expect too much, it won't disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Only if you cant wait for Final Fantasy on the PS3

posted by LunarJon (PECULIAR, MO) Apr 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

It may take quite some time for Square to release the next Final Fantasy for the PS3, so if you just can't wait you may want to play this for now. I don't recommend purchasing it unless you are a die hard RPG gamer and/or love turn based grid fighting.

I personally don't like the grid and that is why I am giving it such a meager score. It's great for strategy but after playing FFXII with the new roaming active battles it just does not cut it.

Graphics are nice, and the sound effects fit well but the travel from one location to another is very linear and repetitive. I prefer free roaming RPG's over this.

So rent it to show off how pretty the PS3 is but don't expect much fun factor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's OK. a bit lame, slow to develop

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Too many cut scenes, too much clicking of buttons just to work through a conversation. somewhat fun, and definitely needs some thought as to strategy, not too bad on graphics, about what you'd expect for a japanese game, but lack of subtitles option for some of the cut scenes made the game less fun. Overall I just found it plain boring, with the only interesting thing planning your combat strategy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I can't bring myself to hate this game

posted by thinkbomb (KAYSVILLE, UT) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The dungeon layouts are painfully simple. They stop and give you tutorials for EVERY action that only requires you to hit the X button. The combat system feels a bit broken in that there's too much sway in each turn (rarely to battles last more than 5 rounds and frequently your heroes will go from 100% to 0% in one turn). And the story is mostly nothing spectacular.

...

But for some odd reason I just can't bring myself to hate this game. I'm mainly blaming the english localization. The script flows extremely naturally and doesn't have the hiccups that several translated games have.

That and the voice acting is some of the best you're likely to find in any game. The delivery of the jokes are hillarious, the dramatic undertones are convincing enough to rise past the presentation hurdles, and it has one of the best "NOOOOO!" screams ever. =)

So yeah ... even though I gave it a 3 overall, this game has a charm you just can't help but to like and want to play through the drudgery of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not your usual RPG

posted by gnomejon (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

While, having read some of the reviews for this game, I was a bit skeptical of how it was going to be at first, I still rented it and have, so far, logged over 35 hours into gameplay. Most of the reviews I read compared this to an FF game. That is not a fair comparison, given that this game has far more strategy in its battle system than Final Fantasy has had in most of its games other than the ones that are, at their heart, strategy games.

On the surface, this game looks very much like a normal RPG, but with a grid battlefield, allowing both you and your opponent to occupy only half of the field, and allow characters to only have, at a maximum 5 attack, healing, or support skills in their arsenal, it plays out more like a strategy game with RPG elements thrown in to make it a bit more adhesive to the general public. Other elements f the strategy side are the fact that characters don't have to worry about losing HP or EP in any single battle, because it recovers automatically after any battle, but what you do have to look out for is each character's VP, which decreases depending on the number of turns you take, which forces you to think about how you are going to use your turns wisely, rather than just waste them.

At the beginning of the game, it can get tedious to a point of no return given they tell you how to do everything in the game that only requires a push of the x button, but it ends, for the most part, after the first chapter.

Overall, This is worth a nine to me because, to play this game, you can't just expect a Final Fantasy game out of this, but a strategy game with RPG elements, and if you were expecting an FF, then you will be disappointed with this game. Gameplay, graphics, audio, and battle system all get high scores from me as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

i had this for the 360

posted by tumadrefeo (COLLEGE PARK, MD) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

ok this game is cool looking and the graphics are amazing but it gets repetitave early and u can kinda predict the story but over all its fun for ppl that like grid based combat and GREAT graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

RPG Failure. T.T

posted by Noxious (WILLOUGHBY, OH) Apr 24, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I got my PS3 I was very excited to check out Enchanted Arms as it was one of the few RPG games out right now. I rented it from here after receiving good reviews from the friendly guys at GameStop. They said it was good for hardcore RPGers, so I figured that I would love it. I was pretty wrong.

The Pros: The opening cinematic was great. It gave me goosebumps and I was very excited to play through it. The music in the beginning was also enticing. For it being an opening game, the graphics are decent.

The Cons: The voice acting. I thought it was horrible. The voice actors didn't give the impression that they were really trying to BE the characters. It did sound like they were just reading from a script. Not to mention blonde-haired guy's voice was incredibly annoying.

I wasn't too keen on the battle system either. While many people like a system where you need to move on a grid, I prefer games that either have an ATB gauge or is real time fighting.

The biggest thing that was a turn off for me was that when the characters spoke to each other, you got a default screen with the characters switching back and forth between positions as they spoke. It really takes away from the game, I think, because it makes it seem like you're watching more dialog than playing the game. I prefer having the character run up to NPCs or allies with a dialog boxes appearing.

All in all, the graphics for the game are nice and the music is beautiful at times, but I think that the overall design of the game makes it rather boring. I couldn't play it more than five minutes and I hadn't even gotten into the main plot yet which was disappointing.

I love RPGs with a passion. They're my favorite Genre of gaming, but this to me, is a disgrace to all RPG games. Don't get me wrong, I'm sure a lot of people will love this game, and hey, more power to you, but I certainly wouldn't recommend this to a friend to play. Rent it before you buy it. You'll save yourself fifty bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hear no Evil

posted by fantasyboy (LEECHBURG, PA) May 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I rent those Enchanted Arms. B/c I love RPG games. However I read all of user Reviews. I aware most of you hear their voice are no good. Tell you I'm Deaf First time I played the beginning of Games. It's thrill mini movies about Queen of Ice. I look focus their Subtitle and their character storyline. I am glad to not hear their voice. Their storyline are great, Sense of Humor in that games. It's similar to Final Fantasy X,X-2,XI and XII. Please don't expect their voice. Look into Subtitle as you read the book. I'm sure you like those storyline. And of course you make your choose option to answer during storyline. Some them are different storyline. If it bother you from their voice put earplug in you ear! Don't miss good music as I read them they like music don't miss it. I bet you that you won't disappoint this one. Give a try to play this games instead to listen their voice. My rating is 10. Their best graphic artwork, Battle System challenge. Rent it and Enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

How did it fail?

posted by Prufrock (NORTHPORT, AL) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It seems with RPG's there is a structure set in place for commercial success. That is an effeminate/ a-sexual lead, decent graphics, and a grandiose-to-the-point- of- cliché plot. Even teams of monkeys can create a satisfying rpg (I think Square has been using chimps since after FF8).

This game uses chimps, but the daft ones that don't know how to do much besides drink their own urine. The game is simple really. Once you get behind the graphic you realize that this just the corpse of a rpg thats been tarted up and pranced around. People complain that the voice acting was bad. and it was, but mainly because they were dealt with horrible characters. They were all one dimensional. How am i supposed to get excited over that. You've got the excited one, the dignified one, and, a new one, the stereotyped bum boy (edit that word Gamefly). Christ! They didn't hold back on the stereotypes when they created the poor character.

The fighting system was bland and uninspired. Probably the biggest problem of the game. Well the biggest breaker besides our blonde stereotype. The fighting system was wretchedly boring. and when you could read the text, which you couldn't because it was in size 7 font, it didn't really matter cause strategy was not needed.

Take it from me kids, if you want a good Strategy RPG play a Fire Emblem game. They can be difficult, but they are rewarding. Games like Enchanted Arms (the name makes me retch, too) make me hope that the game industry will realese another game like Earthbound in the US. Something original. Something worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

surprisingly good

posted by focussport (STOCKBRIDGE, GA) May 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was surprisingly good! Alot of the RPG's I've played for the PS3 have let me down, this one i enjoyed...and it has a crazy story! The battle system, though turn based, is still very interesting and very strategic. Its easy to navigate ( i hate games that make you spend stupid amounts of time trying to figure out where to go next).

All in all its an easy time killing game with an awsome story and killer graphics!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Classic RPG

posted by zod799 (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game had its ups and downs. I thought that there were some fundamental design flaws in the menus. This included the text(which was unreadable on a 30in CRT tv), and general organization of the characters, skills, and parameter screens.

The problem I had was that if you choose to use golems in your party and you had 30 golems, your characters are not automatically at the top of the queue. In other words, you have to find the golem among the 30 or so that are available, in order to upgrade there parameters. I also felt that they should have created a separate list of all the golems, the main characters, and your current party, to allow the user to keep better control over the characters they like using. However it wasn't designed like that which I didn't like.

I did however enjoy the story and the battle system. The story was basic, semi predictable, but it was fun and the characters were pretty good. The battle system was a cross between classic turn based RPGs and turn based tactics style rpgs. The battle grid was split up with the enemy on one side and your characters on the other. You could move your character's and attack or heal as necessary. This made for a fun gaming experience.

All and all I liked the game. The graphics were very good and it was fun. I would rent it before buying it...because you may or may not want to play it again after one time through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by ff7forever (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME SUCKS THATS ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst RPG I have ever played

posted by edlglide (ATLANTA, GA) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I really can't think of anything good to say about this game. The graphics are subpar for a PS3 title. The gameplay is slow and boring. The storyline is absolutely atrocious, including the terrible dialogue. The characters have no very little background or development. There isn't a single redeeming factor in this game, except perhaps that it's mercifully short (at least among RPGs).

Do yourself a favor and stay far, far away from this poorly written, poorly designed, and poorly developed title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why not to play

posted by badspider (JAMAICA, NY) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It's better to sleep than to play this game. Why, you ask? One word - BOORING!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just terrible in every possible respect.

posted by Fourtwenty (Washington, DC) Apr 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 16 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

The Title says it all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just awful

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Jul 27, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

I can say one thing for this game, it has nice graphics aside from that it is one of, if not the worst RPGs I've played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The worse game ever

posted by Shinkou (SACHSE, TX) Jan 13, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I cant stand playing this game just in 5 mins.
The graphic is so bad. The voice is awful@@.
But it was best selling in Japan lol.
After playing in 5 mins. I sealed it and return right away lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BORING.....

posted by Krazoom (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

Never was a fan of grid field gameplay but I gave it a try anyway and well, the gameplay was just as boring as I remember it being since the the last time I played a grid field game (Playstation 1 I believe it was).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fruitiest game ever! But not that bad...

posted by Hooride23 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This is the "frutiest" game ive ever played,no lie.I mean "fruity" as in one character in love with the other "fruity".i mean,dancing for mana?Needless to say,i beat the game.Its fairly easy,good playtime,and ok battle-system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but snoozer at times

posted by jjay1jay2 (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

The game starts out sort of, well, boring i should have known then a knock of of final fantasy just isnt the same thing. The character dialogue is boring and pressing the X button so many times got annoying. The battles are fun, but having the same battle in a row for an hour isnt very fun. The characters didn't hold my attention and leveling them up became annoying due to the fact that i felt like i wasn't gaining anything. THe cities fel small most were a small L or T shaped format in which you walked from one point to another. Was a good plot that came tooooo slowly. Id only play this if you were very patient and inquisitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Battle system was worth the play

posted by RedFable (WHITEVILLE, NC) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I rented this game and at first I was displeased with the graphics, they looked PS2-ish and there was very little character dialouge interaction other than seeing the characters top half bodies talking to each other with voice overs. It was like an old RPG dialouge but now it showed their top bodies instead of just a picture of the character speaking. The overall exploration was pretty straightforward and very linear, it wasn't hard to miss anything. You can always go back to certain areas to face golems which after you beat them you add them to your team or acquire the golem formula needed to create them. Other than the 4 main characters their are over 130 Golems in teh game which is pretty sweet. The characters are original as well as the story, very epic.

The Battle system is what gets you hooked, its a chess board style battle ground on a 3x4 grid per side. You can move your character around the board to specified spaces and then perform an attack depending on the attack range against the enemies on teh opposite side of the board. You cna have up to four characters/golems on a board at a time, but the bigger the character the less you can use. In other words you must keep the main character (Atsuma) but if you pick a huge Golem that takes up four or more spaces then you may only have 2 characters on the board at a time.

Its a great game to play, I kinda got hooked and ended up buying it for $20 bucks at my local game store. All I can say is rent it and try it. I would recommend it though only to a RPG fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cool Game

posted by MikeyC (PLAINFIELD, IL) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

For what's worth, a fun game to play. I like the characters in this. Graphics great in this. Combat is real easy not hard at all. Storyline could be better at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as bad as everyone lets on.....

posted by qubica300 (KENNESAW, GA) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

So, I have read a lot of the reviews for this game and heard just how not good it is....

And then I played it. Expecting it to be bad, I was pleasantly suprised that it wasn't bad. If you are expecting a superior RPG masterpiece, then yes, you will be disappointed.

However, if you are looking for a solid RPG that uses simplistic turn-based battle engines, a not overly confusing storeline that is pretty enjoyable, and like a mix of puzzles, battles and linear travel--then you will be quite pleased with this game.

What many people have sighted as the game's downfalls are what keeps it fun--the storyline is simple. At times the graphics are not up to PS3 standards, but many of the fight sequences and cut-scene storyline graphics are of a good quality. The linear travel and turn-based battle engine bring one back to old-school RPG gaming--an art that has gone to the wayside of more "true-time" battle engines. The game isn't too complex--yet it is challenging enough to keep you pushing on without getting bored--and the game doesn't always take itself seriously, which is a lot of fun (the main character isn't exactly bright, and just about every character in the game takes the time to let him know it....)

Expect to spend about 30 to 40 hours to play it to completion--its worth playing it through it you like RPGs--and it won't drive you crazy b/c it isn't overly complicated......

For the most part, it's a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Enchanted Arms

posted by cblalock1 (SMITHFIELD, NC) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game was horrible. I've never played a RPG that sucked this bad. Just plan horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse