Rent Emergency Mayhem for Wii
view large frontback

Emergency Mayhem

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.8

416 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Game to Kill Time

posted by TDFraser (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you are a big fan of Crazy Taxi, then this game is definitely for you. It is exactly Crazy Taxi, only you get the chance to play either a cop, firefighter, or medic, travelling around your precinct making deliveries or playing mini-games to reduce the mayhem in the precinct. Along the way, you pick up mayhem reducing signs and food (donuts for cops, hotdogs for firefighters, and coffee for medics) to reduce your damage. The mini-games are funny, and the dispatcher yelling at you throughout the game can get annoying, but it really is a good game to pass some time. Although I personally would not spend full price for this game, it would be one I would rent again to play with younger friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Needs more "Mayhem"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Oh no. Small, contained trash fires are breaking out all over. Guys swallow flies for no reason. Donuts have to be delivered to cops.
In EMERGENCY MAYHEM, you play either a paramedic, fire fighter or a police officer. You are sent out into the field to perform tasks.
Most of these tasks involve you driving from one place to the other, like CRAZY TAXI or SIMPSONS HIT AND RUN.
Other tasks have you performing mini games like putting out fires, or removing a fly from a guy's stomach.
But the game's biggest flaw shows up almost immediately. The graphics and presentation are flat - like cardboard flat or pancake flat or lukewarm, week old soda flat.
While on delivery missions, I can plow through a dozen pedestrians and vehicles and nothing bad will happen (unless I'm carrying fragile cargo). So, my driving skills aren't put to the test.
And most of the mini games are dull and uninspired remakes of mini games found in WARIOWARE: SMOOTH MOVES or RAYMAN RAVING RABBIDS. What makes things worse is there aren't many of them, and they repeat far too often.
There are better options for min game collections out there than this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Couldn't Make It Past an Hour and A Half...

posted by Doakley (CAMERON, NC) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to this game because I thought that it looked like some good fun...and well it was for about 45 minutes, then I got really tired of it because its the same type missions over and over and over and over and over and over. Theres basically 5 missions per Paramedic, Officer and Firefighter, and you continuously do them until the mayhem is halted. I played for an extra 45 minutes after I was getting completely bored with it hoping that it somehow would get better it doesn't, not at all. It was a waste of a rental for me. Maybe some kids could have some fun with this game, but unless you like repeating the same stuff over and over I would suggest skipping this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Emergency Mayhem

posted by ScubaGirl (GREENWOOD, IN) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I had trouble driving around in the game. It was either moving really fast or not moving at all--I got frustrated early and on--didn't get too far into the game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

3 Days Late; Not Worth The Wait! USPS STEALS MAIL!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Apr 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

The mail carrier stole my mail several times before (in fact this time I contacted the supervisor and he had to walk out of the truck to give it to me).

The game itself is not that bad; it is just the
execution (you have a difficult time braking in the proper circle); and the graphics could use a bit of an upgrade. The demographic for this game is pre-teen. Overall PASS and wait for "Emergency Heroes" in a month!

PS This game made me queezy!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I returned this game within 15 min. of playing it

posted by huberchix (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

This game amused me for fifteen minutes. There are three different things you can be(police, firefighter, and ambulance). You only get like two minutes to try and "stop the mayhem". When you try to steer the car and get it under control it just jerks too hard. Also, when you finally have the driving under control the traffic drives a lot slower than you do. (Haven't these people heard of pulling over when there is an emergency vehicle right behind you?!)
Anyway, once you get to one of your many destinations the minigames are stupid. And half the time you don't even know where you're supposed to be going becuase the arrow that directs you is always spinning in a multitude of directions. Bottom Line- I would burn this game!

~ A 14 year old teenage girl with anger problems, good gpa, and tons of friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

eh

posted by GamerGirl0 (BALTIMORE, MD) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

crazy taxi with out all the fun. some of the mini games are just lousy with the wii remote. very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE- WISH I COULD RATE IT NO STARS!

posted by vic777 (PATERSON, NJ) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Ok so i saw the trailer for this game and it seemed pretty decent, when i got it in the mail and played for the first time, i instantly knew it was gonna be a bad game. It has the same few missions over and over again and your timed throughout the entire game. I wanted to do multiplayer, to get rid of some of that boredom but no, u need to do missions first to unlock games in multiplayer. Unless u like playing the same mini games over and over and enjoy being timed on it, dont get this game, and whatever you do dont buy it, there are better games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worse game ever!

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

The controls are super hard to use whether you use the nanchuk or wii controller. Who wants a game that calls you a loser? I kept running over people, had no idea how to give the guy cpr but kept losing him, kept running into other cars. It's not a very nice game to play especially with what the lady says to you. How in the world did someone think it'd be fun to call someone a loser? I played it less than 5 minutes before I had had enough of the negative comments. Don't waste your time with this loser of a game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You are kidding right?

posted by eaglehawk (CYPRESS, TX) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This was the most pathetic excuse for a game I have ever played. I thought the reviews were just people that couldn't handle it. I played the game for about an hour, and promptly put it in the mail to be sent back to gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Emergency Mayhem

posted by caitlygal (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I did not like this game at all!!!!! It would have been fun if there wasn't any annoying voice yelling at you the whole time! I sent it back the same day it came. I tried it but got annoyed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by hardtosayx (COATESVILLE, PA) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Wasn't expecting anything REALLY good. But it's definitely a good game to keep you occupied. The only thing I don't like is that you pretty much keep doing the same thing. But you can play as EMT, Firefigher or Cop which is a positive thing. The cover definitely makes you think it's action packed but it's not. Driving around is a little hard at first then it gets a lot easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Emergency Mayhem

posted by jjmck7 (MEDFORD, NJ) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Well, by playing this game I now know never to buy it. The cover lies too there are no penguins and monkeys! It is very unrealistic with horrible graphics. I was very dissapointed in this game.>:(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tedious and Obnoxious

posted by mustangsal (HIGHTSTOWN, NJ) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I rented this for my kids and found this game just plain bad.

For starters, I will admit I didn't see that it was rated Teen. The only real reason I can see it's rated teen is for the narrator and her language.

As for the game play... well to say it's disappointing would be kind. Driving the vehicles feels like there is a pin through the center of the car on which the vehicle pivots. You can play as a police car, Fire truck or Ambulance. They all have a few distinct missions, but no matter who you play as they're all basically the same:

Drive from here to there quickly.
Drive from here to there without hitting anything.
Perform a repetitive task.

The repetitive task run from mind numbingly simple like pumping the remote to insanely difficult.

There is no free play system.. You have a set number of second to sprint from task to task, you can add to your timer, but it's still very strange.

Overall my 5 year old enjoys driving the fire truck, but without sound so he can't hear the narrator saying fun things like "You Suck".

You'd get more entertainment out of pretty much anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't try this at Home!

posted by achaguri (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Don't even worth the effort to turn the wii on...
It's sad that games like this have a cover that leave us so excited!
It's a good plan to make a game about cops, firemen and ambulances, but I'm pretty sure you were hoping something harder and more thrilling then driving around and picking up things like donuts.
Be aware! haha...
Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

repetitive and insulting

posted by monkeyfarm (OLMITO, TX) Jun 26, 2008

Member since May 2007

this game got boring pretty quick. my son was very excited to play this game as he wants to be a police officer when he grows up. then the game tells him he "sucks" and the he's a "loser" by the dispatcher in the game. i know it's supposed to be the mayhem in the game but still, i could do without that. it was all very repetitive so this game got shelved very quickly. not very fun after awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Old Feathers, New Bird.

posted by VegasRiv (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Remember Crazy Taxi?
No need to remember any longer, it's back.

This could have been an entertaining game, but what it ended up being was just another arcade clone with little to offer in the way of improvement or innovation.

The party mode is not fun to play and the mini-games just aren't fun to play.

Another sub standard Wii game released to end up dusty in the bargain bin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Emergency Mayhem

posted by vtec16 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This game is along the lines of Crazy Taxi. Where you have to complete different tasks in one of three emergency vehicles, police, fire and ambulance. concept is fun, but game is a little rote.(Boring IMHO). Controls are funky. It would have been better if the controls were set up like Excite Truck, etc. Worth a rental, but not worth purchasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overlooked

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Apr 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

For fans of Crazy Taxi, this could be on your radar screen. The game play is very similar, but different in enough ways that could spark your interest. Codemasters didn't do a good job promoting this game, as it's so much better then a lot of junk Wii games out there right now.

For starters, you are in charge of reducing mayham in the city, and you do that in three ways - Fire - Medical - and Police work. All which have their own unique tasks and some mini games that go with each.

What this game is NOT - purely mini games. There are some mini games depending on what your task is, but it's a 60/40 split in favor of non-mini game goals. (i.e Drive to a burning garbage bin and use the Wii mote to put it out)

The game definitely has a last gen look to it, but it's smooth, color full, runs at 60fps with no dips that I could find and tight controls the game has some good texture work (ie the road and buildings) but some bad texture work as well (Grass looks like it did in the N64 days) No motion added when driving, so that was a selling point for me. As you restore mayhem, more places will open up, and the difficulty will increase (however you can pick between hard, easy, med. etc at the start menu) Overall, the graphics don't disappoint. They won't be anything to write home about, but they are good enough for you to want to keep playing, or at least not be distracted by ugly features.

The main down fall is this game is pretty repetitive. Pretty much each career you use you'll be doing the same things over and over and over. There are a varity of them, but they are all within the first level. Some annoying voice work that can be turned off, and for 1 mini game the controls are pretty hard to master.

It's a good rental, and if the price had been 29.99, it's a must have. With Mario Kart, Brawl, and Okami out, it's hard to factor this into your gameplay time, but maybe later down the road. It's a well made game and I give kodos to the devs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Needs CPR

posted by G3OFFB (GERMANTOWN, TN) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game is awful, and the rating on it should be changed to warn anyone over 12 not to play this game.

I am an EMT and work with a lot of firefighters, I thought that I would enjoy this game (and believe me I had no real expectations). Boy was I wrong, maybe actually working on and driving an ambulance made me hate this game, or maybe I actually liked it better than non rescue workers.

Either way, don't waste your time, unless of course it's for your eight year old son to play.

Right off the bat, there are control issues. I instinctively felt that A shoud be Accelerate, and B for brake. The opposite is true. Mini-games require dexterity that the wiimote motion technology cannot handle. This would have been a good DS game (maybe), but the forced motion controls, etc. just hurt this game.

One more little gripe, No self respecting ambulance service has purchased a van style unit as used in this game in nearly 15 years, I don't think these guys did their homework at all.

Leave this one be, or at least move it down (way down) on your list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »