Rent Emergency Heroes for Wii
view large frontback

Emergency Heroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

257 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been a sweet WiiWare game

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Jun 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Games like Emergency Heroes are ultimately repetitive and razor thin story lines, but at certain points incredible fun and enjoyable. With this particular game, it's unfortunate it's a regular release, and maybe should have been developed for the WiiWare program.

Of course WiiWare requires a much smaller amount of space, but Emergency Heroes involves a lot of the same tasks over and over (One of it's bigger flaws) that could be cut out. The game is by no means shovel-ware, something the Wii is all to familiar with, even though it may look like it on the shelf. And considering it's target audience, it's a well made game that works and is fun.

Like always, there are much better titles out there then this 'no name' titles that get released under the radar. But games like this are fun for young children and it's simple and easy to follow. The game is pretty well made with some flaws here and there, but it's a 'who cares' moment when you do spot it in the game. Although repetitive, it's worth a rent and at least a second glance at when shopping. It does what bigger developers can't do, competent motion controls (especially if you use the Mario Kart Wii Wheel) and decent graphics that cater to the system.

It was a fun game, and I enjoyed finishing it. Hopefully it does semi-well and more time gets put into some sort of sequel or game aimed at a similar audience with more resources. Above average game, worth checking out if it looks cool to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Handling Ruined By Lack Of Gameplay Depth

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

EH has a good foundation in its game engine and surround sound system. Unfortunately it seems that while a lot of energy and time was spent on those things the storyline and gameplay got short changed.

EH has one of the better car handling and driving engines on the Wii and changes the handling well for different vehicles. Power sliding changes significantly with speed and from car to car, which is a very nice touch. Pumping the gas produces controlled slides also and the steering is mostly well tuned to Wiimote movement.

It also has great surround sound when used with a home theater system. You get a genuine 3D sound among traffic which adds to the overall feel of the game.

Consequently when you first start playing the game feels good. It teaches you the controls when you first need to use new things and despite the ease of the first missions you're having fun.

BUT (yep - it's a big but:-)), once you get past that first flush of playing you begin to realize that the missions are all based on the same stuff. The jumps just get longer and/or at an angle and the cars to chase just get a little more AI to avoid you ramming them and you have to be more precise in hitting them.

Once you get to this point things go downhill quickly and the challenge and freshness rapidly disappear.

It's not that it's a really bad game, it's just that it should have had some more time and thought put in to the missions in order to do justice to the obvious work that went in on the underlying game engine.

I enjoyed playing it for a relatively short time - but in my opinion the repetition and ease of the missions make this game limited and could have been so much more.

Rent it knowing that it does not have huge depth and you can enjoy this for a while. However, if you have greater expectations than that then you will most likely be disappointed.

Oh and unless you like chessy storylines a la Trauma Center you might want to turn down the volume! :-))

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

How much ham and cheese do you want with "Heroes"?

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

There are disasters happening all over the city and only one rookie can put a stop to it (Why? is everyone else taking a coffee break?)
So begins Emergency Heroes.
You play as that rookie, a guy named Zach. He was kicked out of the force because of an incident, but now he's the only one available to stop this new crime and disaster wave.
To do that, you go on several driving missions - namely four diving missions.
First, you hunt down criminals by chasing them and smashing your car into theirs a certain number of times. Later levels require you to hit either their side or back. This is the best of the four game modes.
Second, you go through a track, plowing through a series of blockades by hitting the blockade at the marked point. This is the worst of the bunch.
Third, you race through a track to save people from burning buildings.
And the last game mode has you going through a track and putting out every large fire you meet along the way. Later levels require you to sometimes hit obstacles on the track to put out the fire.
Completing tasks takes only a few minutes and unlock new vehicles, but these new wheels don't add anything new to the mix.
Emergency Heroes could've been a fun game, but Ubisoft makes it a chore. The graphics and presentation are bland, and I got bored of doing the same four game types a dozen times over.
But the worst part of Emergency Heroes is the duologue. These characters ham it on the screen every chance they get. I've never heard such cheesy lines like the ones they throw out.
Female Dispatcher (to Zach): "You're so brave." Ugh.
Zach: "Just doing my job" Double ugh.
You'll have to listen to this god awful talk throughout the entire game.
Or you can just avoid it by not playing the game in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nintendo Philosphy: Simple Fun Gameplay! RENT IT!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Minority Report meets Dubai meets Tonka/Hot Wheels
The graphics are cool until you get into detail then it becomes cheesy and yes the voice over is wacky but you need to over look it. The gameplay is fun (and sometimes difficult) and there is a lot to do; before I knew it I was playing this for 4 hours. I would like to see a sequel with a different plot (a full out racer)!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection at its best!!!

posted by Stuwii (SUNRISE, FL) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have nothing but good things to say about this game. This game is just perfect and flawless. I recommend this for any wii owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

emergency heroes

posted by devinwarrior (WHITE HOUSE, TN) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Awesome game, totally worth it, you can do all sorts of things chases, fires, rescues, & the most fun thing is crashing into other vehicles. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

decent

posted by bigpuppy (LINCOLN, IL) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

i played it is was ok i think it should have more stuff to do inbetween missions but overall it was a pretty good game very fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Emergency Heros

posted by Hockey9800 (INDEPENDENCE, IA) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This games was very boring to me. but if you really love law enforcement it will be a great game for you. It is a great family game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I've played worse

posted by Judge423 (FONTANA, WI) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Im not one to be very dramatic when it comes to writting reviews. Im a "Get right to the point" type of guy! So here It goes, You guys already know what the game is all about so there is no need to explain in detail. If you never played it before and are Like 9-12 years old its good. There is not alot of strategy to this, you put out fires, rescue people and keep crazy drivers off the street.
The graphics are ok (Could be better) the choices of cars are not to bad. My bottom line is this. This game is ok but after a little while it will get very boring and you will loose intrest fast. It's the same thing over and over!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

boring/cheesy after a while

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

In the beginning once I figured out what I was supposed to do I really liked it. The sounds the people make when you hit their car or are chasing the bad guy get old really quick. You save people then you get more cheesy lines with no way of skipping it. You have to listen to the entire thing which gets old really fast. You may have a couple of Marina fires/rescues for example but the tracks are different. I did enjoy the different type of cars that I unlocked but I didn't finish the entire game. I think there were like 2 or 3 more for me to unlock before I gave up on it. The criminal ones got harder and I was right on the tail of the bad guy but couldn't get my car to go any faster so I could hit him. This really frustrated me. It would tell you to turn one way in chasing the bad guy you'd change direction then it'd tell you to change direction again. By this time you're lucky if you can even find the bad guy before being called off the chase saying that you lost him or something along this line anyway. At this point in the game the police chases weren't even fun for me and just made me want to rip my hair out from frustration. If you're good at racing games with good eye/hand coordination than this game would probably be fun for you. It's a good rental game but not a game that I'd personally keep to add to my collection of Wii games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Entertaining but repetitive

posted by fierohink (BRUNSWICK, MD) Apr 15, 2009

Member since May 2008

This game uses the Wii-mote held sideways like Mario Kart and you steering by turning the Wii-mote. The controls are sensitive enough to not frustrate you. The gameplay has you behind the wheel of either a police car, fire truck, rescue truck, or barricade busting highspeed tank.

In Police mode, you chase after the bad guy. In between missions you drive through the sandbox world and find other lawbreakers and stop them.

In Fire mode, you drive a fire truck through fire and put it out as you go. Sadly the fire hose is controlled automatically so all you have to do is drive nearby while hitting A and the water stream locks on to the fire, very low difficulty. Again between missions you drive through the city and put out random multi-story fires the pop up.

In Rescue mode, you drive this armored vehicle into collapsing buildings and search for survivors. Not very difficult just drive around full throttle looking for green arrows to tell you where to go. Between missions you must drive through beacons to pick up supplies, really an easy task and you never use the "supplies"

In Roadblock mode you drive a soupped up car with a plow on the front to crash through vehicle pile-ups and get traffic moving again.

The missions are pretty easy and similar. But there is the ability to play in the sandbox of a world, although it isn't very big. Younger gamers will probably be entertained, you never accrue damage on your vehicle so drive however you want. The storyline is playfully entertaining, but simple.

If you are looking for a challenge you;ve come to the wrong place.

If you want a colorful light hearted and quick game to play this is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay, but gets old quick

posted by cmd1971 (MILFORD, CT) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

This game is okay but it quickly gets old. Race around and save people. Great, but how about timing you to do it. There's really no way to fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game but short

posted by seals7 (HADDON TOWNSHIP, NJ) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Emergency heroes is a pretty fun game. but I don't recommend buying it because its to short of a game. you should just rent it. Now don't think it's bad game, it has a good story line and good graphics and good amount of cool cars, and fun mission's but there is not alot of them. I say if they make a second one MAKE MORE MISSONS!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why did I rent this?

posted by giacammo (MACEDON, NY) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Not sure why I even chose this game, as the controls are terrible and the gameplay is as corny as it gets. If you rent this, you are either a fireman or policeman, because anyone else should stay far away from it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun!!

posted by TC2390 (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Though it may not have the best graphics or the best storyline, this game is very fun. Worth trying out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible Game

posted by drwyse570 (LANCASTER, OH) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Sep 2004

I played this game for about 10 minutes and had to stop. Horrible graphics, horrible plot line. This entire game was just bad!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »