Rent Elite Beat Agents for DS
view large frontback

Elite Beat Agents

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

1050 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Agents are go!

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 30, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Elite Beat Agents is a music/rhythm game that uses the stylus instead of a controller or dance pad. As music plays, buttons will appear on the touch screen. You will have to tap them in synch to the beat of the music, indicated by circles that close in around the buttons. In later stages, you will also have to drag the stylus across lines, drawing lines and sometimes shapes like circles or stars, all corresponding with that part of the music.

There are over 15 rock and pop songs with a stage for each, old and new, including "Y.M.C.A." and "Sk8ter Boi".

The real draw of this game is the amusing presentation, in which three men in suits, presented in brisk comic book sequences, must help people in trouble... how? By singing and dancing of course. You start out helping a teen babysitter put the kids to bed, with later levels having you help a pirate captain find treasure, or an amateur magician defeat a gang holding up a casino. The suits, called the Elite Beat Agents, will appear on the touch screen, with cutscenes and animations appearing on top. There is a lot of watch, more than you could take in while trying to keep up with the music and the gameplay, so the game even has a replay mode, allowing you to check out all the action on the top screen, while listening to the music and admiring your rhythm skills.

The premise is completely off the wall, and each stage gets zanier than the last. But if you find Elite Beat Agent's premise as entertaining as I do, then this game is a no-brainer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Elite Beat Agents are a Go! Best Touch Game!

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Nov 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This game has loads of personality! You'll find yourself tapping your toes even though it's your fingers that do all the work! As a trio of Elite, you help everyday people overcome their obstacles through the use of choreographed music, kept in time with your stylus. You'll help babysitters sit on babies and a sailor find sunken treasure.
The response time is perfect as you perform each action in time with the music (earphones are especially important). The music itself is pretty diverse, from pop, to rock, to funk and even the wedding classic "Y.M.C.A.". The music always seems to fit the mood of the situation you're helping with (Y.M.C.A. plays during a boating story, but wouldn't "In the Navy" fit better?). I even found myself enjoying the tap along to former repetitive radio fare "Sk8tr Boi" by Avril Levine! If a game can do THAT, you know it's a quality game!
It may wind up rather short but there are several difficulty levels and it seriously doesn't get old as you try to beat your best scores. Also, it's such a nice change from button-mashers and slow-paced games. Word to the wise: Get a screen overlay protector for the touch screen to protect it. The constant tapping, dragging and spinning (rubbing) of the stylus can get pretty intense and you wouldn't want to mess it up before Final Fantasy 3, would you?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very good

posted by nobody5555 (MULESHOE, TX) Oct 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is awsome but to dang short. ME WANT MORE SONGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The agents are at you're service!!!

posted by Damaster (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

EBA is one of those rare games where you can have fun no matter your age. The consept is simple, touch the circles as they overlap each other, Drag a ball, and spin a meter. Very simple. It has a ton of humor in it. Like if you mess up on the third part of the first mission the jock will get slammed in the face with a kid on a skateboard in stead of catching him! LOL. You will probally want to see how all the storys end if you do baddly. And there are inspireing storys like mission 12, The Christmas gift a girl is hopeing her passed away father will come home for christmas as he promised 6 months ago. The multiplyer in this game is amazing with more than 4 players as you play any song you unlocked. Overall this is an amazing game and it is defnitly worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Leet Beat

posted by SmartBombs (DECATUR, AL) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Review from w w w.smart-bombs.c o m

It seems male cheerleaders do have a place in the world (aside from stuffed neatly into lockers.) Elite Beat Agents puts a unique spin on the rhythm game genre by using simple touch controls and quirky, over-the-top presentation. Simply touch ordered dots in beat to the music, and drag across phrase bars to achieve success. Simple? Yes. Easy? No. Some of the later levels get pretty brutal, almost to a frustrating degree.

The eye-catching art style fits right in with the ridiculous concept. The scenarios the agents are tasked with range from absurdly awesome (helping a down-and-out baseball player defeat a fire breathing golem and save a carnival full of children), to heartwarming (helping a TV meteorologist blow away clouds so she can have a picnic with her son), to just downright serious (helping a little girl decorate her house for Christmas to help cope with the loss of her father). For the most part, the soundtrack is pretty good (but Sk8ter Boi, by Avril Lavigne? Really?), but the sound quality on the DS is less than stellar, and the annoying sound effects cover up the music.

The creativity alone might be enough to give this one a go, but a few strange design flaws and a short length (although you can replay songs to get better scores, and there's good reason to) holds Elite Beat Agents back from its full potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as perfect as some say...

posted by Alicorn (CLEARLAKE, CA) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The stories are great, the art is nice and goofy, but what the game is based on, the beat, is off.
After being in choir for more than five years it has given me a good ear for a music beat.

No matter what the game says, it's songs and it's little circles marking the 'beat' are much less than perfectly in sync.
This could be because they are the beats of the real japanese songs the game was first made for with english songs just picked at random laid over them :P. In feels like they just pulled songs out of a hat, with the last songs being the worst for wear IMHO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Way to Start Fresh - DS Rental Killer

posted by 5pockets (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My problem is that as a rental the game had already been played and finished by someone else and there was no way for me to track my progress.
I had no way of knowing how well I had done. Was the high score mine or a previous player's? There should be an option to start a new game or reset the game and start from scratch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Might have been good

posted by Thebunny (CHARLOTTE, NC) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

As others have said; it would have probably been a 7-8, but because someone had already beaten the game and gotten a 9999999 score and every song somehow, it wasn't as fun. You can't erase data, so I sent it back after playing a few songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a good game for rental

posted by kostia (MANASSAS, VA) May 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If this game were brand new maybe I could have played it, but since it's a rental other people had already played it up to a high level. There is NO option anywhere to erase game data and start over. There is a tutorial but it doesn't help much when you have to start at a high level. I found myself completely unable to keep up with the game at the level I was forced to start with.

All games should have an option to erase game data and start over. The rental model doesn't work if they don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Repetitive Bore

posted by mjsbone (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

This game isn't all that everyone else would have you believe that it is. It's repetitive nature gets very boring, very quickly. Unless you have great rhythm and infinite patience, you will find your self wanting to throw your DS at a wall. Save yourself the trouble of wasting the time waiting for this game to arrive and pick something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AGENTS ARE GO!

posted by TheEpicnerd (POTTERVILLE, MI) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Elite Beat agents is truly a perfect DS title, the way the beats are matching the music, along with the fact that the music ranges from a great amount of covers, such as Steriogram's walkie talkie man, to Chicago's Your the Inspiration. You are bound to be singing, humming, or whistling along to the songs as you tap your way to victory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's Plucky

posted by staynoobish (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

So me and my bromie got eba in the mail and started playing it. I t deffinatly takes skill and timing but it's cool. I f I could give this something out of 10 it would be a 6.5.. Because the lowest replay value, most people would not take a liking in this. But if you are looking for a fun ds game for those long car rides this is it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Elite Beat Agents (Hey! Agent Spin Here!)

posted by snow_ninja (RENO, NV) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I'm sorry if this review is a bit confusing, as it is hard to put into words how utterly awesome this game is. However, I will try my best.

Gameplay: 5/10 Meh. I honestly don't like the gameplay that much (repetitive and ranges from super-easy to unbelievably frustrating), which is probably going to sound stupid because it is a video game after all. I actually think it would work better as an interactive storybook, which I will soon explain.

Story: 20/10 The story is clearly the best thing about this game. Essentially a team of secret agents (commanded by some dude named Commander Kahn who really doesn't do anything but occasionally yell "Go" and "Yeah") goes around and helps people with their problems by dancing and waving their hands in the air. This probably sounds boring, but I'm not finished yet. There are several storylines (depending on who it is you choose to pick) such as an oil baron who lost all his money to his girlfriend, a certain person named Leonard trying to paint the Mona Lisa, and a little girl who's dad died in a car accident. All vastly different, but of course I won't tell you how they end, though I will say that the story of the little girl at Christmastime is endlessly heartwarming. I have played her mission again and again and still have to hold back tears every time.

Controls: 10/10 I really don't care about controls (unless concerning a Wii game called NIghts), but these were fairly smooth.

Music: 7/10 My only problem with the music is that I don't know most of the songs. For example, everyone keeps saying stuff about a song called "Sk8ter Boi" that I've never heard of. It was fun to listen to favorites like YMCA and September.

Graphics: 9/10 The graphics are mostly 2D comic-book-like cutscenes which are all very well made. The only thing I'm saying is that I think the graphics of the dancing agents (behind the rhythm symbols) are slightly chunky.

Sorry this review was so long, but you had to know how good this game was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BORING!

posted by epheme (RICHMOND, VA) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is so repetitive, and is not really challenging (that's not to say the hardest level isn't 'hard' but it's not challenging in that you want to try and beat your best score, either). The segments are amusing and kind of random, but I was not entertained or engrossed in this game. Maybe if the gameplay itself had more to it than just tap in rhythm, follow the ball, spin the disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun but hard game

posted by negimafan7 (VENICE, FL) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

This game is awsome, it is purely made of win. But it is quite a bit tougher than any rythem game out there like GH or Rock band.And yet even after failing over and over again you'll still be playing!So yea this is deffinately worth a rent and for $15 a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Addictive, but could be more

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

An addictive, and yet fun game, it actually gives you an interactive role, with a few popular songs, (without looking goofy, like in Guitar Hero). A nice game if you find yourself on the "go" alot, and don't have time to play time consuming games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Groovy! (No I'm not a hippie.)

posted by DaTruth78 (BLOOMING GROVE, TX) May 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

I really liked this game, it was very geniune (one like those of Rock Band or Guitair Hero). Everything (execpt for the songs, those weren't too great) about this game was pitch-perfect

Good:
Graphics +1, Gameplay +1, Story +7, Ending +1

Bad
Music -1

Bottom Line: Perfect, if it's on mute

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best rhythm game you can find

posted by DropKnow15 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

When I first rented this game, I did so because it looked like a quirky take on the rhythm game genre. I was already a big fan of the Guitar Heroes and Rock Bands of the world, but this game blew me away.

The gameplay is crisp, the stories funny, and the songs groove-able, even if not the best soundtrack. Elite Beat Agents is everything you should look for in a rhythm game and a great handheld game with great replay value due to the tought difficulties in higher stages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Mediocre Music Game

posted by Banks46 (HILLSBOROUGH, NJ) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

It took me four years to finally play this title but now that I have, I'm a bit disappointed with what the reviews have said on aggregate sites such as Metacritic.

On the whole, Elite Beat Agents has received a ton of praise. I don't really think it's deserving of it. If you're used to playing top quality music games such as Guitar Hero, Rock Band, or anything from the Beatmania series, the odd "ever shrinking circle" timing system in the game seems off. Even while listening to the beat and pressing inputs based on that seems to leave no room for error. You have to hit the note at 100% precisely the right time or else you're heavily penalized. I would've liked a millisecond more wiggle room

The song selection is strange and comes from everywhere and anywhere. I will say that including "September" by Earth Wind & Fire was the greatest song choice ever.

This is a fun game for a few hours but beyond that, it didn't keep me coming back for more. As a hardcore handheld game player (I commute on a train 2 hours a day), this does not get my Commuter Seal of Approval.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Underwhelmed

posted by MamaMaia (SUPERIOR, CO) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I guess I had my hopes set too high for this one. I was unable to clear the levels, so I had no idea where the first levels were and feel that even on the easiest setting, I couldn't keep up!

Being a life long student of music and fan of dance, I was hoping this would be alot of fun, instead I was just frustrated and returned after a couple of hours...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for a weekend rental.

posted by Lordfinbar (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Elite Beat Agents is a rhythm based game where you tap the stylus to the beat of the music

The game play is simple and easy to pickup. The bottom screen gives you bulls-eye targets to hit in a specific order. Sometimes the targets move and you follow them with your stylus, other times you make a circular motion to spin an on-screen wheel.

The music selection is very impressive. The style ranges from classics like YMCA to newer music like Sk8ter Boy.

Visually, the game oozes style. The graphics are bright and colorful. Each "chapter" of the game has a unique story where you, the elite beat agent, must help someone. For example, help a pug find his way back to his owner, or a young babysitter ask her boyfriend to go steady. The game doesn't take itself serious which leads to some really bizarre and funny chapters.

I haven't read other reviews, but I personally found this game difficult to master. Passing each chapter isn't difficult, but getting a good score/grade for each level was. Other then the first level, I don't think I scored over a C. Luckily, the game lets you proceed to the next chapter just for passing.

The game is a great way to kill a few days. It does lack the depth to keep you coming back unless you're obsessed with getting a higher grade on each chapter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best DS Games alive!

posted by ff7freddy (TAMPA, FL) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

with many other video games, once you beat them, they get very boring. I love how I can play this game over and over again and not get bored of it all. I love how this game has to use the stylus a lot, because it takes the DS to its full potential. The songs in this game are very cool, the Cutscene and In game Animations make me laugh every time, and last, the dancing Elite Beat Agents. These guys are the most awesome people I have ever seen. Everytime you go on a mission, please watch the little story before a mission, so that you will know who you are trying to help, and it will so get you into the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Agents Get Down And Boogy!

posted by Stovall (CHESTER, PA) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

First,off I know I'm pretty late on reviewing this game,but who cares!?This game ROCKS!It has some pretty darn,cool songs,and you just can't help but to keep grooving along to it.The 4(Yes 4)difficulties are awesome.The farther you get,the more hype it can make ya.The game does get pretty heated,so any protection for your DS touch screen will do.I've learned that the hard way.The music is sooo much better with headphones,or you could hook it up to a little stereo.(I used my Ipod stereo)Enough talk,just try it,then BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best on the DS

posted by psychoman (WOONSOCKET, RI) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

At first, I had a hard time getting into the game. But once I got the hang of the game, I started to love it. While I'm not a fan of many of the songs here, there are other songs that are among my favorite. Avril Lavigne's "Sk8er Boi" and Ashley Simpson's "La La" are my least favorites. Deep Purple's "Highway Star" and The Rolling Stones "Jumpin' Jack Flash" are on the top of my list. While I'm not a particular fan of Chicago's "You're The Inspiration," the way the song was used in the "Christmas Gift" scenario was just pure genius. It's one of the most touching moments in gaming history. (To me, it's up there with Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater's ending)

As a game itself, it's one of the most creative games to come out ever. As a Nintendo DS game, it ranks right up there with The New Super Mario Bros. in greatness. The harder difficulties are really hard and I guarantee you that you won't complete them so quickly so if you like a challenge, I couldn't recommend this game enough.
This is one of those games that requires a lot of practice which means that the replay value is definitely high. The game might seem intimidating to some in the beginning but take the time to get use to it and you'll start to have fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best you can get for the DS

posted by iwillrocku (LAKELAND, FL) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Until the rhythm/music genre is tapped into (no pun intended) more fully on the DS, this will remain the best one out there for the little two-screened wonder, and once it is, it will remain the one that started it all for this system. A sorely underrecognized game in terms of engaging gameplay and true zaniness, this game really deserves more attention than it has gotten in the market. While not all of the songs are exceptionally good (and all are only covers) They are all good to an extent, ranging from Let's Dance and Rock This Town to The Anthem and Jumpin' Jack Flash. The rhythmic tapping and sliding, although simple at first, steadily picks up in difficulty until you will be retrying levels over and over to get to the next song. But somehow as many times as you lose, you never want to give up, you only have more motivation to try harder. Also, for those of you who have played it, The gameplay is somehow reminiscent of Gitaroo Man, and that is not a bad thing. Please, do yourself a favor, and try this game out. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse