Rent Electroplankton for DS
view large frontback

Electroplankton

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

698 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for what it is.

posted by Cymrix (OLYMPIA, WA) Aug 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like a lot of others have said, this is not really a game. Or more specifically not a "typical" game. But it is quite easy to get caught up in the colors and sound. Especailly if you have a good set of head phones.

The biggest draw backs for me where

-Not enough variety per electoplankton. It just seems like they could have easily added a few more types of beats and sounds per electoplankton. The variety of "Types" of electroplankton is nice though.

-The need some sort of randomness. Even if small variations. The electroplankton don't really seem "alive" as they get caught in whatever pattern you set them on for the most part.

-A save function. You can spend a lot of time tweaking the little electroplankton to make some cool sounds and then you can't even save anything to show anyone. Really lame. This alone makes me not ever want to buy it.

Anyways, overall it was a great experience. If these few things had been added you wouldn't be able to find a copy to play it would be so popular.

-Jess

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Unique, interesting, but not a game.

posted by Justy8 (BURBANK, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Nintendo has always been, let's face it, Revolutionary. Electroplankton is no different. This is not a game, this more of music interaction. The concept that little microscopic organism create music in various ways may not sound interesting, but when you put in the Nintendo DS aspects of touching, using the microphone, and interaction with what you are playing, it becomes quite harmonious. I found myself just listening to the music i created and annoying people with the Rec Rec.

I do not recommend buying this game, but i highly recommend renting it just to experience it. I would hope this can be used as a tech demo to see how music can interact with the touch screen.

If you have read this, it may not have made much sense. Electroplankton is difficult to describe. It is a game (or not a game) that you just have to experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun to mess around with, But still lacking

posted by Freakout (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jul 17, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a fun little thing to mess around with between games. As others have said, it's not really a game. But it's still a very unique item for the DS.

I love creation games/toys such as this. It's fun to play around with for a while, but if you do something really awesome... you can't save it! I thought this was a really dumb idea by the game developers. That takes a big chunk out of why I didn't like the game. I mean the entire thing wrapped around imagination and creation, but you can't save your work!

Other than that, there's not much else wrong. Here on Gamefly, 7 = Good. I thought the game was good, but it could be improved. But it's definitely worth the rent if you like to use your imagination to toy with things, it's a nice break between games. Try it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game? Musical Instrument? Both!

posted by Kagenin (ROCKLIN, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Is it a game? Sort of, in the same way a Piano or Guitar is a game. I consider it more of a device for musical exploration. Indeed, some electronic musicians have even found a way to work it into their set mixes.

Electroplankton is a truly unique experience (like many DS games). While its not really a game, I find I have a lot of fun with Hanenbow, Rec-Rec, and Beatnes modes. Hooking the headphone line to a recording device lets you save beats for posterity, or to be mixed with other sounds and beats.

I highly recommend this game, especially for younger gamers who have an interest in music (even older gamers like me, I'm 24, can get something out of it, too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A fairly interesting experience. Game? Maybe.

posted by Monolith (BRAZIL, IN) Sep 24, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

As everyone has already stated, yes, Electroplankton isn't exactly a game. It is more of a musical experience. Here's my list of points for what's what with this game.

Good:

- Uses the touch screen in varying ways, all
with very high accuracy.
- Music sounds are fairly crisp and clean,
sound decent when arranged correctly.
- Some of the Plankton have very innovative
ways of producing their music, makes you
think a bit about how to use them.
- Very colorful and vibrant art throughout,
though there isn't much in the way of
backgrounds, they would end up distracting
from the game too much anyway.

Bad:

- With only 10 types of Plankton, there isn't
much room for variety. Game gets
repetetive quickly.
- For any plankton that record sound, the
quality of said sound is quite poor. I
suspect this relates to the DS not having
enough memory to hold decent sized
recordings.
- Several Plankton feel too random. You
touch them, an they feel like they would
produce decent music, if only you could
interact with them in a more clean way.
Who in the world wants a piano with keys
that randomly swap themselves while you
play??

Overall, I think Electroplankton is a great timewaster kind of game. Something you could pick up for 5-10 minutes at a time to fiddle with, while waiting for something else to happen. That being said, any -serious- time you have to pass would be better spent with games that have more.. well.. game to them. Again, this manages to serve as a good tech demo, and works for what it was supposed to be.. interactive art. It does not however work as a game. So, I can't really recommend buying. Do try to rent it, tho! You may find you like it anyway, an wanna keep it on a shelf somewhere, to pull down when you feel bored and inspired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Plankton + Electricity= Fun

posted by Nicola (RIVERSIDE, CA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is not only my first rental, but my first review for Game Fly.
Electroplankton is not a game, it's more of fidget toy of sorts. It has he potential to be a great beat maker but is missing some of the essentials to really make it something worth carrying around with your DS and choice few games. A save/record feature would be nice, and it wouldn't hurt if had options for controlling the game. It has several different "plankton" life forms (beat makers) to chose from, all though the last one is more of a voice modifier than a beat maker, its still fun to mess around with. Head phones make this game really come to life, and for added fun while on the run, hook your DS up to your car stereo with an audio tape adapter for tunes on the road. I hooked my DS up to my 5.1 at home and
that really made it fun. Overall, I'd say its fun for a day, but the beat maker hidden in the Game Boy Camera (for the OG Green screen GB) is not only stronger in terms of options, it also sported 3 saves, and you could put your face on the D.J. behind the two turn tables and cut up your saved beats!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game was great... for about a half hour.

posted by Ace3342 (POMPANO BEACH, FL) Jul 16, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was very excited to try out this game, and I was very pleased with it. However, after a couple of minutes of playing this game I was quite bored with it. With only 10 Elecroplankton to play with, and no unlockables, I quickly lost interest. I checked the Internet for any additional information on the game, but only got about 10 more minutes out of it. This is when I discovered that to save your songs, you need to buy a special cable that links to your computer! I had hoped that there would be a way to share songs using the DS Wireless function, unfortunately there was none. I absolutely had no interest in the audience mode. I am sure glad that I rented this game instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Elektroplankton... its fun and good for you

posted by Transfer (LOMBARD, IL) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

im not to much for fleshing things out so here it is
Elektroplankton is alot of fun and very innovative you can be entertained for hours and its easy to pick up and play with although there are no unlockables i can find or secrets to reveal would have got a 9 or 10 if it was a little mor indepth and maybe had a recorder built in play something on it then save it to the disk wifi it to and email address and you got a wav thats the only real improvement i would have made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Electroplankton

posted by Pepper (LINCOLNWOOD, IL) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When you first get this game, you are most likely stunned by the graphics and enjoy creating fun little tunes. That feeling last about 1-2 days tops. It soon becomes repetitive and you feel as if you are making the same songs over and over again. There is also no way to save the few good songs you make. Another thing that could make this game better would be the ability to mix different kinds of plankton. But, it's still worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not a Game

posted by Cowtruck (WARWICK, RI) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

You mainly just make different melodies with the electroplanktons in 10 different "mini games". But if you like music you'll LOVE this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but not much to it. Like candy.

posted by Leemarie (LITCHFIELD, MN) Sep 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

I read all the reviews on this game. Most of them are right - it isn't a game. Well, a game in the normal sense. It is, however, a lot of fun. I think it is and isn't a good renting game. It is a good renting game if you get it and decide you hate it. But it's the kind of game you buy and play in between games. Like when you're waiting for a new mission game to play, or you're just bored or frustrated and need an easy break. Or, like a couple said, if you're musically inclined, it is a good musical tool. I just wish you could save your songs. That's a downside. But oh well. I give it a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More experiment than game, but still worth a rent

posted by LastTry (NASHVILLE, TN) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Electroplankton is definitely a unique experience. I had a lot of fun with this "game", but it plays as more of a novelty or experiment in musical design than a game. The closest thing I can compare it to would be Flow, the PC and PS3 game. I've heard about musicians using this game as part of their act, and after playing it I can see why.

ON THE GOOD SIDE:
1. Unlike anything you've ever played before.
2. Some of the "instruments" or modes allow you to actually create some good beats and songs.
3. Great presentation and sound.

ON THE BAD SIDE:
1. Unless you plan on using the game to create actual music for your band or a video, its novelty will wear off faster than most games.
2. You can't combine the different "instruments" together, which would have added much more depth and replayability to the experience.
3. A third gameplay mode in which you were given a goal would give the 99% of gamers not using Electroplankton as a musical instrument with more value for their money.

OVERALL:
My main disappointment with the game was not being able to combine the different creatures or instruments to make more complex rhythms and songs. Some of the creatures are not that interesting by themselves, and you will probably end up not using them much. It also would have been fairly simple for the developers to have implemented some kind of pattern matching or simon says type of gameplay, which could be used to introduce players to the various musical possibilities the creatures possess.

I would definitely recommend a rental if you're into experimental or artistic gaming, but don't buy it unless you want to add a "hip" instrument to your band's stage show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It was Interesting

posted by Pet101 (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

I thought this was a really fun game. NO not game musical experience... It's the kind of game where you feel weird playing it because it doesn't include what a normal game has. No saving, characters, levels, or storylines. I found it fun to play for a very long time. It kept me trying to figure out how to the heck it works. Worth renting. Buy it if you like different games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pointless

posted by Joel99 (LANCASTER, PA) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Other then the first five minutes, the rest of this game is useless. Not worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Electroplankton

posted by hopelynn (IRON CITY, GA) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

Worst game ever. Sorry, did i say game, that the wrong word for what this was. I don't even remember puttin this game on my Q, and when i got it is play a min and a half, took it out of my ds, and mail it back RIGHT AWAY!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth it

posted by flwrchild (HERNANDO, FL) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Am I ever glad that I rented this and didn't pay the hefty price tag that goes along with this game. My first rental and it sure paid off. Makes me think that joining Gamefly has already made sense. This game is really not a game. It is sounds and music(?) put together by touching different areas of different plankton and that's about it. I couldn't wait to get this and then within a few hours, it was back in the Gamefly return envelope and will be in the mail tomorrow back to Gamefly. I look forward to doing business with Gamefly and am sure glad there is a service like this. Now I'll finally save some money by NOT buying stinky DS games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's OK

posted by Tobar68 (MACON, GA) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

If you like music you will like playing with this - but I would not call it a game - per say. Which is why I rated it low. I mean there was no real point to it other than experimenting with musicical ameba. I think they could have at least came up with a goal for each ameba but they did not. It was a good thought but not a good game. I think it needs some more componets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Electroplankton

posted by Lindsey1 (PALATINE, IL) Jun 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

This game is fun at first... If your into music... But after that it just gets boring, I was done with it after the first day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A game for everyone BUT music creators

posted by Caspian (ABILENE, TX) Apr 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Seeing this game like I did, you may have been interested in creating a few songs with it. Electroplankton, however, is a very limited game that will appeal only to people who care little about making music (which, admittedly, is a fairly large amount of people). Don't expect to be able to make the plankton play your favorite songs for you.

For those of you who do not want to input their own songs, but be abstract with music, this game will be quite enjoyable. There are 10 different types of plankton. Some of them are essentially the same random sound making devices, but several are unique. Two of them let you record any sound, usually your voice.

As cool as almost every little plankton is, every single part of the game feels limited in some way. In fact, you will constantly get the feeling that designers left some features out of the game intentionally. "Rec-Rec" is a plankton that lets you record your voice several times in beat/harmony and play it back. However, the clip you can record is only about five seconds long.

If you happen to finally create something cool with electroplankton, you cannot save it. The game is designed in a way that makes it almost impossible to recreate to show friends or family.

You will never feel like electroplanton is "bad", but the game is so rare that many people will only be able to get a copy off of ebay or amazon for about $60 (at the time this review was written).

Contrary to most games like this, you may regret renting it, but, if you can find a good price for it at a used game store, you may want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

4 u ppl who think its a toy UR RIGHT

posted by 24454426 (MURFREESBORO, TN) Mar 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

and its the best toy ever. it fun, easy once u learned wat each do, and fun 2 mess with. Like the one that meses with ur voice. I loved it then tryed reconding the voicesfrom my cds n animaces. its if blue man group made a ds game. i say if u lik music, mixing, n messing with sounds this is for u.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Awesome!... at first

posted by KngPaoCrnN (CEDAR PARK, TX) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game is pretty cool at first, but after you play around with each plankton for a few minutes, you realize that's all there is...yup

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment

posted by Dante17 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I had high hopes for this game, but in the end it all fell to pieces. don't get me wrong, its an interesting game to play, but once you've done everything there is to do, that's it! it's boring after a while. it's a good game to have if you have absolutely nothing better to do. it was a good idea gone bad in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

greytone

posted by greytone (COLUMBIA, MD) Nov 1, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

Really great fun for about a week before you run out of things to do. Perfect for a rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Interesting, definitely a rental though

posted by martinc6 (CHEVY CHASE, MD) Oct 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

Great concept, fairly fun for maybe 10 minutes. A great example of what Gamefly is good for because I definitely wouldn't buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

While it lasted

posted by KakouTon (OGDEN, UT) Oct 15, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

First of all, this is not a game. This is more a musical application than a real game. There is no save feature, no levels, no characters... just fun little devices used to make sound.
The various minigames provide short lived entertainment, but while it lasted, it was a blast to mess with. There arent as many features here for creating actual music as I had expected before receiving the game; Im an electronic music producer, so I expected more depth from it. But it's so simple, anybody can pick it up, touch a few things, and make surreal, offbeat music and sounds.
The visuals are fun, although it really doesnt take advantage of the dual screen format. Of course, thats not what its about... its about the music. While i love this 'game', I can't recommend it to anyone who isnt already interested in it's main idea.

Summary: Give it a rental for the experience, but dont expect to write the next big club anthem.

5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse