Rent Elebits for Wii
view large frontback

Elebits

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

2200 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Elebits Makes Good Use of the Wii Controller

posted by Wepwaet (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Apr 2004

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are looking to find a glimpse of what the Wii controller can do, look no further than Elebits. The game starts out with a child hangin' out at home when all of the sudden a lightning storm comes and his parents, who are scientists, have to take off to return power. You are then set loose in the house with your capture gun to seek and destroy every possible Elebit you can find. Trust me folks, this one is not about the story! Elebits is a fun platformer style game that's all about tearing things up and shooting little pieces of energy. Sound boring? Well, actually it's not and although there are a few glaring problems with the physics in the game, for example, you can't push certain objects without ramming others into them, all in all you will have a lot of fun just banging things about and interacting with basically everything on the screen. One other glaring problem , is the levels that don't allow sound or have limits to how many things you can break. Although this does add challenge to the game, breaking and tearing things up is the most entertaining part of the game. If you can get past the weak storyline, Elebits will offer you some good clean rampage style fun that can be a great stress reliever at the end of a long day. Also, you might want to leave this one off the list if you are looking for multiplayer fun, only one player is allowed to control the camera, which really hinders what could have been a really fun two player game. They should have taken some advice from the makers of Cookie and Cream on this one and created some sort of cooperative mode instead. All in all, a solid title to play with the new Mii controls and a fun rental as long as you can overlook the weak story and a few mechanics issues here and there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ouch, my thumb

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

26 out of 28 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Elebits, hmmm, tech demo? possibly.

Its hard to imagine this game not just being a spiced up tech demo. After all, all your really do it point the Wii remote at the screen and hit the "A" button. In fact, you do it so much that your right thumb will be killing you after one level.

Basically everything from cars to tv's are run by there small creatures known as elebits. There is a catastrophic power failure and you, a little annoying child, must use your daddy's capture gun (Wii mote) to capture the elebits and power up certain electrical items.

The physics in this game are a sight to behold, top notch really. Second only to maybe Half Life 2. You can pick up anything that your capture gun is currently strong enough to lift, which varies at times. Elebits are hidden under, in and on top of almost anything. Just point at them and mash that "a" button. You can even pick up and item and rotate it in mid air simply by twisting the Wii remote, clever.

The story is just plain dumb, but again, that doesn't take much away from the fun.

The graphics are just decent, but if you bought a Wii for graphics, you bought the wrong system. I bought a Wii for games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

King of Destruction!

posted by Graham (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

29 out of 34 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Ha ha. This game is quite a blast. The enviroments are different, and the fact that you can just toss things around willy nilly with the gravity gun, is so awesome. Although at times after playing for a while, specially during the one level while you are in the house, and everything is floating due to the loss of gravity, you can feel at times that all these objects are floating around your head.

This game is great and all, and really tons of fun with a great storyline. I just have a few crushers about it. First of all, the insane challenge modes. Such as, the first challenge, where you are supposed to collect all the elebits in the room in 30 seconds. I have never been able to do this, and it drives me nuts. Another bad thing about this game is throwing things around. Sometimes the objects will land behind you, and trap you into that little confined space until you are able to move said object. Those are the only complaints I got.

Overall, the Wii remote makes this game what it is. Nothing can be done without the Wii remote, so I feel that this game is one of the gems. The artwork in the cut scenes leaves me nearly breathless. Plus when you beat the game, you get a rating/title of how well you did. I love this game, and plan to keep it for life. POWER TO THE ELEBITS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Katamari with a Gravity Gun!

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Already numerous comparisons have ben drawn between the classic ball roller and this game. It's a fair comparison as both games exhibit the great quirky Japanese humor that has only recently penetrated into the mainstream American culture. Collecting is the primary focus of the came, trading miscellaneous objects and people with cute electrical animals called Elebits. Pulling the capture gun into the fray then stops the comparison altogether. The gun rocks!
The story is done via cutscenes and progresses adequately (the voice acting is horrible though, you can actually hear some of the actors reading their lines).
Enough about the story though, the capture gun and its manipulation via the Wii-mote make the game. Some of the physics are a little hokey (you'll throw stuff more than you'd like to), but it's a great exhibition piece for the Wii technology for sure. There's some power-ups that help you along the way (multi-beams lock-ons, elebits cookies bait, etc.)
There's a variety of locations to search through (mostly rooms) and elebits to find (each with their own personalities). Some levels have special tasks, such as don't break things or keep the noise to a minimum. There are also boss elebits you must "fight". After you collect enough, more things open up for you to explore or use. With special powered elebits, your gun power increases, allowing you to pick-up larger things.
There's multi-player coop mode and plenty of bonus features to open up. You can even edit rooms (levels) and challenge others to play it.
This could very well be a franchise for Konami, as I imagine that the elebits could be transferred to other locations, worlds, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wii Controls Make it Unique.

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

So far there have been some games that feel 'out-of-place' on the Wii. What makes this game fun is that it feels 'at home' on the Wii - as it was developed for the Wii controls. Yes the game is on the 'cute' side of the gaming spectrum - but once you get passed that as an issue - there is a solid game in Elebits. Give it a try - see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good but... not intended for adults

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented this it's fun but to go prone and standing on your tip toes is point less although the story line is not that bad I like the how there's A narrator, fun for kids

1.controls are simple it's not hard to figure out

2.your A cute girl

3.narrator

4."Z" and "C" are pointless

but...... A decent game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wonderful new game

posted by Airoblast (AGUANGA, CA) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This has been the finest game i have played on the wii (yes i have zelda) and personally i love the game, it has a fun way of getting the elebits by using a gravity gun. you can tell it was designed specificly for the wii because of how well it plays. the game mechanics tend to advance the more you play with certain levels becoming more of a challenge than before. And its just plan madness as you try to scramble for the elebits in all the colorful funness. I definitely recommend this game to people who don't mind the silliness

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eleibits has a good premise, but falls short.

posted by TheZane (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game had a pretty good hype, I had been on the verge of buying before I signed up for my gamefly account. I was looking for a game that my fiancée and I could both play together and have fun with.
We started first by playing the multiplayer mode. It started out fun with all the items flying every which way around the rooms. However, the single screen view where the movement controls are swapped back and forth gets very old very fast. We played two levels and after that we had our fill of the multiplay levels.
I continued on into the story mode. Once again it started out with a good story line, but it wasn't captivating enough to keep you plowing through the same repetitive levels.
There are a few levels where they throw a couple of different challenges at you, certain things you cannot do while completing a level, basically. These challenges were everything but challenging.
I did manage to play up to the first boss, but I just couldn't bring myself to finish any of the levels after that.
I'm glad I didn't purchase this game, it might be good for renting as it does use the wii-mote to it's full potential, which I give it a high praise for, it just needs more work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Elebits Tries Hard, but falls way short

posted by RaulDuke (SUNRISE, FL) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Elebits tries really hard to be a good game, but falls short. The aim is absolutely perfect down to the pixel, and you’ll be able to pick off Elebits from a distance with ease. Your character is controlled by the nunchuck thumstick with the C and Z buttons used to stretch and duck respectively. The physics of the objects are very impressive, if a bit “floaty” as well. Each object can be picked up and gently rotated and placed carefully or hurled across the screen. Twisting faucets on and off, opening doors and sliding cabinets are hit and miss.

But for all the things it does right, Elebits does 2 or three things wrong that really drag down the game. About 4 stages in, new rules and restrictions begin to come down such as “Don’t break too many objects” or “Don’t make too much noise”. This is an obvious attempt to change up the game play and give the game some strategy, but it does nothing but detract from the fun. The game also suffers serious slow down when you finally get your gun strong enough to throw around big objects. As you progress in the game and the stages get larger, the graphics get worse and the slowdown becomes more frequent. The game is also extremely easy, although you won’t be able to finish every level on your first shot thanks to the silly rules and Black Elebits which zap your life.

Multiplayer is a mess. It just gets too chaotic with more than one person tearing apart the environment. We found ourselves stuck “inside” objects way too often and struggled to figure out how to lift the house or truck or cabinet off our heads. Elebits also allows you to edit rooms and trade them via Connect24, but I wasn’t able to test that out.

If this title were given longer in development and not rushed out to meet launch, it could have been a great game. All the elements are there, but the execution is sloppy and seems thrown together. Elebits is worth a rental at best as you’ll tear through the game in 4 or 5 hours tops.

WORST VOICE ACTING EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gets Old quick

posted by KentuckyJ (DANVILLE, KY) Jan 29, 2007

Member since May 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game seemed fun for the first 5 min. Then the 6th min began and I was spent. I dont see how it got good reviews really. All you do is point and click.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Use Of Wii Controller Thus Far

posted by 20Somethin (OAKLAND, TN) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

On first glance, this game looked like it was going to be appealing only to those that are too young to receive a driver's license. Based on other reviews, however, I decided to give it a chance.

First - a little about me. I am 27 years old and I have been playing games of all sorts all my life. I bought the Nintendo Wii because I was tired of having to learn complex button combinations for every game that I played on other systems. I just simply don't have the time that I used to have to invest in playing games.

That brings us to Elebits. Within 3 minutes of playing this title, I had the controls down. Sure, I got better over time, but the ease and simplicity of walking and shooting Elebits with your gravity gun is very easy to learn. It's completely addictive as well!

All in all there are 29 levels to the story mode. You play as Kai, a young boy who is upset because his parents are constantly working and he is unable to watch his favorite TV show because the electricity has gone out. Every electric (or gas) appliance is powered by Elebits. As Kai captures the elebits he is able to turn on lamps, TV's, and eventually cars and amusement parks!

The difficulty of this game is not in beating the levels - but in beating each level thoroughly. It took me no more than two attempts to beat each level. Younger children may have more difficulty with some of the latter levels as they require some "thinking outside of the box" to solve some of the puzzles. However, they will still thoroughly enjoy the game.

The game has definite lasting appeal through it's edit mode and multiplayer modes. Additionally, you can always go back and play previously completed levels and try to acheive a higher score than the one you got the first time through.

If you are looking for the best adaptation yet of the Wii Remote then look no further. Elebits will give all young and old a pleasurable experience. My rating: 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Elebits rocks!

posted by Shadow275 (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome!
It is so fun!
You can open doorknobs by turning the wii-mote, there stuff to throw, pick up and get those tiny elebits.

So much fun in one little game.
I recommend you rent/buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Half Life, Chibi Robo style game

posted by rarrarrar (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very much like half life games because you control a gravity gun while controling your player with the wii nunchuk. It is also like Chibi Robo because the graphics and the design styles are like that game in that most of the game takes place in a house or outside. I like this game because the physics and controls are very, very smooth. You really should rent this game or buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

fun for the first 10 minutes...even 7 yr old bored

posted by pillster (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

my 7 year old daughter and I played this. Online, it looks cute and has tons of potential. It starts with a little story behind the Elebits then you "look" for them in her bedroom first. It is cool at first, especially when you start ransacking the place. We laughed pretty good when that was going on, but then it gets old. Seriously, my daughter was done with it 10 minutes in. You can't try another room or anything like that at the beginning and she was completely bored of it as was I. I was going to go for horrible, but figured since we enjoyed it for a few minutes, maybe just really bad would suffice. Don't waste a rental on this one. It looks cute and sweet and colorful on the cover, but nothing but sour on the inside

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DON'T RENT IT

posted by WiiRocks (FORT COLLINS, CO) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible, it is too repetitive and extremely boring, i was thinking of buying this game but i'm glad i didn't. It would have been a waste of money and it was a waste of my life playing it! The graphics are pretty good but it doesn't make up for the stupid story. I am returning this game right away because it was a disgrace to the Wii.
(sorry for any mistakes because i'm typing this from my Wii)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gradually good

posted by doubleu (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game starts off slow, but once you get into it the pace picks up and becomes VERY intuitive with the wii-mote. Very fun as a rental. Basically how the controls should've been for red steel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun at first

posted by TNTorch (HAVELOCK, NC) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Throwing stuff around at first is great, but gets old after awhile. However, if you have kids who can control the whole FPS perspective, they will love this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Elebits...Eleborring

posted by TheDew (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like bizzarre games like Katamari and Wario Ware, so I really expected to like this unique title for the Wii. What a let down...

After about 5 minutes you have pretty much seen all there is to Elebits. You are placed in some confined space with a Half Life 2 Gravity Gun. Your goal is to move the object in front of you and zap the bits hiding behind it. Turn, move object, zap bits, turn, move object, zap bits, turn, move larger object, zap bits - over and over. The boring repetition is one thing, but on top of that - it takes about zero skill to play this game. There is no problem solving, no challenge, only mind-numbing repetition.

Oh Wait! There's multiplayer! So, you and a friend can simultaneously...move objects...zap bits....turn(well only one of you can turn)...move objects...zap bits over and over. And the winner is ...whoever zapped the most bits. Great - it's like a video game version of whack-a-mole only less challenging.

I suppose if you are 8 years old, it is probably cutesy and entertaining enough to be worthwhile. Anyone else...just gamefly it, if you really must play it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

nothing special or grabbing

posted by truth1130 (ALTON, IL) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was alright i guess. I mean it starts off being kinda cool and different; but the cool wears off really quickly. Just too repetitive and blah to keep you engaged. Probably a blast when you've had one too many though. I'll have to try that next time.

I am thetruth1130 and i approved this message.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please dont waste your time

posted by huktongamz (ENTERPRISE, AL) Apr 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this has got to be a joke!!??!!??!!??!! One of THE WORSTE games I've ever seen released on any console or system period. Ya gotta be seriously bored to play this. Not a good rent, in fact Every time I see this on the shelves I just wanna write "WARNING TERRIBLE GAME" on the box to warn others of this dreadful release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun, but not perfect.

posted by cannonball (GRANTS PASS, OR) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

What I like best is the seamless integration with the wiimote. It seems completely natural - the tutorial is not even necessary for Mom to figure it out.

The story line and voice acting is especially weak - but does not get into the way once started.

Multiplayer mode is a little awkward because only one player has movemoent control

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Disappointed...Why Konami, WHY!!!

posted by Squelch (THE WOODLANDS, TX) Dec 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I thought this was going to be one of the best Wii games to come out, boy was I wrong. The whole game is tedious and repetitive, I mean it can be fun destroying rooms looking for these things but it is overall not a game I would even rent, sadly I bought it on release day and am out 50$...I should have just got Red Steel, I even asked the sales guy which one I should buy and he said this (Elebits will be way more fun he says), thats the last time I listen to one of them! I rented Red Steel and it is a much better game than this, thats the last time I buy something because of major hype and word of mouth. Even people that have watched me play it almost fell asleep, commenting that it doesn't look fun at all. I am on level 4 in Story mode and I have already lost interest, back to Twilight Princess for me...thats all I need.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STUPID AND BORING GAME!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

THIS GAME IS NOT FUN AT ALL IT IS JUST ALL GOING AROUND LOOKING FOR THE ELIBITS AND I THINK THAT CAN GET A LITTLE BORING AFTER AWHILE SO THAT IS WHY I AM SENDING IT BACK ALRIGHT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by drkav1 (BIG LAKE, AK) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

fun but gets old fast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

clock killed it for me

posted by horsumhack (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

i'll be brief, and point out by way of introduction that i don't like much of anything.
so, uh, elebits is kind of cute, sort of fun to play, what with tearing things apart in a house to get at elebits which you zap and collect which all connects up with a story, barely, and which, at the point i'm at, seems fairly well to have abandoned said story involving a bad actress child wanting to watch tv in a blackout. its all done in individual stages or setpieces with a goal and a time limit and a rating at the end. having a real story could have been worth another point in my score, and, in something that would have been incredibly easy for the developers, difficulty levels (as simple as changing the length of time you have) almost certainly would have been worth another point or two to me. which is to say, i like my games fairly easy and as it stands i have to play these stages too often to pass them (i always seem to get something like 1493 out of 1500 and then when i do pass it's by a mile).
i guess that wasn't that brief. you might as well try this game out if you're reading this, but it just fell short for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse