Rent Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim for PS3
view large frontback

Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.7

10580 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best of The Best

posted by Ice_Man (HAYWARD, CA) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game truely is one of the best RPGs Ive ever seen. Great story, best player building and the options seem to go on forever. It took me well over 200 hrs to "beat" this game and I took that long because I wanted some sweet armor and a tight spell to battle the final boss with. Funny part is I could have easly put in another 200 hrs trying to complete all the side quests. A friend of mine was playing at about the same level as me and we both had diffrent storys to tell. Who we sided with, Who we killed, what factions we went with and all kinds of things the other one missed altogether..... I dont say this about many games but this one is worth the buy. I paid full price for mine and would do it again in a heart beat. If you have a thing for RPGs this ones for you.... p.s. If you have a 360, get it on that. load time and memory is why I gave it a nine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Emosewa's Myriks

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 13, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

55 out of 62 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I have been let down so many times in this year of gaming 2011. So many over hyped titles, so many disappointments. I never lost hope in my beloved gaming. Being an older gamer, my taste has become finer and my passion is as stone. So few games out there that really hit at the heart for me, Skyrim is one those few.

So many good things about this game, much improved from Oblivion. The one I love the most is the fact that you are no longer tied to skills you chose before. You may honestly choose to be ANY type of hero/villain you want to be AND change your mind at any point in the game. Gold.

Exploring has not lost its luster, if anything, it has gained some. When I explore without a companion (mercenaries for hire, or house calls), I really feel the world is genuine and dangerous. The change in settings is wonderful, and the varied gameplay just from your surroundings is a diamond in the rough, so much replay ability!

The story, the characters, the side quests, the settings, the game-play, all deserve extreme high praises. The magic is improved upon greatly, and THE DRAGONS! Every fight is heart pumping and you can make it all your own! The new "kill" animations are a "killer" way to finish a dragon fight. The dragons are also random, I was walking out of my dorm area at the College of Winterhold and one landed right in front of my face and we battled to the death!!...I won first try!

You cannot get your Skyrim experience through my words! You must rent, and give it a go! Skyrim will not be for all, but it will stun Elder Scrolls fans and sign on many new ones to the fight for good and honor!

The title of my review is my first characters name. I am an Argonian Assassin. My loyalty lies with no one, yet, and the bow and dagger are my weapons of choice. Stealth and Illusion are my game, but if you interrupt me I will burn you with flame. Be proud of your creation, it is one of the best experiences in the game. You are dragon born, you are Dovahkiin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

posted by Chaos1101 (WOOSTER, OH) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

78 out of 88 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

First of all... This game is amazing. It continues from Oblivion. It started out slow for me. But after about 2 hours of playing it really picked up. No problems with glitches or anything in that amount of time for a new Bethesda game... Pretty impressive I think. The graphics for this game are unbelieveable. The new character designs for the non human races are very nice, especially the Khajiit, compaired to oblivion. The combat is kind of slow (using 2handed weapons) but the rest of the gameplay is pretty fast. Being able to make any armor just by leveling up your smithing skill is useful so you don't have to buy or find it, just make it. Sad thing is you can't break items down in order to create new items. But the NPCs sell the ingredients for smithing so it works out. The main questline is pretty fun, forcing you to make a choice right after starting the game. (Changeable later so don't worry). I have to say that this is the best Elder Scrolls game yet. So I give it a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skyrim...worthy of perfection!

posted by radiofloyd26 (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are so many aspects of this game which make it amazing. Skyrim is the biggest open world game I've ever seen, and countless things to do. Buying a house and placing books on bookshelves or weapons on weapon rack might not seem like much but for me it's just one little thing that makes this game so great. The number of quests are so great that you feel like the game could never end. Magika, armor, weapons, horses, and cities are just another great way to enjoy building the world you want to live in. The freedom to do as much as I please is very refreshing, the map is so massive that it's hard not to find a troll to kill or an elf to hunt. The skills system is one of the most impressive aspects of Skyrim, choose a character a set is skill set to exactly how you want it. No need to waste time upgrading heavy armor if you choose to be an assassin, just master sneak, archery, or pick pocketing. The combat gameplay isn't the best at first, but as your level gets higher the combat get better. I love everything about this game and I personally think it's perfect with a few very minor flaws or glitches that can be overlooked. Get Skyrim add-ons such as Hearthfire and Dragonguard to make the Skyrim experience even better. With those add-ons you get great new quests, armor, weapons, and with Hearthfire you can build your very on house in Skyrim. Unbelievable game people you really should give it a chance. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9 almost 10

posted by Irish76 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Strong 9. Would have been a 10, but game play was jumpy, game freezes, and quite a bit of gliches. Controls were awesome. Free roam, beautiful. it was a never ending game which made it fantastic. The fiirst time i started playing, I went for 36 hrs straight. So much to do. Bring on another one Bethesada

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Ur_Papi (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

19 out of 24 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Skyrim is truly an amazing RPG. The amount of content that this game has is unbelievable. Skyrim truly has only positives aspects, but you'll experience some glitches like Fallout 3 or others RPG I really haven't experience any so far and I have play for quite some time but really nothing that will affect this game. Skyrim is so big that you more likely to get lost in the map combating random enemies or clearing dungeons which there are a lot and I mean a lot of those and they are amazingly unique.

Presentation: 10 The story is really well design and the world feel vivid and real it may sound crazy but I felt like I was in there exploring this amazing and huge world.

Graphics: 9.5 The world and environment are what shines but the character models look great as well.

Sound: 10 The sound really is right on point not only it sounds great it fits where you are at that point and the swords, shields and magics sound great. Also the dialogues sound great.

Gameplay: 10 It's fast pace and satisfying good. Magic look and feel good. I always like combat with a sword and forget about magic but in this game I change from a sword and shield to a sword and a spell or two spells or two handed sword it feels awesome and keep the gameplay different. Also the amount of leveling up is really deep.

Lasting: 10 Well since it's an RPG it's really long and Skyrim is not only really really long but extremely deep because of everything you can do from joining guilds to side quests and of course the main missions and more that you should experience yourself.

My final review is 9.6 You can't go wrong with Skyrim the whole game is rewarding and amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worthwhile for RPG fans

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Nov 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Bethesda's follow-up to Oblivion again places you on a quest which may affect an entire kingdom. Dragons have returned to Skyrim, and your character, which you create to your liking, is one of the Dragonborn. After a daring escape from the headsman's axe during a dragon attack, you're off into the world of Skyrim. You can follow the quest, or not. It's your choice, and if you have the time to devote to this game, you'll find that there is plenty to do. The menus have been streamlined from Oblivion, and movement is a bit better, though in 3rd person you still look more floaty than actually walking upon the ground. The graphics are very beautiful, even though there is considerable pop-in to the scenery, even on shorter draw distances. Leveling up is easier than Oblivion, and you can mix and match skills. Want to wield magic with one hand and a sword in the other? You can. And you're free to switch to full blown warrior or mage at any time during the game. You're never locked in to one class. Each race has specific attributes, but you can level them up as you wish, so choosing one over the other doesn't prevent you from exploring different ways to play. The game is glitchy. I've seen elk stuck in trees and people disappear into doors without opening them. Nothing game breaking though, which is good. The voice acting for the many characters you meet is decent, but not outstanding. The music is beautiful, but the story is a bit on the thin side. Other than wondering what lies beyond the next ridge or what's behind a castle door, there's not a lot to compel you through. There is plenty to do, with your typical quests taking you through the main story as well as plenty of side missions, so if this is your type of game you'll be occupied for for weeks on end. Those who enjoy a more focused narrative and compelling characters, however, may tire of this sooner rather than later. It's definitely worth checking out, and if you're a big fan of RPGs this is a purchase easily.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The RPG that made me look like RPGs .

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 12, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim plays as a first person ... Axe / sword flailing... Arrow shooting game -- You can also change to third person view. With a massive world to explore and billions of side missions and exploration to do in this game is very entertaining.

You create your own character and choose how you place yourself inside the game.

Upon attempting too flee a Warrant of your arrest, you have been placed as Guilty and you are to be beheaded. Just as you lay your head down to be chopped off... A massive dragon swoops in setting everything on fire and allowing you your chance in freedom of escape.

This Elder Scrolls is by far the most visually stunning. Character motion has been completely redone -- you will know as soon as you swing a sword that the control elements have a variety of ability, that is actually more noticeable than the previous title. The lock-picking is similar to the Fallout series. Some locations do not need to be loaded. There is now an ability to Sprint. I wont spoil all the details... But with exploration and a great deal amount of freedom of what you do this game is great--rather if you like helping out villagers or killing them all.

The Elder Scrolls got me into looking at RPG titles more frequently... Even if half the time I spent on was lockpicking and wondering around aimlessly pick pocketing. ~OOo shiny knife... MINE!

This title is defiantly a 10 and worth trying out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A rare type of game

posted by asylumpoet13 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Very rarely does a game come along that, despite any hiccups, glitches, or struggles it poses in gameplay, move you to such a degree as Elder Scrols V: Skyrim. By now, Bethesda has addressed many unknown variable issues and attempted to send out patches to correct the wrongs each individual player has ecnountered, but that is niether here nor there. Where Skyrim succeeds is creating a distinct, vast, universe where even the mundane tasks from smithing to alchemy are a vast joy and enrich the experience of craftring a character and a world of your own. Skyrim gets so many aspects right, allowing you to select a race at the story's beginnning, but craft your character in a way that you never feel bound to that choice. Want a nord for his strength and combat skills, go ahead, and then craft his magic and alchemy to level out to that of a mage, or further develop his combat skills to make him an unstoppable melee machine. Once you craft your character, and discover the world of Skyrim, you'll quickly learn the joy of battling dragons or crossing the frozen tundra on a quest only to pick up three more along the way, and wind up sidetracked into a fourth mission that almost demands (only in your head) immediate attention, only to pick up three more quests in relation to that one. If anything, Bethesda continues to learn from its previous massive RPG's, and if this is any indication, the Fallout series, which is sure to be next on the list, has a very promising future ahead of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game with a few technical issues

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Dec 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Going to keep it short...loved the game. A great mix of Fallout and Fable, and just as good as everyone said. On the PS3, though, it had some technical issues (mostly horrible lag after playing for a long time - it would also freeze during the loading sequence at times).

Definitely try this one out. Ton of fun, and a great way to waste time on cold, dreary winter days/nights.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SKYRIM

posted by OgRich_1988 (BAY MINETTE, AL) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is deffinitely the best game ive played since the diablo series. Ya it is that fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Arrow

posted by DCDIALGA (PRAIRIE DU CHIEN, WI) May 6, 2012

Member since May 2012

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I used to be an adventurer like you but then i took an arrow to the knee

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

skyrim's pros and cons

posted by dovakiin123 (HILLIARD, OH) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

honestly, i loved the gameplay.the world was so vast there were so many locations to find, weapons to craft or find, so many enemies, and tons more. but, you now come to the game itself. after so long for me it starts to freeze. every once and a while isn't so bad but eventually, it starts freezing over and over and you have to turn it off by the button,and then it starts saying you didn't turn it off properly and you lose data for the game! i've had to restart the WHOLE game twice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is what i think thanks for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just say "No Thank You".

posted by DonPeyote (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was loving this game and had decided to buy it. Then it started freezing up every time I tried to save. Long story short, this is a known issue with the game and no eta for a patch to fix it any time soon. This is a deal breaker, so thanks, but no thanks. I don't spend hard earned money on games that don't work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Way RPGing was meant to be

posted by ProphetOfOld777 (COLLINSVILLE, IL) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To be honest, this was my first Elder Scrolls game. I remember going into my local Gamestop, much like any day, with a question. My choices were,"Saint's Row the Third or Skyrim." The clerk asked me what type of game I was looking for, I said,"Immersive story, great combat, an overall good roll playing experience, something that I can replay over and over and over again." He looked at me, laughed, picked up the Skyrim box, and said,"if you have 10 minutes, let me in a nutshell explain to you why this is, hands down, the best way RPGing was meant to be." I said,"10 minutes? shoot!" And he began telling me all the many ways you could play this game. He, himself, was already 500 hours into gameplay, with 3 characters, all with completely different skill paths taken and levels.

I bought it, full price, took it home, put it in my PS3, and from that moment on, I was hooked. I have never known a more solid, immersive, and all around fun game. And not only that, but with the visuals, and the "play at your own pace" gaming style, Skyrim took me on a journey, and it still does everyday.

I give it a 10, even without the DLC (which I am hoping we PS3 players will get sometime before the turn of the century) and if not, I still wouldn't change my opinion. It is better than any Final Fantasy (the only other RPG i've ever played) more immersive than any other story, and more expansive than any other non-linear/sandbox style game I've played in pretty much all my life. If you're looking for something to really sink your teeth, heart, and mind into, without the threat of the game forcing you one way or the other, Skyrim is for you. Matter fact, I'll go out on a limb and say Skyrim is one of those games, gamers pretty much across every platform can agree, is one of the greatest games of all time.

Thus ends my brown nosing of Skyrim, but it was well worth it, because that game is that amazing. Happy Hunting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I only Have one problem with this game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) May 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Only problem i have with this game and games like it, is when you have a quest to go someplace and find something but there is no way to get to the place without having to travel hundreds if not thousands of Miles out of the way to get there. The Location for example is on the Top of a Mountain on say the Southern side. but the only way to get there is from the Northern Side where there is a small Path that you will be lucky to see because it is not only hidden but it is also almost Impossible to tell the difference from the path and the rest of the area, and then if your lucky enough to find the path youy have to go around the Mountain on the Trail a few Hundred times before you get there for no reason other then to take up time, and when you get there you see that where you started from in some town or something is actually only a couple of yards from the place but because you can't climb or can Jump more then a few inches off the ground you can't get there that way but you can get down from there with no problem. Sorry but that for me is a Big NO-NO that most all programmers use the least they could do is make it so the path you have to take is able to be seen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

seemed like good game until.......

posted by ghost6977 (NORMAL, IL) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game was amazing for the first hour or so until i made it to the part i had to go into white run and was suppose to be stoped by a guard and talk to him to get in the city. first off there was no guard to my knowledge i looked completly around the castle walls. second off i found a way to get into the white run and it was by getting arrested. well when i got out of jail the whole city of whiterun was glitched and all i could c was doors floating in the air and ppl standing on the ground under rivers and stuff. not sure if it was just my copy of the game or what. i would love to play the game in more extent because it really got my intrest believe it or not i tryed making 4 different characters to fix the problem. didnt work maybe ill send it back and try to get another copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG

posted by Clerksboy2 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Words cannot describe how amazing this is. SO MUCH CONTENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST ELDER SCROLLS EVER!!!!!!!!!

posted by lizogan (POST FALLS, ID) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you are a elder scrolls fan then prepare for the best elder scrolls ever! Every complaint I had about oblivion (which wasnt much) they fixed in this one. Dual wielding is amazing. The new leveling up system is the best. Rather than having main skills you have to choose from in the beginning to level up your character, you can use any skill to level up your character. Once you level up you can choose a perk on any skill. Total costumization here people! They took away a few of the lamer skills like acrobatics and running, but added a few like enchanting and smithing. You can create your own weapons and armor and improve it. Plus the new Enchanting system is great. The 3D map was a great idea as well. I could wright a novel about how much I like this game and its improvements but that would be too much, so I will end it with my personal ratings.

Graphics-10

Gameplay-10

Sound-9

Length of game-10 (can easily put in 100+hours)

replayability-10 (start a new character, make it a different class, make him a mage instead of a warrior, or a thief ect...)

What can I say except BEST GAME EVER!!!!! DONT RENT IT BUY IT NOW!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Game of 2011 endless epic gameplay

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game would get a 10 if it wasn't due to some minor framerate issues. I am a huge Elder Scrolls fan, but i was hoping Skyrim would have improved framerate choppiness from Oblivion. Skyrim is still one of the best games out there and is virtualy an endless wide open RPG. Excellent graphics and sound. Endless epic gameplay. Skyrim is a must own game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection

posted by Had1983 (BUENA PARK, CA) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Got the game today,amazing must play for all RPG fans and even new commers i dont know how u can rent this game only,its a must buy.
Some bugs here and there,but overall breathtaking game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great RPG....with some flaws

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 12, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Overview
=====================
Let me start off by saying I'm not a big RPG fan. However, I decided to give this one a go. I found it to have a good story and was very satisfying to play. You can see why this is one of the highest rated RPG games. That said there are flaws.

Pros
==================
1) good story
2) character building is in-depth
3) ton of quests that fit with the story (not mindless)

Cons
==================
1) framerate/lag issues (even after patch 1.4)
2) still decent number of bugs (not game breaking though)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skyrimalicious

posted by Dreycraft (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is in a league of it's own. If you don't know much about this series, I'd say the best way to describe it is it's pretty much an offline MMORPG. Every aspect about this game is a lot like an MMORPG except the multiplayer part. It's open-endedness, freedom, crafting, player-building, etc. are just like one. The graphics are astounding, but it doesn't always run at a high framerate, but the NPCs, etc. no longer seem like robots. Combat is much different than your average MMORPG. There's no auto-attack, it isn't point and click based, and you can actually step back from an attacking enemy and they'll miss. The game has a main quest line but it's great because you can postpone it indefinitely if you want, you aren't forced into a linear adventure. I'd recommend making SOME progress in the main story or else you're not gonna see any Dragons around Skyrim. The interface is simple yet intuitive, perfect for consoles. I like it, but it's probably considered a downside to this installment for the hardcore PC player. Crafting is easy to get into and a lot of fun, definitely do not skip that. And it's great because the armor and weapons you can create are more than good enough to use throughout the entire game. But I gotta say, my favorite part about Skyrim is definitely it's setting. The "frozen north" is and always has been my favorite in RPGs/MMORPGs. The addition of Dragons into the Elder Scrolls was probably their best idea by far because they alone make the game that much better. That being said I did run into some big glitches including a flying Mammoth, and I also don't like the fact that you sometimes can't even run over a small rock, and getting up mountains is almost impossible. So even though the developers said you can go ANYWHERE that you can see, that's not really true. I would have given this game a score of 9.75, but you can't do that on this site, so I gave it a 9. As good as it is, it's definitely not perfect, which is what a 10 is considered here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skyrim

posted by everlast716 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

All the reviews you find on well known gaming websites are true, this game is absolutely spectacular in every way. The world is huge and there is so much to do, the side quests are infinite it seems. I'm taking my time, if you liked Red Dead Redemption and its fantastic landscape and hunting aspect, you'll be blown away by Skyrim. Game of the year for sure. Worth every penny, I'm playing it more than COD3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by Dkhenny (BARNEGAT, NJ) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Amazing......that is all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse