Rent Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion for PS3
view large frontback

Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.8

2998 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

First keeper title for PS3

posted by LunarJon (PECULIAR, MO) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

78 out of 84 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Right off the bat, let me state that this game is absolutely beautiful on the PS3. I also have Oblivion for the PC and can honestly say it seems to run smoother and look nicer on the PS3. I am a little disappointed that they did not include all the official plug-ins, like the Orrery and the horse armor, but with Knights of Nine included it is more than worth the money.

The sound quality is superb (try playing this with a good digital surround system, OH MY!) and the controls are so smooth that I had no issue going from a keyboard/mouse setup to a PS3 controller. For example, switching spells and/or items is a breeze with the D-pad. Each direction (including diagonal) is a hot swap spot for a spell or item. Very nice!

If you want a long lasting, graphically rich and audibly superb game for your PS3, get Oblivion!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Elder Scrolls IV:Oblivion

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

22 out of 23 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

While Fight Night Round 3 and Resistance are very good games for the PS3 and are worth buying, Oblivion would keep you playing until the PS4 comes out. It has a huge huge environment where you can find almost anything.The graphics are amazing,the story is very good.But heres the thing,there is so much other things to do you will barely even concentrate on the main story itself.You can hunt,buy houses,collect bounties,join guildes,rob a house,pickpocket people,you can do so much it will take so freaking long to actually complete the game.I recommend this game to everyone,it's pure perfection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like WoW or Everquest? You'll love Oblivion!

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game absolutely ROCKS! What can I say? Not enough room here to praise it enough. For the deaf player, it has subtitles, it is easy to follow the story line, it has a great story. Not the best graphics or animations, but if you like a game for pure content and playability, Oblivion has it all.

Control layout is easy to get used to, choices galore for weapons, armor, class, race, you name it. Professions, and quests of all kinds. You don't have to follow a narrow path (like many FPS games), it is very free ranging game play- you can play it any way you want, and with all the different ways to play it, and choices of character and class, it's on a par with World of Warcraft or Everquest.

I am absolutely addicted to this game, and I am so glad it was one of the first games I ever bought for my PS/3. Having rented many games from gamefly by now, I feel really lucky that my first exposure to PS/3 gaming was as good as it has been.

All of my reviews and comments on games really are in comparison to this game.

I just cant say it enough. this game rocks.

Graphics and animations leave some to be desired (nowhere near as nice as WoW, but on a par with Everquest). But the gameplay and storylines are extremely well thought out, and just couldn't possibly be better.

The content is so good, Graphics have very little bearing on my rating of this game- I'd give it a 12 if I could :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

posted by lpcrierie (DUNKIRK, MD) Oct 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This first/third person, free-roam RPG is just about perfect.
Even though this game is a fairly old game originally made for PC platforms, that doesn't take away how great a game it turned out to be for the PlayStation 3 and the xbox360.

+ Features celebrity Liam Neeson as The Emperor.
+ Excellent voice acting, both very dramatic and very comedic.
+ Holds a vast amount of memorable quotes.
+ A musical soundtrack that won't disappoint.
+ Superb storyline.
+ Over 200 side-quests not related to the story for you to obtain and complete, plus an additional world added by the downloadable add-on expansion pack, "The Shivering Isles." (Note: In order to play the side-quests, you may want to stay away from the main story quests.)
+ Extremely large map for you to journey through, with hundreds of locations to be discovered and added to your map.
+ Whether it's items you drop, people/animals you kill, or arrows you shoot, all these will amazingly stay on the map and won't disappear, no matter how many hours you play or where you travel.
+ Surprisingly stunning graphics/textures for it's time.
+ Offers button mapping for your own personalized controller layout.
+ Well-built in-game menu holds everything you need at a push of a button.
+ Literally countless things to do, whether it's hunting with archery, shopping at stores, learning spells, making potions, collecting ingredients, killing or stealing, upgrading your skills and so much more.

- Save often and take advantage of the "autosave" feature, because this game has very few, but well-known glitches & broken quests that may lead to a restart of a saved game.

Overall Rating: 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST RPG FOR PS3 EVER!

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Jul 20, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a natural fact that Oblivion is the best RPG ever. I originally didn't know about it and played Fallout 3 first. Then I saw this and expected an OK RPG that was like F3. But I was way off! It's better then F3 and possibly the F4 thats coming out in the fall. This is very odd because Elder Scrolls came before F3 and it's still better! My explanation: F3 focuses more on graphics, sound quality, effects, and gun action while it lacks in depth and customization. Oblivion included all of which F3 focused on (minus gun action) and smacked in an ocean full of depth and customization! If your not into swords and the like, at least rent. But if your into fantasy stuff (Lord of the Rings, all that stuff) then BUY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Deeper, Longer, Stronger

posted by ogma107 (NORTH HAVEN, CT) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bethesda really got it right, creating the most expansive off-line gaming universe ever. This is still the best release for PS3 to date. It has more storyline quests, side quests, hidden gems, and leveling options than you can shake a stick at.

Join factions and guilds (Mages, Thieves, Fighters, Dark Brotherhood), become a Knight of the Nine, become champion of the Arena, complete the Daedric quests, plunder ancient temples for artifacts and gems, hunt vampires or become one, find religion, experiment with alchemy and weapons creation, venture to the Shivering Isle, build your character through leveling, wealth, interaction, and karma. There is just so much to do.

This is a game that I have played for two years now and still have reasons to come back.

Also, if you liked the gameplay of Fallout 3, much of it was re-created from Bethesda's work in Oblivion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oblivion: The New Era of Sandbox Gaming

posted by ParkerVox (TACOMA, WA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Oblivion is, in my opinion, the 7th-Gen technology version of Ultima Online. The open-endedness of Oblivion is second-to-none: the character development makes individual avatars so unique that the only limit really is the player's imagination.

The initial character creation culminates at the end of the tutorial. Once you step into the open-ended world of Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, the digital world is your oyster. You have a plethora of routes you can take. You can continue along the main quest line, building and leveling your character along the way, but the main quest line only encompasses around eight hours of play time. This doesn't sound like a very sandbox RPG does it? However, either before, during or after the main quest line, there are nearly a hundred hours of gameplay.

It is of course the player's prerogative to move quickly through the main quest line or to delay it's completion. It's good to know though, that once the main quest line is completed, the game itself doesn't end, the character is not set onto a shelf to digitally dust. The game continues until you choose it to end.

Gameplay is very fluid. As you play your character, you mainly gain points in your primary skills by using them, thus by playing the game. When all of your main skills increase one time, you level. It's simple, but of course the higher level you are the longer it takes to increase those skills.

I hope this brief summary will help people renting or buying this seminal RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OBLIVION

posted by RenoDAV (RENO, NV) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Simply PUT its just the BEST 1st person RPG EVER PRODUCED! ...I've played since its enception I've won all the awards and I still keep finding new dungeons, caves, both above and below the waters ... The Shivering ISLES and Knights of the NINE ... I can only hope that the creators of this FABULIOUS GAME will continue to EXPAND IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by Christophr (VALATIE, NY) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is a very good game and you can have endless hours playing it and still have fun. I rented it for a week

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Game For Me

posted by PanzerAce (Brooklyn, NY) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I've played Oblivion for about 7 hours now. I've created a character (Imperial), explored a bit, spoke to many citizens from different cities and thought to myself... this has got to be the most perfect game I've EVER played.

I haven't been a RPG fan.. well I played Runescape.. but I don't think people like to call it RPG.. they're more ashamed of even mentionining that haha.. but anyways. This has got to be my first REAL RPG game.. The reason I rented it is because I had an interest in it but it was totally worth it.

What makes this game worth so much is the hard work the developers have put in. You have a VAST map and many many places to visit, many of them are secret and not discovered. You have different races to choose from, various skills and abilities to master and overall 1000 hours of gameplay to put into and I'm still sure you will not get bored of this game.

The controls are excellent, the graphics are fantastic. Each character has its own specific personality. Various different mini-games like pick-pocketing in the night, breaking into houses and stealing, but if you're caught you go to jail...etc..etc

This is a MUST BUY for any type of gamer. It will be an awesome PS3 collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oblivion, Bethesda's finest.

posted by Lumines (HIALEAH, FL) Jun 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When I popped this game into my Playstation 3 I was not expecting much other than a simple RPG that would satisfy my crave for some good old role playing. I, like most of the times, was very wrong. One word: WOW. This game is freaking awesome. The best RPG ever. It's a very open game and instead of strapping you on a linear ride it clips your wings and immediately throws you off, like a rock in a pond, to fetch for yourself and do things your way. It has endless replay value because you can tackle the game itself countless of times with varying outcomes and possibilities. I myself treasured this very immersing experience.

Graphics: Awesome. Textures look very good and loading time, compared to xbox360, are reduced to about 1/2.
Content: Lots of it, you get a bunch of expansions, Nights of the Nine, and Shimmering Isles.
Final Grade: A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The only game I own! A perfect 10!

posted by Grusim (UKIAH, CA) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I purchased a PS3 for my son for Christmas last year and Oblivion IV for his birthday a in July and after watching him play the game I had to have them for myself. It only took a few minutes to decide I wanted to play Oblivion IV. The problem was he would be going back to Humboldt University and taking his PS3 with him. I sucked it up and bought a PS3 and Oblivion IV for myself. I don't think that any other game would have got me to lay down $600 for a PS3 just so I could play a game.

I have been playing Oblivion IV for a bunch of hours now and it just gets better. As I write this I am a level 17 and just completed the quest for the Divine Armor and it must have taken ten hours. I played it non stop until I completed the quest. This game is like Skooma. You will be an addict in a short matter of time.

I have found very few short comings of the game. I have had it lock up on me twice and had to shut down and reload. I had saved just prior both times so no loss of progress. The graphics are fantastic and the game play is almost seamless when a new area is loading. I found that there is not any glitches in movement like when you are fighting. Some games you will get that jerky stop and go movement while fighting. Not with this game. It is smooth as silk. As you go up in level the computer characters go up in level with you and the fighting continues to be challenging. Some games I have played when you get to an upper level all of the bad guys are push overs and I don't finish the games. There are so many places to explore and with the number of quests I don't think you could ever be finished with Oblivion.

If you rent Oblivion be sure you have a lot of time available to play it. I think you should set aside about twelve hours the first time out. You have to buy this game. It is the only game I own. It is the only game that I would lay down $60 for, the rest I rent. Beware you will be a hooked on Oblivion as if it were Skooma.

Good Luck!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mind Blowing Graphics and Unlimited game play

posted by billys202 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This is one of the few games that has it all and in the right places. You have several races to choose from, each with their on special skills. Then you have several classes to choose from or you can make up your own class. Follow the main Quest or just roam around exploring an almost unlimited enviroment. Every encounter is different, so no button mashing through character dialogue. This game makes the PS3 shine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the Best!

posted by SmileyDude (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

If you have a PS3, or are ordering one, or whatever, YOU MUST ADD THIS GAME TO YOUR COLLECTION! I fell in love with this game on the PC, and the PS3 version has the expansion in it! 2 games in one! The graphics in this game are better than the Xbox 360 version, and this one comes with the expansion, so whats to lose? 60 bucks out of your wallet. Asides from the price, fun gameplay, open ended world, interesting characters, deep story that you can choose to do or not, and don't forget the tons of quests and side missions! Smalls bugs and flaws like getting stuck in walls and collision problems bring this down to a 9, but other than that, PERFECT GAME!!! AWESOME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

In the yop ten of best games!!

posted by HoodzX (RALEIGH, NC) Mar 31, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the best RPG's ive ever played! one reason it's so good is that it combines first person with RPG, and if you dont like it in that view, you can switch it to third person!
Another cool thing is that you can be doing all sorts of quests at a time, as well as join lots of guilds at the same time!
I also enjoyed how you can change everything from weapons to armor to shields! I have to say it is the best game for PS3 right now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely perfect!

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is the best title for the PS3 to date. The graphics are beautiful to say the least and the sound quality is amazing. The controls are perfect in every way. You can modify a few things on the controls but there is really no need. The only thing missing from the PC version is the moddability and a few of the better plugins but this seems to have Knights of the Nine at least which is the most important. Nothing was lost in the conversion from PC to PS3. If you loved your PC version you will love this one even more. This is a must have for the PS3. The only flaw I have found with the game so far is there are a few missing textures for stuff like gems and whatnot. But its hardly noticeable and not that big of a deal. This game would get more than a 10 if it were possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST RPG/GAME EVER.

posted by Philiooo (OLYMPIA, WA) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Any gamer out there has to atleast try this game. Its defenitly one of the best games Ive ever played. If you ever have a chance to rent or buy this game, DO IT. You will not regret a minute of the 50 hours of gameplay on this Genius game. Also, if you are a lords of the rings fan, you must above all things rent or buy this game. Get this game as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beginning to tap the PS3's power

posted by lbtdubl (SANTA MONICA, CA) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've read a lot of bad reviews on Oblivion. And besides the typical moronic objections like, "It's too dark!", or "The controls are weird!", or "The controls are too slow" (which obviously are all CLEARLY customizable options within the settings), the complaints seem to all stem from the same aspect that will continue to draw me back to this game for a long time to come... the sheer vastness of it.

If you don't like (or know how) to follow simple quest instructions, then this game most likely isn't for you. It is a non-linear game, meaning that you can pretty much do what you want, when you want(sans the very beginning), e.g., GTA 3 in wizard times. Go out and explore some caves, take a swim in the sea, or pillage some infested ruins. Even pillage some towns, just don't get slaughtered by the town guard.

The graphics are phenomenal. I use the splash screen to show my friends how amazing the graphics for the PS3 are. This game is absolutely stunning on an HD set, and is a highly recommended buy.

But keep in mind that this is a first person role playing game, not a first person shooter. As with all role playing games, it takes a few hours to get the game really going, and get your skills up high enough to do damage to things other than small critters and things of the like. Once you have invested some time into the game, you'll find that there is an immense (but somewhat short compared to previous Elder Scroll games) story, plus hours and hours of quests and killings to persue throughout and after the story ends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oblivion

posted by KillaChaos (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Oblivion is way better then Morrowind. so if you played Morrowind and hated it, try out oblivion, its almost completely different. As soon as you make your character you start the main quest and from then on you always have something to do, there are like 5 other main quests you can go through, and you can just go around and kill people and things in the wilderness. You always have stuff to do and everyone in the game talks and has their own characteristics, yes some are a little repetitive, but still.

You character is never a "set" thief, Mage, or warrior, you mix and match all the time so you can make yourself a jack of all trades. The leveling up system is pretty well done, just pick your 7 main professions well. Duologue wise its pretty straight forward, you never set yourself as good or evil even though you earn fame and infamy. Fighting is better then most games, and if you suck you can just make the game so easy everyone is a one hit kill practically. so if you just wanna go around exploring or do straight never ending quests, this game is freaking awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

oblivion for ps3

posted by loodog (ELKHORN, NE) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When you first walk outside of the sewers it is amazing. There is a huge world around you. You can do what ever you want. In oblivion there are four guilds, a arena, on the ps3 version there is a added faction called the Knights of the Nine. Also when you talk to people they sometimes ask to do the a favor. If you explore the entire world of cyrodil( which is the land in the game) there are mines, forts, tombs, towns cities, gates to oblivion, and a large amount of creatures to fight. This game should keep you playing for a very long time. There are tons of different weapons, armor, and spells. This game is extremely fun. You will be on the edge of your seat when you play through it, so rent it from gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

!!!!! OBLIVION !!!!!

posted by AutoBlast (MEDFORD, WI) May 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I Have Read Many Of These Posts' And It Amazes Me That Some Of Them Disliked This Game, I Am Puzzled. Oblivion Is Incredible To Play I Can Spend 12-15 Hours Easily Playing This Game. I Have Had The Game For Some Time Now Completeing The Main Story Line, Now Doing The Side Quests And It Is Hard For Me To Put The Controller Down It's Nice To Have 2 When One Loses Juice. If You Like RPG's You're Going To Love This Game, Soooo Many Things To Do, People, Animals Too Kill, Yes It May Be Sort Of Tedious Going Back And Forth On The Missions But The More Experience You Get The Better Your Character Will Get, Better Spells, Weapons And Armor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Elders Scrolls: Oblivion

posted by polarguy (PEYTON, CO) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed Elder Scrolls: Morrowind, then you will love Oblivion. Every "problem" with Morrowind has been addressed in this game.

If you havent played an Elder Scrolls game before, basically it is a very open ended, do-what-you-want style of game. It has a unique leveling system based on actions, not "experience points". It provides hundreds of hours of game play. The graphics are fantastic. It has an engaging, but not overwhelming, storyline (which you can completely ignore if you so choose). You cant really ask for more.

I gave this game a 9 because I dont believe that there is such a thing as a "perfect game" (10), but this is about as close as it comes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oblivion

posted by killer20 (EL DORADO HILLS, CA) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm not a huge RPG fan i'll tell you that. I rent the occasional Final Fantasy or Dragon Quest, but those aren't my type of games. Bad story and boring gameplay. The only reason I'll play one is to level up and see any new upgrades that might be cool. That's what I thought about this game, but I love it. The fighting is great. It's more like a first person shooter and a slowed down god of war. You can do just about anything and the graphics are so good (even on my traditional TV) just walking around isn't too bad. This really seems like the GTA of RPGs and this one is a definite buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but could be better

posted by Tdavidson15 (POST FALLS, ID) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yes, I am going to bash this game.
Yes, I am going to not jump on the bandwagon.
Yes, I did not give this game a 10.
Reasons being is so that I may give you a good narrative on the good and bad of this game.

Fundamentally, this game is unlike any other. The fact that the map is huge and there are so many places to discover are simply amazing. Also the number of quests are just simply amazing as well. There are also several factions you may join, and things to kill and spells to cast. But enough talking about the good stuff for you will see that in the game pretty quickly and i only have limited space on this review, time to talk about the bad.

1. This one came out to me the most, the hand to hand combat is good considering the amount of weapons to choose from, but you are doing the same thing over and over and over. Quite frankly it gets awfully dull after 3 swings. All the H2H combat is is tons of swinging and whoever has more health wins the fight.

2. With the map being as big as it is there is alot of stuff to find, like caves and old forts.... only that is basically it, caves and old forts is what you find most of the time and it gets pretty bland here as well as it is almost the same thing every time both looks wise and enemy wise.

3. There are several quests for you to do in Oblivion, and the main quest/story simply put sucks! It's too dang short to be called a story and its too long to be a quest. If you simply do the main quest and that is it, you can complete it in about 2 hours it is that short, the "Knights of the Nine" story is about 2 to 3 times longer than the main story is, and that is pretty pathetic.

4. The bow and arrow is a completely pointless weapon in this game, you hit them once and then they are on top of you beating the tar out of you while it takes you half of forever to reload. Simply put, the bow and arrow is useless in this game even when sneaking because most of the time you hit them and it wont kill them instantly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Too good for my tastes!

posted by TruRage (EAST CHICAGO, IN) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I never played any of the Elder Scroll games and I had some pre-conceived ideas about these types of games. However, I was surprised by this title. 1st, The game is very open. You can practically visit any area, town and cave early on in the game. Infact, this "openness" kinda turned me off. I like games with story and character development. Sometimes, I like a little to travel in a linear fashion. Also, I love to power level. I can just fight battle after battle knowing that the next new enemy I encounter will be an enemy dead. With this game, there's no power-leveling. The enemy A-I is the same level as you. You also don't traditionally level up by fighting enemies, but instead you level up by using your class's skill. Something I never experienced. The graphics in this game are beautiful. Alot of Frame-Hicks and weird glitches accompany the in-game graphics. Some glitches are down right hilarious. Anyway, I liked the game. But, this game requires way too much time for my taste. If you love massive RPGs [100+ hrs] then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse