Rent Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year for PS3
view large frontback

Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.9

5592 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game Ever Made

posted by Apokalypz (HALTOM CITY, TX) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

146 out of 152 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

If you have ever wanted to hurl an explosive fireball at five orcs drooling over you, sneak through a dark tunnel with your poisoned arrow nocked in the bow, or smash in skulls, this is the game for you-even if you hate RPG's.

And now for the numbers...

Graphics: 10. Very clean and crisp and clear, even on my 1992 TV. Looks nearly real on nearly every landscape. Magic effects are done well and brightly and everything is easily distinguishable.

Sound: 8.5. The songs in the game are nice and fit the mood perfectly. The only complaint I have is that there are too few songs.

Gameplay: 10. Excellent. I HATE FPS games and I could pick this up and with a little adjustment run with it easily. The map system is first rate and includes a self-settable marker. I have never seen an open world this huge in any game ever, let alone one that is huge and open yet it is very easy to find your objective. Once you receive a quest, your map will show you where to go-even if you are across the kingdom. Literally.

Combat/Magic: 10. Combat is good-you have hack and block for bladed and bludgeoning weapons and combinations after leveling up. Bows are an integral part of the game and with a leveled Assassin or Thief you can creep up behind them and take them out with a 6x damage bonus (Backstab, anyone?)

Magic is simply insane. There are seven schools of magic and you can choose which ones to specialize in. The first time you play all you'll want is Destruction spells, but as you play through you'll realize that every school of magic impacts the gameplay differently.

Oh yes. And then there is the fact that after a certain quest line is completed, you can CREATE your own magical weapons and items. And your own spells. Customize yourself silly-I did.

Closing: PLAY THIS GAME. Just plain old BUY IT. This game world is so huge and there are so many quests I am now 4 months into playing it and I've probably done 60 percent of it.

Buy it. Rent it. GET IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by 608gamer07 (EVANSVILLE, WI) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It seems that a lot of people complained about not knowing where to go and it took to long to get there. I don't understand how since there is a red arrow on your map telling you where to go and you can transport to any place you've visited using quick travel. So those who didn't understand that are clearly noobs. I must say the game is slow to get started and very time consuming, but once you get into it that's when it clicks. In order to level up you have to level up your main stats so it would be wise to pick a couple easy stats to level up. Closing down Oblivion gates got really repetitive since one big main mission is to shut down specific ones outside of cities. It does get tiresome but once you get through it it's not so bad. The real fun for me was the Knights of the Nine quest. In all the game does have flaws but it's not a bad game. I enjoyed it for the most part besides having to close the Oblivion gates which again in my opinion gets way too repetitive. Definitely worth a rent, but you have to give it a few hours of game play before giving your total conclusion. The game isn't for everyone since it involves a lot of time. Worth a try. Check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best RPG game for ps3!

posted by Lobon5 (JAMAICA, NY) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

this rpg game offers you tremendous freedom! you can just about do anything in this game, such as stealing stuff in stores or just kill anyone. and one of the things i really like about this game is the leveling up. it's not just about killing monsters over and over again, you actually have to focus on your characters strengths and build up from it. i would highly recommend this game to any ps3 owner. although it has no online functionality, the 200 hours of game play it offers makes up for it. THIS GAME IS TRULY A KEEPER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I totally agree with Apokalypz, best game ever!

posted by Starbase009 (PONDERAY, ID) Aug 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is by far the longest game I have ever played. It starts out kindof slow, but after that you just can't get enough! I've played it at least 4 times over enjoying the myriad of configuration options available to you. This game is getting quite old now and the graphics represent that age compared to others, but in my opinion that in no way takes away from the beauty and class of this timeless piece of art.

The main plot is creative and challenging. But the best part is the almost coutless other side missions you can do to help, or hinder, others. You can chose to be good or if so desired just be bad to the bone. The best part is, with the right 'connections' your sin is wiped away. :) Truly, anyone who likes leveled role playing games should not pass this opportunity by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game to play

posted by swampeye (ALBANY, NY) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i got this game about 1 1/2 months ago. i have to say this is a great game for some who loves rpgs or fantasy. it shouldn't have strong language put down the worst word isn't even the f-bomb. its very gory though i haven't completed it yet but i have done a lot of side mission which make it better then just have one story line and your done. so fun to just mess around somtimes to. i am actually not very far in the main story. it is a great game rent it and if you love rpg's or fantasy it's worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!

posted by chrisbzd (HIGH SPRINGS, FL) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game never gets old, even after 200 hours. Biggest game I've ever played. I only returned it because I wanted to play Fallout 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game. Great for offline.

posted by Xs3v3nX (TEXARKANA, TX) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great for some people even if that person doesnt like RPGs. It has impressive gameplay and graphics and sometimes i think the only flaw is that there is no online, but its great for private boredom offline play. This is definently a game i would take if i were going somewhere on vacation, traveling, or anywhere you may not get live service. Firest of all, its highly addictive. Second of all, you can be anything and anyone you may want to be. And last, this game only sets the expectations for future Bethesda Studios games to the max. Lets say... Fallout 3?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Shivering Isle. To be Or Not To Be?

posted by lltpppdove (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only thing new to this title is Shivering Isle, witch personally I liked and didn't like. It was cool to have amber and madness armor, and the new quest. But nothing to exciting about it the mission's are kind of repetitive, Slow, Long. Its more like starting a new game you can't fast travel. Witch makes traveling across Shivering Isle like 30 minutes plus the super long dungeons 2 hours for that then getting out of it running through 1 hr. Its got some neat Idea's and if your really looking to extend your oblivion play time It's an amazing idea to get this. But if you left oblivion and are now on lost odysseys, then look don't pay much attention to this. If your Just starting Oblivion, get this one you'll extend your play about 100 more hours; If your getting everything in the game. One thing I didn't like was the massive amount of glitches, When your on the great gate mission if you don't run into the great gate as soon as it opens martin dies even if he's not fighting. Then you cant get all the alchemy ingredients. The dawn/duskfang will duplicate in your inventory. Some say that's a good thing until your on a hard level with very good drops, and you pick something up and cant pick it up and drop your dawn/duskfang and all of them fall out. " sometimes it happens to some people and sometimes it doesn't happen to others. The Madness armor is very great to get for heavy and amber is very neat for light but, if your into Enchanted armor you will spend an extra 50 hours finding the matrices. Witch is very boring and if your a mage you can become an enchanter witch takes the same time as finding the matrices, witch anyone can become an enchanter. So its kind of stupid to have the matrices I suggest joining the mages guild and becoming and Enchanter. You will find a glitch also in the thieves guild end quest witch makes it almost impossible to get past the monks as they sit on the stairs running into each other their are more glitches just don't have enough room.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lots of fun and a LOT of content

posted by funkdr (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

23 out of 27 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I had heard a lot about Oblivion but I didn't have a computer that was strong enough to play it when It came out. I recently played and loved Fallout 3 so I thought I would try this since it's made by the same company. Even through it's about 3 yrs old, this game is still very playable.

- Graphics: 8
You have to take into consideration that this game has virtually no loading zones and has a HUGE area to view and play in. I'd imagine that the amount of area in Oblivion would probably be equal to 2x that of either GTA 4 or Fallout 3. Having said that, the graphics are very decent for Oblivion originally being released in 2006.

- Gameplay: 10
This game has massive amounts of side missions and playability. There's a lot of different ways to customize your character and what he or she uses (weapons, armor, spells, abilities, etc). It's basically too much to list. Alchemy makes the game more fun. I played this game for something like 150 hrs and the only reason I got bored was due to this game's one weakness.
The main story is also a decent one. No real plot holes.
The ability to choose whether you are good or bad is the real reason this game is fun. You have options on how you want to complete your missions. Nothing immerses you into a game more than injecting your own personal feelings and morality into your main character.
Also, i loved how i felt like I was actually changing the world around me as I helped or hurt people.

Negatives:
Managing your inventory can be a royal PITA. They should have spent a day or 2 to come up with a better system. Even going through your inventory can be a PITA if you have a potion you want to use but you have 4 million types of potions

The game's one main weakness is the repetitveness of fighting. It's basically block, attack, attack, repeat. There should have been more skill involved with fighting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A True PS3 RPG Essential

posted by algonath (PEARSALL, TX) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

33 out of 40 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

OBLIVION: GOTY for PS3 is truely one of the best RPGs for Sony's Console. It may have no online capabilities or co-op on neither system. But provides grand entertainment in solo mode for many many many hours to come. A true time killer.
With the entire game of the orginal award-winning Oblivion, Knights of the Nine, Shivering Isles, and the downloadable content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addressing the Haters

posted by spowell44 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you read through the user reviews on this game you will notice something. People who stuck with the game player over 50 hours usually give this game high reviews. Users who aren't smart enough to figure how to play this game, or patient enough to let the game develop, gave it low ratings. To those user's you need to stop wasting time and server space writing your reviews on something you really didn't cover. This is not an instant gratification game; you will not become a knight in a day or finish it in a weekend. You don't jump in and start killing everyone in one hour of game play. I saw one user who couldn't figure out how to use the map so he returned it and gave it a low rating. Another who called it first person swordplay? Apparently he didn't see this game is first person OR third person.

It's like doing a book review in school and slamming the book because you didn't like the prologue or pictures. I mean let’s be serious.

In my eyes Oblivion is a ten. You will get a lot of bang for your buck. Tons of customization, clever real time role playing, interesting combat, magic, and countless quests. And yes, for that reviewer... there is a map and it’s simple to use. For you graphic lovers the graphics are good enough. keep in mind its a few years old. If you don't mind using your head a little, and want a game that last a little bit with a cool story and action get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not a fan of games with Magic or Magicka...

posted by mjdunn (FORT PIERCE, FL) May 8, 2008

Member since May 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I hate games with magic...so almost every RPG game. My best friend has bugged me since this game came out to try it. I finally broke down and bought it when I purchased a PS3 (after replacing a 360 3 times...I wanted a game that was going to last until the good games came for PS3). The first part of the game in the sewers is really boring, but once you are out...WOW. I was impressed with the graphics being that the game is 2 years old.

It took a good week of playing for me to even understand just how huge this came is. It was non-stop fun after the sewers. I played the game for almost 2 months before ever starting the main quest. I was trying to complete all of the side quests first.

I recommend getting the book on it or checking out the oblivion wiki that is online. There are some glitches in the game that can ruin it for you. I would have to start over to become the grey fox...when it comes time for him to pass the cowl, the game freezes. The oblivion wiki online will tell you if you do this while on this quest, this glitch will occur...very helpful.

Great game minus the glitches and the entire horse thing. You can't attack while on a horse and the horse doesn't respond like it should. Any game maker that does something with a horse should look at Assassins Creed. Also a lot of loading screens...but what could you expect when the game is this huge?

You also have the option of switching from 3rd person to first person by clicking the right thumb stick in. I wish all 3rd person action games would implement this.

Also allows you to save the game whenever you want regardless of where you are. Nice feature for those that need to leave their house in a hurry.

After playing this, I look forward to Fallout 3 and the next Elder Scrolls game...whenever that is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Stop playing fable and pick this up

posted by Awesomenes (LEWISTON, ID) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game is good. It is kinda hard to get use to, but overall it is good. The game has a lot of glitches though, which is mainly why I'm marking down the score. You really have little control over your environment, but yet so much. This game sucks at the very beginning, makes you slam your fist into the TV and wish you picked a different class. The middle is good, you start to get the feel of the game. The end kinda sucks, their is really no sense of accomplishment. Their a lot of side quests, weapons, armor, etc. If you pick up this game I highly recommend playing for 2 days then starting over, so you know what your actually doing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It had to lose a point over the first

posted by propel639 (ODENTON, MD) Dec 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Oblivion is one of the best RPGs that I have ever played. However the GOTY edition was not much of an improvement over the original. In fact I was disappointed when I got it because there was only one expansion in the game. The original Oblivion for PS3 already had the Knights of the Nine expansion included. And that was half the advertisement for the GOTY edition. The only real expansion in the game was the Shivering Isles. It was a good expansion with a handful of new missions, but that was it. Only a handful. Nothing too exciting. None of the areas in Cyrodil that were previously locked or non existent for the original opened up in the expansion. It is a great game and I would recommend it to anyone who has not played either one yet. However, if you already own Oblivion don't invest in this expansion unless you really need to have shivering Isles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Medieval Grand Theft Auto

posted by Tarquin (DANVILLE, VA) May 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you like RPGs and sandbox style games like Grand Theft Auto, then you are in luck my friend. This a game that you can rush through the main quest and forget to literally stop and pick the flowers along the way. Or spend countless hours just wandering the countryside. Oblivion's story is standard "you save the world from ancient evil" and is somewhat flawed. But you will hardly notice that during the countless side quests which will distract from remembering that.
The one thing Oblivion does differently than other RPGs is a skills based leveling system. You don't simply kill monsters for experience points. Nor to monsters drop gold like some fleshy slot machine.
Nope.
You gain levels by using your character's skill set. If you do not like any of the pre-made classes, then make your own. The game even lets you try out a class for a little while before asking you to commit to one.
Having said that there are some downsides to this game.
Most notably is the use of old game mechanics. You often face a loading screen when you move through a door. The voice acting is very much recycled by a hand full of actors. Also in today's age where seamless loading is the standard... Seeing "loading area..." messages every few hundred feet is a little distracting.
Other than that, just be forewarned that you will lose a lot of sleep to this game.
PLEASE NOTE: Only the XBox 360 and PC version have access to extra downloadable content. No such love for PS3 owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Single Person RPG

posted by ChazinPA (BLOSSBURG, PA) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is far and away the best single person RPG I've played for any platform. The graphics are as good as anything I've seen, the game play is rock solid, and the world is rich and detailed.

Any RPG fan who has not played this will enjoy it.

Only downer is that the PS3 Game of Year edtion has a glitch in a mission "cure for vampireism" that hasn't been fixed in a patch. You need the regular non-Game of Year edition to work around this issue, which can be problematic, but with GF it isn't a big deal.

Other than that, this game will give you HOURS, and HOURS of enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Top Level RPG

posted by NaztyNate (NASHVILLE, TN) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Graphics are almost beyond belief, everything looks crisp and clean. Voiceovers are decent, but thats about all I've seen from most games nowdays. Character creation is in depth which is awesome.This game was NOT rushed for production. Bethesda took their time and used the PS3 to the higher end of its capacity. Load times are amazingly quicker compared to past versions of this game. Do what you want and play your character however you want. There is so much that you can do in this game if you want the full level of play from this one go out and buy it. I have a feeling I'm going to have this one rented out for a while. Drakon~Orc~Gladiator class, whomever you want to be, create your character and take your time and enjoy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by QB9411 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I loved this game so much I decided to keep it after renting it for a few days from Gamefly. The game is so addictive I find myself playing it for hours and hardly noticiing time passing by. I decided to buy it because I know I wouldn't be able to finish it in a few days. The storyline is interesting and the graphics are first rate. And mostly it is a huge world!! and there are so much to do so many quests to finish.

I've played lots of RPG before on a PC but this is the best one yet I've come across.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion (GOTY)

posted by lpcrierie (DUNKIRK, MD) Oct 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This first/third person, free-roam RPG is just about perfect.
Even though this game is a fairly old game originally made for PC platforms, that doesn't take away how great a game it turned out to be for the PlayStation 3 and the xbox360.

+ Features celebrity Liam Neeson as The Emperor.
+ Excellent voice acting, both very dramatic and very comedic.
+ Holds a vast amount of memorable quotes.
+ A musical soundtrack that won't disappoint.
+ Superb storyline.
+ Over 200 side-quests not related to the story for you to obtain and complete, plus an additional world added by the downloadable add-on expansion pack, "The Shivering Isles." (Note: In order to play the side-quests, you may want to stay away from the main story quests.)
+ Extremely large map for you to journey through, with hundreds of locations to be discovered and added to your map.
+ Whether it's items you drop, people/animals you kill, or arrows you shoot, all these will amazingly stay on the map and won't disappear, no matter how many hours you play or where you travel.
+ Surprisingly stunning graphics/textures for it's time.
+ Offers button mapping for your own personalized controller layout.
+ Well-built in-game menu holds everything you need at a push of a button.
+ Literally countless things to do, whether it's hunting with archery, shopping at stores, learning spells, making potions, collecting ingredients, killing or stealing, upgrading your skills and so much more.

- Save often and take advantage of the "autosave" feature, because this game has very few, but well-known glitches & broken quests that may lead to a restart of a saved game.

Overall Rating: 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BUY THIS

posted by ssssssssss (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is simply awesome. The world is endless and there are countless side quests. This game is 10. No doubt in my mind. The graphics are good 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One amazing game

posted by Goldwyn (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) May 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

So I rented this game and liked it so much that I bought it. The only thing I can think of that is wrong with this game is it is so amazingly huge. I've experienced hours upon hours with this game and I haven't even started on the main quests yet, still working though all the side quests and guild quests. If you rent this game be prepared to dedicate hours to, but you will hardly notice as the game sucks you in and before you know it you've been playing for hours. I definitely recommend this game to anyone who likes RPG games. There is a little bit of a learning curve to it, but once you get through your first few quests and get a good feel for the game, you won't want to put it down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If your an RPG fan.. you'll have to quit your job.

posted by knighted (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

OMG... Where do I even begin? With the steady stream of horrible games out there.. This game is done so amazingly well.. It's just simply awesome. I have been a gamer since the Commadore 64 days.. (if you call that gaming.. i do) And I have upgraded thru every system, So ive been gaming for about 25 years. I have played so many RPG's, its insane. But trust me when i say.. that this is the second best one ive ever played..(with a nod to the all time #1 FFVII) I was so completely overwhelmed when i started this game, it was like the entire genre was new all over again. I played this game for like 5 hours before I noticed that i havent gained a level yet.. (i never read the game's book..more fun to just jump right in..) You actually have to raise your skills to gain a level.. making grinding out exp almost a thing of the past. The graffics were mindblowing.. the massive world almost seems alive. You can follow the story, or just explore till you past out from exhaustion. And there are so many cities, dungeons, landmarks, and sidequests.. its simply unbelieveable. This game has a unique take on every aspect of Rpgs, you can be any of the 25-30 jobs, or even make up your own job. You can pick locks, pick pockets, steal items, get thrown in jail, raid dungeons, raid cities, buy houses, buy horses, haggle over prices, kill any npc, fight in an awesome battle arena,.. lol, you can even walk on water..(no joke). And when you kill a monster/npc.. they are dead.. no respawning, ever. There are many guilds/factions to join. The story is long and well written, spanning many, many hours to complete. The controls are perfect. Due to the many ways you can go about playing this game, the replay factor is pretty high. You can be a valiant knight one game, or an shadowy assassin in another. If you own a PS3, and your a true fan of RPG'S.. you should have this game on your shelf.. its an absolute BUY. No question. In summary, Graffics=10, Controls=10, Story=9, Fun/Replay Factor=10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oblivion Review

posted by 4persimon (LOMPOC, CA) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Awesome fun game even though it came out a few years ago you will defenetly not be able to put the controller down for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic game!

posted by KrypDragon (SPRINGBORO, OH) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game rocks. It has a rock solid and entertaining adventure and large open world that you would come to expect from Bethesda Softworks. I love their games and this one is at the top of my list of favorites!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

an awesome game

posted by rambeau (PLACERVILLE, CA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was skeptical when i decided to rent this game becasue i thought rpgs were dumb. but when i played it i knew i needed to keep the game. it is extremely well done from the graphics to the gameplay and the quests. the game is the definition of freedom because you can play for hours upon hours without even touching the main storyline. Also there are so many different character types to choose from. There is just so much that you can do in this game and variance in quests that it is almost impossible to get bored. Overall it is a great game that is worth your time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse