Rent Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $14.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.5

11104 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What can be said?

posted by desolute (MODESTO, CA) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

224 out of 241 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

We all know this is an awesome game, and most likely many first generation 360 owners already have this one sitting on there shelves. So why get the Game of the Year Edition?

It comes with BOTH expansions! :D

Thats right, no need to drop a combined 3200 M$ points on Knights of the Nine/Shivering Isles.

No need to start your game over, you can actually pick up where you left off in the non-GoTY edition! Thats right! Your saves will transfer over ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Last Trip to a Deep Well

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

250 out of 271 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

They have included all of the extra content for this magnificent title in one package. Hopefully, they won't try to repackage it again as goodwill only goes so far.

What can be said about Oblivion? Simply put, it is the greatest RPG ever. There is never a lack of things to do. Never a lack of quests to do. I never played the earlier Elder Scrolls titles, but I so wish I had now. You can spend 30 hours doing quests and not TOUCHING the main quest --- yet not feel like you're wasting time. The world is so well thought out and full of things that leaving it is the LAST thing you're looking to do. The audio is outstanding, the visuals are amazing, and the sheer technical feat of getting a world this huge into a single DVD is remarkable.

This game delivered on all of the promises and I never expected it to actually be as good as I hoped. It definitely was. The only thing that could make it better is if there was more of it.

And THAT is where the Shivering Isles expansion comes in. I did not play the other ones, but this expansion pack simply added a lot to the game and had the game hit the 130 hour of play level, which is astonishing since it didn't really drag at any point.

It is a MAJOR change of pace from the original titles as the visuals look much, much different and fit the vibe of being basically under the control of the mind of a complete lunatic. The missions are decent and are more quickly paced than in the main portion of the game (which, I remind you, is awesome). The characters are insane here, some humorously so and some frighteningly so, but it is a change of pace that is noticeable and appreciated in this world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quite possibly the greatest game ever made.

posted by AquaFunk16 (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

29 out of 30 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

MOM: I can't believe you wasted 120 hours of your life on a video game.
ME: Mom, I am (at the time) 20 years old, in college, and working. I'm sorry if I want to escape to a world where I am a respected Imperial. I fought vampires last night, joined the Brotherhood, grew in ranks throughout the Mages guild, invaded a Goblin-invested village only to find out I was drugged prior to the attack, fought countless bandits and monsters, was sucked into a painting where I fought mutated Trolls, assassinated everyone at a party one by one turning them against each other, closed the gates of Oblivion and I saved the world with Sean Bean. Did you save the world with OO6, Mom? I'm thinkin' no, you watched Rachel Rae.

Graphics: 10/10 Now outdated when compared to Fallout. The graphics are still amazing and will always be amazing. Sometimes you may get bored of exploring (very doubtful) and you just by chance look up. You see the stars, the clouds, the moons. You see birds, lands you've never heard off, islands, lakes, rivers, caves, caverns, monsters, and towns. And then, you finally remember you're playing a game.

Sound: 10/10 Did John Williams compose the score for Elder Scrolls IV? No, but we could say he did. They'll believe it.

Controls: 9/10 Slightly uncomfortable sometimes, but very rarely. It's very fun switching from 1st to 3rd person. 1st person fighting is much better. It gets intense! The controls become part of your body after a while.

Gameplay: 10/10 I love this game. In my opinion there has never been a game that has EVER come close in comparison to this game. After 115 hours of playing I finally completed the story. That's because I spent the rest of the time, doing expansions, and side-quests. Was it worth it? Absolutely. I actually was so into this game, I beat everything. I had such an epic time... I don't think I could ever pick it up again because it was so great. :P

I'm pretty sure I will duel anyone who doesn't like this game.

Swords at dawn?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Favorite Game So Far

posted by capawesome (WEST SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 1, 2008

Member since May 2008

35 out of 38 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game includes hours of game play, a very immerse and well written story, interactive environments and characters, intense action, and even a couple of horror elements. It's really a mix of every genre. This is the closest game to perfect possibly ever created. I gave it a ten because there is no 9.6. There may be a few minor glitches but can usually be updated. Voice acting and graphics are well done. You can create a basically infinite amount of classes and use fun magic powers and swordplay. This game takes you inside of it in first person view which literally puts you into the action. In first person I walked around a corner and even jumped a bit when a monster jumped out at me. If you haven't played this game yet, get Game of the Year Edition and buy it or either rent it for a long time. I played this game over 50-80 hours overall because its endless fun. Enjoy your stay in Oblivion, you'll be there for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE this game!

posted by thecatspajamas3 (BUFFALO GROVE, IL) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As you may tell by the title and my rating, this game was fantastic! Most likely the best game I've ever played! I loved the vast amount of land to travel and how you are able to choose your race, birth-star, class, and skills. What really came to me was the amount of things you are able to have on you and the almost unlimited amount of quests and features in the game. I would give this game 10/10 every single time I play! I have trouble sleeping sometimes thinking of how awesome Skyrim is going to be!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!!

posted by Trovan (LEESVILLE, LA) Oct 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, this has to be the one of the first major RPG's on the 360. So why would you need to go get the Game of The Year? You might wonder?
Well its comes with both expansion packs which in most cases is very,very convenient. But to the juicy, This game has at least 50+ hours of side material(Quests,Exploring,etc.) without even touching the main quest and the plot of the game is very attaching once you get into it unless of course you get sidetracked like me. The game plays like Fallout 3 in the overall mechanics in my opinion it just like Fallout 3 but different settings,plots, and such. Hope you find this helpful.

-Trovan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREATEST GAME EVER MADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by masterkarl (NEW LISBON, WI) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

God has given us a gift its name is oblivion. This game is perfect in every way buy it don't think about it buy it you will love it . perfect story acting incredibly long, and beautiful graphics. a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by erieartist (RENO, NV) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am usually not into slow paced games, but this one is so cool! first you get to choose from like 6+ different races of characters and combine that with the many birth signs and types (like warrior, archer,etc.) and the possibilities for game play are remarkable. This also make this game a highly enjoyable replay as well.Then you have different guilds, knighthoods, secret societies, and whats really cool is if you join the dark brotherhood you can also earn the right to be a vampire! How cool is that! Oh, I also love the fact that your abilities go up in rank simply by using them, like your ability with a sword goes up the more you fight with a sword! well over all this is a great game and is the closest game I have seen thats comparable to the computer games of this genre! Bravo to Take Two on this astounding success!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its a keeper, were is mothership zeta addon??

posted by abrazoom (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will not include any spoilers in this review with a slight walkthu of how to finish the training level

upon starting the game you are a prisoner, and the king must escape, the castle from inside your cell were the guards placed you by mistake.
at this point yo navigate thu the underbelly of the castle/jail, at this point it is a really good ideal to press start an go into your options an turn the brightness to max--at least till you get outside, so you can see an locate the doorways, to exit to the outside, now once yo are outside you have selected your class which has 3 levels of modification to suit your playing style, be weary of putting all or even too many skill point in just one skill at the beginning of the game

once you really get into the game you will eventually notice there are four places to get mission objectives the fighters guild, one in most or all towns sames with the mages guild, there is also a thieves gang in which you can play a part in, all of that plus the main quest line, an there are plenty of side quest even above an beyond what I have mentioned.

oh, the equipment is rad, i mean the more you use it the less effective it is so you must repair it with repair hammers more often than you think, the more you repair your equipment the better your repair skill gets an you break less hammers that way. every lock can be picked.
the music above average actually
the graphics are amazing
the controls are fluid an easy to pick up
gameplay, very very addictive
storyline awesome
addons well um you can tell it was the same programers, tho, perhaps they were under the influence of something, shivering isles addon "look at all the pretty colors, then, what THE!!!"

HAVE FUN YALL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

By far still the best RPG of all time

posted by imkain (MANCHESTER, NH) Apr 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first played Morrowwind I was completely taken aback with awe on the immense detail and depth of how the game was. That took an immediate back seat when Oblivion was released when the 360 launched over 4-5 years ago. You can't even imagine that it has been that long, yet this game is still the best RPG game of all time. With the lush scenery, intelligent battle system, voiceovers for absolutely everything (albeit same voice actors for several characters, but hey voiceovers rule), and many many side quests so if you get bored with the main storyline you can go do other things.

Once you beat the main storyline you can still play the game and polish off the side quests and with the addition of the expansion quests and DLCs you add even more depth to an already outstanding game.

If you are a fan of RPG style games, and are looking to add a classic to your library, definitely pick up Elder Scrolls: Oblivion: Game of the Year edition. You will definitely not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just so you know...

posted by Unitic (HENRICO, VA) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you dont play rpg's then you will have no idea what you're doing with this one.

1. You can switch between first and second person view by clicking the right stick.

2. Fast travel! Dont be dumb enough to try and walk everywhere. This will take forever.

3. If you think CoD is the best thing to have ever hit the shelves, you probably wont like this game. (Same for God of War)

otherwise it's an amazing game and i highly recommend it.

P.S. if you go into this game thinking it's gonna be bad, then you will be bored before you put the disc in and thats just not even fair. you gotta give it a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

for u haters

posted by irock1221 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) May 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok your gonna think i suck at games but this game is very hard even at normal so instead of getting mad because u cant kill a goblin turn the diffuculty down and give it a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredible game!!!

posted by aliera86 (GARNER, NC) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just have to say that Oblivion is the best game that I have ever played. I had it awhile back when it first came out, but when GOTY came out, I was so thrilled! The original game alone took me a long time to complete and what a well-written story and worth every second! Shivering Isles and Knights of the Nine only add to the awesomeness that is Oblivion. The graphics do look a little dated, but nothing that makes it unplayable, the combat system is fluid, and the storyline is incredible. This is a game that I would highly recommend to buy, not rent, b/c by the time you've sent it back, you'll have already bought it three times over. At least, that's what happened to me :). All in all, very great game and you will never get bored. There is just so much to DO! Awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Breathtaking

posted by Urgeist (GORHAM, ME) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The fact that there are reviews out there for this game with a score of anything less than a ten is appalling. The creators of Oblivion should be given some kind of literary award, the whole bit is amazing. Myth and legend from times gone by are woven impeccably into a mythos all of its own design. I was most impressed by the races Nord and Breton, since both of those are easily found in references to ancient history. The game runs fluently and beautifully, the quests are skilfully written and artfully done, character motivations are sound, and the scenery is quite resounding. Entire books are written into the game. Legends and heroes are things you can become, combat is graceful, and so is the animation, it can be stark, unsettling, eerie, or cheerful, heck, it can even be hilarious. All of that can be said for the storylines as well. The game even has a continued reference to Beowulf which continues from Morrowind, you know, the Mead Hall at Thirsk, which is clearly and thoughtfully based on the Danish hall named Heorot. There are other renditions of old mythology as well, the Shivering Isles, I found, was slightly similar to the old Norse myth of Ragnarok, similar, though, not same. I have but one problem with this game, and it is a problem so minute that it hardly warrants admittance, but here it is, if you've played Morrowind than you know the game is truly open ended, if you hit water you can swim quite literally forever, in Oblivion you can only run so far before you are halted by a mysterious force that tells you can't go any further. That's it. On it's own Oblivion is simply magnificent, the game never ceases to entertain, but with the added content of the two expansions it adds a whole new dimension to the world of entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Got it after Skyrim

posted by StoryMode (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me just say, I wasn't sure about Oblivion. I played Skyrim, loved every one of the 200 hours I poured into it. Oblivion I felt was a step backwards. Understandably worse graphics.. Closing Gates? Why should I care?

Well, I bought and proved myself wrong. Oblivion is the best RPG I have ever played. And that's including Ocarina and Fallout. Graphically it isn't as great as Skyrim, but it didn't really bother me. The quests are simple and fresh. The factions and towns give you hours of gameplay. Not to mention that familiar Bethesda questing experience.

I found Oblivion to be harder than Skyrim, which to me made it the better play. A lot of time goes into leveling your character and maintaining your equipment. I felt that my character really belonged to the world. I didn't feel like I was raining down fire like some out of world diety as in Skyrim. Not that overpowering your foes with untold magic isn't great, but I digress.

All the quests are well thought out. The main quest in particular goes by smoothly. The one quest point that I would criticize were the gates. Closing gates aren't fun, and there's not enough upside to do so. No big loot, no huge reward, it's just a completion checkpoint. But that's a small blemish on a perfect game.

But it, play it, remember to feed your dog once in a while, and play some more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointed.

posted by ShotgunShawn (FORT VALLEY, GA) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After reading all the reviews and doing a little online research I shoved this to the top of my que and awaited anxiously for it to arrive. The idea of creating your own custom class really had me excited. Then the day came when I got it in the mail. And it went downhill from there.

The graphics are good, but I don't play games for graphics.. The story was good, but I don't play games for the story.. I play games for the GAMEPLAY, and that is where Oblivion is severely lacking. First of all watching that loading screen EVERYTIME you walk through a door really gets old. Combat is clumsy at best and ranged combat is even worse. I guess after playing WOW for so long, maybe all rpgs just pale in comparison.

I was expecting an action RPG and Oblivion while being heavy on the RPG is VERY light on the action. So if you're looking for one of those Final Fantasy games that's all story and no game. Give Oblivion a shot you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Suprisingly good

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had played Elder scrolls 3 morrowind for my Xbox was one of the first games I bought for it, and was dissapointed. In the gameplay style in that one.

Having said that I was sceptical getting this one. The gameplay was much better and the fighting was much more easy to do. The only complaints I have it the bow seems like it's hard to aim and typically one arrow or 3 wont kill an enemy. I got a few quests into it and decided I will purchase the game since I have seen them on sale lately. So sending it back to buy later. I recommend rental if you like this style of game or have never tried it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best rpg ever

posted by R083R70 (MORGANTOWN, KY) Jul 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Elder Scrolls: Oblivion is by far the best rpg ever made (excluding fallout 3 as I am givining credit it to it's orignator); not only that but it is with out a doubt one of the best games of the last decade and possibly all video game history. If you dont play this game you are not only NOT a true gamer you are also missing out on on a euphoric gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic game

posted by Guy0000 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a beautifully designed game.
i love the game setup. and just about every other thing about this game....other than the character graphics and the way you look like your running in third person mode.

I love this game sooooo much me and my younger brothers have been playing the regular version for the past 4 days and we're hooked.
we're looking to put our money together to get the game of the year edition

Is it really worth it?

thanks
Anonymous

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever

posted by magicman1 (VICTORIA, TX) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Elder Scrolls 4 Oblivion is a breakthrough in the rpg genre.when i first got out of the sewers i did not really like it but my friend borrowed it and showed me what it really was and it was amazing.

the controls are easy to master.
the inventory system is quick and reliable.
the graphics are amazing.
the enemies smart and imaginative.
the npc live normal lives they even have conversations at random.
the game makes you feel like your actually in cyrodiil living a real life.

on the other hand:
there are many glitches in the game like sometimes you get stuck to rocks and sometimes the game freezes.

but other than that this the best game i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best rpg game of all time

posted by dibbledobb (HUBBARDSTON, MA) May 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i first played the regular oblivion i thought it couldnt get better. But then i played shivering isles and knights of the nine and the game just got a whole lot better. With a crazy old man named sheogorath who sends you flying 500 feet in the air if you assault him. Being ruler of 2 crazy places called dementia and mania. And then knights of the nine not being half as good as shivering isles. Where you get cool armor and the abilitie to have abunch of knights following you if you go to 7,ooo chapels. Which is annoying but the game of the year edition is definetely enough to keep you entertained for at least 150 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oblivion-Chop em' till you drop.

posted by GamersXL (FREMONT, NE) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like magical adventures and fairy princess tales, this is not the game for you. You can choose from different races. Battle epic creatures and fight in the amazing arena. Gather swords, armor, potions. Build up your character to withdrawn the pain of defeat. Explore the world of Oblivion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Different For the Better

posted by Crashone (NORTH BELLMORE, NY) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bethesda never cease to amaze me, with their attention to detail and ability to create a mythical world for you to explore. Overall, the game is very different from Elder Scrolls III:Morrowind. They removed certain spells, cities are now enclosed in seperate areas which help make the game quicker, and the combat is much more casual.

Graphics-The game is beautiful. Whether you are in a dark cave or the Great Forest, you feel immersed in the atmosphere. Oblivion does a great job with this.

Story-The story is like something out of a Lord of The Rings book. You are a prisoner who becomes the last hope for humanity. You partake in epic battles and help save Cyrodiil(where the game takes place).

Controls-The game has tight controls, and are very easy to use. Though it may take getting used to, it becomes like second nature very quickly.

Gameplay-This is where it may be hit-and-miss for people. This game's combat differs from past Elder Scrolls games which may upset fans of those games. However, if you're new to the Elder Scrolls series, like I was, this is actually better, because it's more like a first person shooter and easier to get a hold of.

Overall, Elder Scrolls IV:Oblivion is a great addition to the series and definitely does not disappoint. If you are a fan of past games, this may be a bit of a change for you, but it's easy enough to get used to. The graphics are amazing, making immersion a real plus here. The story feels like a fantasy-epic and is easy to follow. You don't have to play past Elder Scrolls games to understand it either. Gameplay, again, will vary from player to player, but for me, I liked it better this way than in Morrowind. The game is big and beautiful and that's why I feel this game deserves a perfect 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oblivion =)

posted by AquaThane (POTTSTOWN, PA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you ever played Morrowind, you'd know that it was the best RPG of its time. Then came Oblivion... It's everything that Morrowind was +50 shots of steroids. If you're a true RPG'er this is definitely the game for you.

You are not bound to one quest like those fake "RPG" where you have to do this one thing and you can only follow one path. You can start one quest and stop that quest in the middle and go for a walk in the woods and kill enemies, or go into town to steal, pickpocket, or actually buy armor, weapons, spells, and ingredients for making potions.

There are tons of guilds you can join and do quests for such as, thieves, fighters, mages, dark brotherhood, and many more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cant wait to play again

posted by Jcstairs (CANTON, MA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

unlimited replay value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse