Rent El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron for PS3
view large frontback

El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.7

866 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Underrated Game That Is Not For Everyone.

posted by DSociety (SEGUIN, TX) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just finished this game today, and overall I enjoyed it quite a bit. I enjoy artistic games such as Okami, and this game fits in with that style perfectly. The battles are repetitive, fighting the same enemy over and over. The later boss battles require you to switch weapons to do any damage at all, it's a nice change of pace. The story is intriguing if you're familiar with the source material (Book of Enoch, Ishtar). It's worth a rent if just for the beautiful artistic graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beautiful, but Not For Everyone

posted by DeOh (ANAHEIM, CA) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can easily see this game will have a very narrow appeal.

The obvious and most attractive part of this game is the acid-trip visuals; along with appropriately epic music. For me, that's part of the experience, but if you are a trigger happy type of gamer that needs to "do" something you won't like this game. There are lots of moments where you are just walking as the voices of the Archangels/Lucifel advance the story or describe characters and you take in the visuals. Sometimes, you're just walking. Sometimes you're doing some mild platforming. Or attacking some easy enemies, but you don't have to.

And on that point, the entirely of the gameplay is like God of War / Devil May Cry; fighting the same 3 enemy types over and over, boss sections, and all this action is broken up with some easy to hard platforming (i.e. Mario, etc.). Sometimes, the perspective changes from 3rd person to side-scrolling to change things up. Typically in these sections it emphasizes the platforming more.

Fighting the same 3 enemies can get repetitive in long sessions as these enemies don't die easily. But the real fun comes from the boss battles and there is quite a few of them. There are some battles with the Watchers that don't seem to have any point to them. You lose, you move on. You win (can you win?), you still move on. Most of the time the Watchers will KO you in 1-2 hits, basically interrupting the game for no reason. But I guess it's to help foreshadow these bosses and give you a chance to feel out their weaknesses before you fight them "for reals."

Besides that, I disagree with others that the story is hard to follow. The story is pretty much summed up in the info box on this page. The details during the game aren't hard to glean either.

Overall, I find the game's visuals and atmosphere very appealing and the gameplay, especially boss battles, satisfying even if not the greatest ever. You really just have to see this game for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Uneven experience, but worth playing all the same

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

El Shaddai is a competent action game, an unforgettable visual journey, a complete mess of a story... it's so many things. It's just a shame not all of it is good.

Lets get the bad out of the way; this game has absolutely no problem being completely crazy. The story is a complete mess, with a host of weird characters, random voices (is it God? Whose this girl telling me to jump?), and seemingly unconnected areas. It also literally handicaps you to force storytelling - there's a moment that near spoils the entire game where you're forced to WALK through a dark void towards a light as voices tell you whats going on. Again. And Again. And Again. It's all about your personal journey to shed "vileness" and "darkness" from your body, which has been corrupted. And it's awful.

The visuals too contain some badness, even though - by and large - they're a positive for the game. There's just moments (mostly when playing as Armaros) where the scratchy, scribble-y, strokey filter just makes everything hard to see. The levels are also very, very linear.

And the combat is patronizing, in that you'll fail, but not really. And there are many boss fights where losing doesn't stop the story. So really, those bosses are just jerks destroying the flow of the game.

But if you can get past ALL THAT, the game is pretty great. Visually, it's completely stunning. With loads of variety thanks to all the madness. The combat is solid, even though there's only one attack button. It would be great were it not for the super-tough enemies and "locked into an arena" battles. As it is, it's still entertaining. The music is generally excellent and appropriately epic. And Lucifer is a genuinely cool character and narrator - a rare bright spot in an ocean of mess.

In short, this is the perfect Gamefly game. I really don't know if I'd recommend buying it, as I have some regrets myself. But I'm sure glad I played it just to see all the cool parts. A great rental. Just don't expect to love everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Looks amazing but plays like dookie

posted by TheCooF (KEISER, AR) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I appreciate the fact that this game looks very unique and original, but the gameplay gets very boring very quickly. The story doesn't really matter because it's all over the place and hard to comprehend. I really loved the graphics of the levels because they looked amazing at times. However, the game as a whole is trash. The gameplay is very tedious and boring (the same combo over and over). You should check this game out if you like different art styles, but should avoid it if you like good gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK game, if your into this type of videogames

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Aug 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

As said above, this game is an OK if your into this genre, but if it's not your bowl of soup, might as well skip. But i'll go into detail why later. First of all, let me mention that this game is probably ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL "T" RATED GAME to date.

Graphics/Sound: Sound is nothing out of the ordinary and i had no problem with it so you probably won't either. Graphics are amazing especially for "T" rated game, which are usually classified as cheesy. I can't say it has the BEST graphics, because that would be an insult to Infamous 2, because that had pretty sweet graphics as well.

Gameplay: Some people might not the way this game plays, as it is very japanese-ish and that's not everyone's type of game. You pick a character, and you can buy and collect weapons to use on a variety of foes in the game.

I won't spoil any of the storyline but i can promise you that it will leave you satisfied at the end, as it did for me at least.

Thanks for checking me out on gamefly again, :food'n'drink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

El Shaddai

posted by Solbady (FOREST HILLS, NY) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron is a deeply religious game based on the apocryphal Book of Enoch, and follows the main character... Enoch. He is assisted by a man named Lucifel, or Lucifer. Which he appears to be on a speaking bases with God through cell phone transmission, and is a guardian angel in charge of protecting you and the world which exists outside the flow of time, and by the four archangels Raphael, Uriel, Gabriel, and Michael.

Lets start with the cons of this game. The story line is very scattered and hard to follow and probably half the time through the game you will wondering where did this guy come from? When did he appear, so on and so forth. Another problem I have with this game is the platforming element, oh do I hate how this game platforms. Sometimes I want to pull my hair out, while other times chuck my controller across the room as the controls during the platforming parts are so clunky it makes you want to peeve! And finally the soundtrack. As this is a minor detail, it barely fits in with the concept of any Judeo-Christian oeuvre; and seems more like you are about to jump into a post-future first-person platformer like Mirrors Edge.

The combat system is very nicely done, and very easy to grasp. I find it at a twist of classic beat em' ups like Final Fight, and Streets of Rage. The voice acting is also very good Jason Isaacs does an outstanding job voicing as Lucifel. The graphics are what this game really shines upon. using an Okami like art style this game seizes to amaze with a new awe-inspiring area in every new chapter.

Overall, I would recommend this game to most people that like quick beat em' up side scrollers, and have the patience to jump over every infuriating obstacle in this great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A piece of art

posted by profkilljoy7z (WINTER PARK, FL) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is absolutely gorgeous. But not for everyone. Every new area I found was like running around and fighting enemies in a new piece of artwork. If ever there was a game in favor of the "Games as art" movement this should be one of the poster children.

But again, it isn't for everyone. The story is based on a story from the Bible. But the game is not trying to preach or convert. It is simply telling a story. The gameplay works very well, and transitions from 2-d side scroller to 3-d brawler. Combat is very fun and you can steal any weapons your enemies have and use them.

If you are looking for a surreal experience unlike any offered by another game I highly recommend this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Half of a great game

posted by turtlereview (RESTON, VA) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Based on the setting and art style alone this game should merit a rental, it helps that it has a decent combat system to back it up. It's plagued by a boring back half built upon repeating boss fights and 3d platforming without any camera control ( whereas the first half of the game featured 2D platforming, the switch was not a good decision).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst game ever

posted by Savage0281 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

I couldn't even finish this game, it was just that bad. The story is very hard to follow, for the most part it didn't even make sense. It might of toward the ending of the game, but a story shouldn't take that long to even know what the plot is even about.
The levels are very linear, it usually on just one or two paths, for the most part, it just going on one path that leads to maybe a fork in the path. The levels are bare, there is near to zero exploration, except maybe a hidden level every once in awhile. Honestly, this game is about linear as a game can get. The art style in the game is nice, but not worth suffering through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lame game boring story

posted by dantedmc22 (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

well El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron Graphics are awsome the story suxs boring only played one time that was it if any one wants to rent just dont u get boring of it just pass on this game rent something better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Plain

posted by Godshame (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jul 16, 2012

Member since May 2011

good concept but to plain of a game./

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

GOD-Awful... yep, i went there!

posted by Neosonix (ROCKVILLE, MD) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I'll keep this review short... which was the amount time i played El Shaddai when i rented it recently through Gamefly. I saw this game at PAX East last year and was curious about it albeit the characters looked like they were taken from some j-pop boy band! Upon playing, i found the animation style of the game pretty but boring, and the first 15 minutes has some god-awful pacing (pun intended based on the game's religious references) plus the gameplay was beyond repetitive to the point i just couldn't justify investing more than 30 minutes in it! Not saying El Shaddai is that bad of a game... okay, i guess i am, but ultimately it wasn't for me!

K

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No need...

posted by MrSverdHed (LOWELL, MA) May 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

for a large review... just stay way from this suckfest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Stretched Out Down Syndrome Ghosts

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

This game is not your typical fan fare, unless you are a fan of Suda 51 and the likes. The visuals of this pastel, cell shaded adventure are the highlights. Combat and bosses are very boring and repetitive. I won't even try to explain the story because I did not get it, and good luck figuring it out for yourself. I like the ideas and the origins of the story, but it just feels like it could have been so much better. Not a bad game, but definitely not one that I would want to own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could've been better

posted by cyansix (MORAGA, CA) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I don't necessarily have a problem with the fight mechanics in this game, it's more getting from point A to point B that really pisses me off. The graphics are beautiful, but the camera angles and sticky control in the endless sidescroll levels are infuriating. They could've spent some more time/money on this game's infrastructure versus making it pretty. PS2 controls with PS3 graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If you like pop art maybe...

posted by Draco1119 (AUSTELL, GA) Feb 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2008

First off the game is very artsy. That’s ok if that’s what your going for. Visually its attractive, very colorful and artistic. Music gets repetitive quickly as does the fighting of the game.

If you’re looking for a hack and slash where you don’t have to worry about learning combos, finishers, more than 3 weapons, and overall exploration with little diversity this is a game that fits that very well.

Then again, most of the time you are just running about looking at pretty backdrops and strait through level design. NPC voice acting gets repetitive and after a while the background art just gets to have that "too much" feel and gets abrasive.

It’s very similar to Jet Grind Radio artwork from the old Xbox mixed with Infamous for a more modern pop art/comic bookish feel. I give it a low score simply because it got boring fast. I beat the first boss and simply lost interest. If you want something pretty, this will do but not a very substantial game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

EL Shaddai......back you go...

posted by realifam (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

While visually pretty up until you get into the up close visuals of the main character. The gameplay is repetitive and boring. The Sound track is also excessively annoying if appropriate for the topic. In short, the hour it took me to give up on hoping for improvement to make this game worth continuing to keep was an hour of my life that I will never get back..... Cool concept, bad execution, and back in the envelope you go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game

posted by Toneg (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Corny guy looked like girl end to quick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

visual masterpiece but slightly repetitive

posted by gsxeric (LOMPOC, CA) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

amazing visuals and fun, fast paced action. however, game play becomes a bit repetitive and very limited weapon choices cause this game to drag a bit. over all, i recommend this game for its brilliants colors and graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lots of potential......, but just missed the mark

posted by gohanssj21982 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

What can I say, this game is beautiful. The color's and textures were inspiring. I loved to play and just watch the scene sometimes. The gameplay and controls were left wanting. Too repetitive, there is some depth, but only the hardcore will figure out the timing to see all the different combinations. The story is scattershot, it goes everywhere and if you don't know the source material, its hard to put it together. For most people, this will be a rental or a pass. For a select few, this will be a fun game. I'm open minded and I enjoyed the game, but I know that I'm part of the select few that would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Unique concept marred by poor execution, gameplay

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Nov 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

"El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron", has a very unique concept- Take a story rife with religious imagery (you play as Enoch, tasked to return fallen angels to Heaven), mix it with both 2D side scrolling and 3D platforming, and add a dash of Devil May Cry style combat- and should have been an enjoyable and different type of game to play. Sadly, your time with this game will be hampered by a few flaws. The camera is fixed, and often doesn't give you the best view of where you need to go. The controls are at times slow to respond, leading to unnecessary deaths in both combat and platforming sections. The ever changing graphical nature is both this game's asset and its downfall. The brightly colored environments make for a unique look, but they often hamper your sense on where to go and how to plans your jumps. The voice acting is just okay, and no character really stands out. The story itself may be off-putting to some, as it pretty much crams the religious aspect down your throat. I don't mind games if they use religious imagery and settings if the game is done well, but this game doesn't live up to its potential. All in all, this is worth looking at if you're curious, if only to see what might have been. A few tweaks here and there, better voice acting and writing, and this could have been something special. As it stands, it's more of a failed experiment. A shame really, because in this day of the game market being increasingly overflowing with FPSs and third person adventure games, it's nice to have a change of pace on occasion. This game isn't it, however, unless you consider a change of pace going from well done games to one that sank under its own weight. Rent if you must, but you'll likely return it quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

...

posted by trigdavis (WARREN, MI) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

Plot
Writing: The spoken dialogue was convoluted, to say the least. The enemies had no personality, and I don't think you'll come across more cliche lines for quite a while. There's only one cool character, and he talks to God all the time.
Story: There was a story to be told somewhere in here, I just wasn't sure what. Very little was conveyed.

Gameplay
Action: The fighting was good, although it got tedious rather quickly. The disarming system was flawless, and how the game forced to change weapons based on what you were fighting came up only so often. I was disappointed to find that you really cannot die, if you know what you're doing. Believe me, the game holds your hand 80% of the time.
Platforming: Sometimes it switches to 2D platforming, and considering that those are my roots, I had no complaints. But the 3D platforming, especially towards the end, was frustrating and left very little satisfaction afterwards.

Aesthetics
Graphics: A-MAZ-ING. Although, none of it made sense. The only real rendered scene in the game is RIGHT before the credits. Everything else is as if you were tripping on something. But the FPS stayed true and in a certain light, it was rather beautiful.
Music: Negligible. Wasn't very inspiring at all.
Animation: Every animation, sometimes appropriate, sometimes over the top, was very smoothly rendered.

Overall
Ehh... I think the only reason I got this was because I thought the producer or director of Devil May Cry had something to do with it. After playing and finishing this game, I'm beginning to worry about that fact. If you loved the art style akin to Okami, this game will be right up your alley. Otherwise, don't bother.
RENT SOMETHING ELSE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No thanks

posted by icktums (FORT CAMPBELL, KY) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

From the reviews I read I had hoped that this game would not be heavy on the religious overtones. I figured that from what I read about the interestingly varied gameplay and crazily eclectic artistic style that those elements of the game would be strong enough to make me forget that this is a game about angels. The gameplay didn't really get exciting, I was not very intrigued by the style and level design and it turned out that the religious overtones were pretty deeply worked into every power-up and snippet of dialogue. It's an interestingly unique idea and it really does look cool... but it's not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC VISUAL STORY

posted by C_H_O_C_O_B_O (ROCKLAND, MA) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game is always changing and keeps you hooked from start to end. The visuals are amazing and the music is superb. The combat can be a little tedious at times, but they let you switch around. The platforming aspect of the game is where the gameplay shines. This game is all about enjoying it's beautiful artistic storytelling.

10 Story
10 Music
7 Combat
9 Gameplay
11 Graphics/Visuals

If you want to play a game that's different than the rest than look no further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Out of the Box Try

posted by dedguy (KATY, TX) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

I'm giving this game a 7, and it's because it does what so few games do these days: go outside the box! The best thing about this game: the art. It is beautiful, surreal, and the most imaginative and fantastic thing I've seen in games in a while. That is probably the bulk of my rating right there. You should rent this game to see the wonderful artwork!

Second, the storytelling. It takes a unique subject, the Book of Enoch, and turns it into a game. This is risky business, and the fact that they manage to do it without me hating it is commendable. If you've read the book of Enoch, then you have some basis for appreciating the story in the game; if not, you admittedly might get a little lost. The only other game thus far (which I also liked) that did this was Dante's Inferno.

Now, finally, this game seems very incomplete. The combat system is kind of one dimensional and gets repetitive in a hurry. There are some unique things to do, but the combat mechanic gets old about halfway through. Of course, the artwork and the progression of the story keep you playing through to the end.

I like games that attempt to take risks, and this title is noteworthy for nothing else than it takes HUGE risks. I think game development has become far too industrialized a process, with studios looking to churn out formulas for money, rather than pushing the boundaries of gaming. Because this game pushes the boundaries of artistic design and unconventional story telling, I recommend people check it out. Definitely a great rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse