Rent Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard for PS3
view large frontback

Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.9

1341 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Interesting Concept

posted by SPFenrir (SOMERSET, TX) Jul 24, 2009

Member since May 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

A lot of new games to an old generation of games pretty much all do the same, just redo the story like it's the very first game in the series. What I loved about this game was the actual acknowledgment of Matt Hazard's history, some amusing "knock-off" fake titles, and the actual reference to the world you are playing in IS a game.

D3P is not a developer everyone will like, but I find myself a large fan of low-budget games since they offer more unique play than any mainstream games who just tend to copy off each other. However, EL:RoMH seems to take some of it's cover control system from Gears of War, which if you ask me, has an incredible cover system. Matt even comments on how he loves the system in the first level.

The storyline basically plays out that Matt Hazard was supposed to be back and inside of a detective game, but the "game" tries to pull an ol' Metal Gear Solid 2 by trying to replace the main character with one of Matt's old villains. So you get to play through all of Matt's old "games" and fight all his arch rivals to figure out who and why someone is trying to "kill" Matt Hazard.

Most of the enemies are actually fairly amusing. All the allies just made me laugh because of certain references.

Only complaint is the aiming control is slightly sluggish, but easily capable of getting used to. You get to wield a pretty good arsenal of weapons, however, the only time you DO get ammo for them is when you kill an enemy that has the same weapons.

I believe "Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard" is a very fun game. Definitely worth a rent. I wouldn't really say "buy it" unless you absolutely love it since the game lacks replay-ability which is a sad side to low-budget games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An enjoyable rent

posted by TFEnigma (Weimar, CA) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This is a fun game that doesn't take itself too serious. It's a Third person shooter, with comedy, a little corny but for a person thats played games for a long time you'll be able to get most of the inside jokes. It's not that long, with some challenges. It's not the most visually stunning game ever, but it's good enough with a few throw backs to the old 2D world. I don't think that this is a game to buy for the simple fact that I may play through it once or twice but I'd be disappointed with such a low amount of time that I'd play it for a buy. If there's game you know you want go with those but if your looking for something while waiting for the next game you want, get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a Terrible, Terrible Game

posted by thetardis (SAINT CLOUD, MN) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

From the reviews I was expecting a game with OK gameplay but a fun concept and script.

What I got was, well, just a terrible game. Sluggish controls, bland script, boring board design, buggy cover system with enemies coming from angles designed to make the available cover useless and my biggest pet peeve, boards of solid black.

I have an HD TV, I turned the brightness up, the screen was solid black. For 2 straight boards I struggled through looking around trying to find the path, a path, any path, any THING that was identifiable as a place to go. Literally couldn't tell if I was moving or if I was running against a wall, much less actually able to see the next destination.

This is the only game I have ever gotten that I haven't bothered to finish.

Don't waste your time, drop this from your queue and get something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Amazing, but worth the rent

posted by flclfanman (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is a parody of other shooters and videogame cliches so it doesn't take itself serious. With that in mind, you have a lot of laughs at the parodies and references they make, even in the trophies you unlock.

The gameplay and controls are subpar at best so don't expect this to compete with Killzone, Resistance, and Halo.

If you're looking for a fun game with good trophies and funny gaming parodies, Eat Lead is your best bet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Matt Hazard Eats Lead, Dies

posted by Justice76 (MILPITAS, CA) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

MY SUMMARY: Rent. Play it on Minimum or Moderate Hazard. Laugh. Return. The platinum trophy is not worth the frustratingly-hard gameplay.

PROS
HUMOROUS DIALOGUE
EXCELLENT VOICE ACTING: Characters say ridiculous lines with so much conviction.
DECENT GRAPHICS
MANY EASY TROPHIES: Most can be earned in a single playthrough.

CONS (MAXIMUM HAZARD SETTING)
Eat Lead was fun until I tried Maximum Hazard. That is when all the little quirks became unforgiveable detractors.
LINEAR, UNIMAGINATIVE GAMEPLAY
MINIMUM HAZARD PLOT: Go into area. Shoot bad guys. Door opens. Enter next area. Shoot more bad guys. Door opens. Enter third area. Shoot more bad guys. Repeat multiple times until reaching a big, overpowered boss.
MAXIMUM HAZARD PLOT: Go into area. Shoot bad guys. Die. Respawn. Return to area. Shoot bad guys again. Die. Respawn. Repeat first area without dying. Door opens. Enter second area. Shoot new bad guys. Die. Respawn in first area. Repeat both areas without dying. Oops, you died anyway. Respawn. Return to first area because there are no $#! checkpoints until the third area. Eventually you will make it to boss, only to die fifty times and throw your controller through your tv. This is not fun.
PINPOINT ACCURATE AI GUNFIRE: How do these goons manage to run and fire without missing? I don’t know, but I had hours to think about it during repetitious replays.
MATT THE BULLET-MAGNET = CONSTANT DEATH
POORLY DESIGNED COVER MECHANICS: Why is the X button always required to move from cover? If you accidentally push L joystick at the same time as X, you’ll simply rotate around cover. Great. A grenade is on the crate and Matt is stuck running circles around it. Boom. Hope you don’t mind replaying that section again for the fifteenth time.
ABNORMAL BUTTON CONFIGURATION
POOR IN-GAME HELP: Use an internet search for help with boss battles.
TOO FEW CHECKPOINTS
ONLY ONE GAME SAVE
WIMPY GUNS
INACCURATE MACHINE GUN FIRE
NO GRENADES OR GRENADE THROWBACK

RENT. PLAY ONCE. RETURN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good rent

posted by master1135 (HENRIETTA, TX) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

GOOD STUFF:

funny humor

makes fun of other games

good graphics

NOT SO GOOD STUFF

feels it was rushed

not so good cover system.

can get frustrating ( EXAMPLE how did i just die.... )

A.I a little too good IF your new to games.

overall a pretty nice rent, but i wouldn't want it in my video game collection

an 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard

posted by aliendon (SPOKANE, WA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its a must have if you are a hard core gamer. It makes fun of some of the games that have been out forever. Its not to hard to beat it but if you play the hardest level all you have to do is just take your time and do head shots, I really enjoyed this game and would recommend it to any one who likes 3rd peson shooters and who wants a laugh while they play games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Trophy Hunters

posted by Sirk228 (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You may may notice that this game has a low platinum difficulty rating, that doesn't mean you will not have trouble. Some of the trophies aren't extremely difficult, but there's only one way you can do certain things, for example; Kill 3 Tester employees with a single shot from the grenade launcher. It took me about a half hour for this and 15-20 minutes for Bedlam Basher, trying the same thing over and over of what I saw online. SO you WILL NEED to use the internet for certain trophies like those two.

You only need one play through, then you can use the level select on a lower difficulty to clean out the trophies you haven't gotten yet.
Maximum Hazard Difficulty Code : Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right
Enter this code after you select new game and it gives you the difficulty options. This will not disable trophies.

The game itself is funny. There are parts of the game you won't understand but they will make you laugh. The game gets almost as frustrating as Call of Duty: World at War on veteran difficulty. If you've already played COD5 on veteran and completed it along with Uncharted on crushing difficulty, this game won't bother you as much as it bothered my friend. It took me 52 hours(from first trophy to platinum) to complete it where it took my friend a week and a half to complete it. I have a platinum on COD5, he's only started crushing difficulty on uncharted and started veteran on COD5.

I recommend this game if you have patience and expect to be frustrated.
My difficulty rating 5/10 My game rating 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This was fun until...

posted by Pmbumfoi1 (VANCOUVER, WA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was really fun until I got to the stupid part of the game with the giant squid. You never see it coming and there are times where you will die seconds after being spawned after a death. Lame. Get this but beware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good concept

posted by BOOIELIVZ (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If for nothing else---what a great concept. Turning the role of a game character into a "soap opera". Hasn't been done, and I personally am always loking for a spin. I have Killzone 2, and yes that is a good shooter, but kudos for comming up with something new and different!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining

posted by wrencrest (TAMPA, FL) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not a great game, but its decent. It is entertaining if you dont take it serisously and this game doesnt even take itself seriously. I had a lot of fun with it just trying different things and listening to the great voice work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stay away

posted by tazdog24 (HARRISBURG, PA) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I'm sorry I'm a big gamer and I love shooters and games but this game eat lead the return of Matt Hazard SUCKED. Matt You should have just stayed where you were and not have returned this game is hazarded for your health. The starts off kinda making fun of himself from back in the days of 8 bits for those who remember thoses days and then jumps in to the game and makes fun of how you learn to play with how you duck cover and shoot ect..... after playing for about 20 mins or so I was ready to turn the game off. When playing it seems choppy but that how the game is someone hecks into the game and starts putting extra things into it from matts past. The only reason someone should get this game is if all the games in your game q are low or out of stock if thats the case i still recommend you just wait for your next game or get hanna montana or barbie you'll most likely have a better time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Idea, But Obviously Rushed

posted by SirDiggs28 (WINCHESTER, VA) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

When I first read about this title I was instantly excited. I'm a huge first person shooter fan and the concept sounded right up there with those Duke Nukem games from the 90's that I loved so much. I decided to raised this game in my Q above Killzone 2. What a mistake that was.

The intro movie was great. It gives the gamer all the info they need to know about Matt Hazards rise and fall in the gaming world. Then the great wore off quickly. Graphics are PS2 quality, voice acting stinks (example: a japanese enemy will say "I'm out of ammo" then drain about 50 shells into you) Matt moves are stiff and not fluid at all. The environment doesn't react or destroy the way almost all next gen shooters do. You can carry two weapons at once and that's it. Matt Hazard also uses the now overused "God of War" button sequence scenes that are a dime a dozen.

The bottom line is this is a game that had a lot of hype and a ton of potential. Unfortunately it was all wasted. If you have a weekend with nothing to do and an empty game spot in your Q, I would say check it out...but your probably better off just waiting for a better game to come out like RE 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Eat Lead Matt Hazard!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

7 out of 22 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

The title of this review explains enough..

D3P, the developer of game Dark Sector2, brings to life another folly piece of.. work, Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard. The controls are exactly like Darksector2, and SORTA like Uncharted: Drake's fortune. But do not mistake this game as fun or intresting as, Uncharted: Drake Fortune.

There is no plot in this game. There is no story. Only thing you do is run around and shoot enemies in non dynamic levels.

The graphics are very weak, the environment decals were under fabricated, and not to forget very poor environment physics. You have zero interface with the environment, doors ONLY open when you defeat a certain amount of enemies in a area. The enemies say the same thing, over and over and over when they die, and Matt Hazard says the same annoying phrases over and over and over as he kills enemies. Which gives you a small headache after the 10th time of him saying the same thing over an over..

Bottom line is, if D3P wanted to destroy Matt Hazard, they did an excellent job! After the first level of this.. game (Which each level, can be completed in 5 minutes, just by knocking out enemies with the melee attack)I would have thrown this game out the window, if it was not a rental. The only thing this game did amazing at was giving me a headache, with the under developed craftsmanship, it only bares. The ONLY remorse I have is, I am glad this game is only rented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Save your money.

posted by Malakai (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a funny comedy filled game, go elsewhere. The humor might appeal to 12 year olds but those of us that have grown up playing shooters are only going to get a slight chuckle out of this game.

The camera is horrible. Matt himself is slow and clunky to maneuver around. Enemy AI is horrid. Don't expect anything special other than the initial flanking move. After that they tend to stand in the same place and repeat the same movies.

The difficulty level on maximum hazard is insane and unjustified. It's just not fun. It can take six head shots to kill a single enemy, meanwhile they can kill you in two or three direct hits. The sniper sections are atrocious, especially when you take into account that the game doesn't even mention the fact that there is a RUN BUTTON.

The only redeeming feature is the parody/homage of older games/genres. If you're an older gamer with fond memories of the past you will smile at the Wolfenstein enemies and level, as well as the rpg boss element (although its a terribly difficult fight on the hardest difficulty)

The fact that it's the hardest difficulty does not warrant the fact that it's impossible at times. The game ceases to be fun when you have to redo the same area 34 times, and each time you have to deal with the load times.

All in all, don't buy the game, if you're bored AND like to punish/frustrate yourself, rent it. Others stay away, far far away, you'd get more enjoyment watching the game being played on youtube.

I give it a 3 out of 10. Lackluster comedy and game parody do not save this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brainless Fun

posted by AprJem (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

No one will say that Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard is an all time classic. However, it is a very quick game that is MADE for a program like Gamefly! Rent it, and send it back! It will be a fun 7 hour trip through all kinds of crazy stuff that will remind you of many of your gaming experiences! If the mechanics and graphics were a little better, this could be a triple A title! As it stands though, it is a solid rent. I may even buy it when it ends up in the bargain bin!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Skip it.....really bad

posted by Horsepower (LA MESA, CA) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I was playing the wonderful Killzone 2 when the mail came and brought The Return of Matt Hazard. So, I stopped playing Killzone and put the The Return of Matt Hazard disk into my PS3. I was hoping this would be a good game. I played for an hour and then came to the conclusion that the games was bad, really bad.

How in the world can DP3 even be in business when other games like Killzone and Medal Gear are out there. DP3's games are no where near the level of 80% of the games out there. Will never rent or buy a game from this co again.

Skip this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Time I will never get back

posted by COD4Munish (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Mar 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

After being awaken by the mail lady's Rush Limbaugh blasting out of her little tin box all the way down my street... I went to the mail box expecting to grab Afro Sam L. Jackson and the bills.....I was happy to find that Gamefly had sent me my two other games that I was expecting the next day as well. I was not ready to see Killzone when I opened the mail and I almost fainted. I saw that I had gotten MATT HAZARD EAT LEAD!!!!!!.....I thought to myself, why did I have this game in my game Q to begin with.. My buddy said aw man it can't be that bad lets just try it before we play Killzone, "we will work our way up." The ten minutes that I spent playing EAT LEAD.... while.. I could of spent them playing Killzone and.. thats time I will never get back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i like

posted by negrito (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

good game cant wait for part 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it is a good game

posted by alvarez (SEBRING, FL) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i love thes game it is good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by Bohannibal (PORTLAND, OR) May 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Everything about it sucks dont rent it its a waste of time so glad i have gamefly so i can just send it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by kc5674 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 26 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game was horrible it made no sense it was horrible id rather play a game on the attari 2600. and ive never heard of the company that makes the game that's why its probably so bad dont play it if you want a good shooter get killzone 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

weak

posted by becker (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

very low no effort graphics. poor weapon selection. game overall was very bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no way

posted by Jmac1928 (WHITTIER, CA) Jul 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

ok so after a night out and not being 100% while playing i only got through a solid 15 min of this game and then just gave up.....sooooo bad in almost every way not worth your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good not great

posted by angelsprotector (NORTH FREEDOM, WI) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

i will start off by saying that it brought back memmories i played some of the orriginal like matt and max but it got kind of reppetetive for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse