Rent Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.4

2760 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Stupid Yet Fun

posted by Alchemist0 (OSSINING, NY) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Despite the ratings, this game is kind of enjoyable in a "Oh God, this is so stupid, it's funny" kind of way. You're Matt Hazard and you have been betrayed by video game designers and were supposed to be killed off. Now, you fight through every game you've starred in from killing Russians to Aliens and, of course, Zombies.

The dialogue is god awful but funny at times. The weaponry is substantial, from the standard Hazard Pistol to grenade launchers to water pistols. The only draw back is my favorite weapon, the Sniper Rifle, has such a slow adjustment rate it's sickening.

All and all, if you're looking for a game with some easy achievements and some ridiculous antics (and you're not a serious, hardcore gamer), give this game a shot. It's not like you bought it or anything!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Your Average Shooter!

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

25 out of 30 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty funny, with the voice of Will Arnet (Arrested Development) and lots of jokes about games. Probably for the "older" gamers who remember the first Duke Nukems and played the original Mario games on the NES. Game play is like Gears only not as good. Rent this one for the humor or stay away if you're not a hardcore gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's Review Time

posted by youngscrub (VERONA, KY) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

21 out of 28 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've been looking forward to Eat Lead for a few months now. Despite those months of anticipation I never expected too much from this title. With that in mind- it more than meets my expectations.

Concept:9
Conceptually Eat Lead shines with imagination in a world of stark, serious shooters. It follows a retired video game action hero, Matt Hazard, who is brought back to star in his first next gen action title. On his adventure Matt meets up with characters from his previous games- meeting these characters was my favorite part of the game and I wish they had been included more.

Graphics:7
The graphics aren't bad. Character models are fine and their cut scene animations are acted out believably. The levels you're shooting your way through are bland for the most part, but a couple areas are memorable.

Sound:7
Will Arnett and Neil Patrick Harris do the voice overs well, but the dialogue cuts out on occasion. The music was very enjoyable, but sadly there are only 4 or 5 tracks.

Playability:6
It's a 3rd person shooter that changes up the traditional format with a sort of cover mapping system- I didn't use it too much, but it's kinda cool. The game wasn't too difficult, (easiest game to get head shots in that I've ever played) Some boss battles are frustrating being hard for the wrong reasons.

Entertainment:7
I found myself getting bored from time to time, but the desire to see the next cinematic kept me playing.

Closing Comments:
I think this game will be a guilty pleasure to some people. It isn't the best game on the market, but I enjoyed The Return of Matt Hazard.

Overall Opinion: 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be better

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Could be worse to. This game is interesting, it's a turn the game on it's ear and place you as the lead character in a video game who knows it game. The story is interesting, not dumb, not the best either though doesn't take itself seriously.

Graphically it's grainy, though at least not overly so. Had some good jokes most people over 25 will understand.

Now we get to the real problem, the controls. It's an interesting idea, you get to take cover you move around fairly well, nice options for cover. However, there seems to be a problem with moving, as in you often keep doing so, perhaps my controller but probably not. You have problems taking cover, don't always do it and not always where your pushing toward. Mostly your shooting though there is a melee option, which is gfetting close to an enemy, staying close to the enemy and pressing X up to three times.

Boss battles can be melee and is a question of following the button presses shown on the screen. There is no mini map, they instead opted for the directional arrow indicating where you are taking damage from, that doesn't work terribly well and on occassion seems to be stuck to on. There is another problem, aiming is slow, I turned it up to 3/4's full bar from half a bar and it's still way to slow. Either it has the annoying forced cliffhanger moment from the last Bond game, or it doesn't know how fast your supposed to move the camera from moment to moment.

It is an interesting idea with good story, marred by average to low graphics and mostly horrible control problems. Rent it for some easy points and laughs, otherwise don't even bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great Concept...

posted by Skinny (THEODORE, AL) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

...But very very very poor delivery. This game could only hold my interest for about 20 minutes.

I liked all of the jokes and cutscenes as well as the fact that enemies change in the middle of a shootout.

Now if only it weren't in some generic scenes and the shooting. I love shooters, but this was non stop. It wasn't intense, it's just so easy to get headshots that you don't even end up using their great cover system to its advantage.

The power up were nice but are few in between.

Acheivements were easy.

This game really had potential. It's not bad, it's just meh. Maybe you'll like it, so go on and rent it. It is good for a few laughs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Eat Lead Satifies My Thirst For Bullets!

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Mar 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

17 out of 29 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

When I received it, I wasn’t sure what to expect, I sat down and played it for a couple of hours. It’s a first person shooter, which is reminding me of the cheesy 80’s movies and phrases the entire time I’m playing the game! I don’t know why, just is! The graphics are pretty decent, it’s not mind-blowing but very good graphically. The story is about Max Hazard obviously. He used to be a super star from a multi-million videogames he was in & then he wanted to turn the tables and put his own spin on it. Things had taken a turn for the worst & Megasoft, well went soft. A new CEO comes in & buys out the company. The new CEO has a few tricks up his sleeve. There is constant changing of levels, different enemies that occur in the middle of battle. You go from fighting mobsters, to fighting cowboys & Russians! The themes & environments change frequently & it’s a constant challenge to see what you will do! It’s a good innovation & I enjoy the game this far. I have to ask though, why is it when you knock an enemy while holding X & you’re covered, why do grenades keep on being launched at you? I’ve played this particular level a couple times now, it’s quite challenging. The gameplay is smooth, I’m impressed!The controls are easy to grasp. The humor & dialog to the game are great & funny! I’ve got quite a few kicks out of it! The over-the-shoulder angle isn’t my first choice. It’s enjoyable & easy to understand. Achievements for this game are pretty easy. You even get an achievement called Take 5. That’s where you simply pause the game & it says “hey! Come back to the game!” Little kickers like that. There’s even a nice little perk where you can use ICE to freeze enemies & give yourself a boost, it’s very helpful! Overall, I’ll give it an 8 out 10. It’s very well deserved. I will recommend this to shooters, I would strongly recommend renting it first, play it thru & if it’s for you, then buy it. It’s a rent before you buy game. Thank you for reading. Happy Gaming Gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For Easy Achievement Freaks Only

posted by DanteHicks (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I was sorely disappointed in this game. The humor is funny at first, but falls flat pretty quickly. Plenty of cheap deaths ruined this experience for me. Controls aren't very responsive either.

Tons of easy achievements throughout the game though. 60 GS just for watching the credits, which you can do from the main menu. I can only recommend this game if you're desperate for Gamerscore points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Matt Hazardous to fun

posted by dkabzo (MARIETTA, GA) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nothing redeeming about this game, other than the humor. Aimiing was terrible, controls were stiff, environment was unyielding. Couldn't skip the cut scenes. Wave after wave of enemies with no AI to at least make it interesting. Fight "mini-game" was a joke. 10 minutes in and I was hoping my xbox would go RROD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

craptastic

posted by fupalo (IRVING, TX) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Awful, just awful. This is game is putrid. It's funny but that doesnt make up for the game being horribly flawed and not fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good if made 4 years ago.

posted by JoeVegas (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game would have been ok if it had been made for the X-box 4 years ago, it doesn't belong to a 360, everything is sub-par.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Should you avoid the Hazard?

posted by chutchut (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The cover mechanics are ok, too many times i found that when i broke off of cover i had to run backwards in order to go forwards. The boss battles are easy but i liked that, i liked the quick time button events. The voiceover work is decent and i highly recommend you play through the tutorials for some of the funniest dialogue in the game. The achievements were very easy to get. You won't obtain all 1000 the first time through but i could easily see a gain of around 650-700 gamerscore. Also it's kinda fun to kill a baddy with a water submachinegun.The story lacks any real depth and the game i think wastes so much potential. The graphics are borderline last gen. Also the AI at times is either the smartest or the dumbiest AI i have ever come across. Too many times an enemy just appeared behind me while i was in cover at they weren't there a second ago. The AI also seem to have a habitat of just standing there and let me shoot them which makes for the headshot achievements all too easy. The automatic weapons in this game are bogus, you can't hit an enemy or too any real damage even when you lock onto the target. The melee combat is ok but it's a series of tapping X three times and the animation is the same every time which makes the combat uneccessary unless you are in close quarters. The playtime is around 6-8 hrs with very little incentive to play again, in my book it's an ok rental but i wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Frustrated, Aggravated, Flustered, and Non Motivate

posted by summercruz (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't like this game. I love shooter games but this game has no story. It's just shooting. It's to busy, shooting, shooting, and more shooting. All you do throughout the game is shoot. You have about 8 targets at a time. At your Boss fight; you're fighting the Boss and the Boss's crew and the clock making it very difficult. When playing a game the goal is to have fun and being frustrated and starting over and over isn't fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

meh... It's... Ok

posted by Variand (LARGO, FL) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

You know how Hollywood seems to like making horrible cliched and rather worthless films like, "Not Another Teen Movie" and "Epic Movie" and all those others? Eat lead: The Return of Matt Hazard would be something along the lines of Date Movie: Had some chuckle-worth moments, but really should have been left as a Treatment document...

This game was designed by a bunch of developers looking for an idea saying, "wouldn't it be funny if...." and they made a list and called it a plot. You play a action game hero trying to make a comeback after a long and dead career.

The game itself is a 3rd-person shooter that plays more like a bad action/adventure game. The pistol is the most AND ONLY accurate gun in the game, sub-machine and assault rifles are not even worth using unless you are going for an achievement, and in game Cover System is worthless as most cover objects used leave your head and shoulders exposed and giving your enemies a perfect target.

Instead of having a melee "Bash" button, you press X to enter a arbitrary melee fight sequence that, i guess, are supposed to be Quick Time events; these normally just make you mash X several times till the sequence is over and leaves you jump kicking and wildly throwing haymakers while you are being turned into Swiss Cheese.

Boss Battles are Quick Time events and are a bit too drawn out but not difficult. Voice acting is over-the-top, in a bad way. Sound is some of the worst "Butt-Rock" I've ever heard. Environments are bland and rarely interactive. TVs don't bust when shot, windows and glass objects make breaking noises but don't shatter, and you don't even get Bullet holes left in walls or objects when you shoot them.

I know some of those things seem like nit-picking, but with all the other top-class shooters out there, you kinda come to expect these things. This would have been an awesome game about 5 years ago, but right now it's sub-standard at best.

The humor of this game does not last; rent if curious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An Average Shooter

posted by Cybertron (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

8 out of 22 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is ok to rent but not to buy. For one all you do in this game is run around from room to room and take cover, then shoot at enemies which take like 10 bullets to kill. Plus you run out of ammo at a fast rate. If you don't use cover every time then you end up dying within like few seconds. So after a while it becomes very repetitive and gets boring. Overall this game is average, it plays out like Fracture and Gears of War, but Gears of War is way better than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I gave it a 3 because I'm feeling generous.

posted by jdbell (HENDERSONVILLE, TN) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played this game for 15 minutes and put it back in the mailbox. Its not even worth the time it takes to open the gamefly envelope. I just wish I could get that 15 minutes back to play a game thats not completely worthless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

All the bad reviews are right !!!!

posted by GotGame36 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The only good thing about this game is the attempt at humor.

The AI is terrible. Full of bugs. Same thing over and over. Bad graphics. Bad sound. Bad gameplay.

This is just an overall bad game. I read all the bad reviews and didn't think it could be that bad but I was wrong. This is not even worth renting. Don't watse your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game, Not Worth Renting!!!

posted by Perfec7 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is a complete waste of time. Last-generation graphics meets lame humor in the year's biggest dud.

Lousy hack game developers seem to use the same formula =increase difficulty to artificially increase play time. The problem is the boring factor never goes away. Enemies are extremely repettitive and only have two-three variations. There are only around 7-9 different weapons, absolutely no customization. Invert-aim is your only controller option. All the assets in the game are recycled throughout the levels. It really looks more like a school project than a true videogame.

Terrible physics and horrible camera angles caused by an under-developed cover-system only add to the insults that this tur-d brings to the table. Save yourself the grief and re-rent Resident Evil 5 or Gears 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolute JUNK... DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!

posted by sargerob (BELLEVUE, NE) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game tries to be funny but does not deliver. The graphics and gameplay are horrible when compared with other shooter games.

The game play was like running through mud... slow and sloppy. All your enemies have the same EXACT sayings and reactions.

The Koto music in the first level was the only thing nice about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

More Like Matt Headache

posted by IvanLL86 (YUMA, AZ) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I rented this game in hopes of getting more comedy than actual good gameplay but boy was I wrong. I'll post quick opinions on the Good and Bad of every game I play in hopes of helping you choose which games to avoid and which games to try.

GOOD:

- I couldn't find a single good thing about this game.

BAD:

- The controls are really basic but lack good functionality

- The comedy is dry and lacks any real effort to deliver by the voice actors

- The combat is extremely repetitive and infuriating

- Level design is very bland with little detail (I've seen PS2 titles with more detail in a single character)

- Boss battles are such an annoyance, I wouldn't be surprised is someone throws their controller at the TV screen out of sheer rage.

Overall this game is terrible, I had an idea of what I would be getting into but never did I assume 'Matt Hazard' would be this terrible.

Final Verdict: PASS (unless you're a glutton for punishment)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pump me full of Lead!

posted by sTuaart99 (OLYMPIA, WA) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

What can I say? I bought this game yesterday, on February 28th, and I loved it! Eat Lead is a very good shooter with a humorous twist on everything it does. Out of all the games that have come out this year so far, Killzone 2, Skate 2, anything, this is by far my dominant favorite. I only had some minor trouble with the cover system and overall playability. Go on to greatness, Matt Hazard!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game sucks!

posted by RuningWolf (YUCAIPA, CA) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2003

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This piece of garbage is not worthy of even calling itself a game. The worst part of this game is the lighting. There's no way to adjust the lighting enough to make this game even playable. As far a game play it's mediocre at best but why bother when you can't see what the heck your doing? I wouldn't pay 2 cents for this game much less a dollar. It's a dog, plain and simple, no I take It back it's like a horse with two broken legs, just shoot it and put it out of it's misery

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME SUUUUUCCCCKKKKKS!!!

posted by eric661 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME SUUUUUCCCCKKKKKS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not that great

posted by camfitz007 (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this game is a cheap rip off of multiple games combined into one, cheap imatation moves of gears of war, old western shoot out? really? the aiming is horable, the graphics are like ps3 graphics, so weak, the sprint is more like a fast walk. not very fun, didnt enjoy it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So Mr Hazzard took the Red Pill?

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I give this Story an A+ for the marketing stragety and that's pretty much it. I am not a real fan of the First person shooters and I never will be? Why you may ask? Oh for a lot of reasons I grew up on collecting points and then worked my way to 2d side scrollers and I am much happier there. The biggest problem with shooters is that you have to keep focused on one button to aim, center and then another to shoot and a final one to change ammo and or a fifth to change the weapson all together. Oh and you aim must be perfect or expect to miss a ton of times....Mat Hazzard is no exception. While the idea to crouch and leap behind boxes or pillers to protect yourself from 20 enimies and there is a Gears of War esque type of life meter Matt Hazard is quite frustrating. The second option to run through a ton of bullets and run up to your enemy and hit X three times for a melee combat, but it is not as fun as you think. The bosses are quick time event button mashers, and the weapsons are no as fun as the only first person shooter ever made...GOLDENEYE. The idea that an 80's arcade character has become a has been and is tricked by his old enimies for one final score should be a blast and it is fun that first your fighting in a Japenese Sushi bar as a detective then it changes to the old west.....But the combat as a I stated to tricky and aming can be a challenege, you have to wait to you hear your opponent yell "I'm out of ammo." before you can either shoot him in the head several times before he'll drop to the ground (Lucky for you that can't shoot worth a D$#% either). Or run up and punch an kick. If only there was one but to aim center, fire and reload all at the same time.....But a man can dream....A man can dream.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eat Lead

posted by Fabiocrow1983 (COVINGTON TOWNSHIP, PA) Sep 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

this Has Got to be one of the more frustrating games I have EVER played.
The Game started out well enough but then it got ridiculously Difficult and I was playing on easy! I Died at least 250 times or more...Lot of screaming and cussing and controller throwing anger happened.
There is no way i would ever attempt to beat this game on the hardest setting,it was just brutal!

All in all it was a decent game and was enjoyable to an extent so It's worth a rent. I ended up with 870 in Gamer score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse