Rent Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon for PS3
view large frontback

Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.7

626 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great to play with friends

posted by AkimaJay (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have a couch buddy at your house and you wanna blow up some bugs with 4 different classes ("Jet" can fly!!!) and over 120 different weapons, this is a well-made (if not cheesy) game that's a must-have for local co-op fanatics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wow..

posted by generalhbk (EVANS, CO) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Everyone who rates this game as a 1-5 really should open their eyes a bit, the main game is eh ok, but if you coop with friends thats always fun. Now surivial mode, my favorite, is what makes the game for me because you get to fight with your bros and fight hoards after hoards of bugs and in the map "Original sin" you face the biggest robot bug of them all and if you play with noobs you'll be running all over reviving. Now i realized that when you kill a bug they either exploded or went into their natural dead position( such as a dead spider flips over and puts all legs together above it) and then they disapate. People also complained about the point where you cant hear your own gun firing, well when there is giant robot bugs roaring ants hissing rockets firing and exploding other peoples guns and other stuff i think even in real life it would be hard to hear your own gun so they need to stop worrying about that plus if that is such a problem you can press start go to Controls/Audio then decrease the noises of the other objects then raise the volume on your tv. So this game has a few things it messed up on, but honestly how many BUG( not mutant ) games have you seen come out lately. I think people need to rent and play survival before making up your mind about the game and what you should rate it... ~Cody

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hmmm..... Definitly worth a try

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Jul 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Here's why. Long have i been playing games that are very strict on how you play your game. But i've also been playing some TOO open games, so i'd like to find an in-between. EDF: Insect Armageddon was that in-between for me, and it was enoyable.

Not bad graphics and visuals, the storyline wasn't anything new or original, but it satisfied for the time it lasted. Gameplay was very chaotic and fun, with insects attacking and humans fighting back with a large array of both totally cool and insane weaponry!

Replay value? Not alot. I think it took me a fair amount of time to beat the game, so i'd say its a good lengthed videogame. Definitly worth a try if you liked any past EDF games, but you should definitly consider before buying.

Thanks again for checking me up on Gamefly!

:food'n'drink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A good time

posted by collin9199 (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great fun, and is made even more fun if you have someone to play with. It's not overly hard, it is just a fund run and gun. I don't know why you would play gears of war or halo when this game is out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Where is the Raid?

posted by shinvegeta (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You have to love having a shootout with giant bugs take that starship troopers. The game is pretty decent especially when you figure out which soldier class best suits you I might rent it again just to try the multi-player out nothing like killing bugs with your buddies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

EDF! EDF! EDF!!!

posted by HrdcrGamr (HIGLEY, AZ) Jul 7, 2011

Member since May 2010

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This entry into the series is made by Vicious Cycle instead of Sandlot, who worked on the other games of the series. But, they have done an excellent job of keeping the spirit of the other EDF games alive.

You still fight hordes and hordes of enemies ranging from giant ants, spiders, and wasps, and mechs, to screen filling mecha-mantis, daddy long legs. While you take them out with your choice of hundreds of weapons while being able to destroy nearly everything in the environment But they have improved on few things, for example, the vehicles in this game control MUCH, better then the previous games. Making using them a much more viable option.

They have also added online play along with split screen. So you can play the campaign with 3 other people or survival mode with up to 6 players.

There are multiple battle armors to choose from as well. All of which act differently and get their own unique set of weapons. You have:

Tactical armor which uses subweapons like turrets, proximity mines, and radar dishes.

Jet armor which works like Pale Wing from the EDF games on the PS2. They can fly around and are incredibly mobile. They are also masters with the Sniper Rifle and specialize in energy weapons.

Battle Armor which is pretty much a walking tank. You get the most damaging weapons in the game and can use a shield that can block damage and as you level can cause huge explosions killing of pretty much anything near you or frying bugs with electricity.

Trooper which works pretty much like the player from the other EDF games. He can equip any weapon type and can run faster and revive faster then other classes.

Pros:

Vehicles are greatly improved
Online works surpisingly well
Over 100 weapons to colllect
Love the new armors

Cons:

Glitches(Sound bugs/Enemies getting stuck outside of battle arena)
Levels are not very varied
Disappointing final level

I personally still enjoy 2017 a bit more, but IA is a great entry in the series. It is good bug killing fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

EDF!

posted by ChrisInDC (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Fun bug killing action! Can't go wrong with this game, especially with friends!

Reminds me of playing games in the old days, simple and fun to play! The new suits are great and add alot of different gameplay.

Just don't pick this up expecting an epic story, this is arcade shooting at its finest and its with friends! Love the online co op and local 2 player co op. The number of missions are small but they get longer in length and the different suits add some replay value. I do miss the dino bosses from 2017 but this one still has some cool ones. If you have played EDF before you know exactly what you are getting in this game. The city streets get real repetitive but you'll be doing too much running and shooting to care.

If you always wondered what it would be like to join up with your friends and defend earth from an alien bug invasion then look no further! This game is a blast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is pure fun.

posted by Agent77 (BERNE, IN) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

EDF: Insect Armageddon is a game that was made for nothing other than the enjoyment of killing every single bug that appears on screen. The game is very light on story and the sound can get frustrating in that in breaks and makes weird noises. The game is fun on its own but when you either play split-screen or go online, its a whole different game. There is something about killing bugs with your friends that has an un-ending joy to it. The game offers plenty of replay value and the grind that it takes to fully level up each armor type is not a grind at all, it is actually enjoyable and it gives you an excuse to play through the wonderfully joyful campaign and online again and again. I give this game a 8/10 on pure fun alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game with flaws 7.5 out of 10

posted by mrburnstick (WEST RICHLAND, WA) Jul 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

the game play is super fun, its also not the same thing over and over. some missions let you use walkers, tanks, stationary turrets. the online coop is my biggest issue with the game. you cannot host your own game which means that if the random host decides to leave you loose all your progress which is total bs and gives me head aches cause its not a super rare occurrence. single player would of been more fun if the ai didnt bunch up around you cause if u get killed everybody dies and u have to restart the level. this game doesn't have host migration so your loose all your progress in the mission if they decide they got something better to do. im hoping they fix these issues with the game i was going buy it im glad i rented it before spending 30 dollars cause if they dont got some quick fixes in the near future ill just put it back in my mail box
bottom line its fun but frustrating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alot better than expected

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Jul 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I have to say when this arrived, i wasn't excited to play it, but the minute i saw it was a 3rd person shooter my eyes lit up, i played this game right away for like 2 hours. The gameplay is great, the graphics are smooth and its alot of shooting action non stop, which is cool. You can't go a block without seeing a huge ant or spider to shoot. I enjoyed this game more than i thought i would. If i didnt just buy Infamous 2, i would have strongly considered buying this game for sure.
It's a good rent, so try it out. I think you'll be pleasently surprised

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BORING!!!!!

posted by jeryst (FALLS CREEK, PA) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

All you do is kill bugs, over and over again. There are some cool weapons, but you can only carry two, they dont have much ammo, and they take way too long to reload. One annoying thing about the weapons, is that if a weapon is reloading, and you have to switch weapons in the middle of a firefight, the reloading stops, so when you switch back to that weapon, the reloading picks up from where it left off. Not good because now you have two useless weapons. One good thing, is that you have an unlimited supply of ammo. Also, the bugs have robots. What? You never see any aliens, just bugs and robots.

The environment is totally destructive, and you can have some fun leveling buildings, blowing up vehicles, etc, but that gets old after about five minutes. You can play as several different soldier types, and can change type and weapons at the beginning of every segment. Would be nice if you could do that during the segment as well.

Overall, the game is very short, and it has a disappointing ending, where you and your entire party get killed, and it takes you back to the beginning of the game for another playthrough. You get to keep your status and weapons, so its a little easier the next time around, even though it just more of the same mind-numbing mashing of the fire button.

Okay to rent to waste a couple of hours, but definitely not a buy. Destined to be a $10 game in a short time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Generic Boring Bug Killing Game

posted by nibroc2112 (DULUTH, MN) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

Was excited to get this game... it was the first new release ive recieved from GF in a long time... Just my luck, it had to be EDF:Incect Armageddon! As a budget title, i wasn't expecting greatness... but i was expecting to have Fun shooting giant insects. You do get to do that, but this game seems to make killing bugs boring.

GRAPHICS: nothing special at all. Games 4 yrs old have better. Drab colors
SOUND: this is where this game really fails! Half the time, u cant hear ur own machinegun going off!! the Music drowns out everything, but even when i turned it off it was bad!
GAMEPLAY: one word- BORING

Not worth even the budget price, rental price, or your time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Alot worse than expected

posted by boredatwrk (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I have to say when this arrived, I was excited to play it. Then again, it's July and this month has pretty much sucked for games. The newest of a bad batch of what used to be 360 exclusives that have enticed me with false promises. Like.. fun. Well, long story short, I may have to completely discriminate against games that are discounted prior to release. I get that they wanted to release an affordable POS.. but gosh darnit!

So here you are, you choose one out of four classes (I played 2 of them and they seemed equally bad) you're dropped onto an open-world map that looks like it was designed by your high school mates that are currently going to ITT, and you proceed to run block to block in this drab scenery being greeted by waves of giant ants, who, you can tell aren't having a good time either. Run a block, glowing dot. Kill about 30 ants with bad weapons. Run a block. Flashing dot. Kill ants.

This is one of those games that will make you re-think your number of gamefly discs you recieve each month. I mean if you want the whole choatic surroundings shooter why not just play borderlands? I get that as you level up, you get better weapons or whatever, but I couldn't put myself through that. Hope you haven't played anything good lately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super bad game. Bad play.

posted by favre07 (UPLAND, CA) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. All you do is kill ants bugs. Wow play 30 mints. Time that I will never get back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

o...no

posted by canyon (ANAHEIM, CA) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

o..no

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not As Good As 2017

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

This is one of those sequels that should have never been made because it takes away from the uniqueness and rarity the first one had. 2017 had much worse graphics and music but that was part of what made it special for me. It was the first time I could remember loving a "bargain bin" game. It's missing that something special I can't quite place. If you don't have friends to play this with it is a definite skip. Local multiplayer might make this bearable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

FUN or a sec

posted by Kiba3D (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Feb 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

It's was fun for
Graphic: 4/10- um I never new comic was in style
Gameplay: 8/10- not gonna lie the controls was nicely put, and no cheat monsters and plus unlimited revival was useful

Recant this it's fun of a while but nobody be online :/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Totally worth getting

posted by jschultz (BEACH CITY, OH) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

this game is actually really good!!! and for those who like to play online its even better when you have live ppl playing with you i highly recommend this game to anyone who just wants go around destroying stuff

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

don't waist your time.

posted by dr7744 (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

wow, this game is so far behind its time. cheap graphics. I love the idea of a sort of starship trooper scenario. hopefully someone will execute but definitely not this title. arcade at its worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It really bugged me!

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

For kids between the ages of 6 and 12 who have 10 minute attention spans. Seriously boring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So close yet sooo far

posted by mickb38 (HIGGANUM, CT) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I wish could be kinder to this game. It has the right idea but its just lazy. The game is like a teenager cleaning his room, it doesnt last long and most of the mess is under the bed (go ahead say Im wrong). Single player mode is shockingly short. Story is undeveloped and the guns, which should be a major part of the game are never able to shine because of its sadly short playtime. The laziness is seen by the fact that there are only maybe 6 varieties of monsters. Destruction of buildings would have been cool provided it looked different every now and then. Imaginary boundaries are everywhere. This game could have been soo much more, it could have suprised the industry and been a cult classic if it was exected with some care. Instead the developer should be sent to his (or her) room and told to do the job right this time. A generous 7of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon

posted by racloon (MONTGOMERY, AL) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I was blown away by how fun this game is. I still have it rented out, it does get repetitive, and there is a grind to get to the max armor levels, but the game rocks all around. Outstanding graphics, insane amount of enemies around you, and awe inspiring at the scale of the battles. EXCELLENT game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

why play this inferior game...other than price

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

Overview
==================
This game doesn't hide that it is a budget title at all. I guess it is fine for a cheap game....buy why would I want to play a cheap game??? I'd suggest skipping this game unless you love EDF games. There are just too many better games to spend your time on.

Pros
==================
1) lot of weapons
2) co-op play

Cons
==================
1) cheap production values
2) repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »