Rent Earth Defense Force 2025 for PS3
view large frontback

Earth Defense Force 2025

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.1

127 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun (If only for a little while)

posted by AwesumJ (HOUSTON, TX) May 9, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game takes the formula from past EDF games and incorporates it well. This game doesn't have great graphics, but what it does have is fun co-op play, cool weapon selections, and tons of missions. My biggest annoyance with this game is the lack of online players and the repeated missions. (The first 3 missions or so are just giant ants). I recommend this if you have played past EDF games, but if you haven't, rent something else, because this may be a waste of time for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont rent or buy

posted by chenzen (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

horrible game. If I can give it less then 1, I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Stupid fun!

posted by EmoryM (REDMOND, WA) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

If you want to play a fun video game then give EDF! EDF! EDF! 2025 a shot - it's got the guns children crave without the usual boobs and curses that make M rated games feel anything but mature. If you want to blast giant insects for 40+ hours then EDF! EDF! EDF! has you covered.

There are 4 classes, each of which plays completely differently, as well as multiple difficulty levels and tons of unique weapons. The Air Raider, one of the classes, can call in vehicles - everything from tanks to armored ambulances. The Wing Diver is another class, which can fly, but playing a Wing Diver feels totally different than playing an Air Raider in a helicopter. Variety is the spice of life and EDF! EDF! EDF! is one spicy meatball.

Although this game plays best in coop, the servers are a mess - you'll frequently be disconnected and unable to load certain maps unless you replay a past one, etc. The online is terrible, but worth it, because once you actually get in (past all the loading and disconnects) the game is great.

The frame rate suffers when there are a lot of alpha effects and enemies on screen, which there always are, because you're fighting an entire alien invasion in cities. Luckily this is NES-style slowdown, so it gives you a bit more time to mow down the hordes of enemies (or watch yourself being shot to bits by a Hector.)

This game would be a 10/10 if they got the frame rate and online sorted - here's hoping the next game, on PS4, gets everything right!

EDF! EDF! EDF!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by smcpartlin (KELLER, TX) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Dec 2007

Wow this POS would remind you of an Arcade game back in the day... But it's not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EarthDefenseForceisforchildrenwhoplaygamesonps3sus

posted by lumerjoe (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Apr 25, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I pretty much just said what I thought of this game. It's not what I exspected, thats why I sent it back so soon. However I did enjoy playing and it is a fun game, the controler setup wasn't what I look for when playing.I liked the grafices and gameplay is interesting. It's just not what an oldman such as myself is looking for in a fighting game.I'm sure there are plenty of kids out there that will be fully intertaned and play for hours on end.I have no more to add.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Earth Defense Force

posted by surfer7 (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Mar 25, 2014

Member since May 2006

It appears that someone inadvertently slapped a PS3 label on a PS2 game. If you enjoy reminiscing over gaming from 10 years ago then this title is for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stress Relief shooting fun game

posted by Ininja (WESTBURY, NY) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Jul 2008

In the beginning, it looked like typical boring shooting game turned out to be awesome multiplayer game. I really enjoyed and had fun blasting everything in site. I am definitely EDF fan now!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »