Rent Earth Defense Force 2017 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Earth Defense Force 2017

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

2640 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

It's no Gears of War, but it's mad fun

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Mar 21, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

90 out of 100 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Essentially, this is a budget title for the 360. Brand new this game will only run you $39.99, and it shows. Graphically, it's mediocre, but who cares? Since the dawn of videogames, the most important element of a game is how fun it is, and this game is fun. I don't even know why it's fun, but I enjoy it.

EDF is a third-person shooter along the lines of GRAW or Gears but without the big budget. You can commandeer vehicles and blow up pretty much everything in the environment (trees, buildings, etc.). The game spans 50+ missions which are fairly similar. You can replay the missions on 5 progressively harder difficulty levels to unlock more life, guns, and so forth. Doing so will take a good number of hours, as will trying to earn all the Achievements (clearing all stages on each difficulty level and unlocking all of the guns).

You can tackle the missions in co-op mode also, but for whatever reason there's no online play. Multiplayer is limited to offline splitscreen, unlike most other 360 games nowadays that offer online but no splitscreen. When are developers going to get it in their heads that we want BOTH? Anyways, considering this is a budget title, maybe they just didn't have the cash to develop an online mode. Who knows.

As I said before, the graphics aren't all that good. There are, however, some little details here and there that are surprising considering the overall look of the game. The sound is horrible, though. Most of the guns sound too similar and your AI teammates repeat too often. You can even hear them blabbering after they've all been killed! Craziness...

Overall, this game is like something between a regular retail 360 game and an Xbox Live Arcade game. It's bigger and prettier than an Arcade game (and has 1000 points), but uglier and cheaper than a regular game. Honestly, I think EDF fills a missing gap in Microsoft's library, and I welcome it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Earth Defense Force 2017

posted by jlw7872 (MOUNDSVILLE, WV) Apr 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game starts kind of slow but picks up quick.
the ants and spiders come from all directions. Giant robots chasing you down. Ufo fighters shooting at you remember just stay alive. And that is on the easy levels. Tons of weapons to give this one good replay value. I recommend you try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesomely fun game!

posted by AARGH2K (STERLING, VA) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2003

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly what I wanted it to be, a downright fun game, that hearkens back to early Sci-Fi of giant monsters! Graphics are awesome for the setting it is deftly conveys. Co-op play same-screen is a blast and I wish more titles did this in lieu of Live play. Tons of weapons, REALLY destructible environments, and a blast to play. Scale of the enemies is amazing, and really makes the game more than anything else I have ever played.

Not big on story, no scoring, just kill or be killed! Only 2 complaints (and minor) is during the final boss battle there was some serious slowdown, and the vehicles are nearly useless as they damage too easily and are fairly slow to turn (tank, mech and chopper).

This is Robotron for the Next gen, plain and simple. A great game that anyone can pick up and play, so great for friends new to gaming to play! I will most definitely buy (from Gamefly of course)!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kicks Butt!!

posted by ZuluMan (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is not the most sophisticated title for the 360, but for shear blasting madness it is a awesome. Great game for when you want to just have some alien butt-kicking fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Laugh at the flaws and enjoy the rest

posted by GesusFish (Worcester, MA) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I saw another review hit it right in their title; "Don't Dismiss this game". This is not Gears of War. This is not Oblivion. If you get this $40 budget title expecting that level of depth in gameplay then you are going to be disappointed. However, what this game has it delivers on to make this a game worth playing, if not buying. (I clicked "keep it" after the first level)
For those of you not familiar with this game it is a 3rd person shooter with giant insects, giant-er robots, and even hugigantor-er drop ships (they really are friggan huge). The missions (and there are 53 of them) are short (about 5-7 minutes or less) and basically consist of kill anything that's coming at you. There are 5 levels of difficulty (beating each one is 5 of the 6 achievements) and a ton of weapons to pick up (there's the last achievement). There's really no more depth to the game than that. But don't underestimate the fun of blowing up giant robots just yet.

Graphics: This is where a lot of the flaws come in. When you kill the giant ants they will go flying through the air in one piece (haha, physics engine) and sometimes stuff gets stuck in walls. But if you ignore the occasional moment of cheesiness everything else looks very pretty. The robots are especially impressive.

Control/gameplay: the gameplay is fun but repetitive. You just shoot and kill everything you see. You can blow up buildings easilly, and pilot tanks, mechs, helicopter, etc. It also allows you to do this with a friend in split screen only offline play. It may be a lot of the same thing, but that thing is pretty dang sweet.

Sound: Nothing impressive here. AI comments are stupid and repetative, and the music and explosions are nothing special.

Story: it's 2017 and aliens are attacking the earth with robots and giant bugs. Kill them all...there, now you know the whole story.

Overall: I truly enjoyed this game. It's a fun, simple co-op game that the 360 needed. give it a chance, you may just join the force.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Massive battles and explosions...

posted by raynes (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is about one two things. Killing HUGE bugs and blowing up giant robots. If this sounds fun to you, you will like this game.

In reading the reviews the major complaint seems to be about the graphics. I honestly don't see what the complaint is. Many people have said this game is last gen. I completely disagree. I can't think of one last gen game where there where 20-30 120-150 foot tall enemies attacking you at one time. The enemies are detailed too. There might be only about 10 different types, but trust me when you have a swarm of 100 foot tall red ants attacking you, variety really doesn't matter.

One of the things that I haven't seen mentioned is how really grand the battles seem. I've been playing video games for almost 30 years now and I can never remember a game that made me feel like aliens were invading Earth. Wave after wave of giant aliens. And let me tell you when you hit one of the 100 foot tall alien robots, there isn't a tiny explosion. The entire screen shakes and you see nothing but a wall of fire covering everything.

Is there a whole bunch of depth? No. Asking this game to have depth would be like asking for Galaga to have depth. The game is about mindless shooting and killing of monsters. Go in expecting that, you will be thrilled. Go in expecting more, you will be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ever magnified an ant? This is Ten times better!!

posted by 65Impala (Grand Rapids, MN) May 11, 2007

Member since May 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is alot of fun for the following reasons. You get to fire large weapons at large bugs, you can use tanks, mech's, and speed bike deals. it is non stop action, and looks like a 50's sci fi movie. its alot of fun... although if you don't like non stop mindless killing with little story line, its not the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is for you if like action, unlimited amm

posted by BigJoeker (FALLON, NV) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is for you if like action, unlimited ammo, and massive bugs and robots...like me. Aliens have started an attack on Earth and the EDF equip you with tons of different types of weapons varying in power; armored peircing sniper rifle to a bomb so big it'll litteraly destroy a block. Just when you think that the bugs and robots couldn't get any bigger...they amaze you with a newer and bigger one.

But Be wise on what weapon you choose on a mission. Chose a bad one for the type of area of battle ahead...and you are doomed before the loading screen finishes. If you choose a shot gun on a open map..your done. Unlike most games this game does not slow down with more then 30 objects on the screen. You'll be sorrounded by 20 ants and 10 spiders while 4-6 robots that launch plasma cannons at you, alien fighters, and while your teammates run along side you fighting to live; all at the same time a drop ship is dropping more robots and bugs.

Now you just shoot on foot, you can use a Heli, Speeder Bike, Mech(slow but effective) and a Tank. And bosses..they're a good bit. One give out much...but i'll just say-- if you hate Godzilla...feel free to let him know.

Short Version: Grafics are good, detail is great but not...next gen. The game is a blast to play, tons of levels to keep you entertained, and if you need to feel challeneged, "try" Inferno mode. Plenty of fun weapons, point blank an enemy with a shotty and prepare to laugh. Unlimited ammo is always a plus, no need to cheat it in.

Bluntly Version: Buy it or rent it, either way you'll love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

edf 2017

posted by fmlmcd (BEDFORD, TX) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

earth defense force 2017 is a fun game.graphics are ok but gameplay is pretty fun.you fight ants and spiders in this game.even though the critics of gamefly gave it a 5.5 out of ten its still pretty good and fun to play.you get to fight with future guns in this game.and dont let the graphics fool you.good but not great.7 out of 10.its also a good game for co-op two players can play in this game.you get to fight in the heart of japan.once again i say good game but not great.its a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Fun

posted by RabidLlama (SANTA MONICA, CA) May 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game has gotten some low reviews, and I know why. The graphics aren't really up to XBox 360 level, and the production values are pretty rock-bottom.

However, this game is FUN. Incredibly fun. This game involves you running around with an infinite-ammo gun or rocket launcher or grenade launcher or any other number of weapons, and using those weapons to slaughter hundreds of giant bugs, or shoot down UFOs, or battle with giant robots shooting explosive purple lasers at you.

Every building in the game is destructible. They don't break dynamically, and there's no physics to speak of, and the pieces just disappear into the ground, leading to cries of "this game's graphics suck!". But that doesn't make leveling entire city blocks any less fun. Plus, part of the reason the graphics are lacking is so that the game can render dozens of buildings and hundreds of enemies at the same time.

The characters in the game have horrible voice acting, but to me that's just charming. The translation itself is fine, but the voices are obviously low-budget and hilarious.

The collection aspect of the game is fun as well -- as you kill enemies, they drop weapon pickups, and if you get them and survive the stage, you get those new weapons forever. So not only are there 50+ levels to conquer, you also have 300+ weapons to collect.

A final note: PLAY THIS GAME CO-OP. The cooperative play is fantastic, especially at the higher difficulties when it's a constant life-or-death struggle.

All in all, this game might not be a buy for everybody, but it is most certainly worth renting for anybody who has ever enjoyed a Godzilla movie, an action film, or using a magnifying glass to fry poor, unsuspecting ants.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"You kill bugs good" -Private Sugar Watkins

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok so the bugs aren't of the Arachnid variety (ala Starship Troopers movie) but just like the movie the game is good mindless fun. On the day I got it I thought I'd quickly pop it in and check it out before going to bed. I figured only a couple of hours had passed but next thing I knew it was 3 in the morning. While the story isn't the best, the levels move pretty quickly, and with 53 of them there's a lot that'll keep you busy. Before sending it back (since the "keep it" option wasn't available :( ) I was able to clear all of the normal and most of the easy levels in less than 10 hours. The only reason I didn't finish the easy is because after awhile the game does get a bit repetitive. Fortunately it's the type of game you can easily drop in, finish a level or two when you are looking to blow a little time and then stick it back on the shelf for awhile.

As others have mentioned the graphics are not the best, and sometimes when you get into the thick of things it's hard to figure out what's going on. Also while there is a nice variety of weapons (the assault rifle/rocket launcher combo being the best IMHO) and vehicles, I found all of the vehicles difficult to control. The tank was the easiest, the walker was ok if you didn't want to turn, the hoverbike was good in getting you places quickly but not something I would fight from and the only thing I was able to do with the helicopter was fly in circles and crash ;)

Despite all the problems mentioned (which is why I gave it a 7 instead of something higher), I found the game thoroughly enjoyable and since it can be picked up for less than $20 these days it is quite a bargain considering the amount of time it should take to get through all the levels on all the difficulties (if you are of the type that likes to do this sort of thing and wants all the achievement points).

Bottom line is if you are looking for a good mindless game to blow some time on look no further.

"Everyone is doing their part. Are you?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

EDF 2017

posted by CODEWERKX (MOUNT VERNON, NY) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

i anxiously awaited the arrival of this game, so much so that i had to go to Blockbuster to rent it as it was on 'short wait'.
the grafx: well, it does not LOOK like a xbox 360 game but the amount of on screen activity shows power harnessed.
premise: the earth has been invaded by aliens (again !!!) who are either insects or robots or humanoid or another life form...but it is clear that insects and robots are doing there earthbound destruction. you, as a member of edf have the distinct pleasure of wiping them out and making the earth safe !!!!
sound: nice...blows up real good.
control: total intuitive controls, easy to master and a breeze to use.
opinion: i had a real blast playing this game...i am at the last mission (52) on easy setting. as you play, you get more weapons. the trick is to match the right weapon combination to each mission. my fave is the v-shot assault rifle and the cascade launcher. some tactic i have come up with:
one: approach the invasion hoard, then using the assault rifle BACK-UP they move forward....keep you back clear. next when there is only one red dot on the radar, run round and pick-up all the health, weapons, and armour...THEN get the last alien. if you cannot find that last alien, look up....chances are it is a flying ship. bottom line...i will finish the last level on easy and then try the next degree of difficulty. so, if you like whizz-bang shooters....stop reading this and get EDF.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't Dismiss this Game.

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

A lot of fun. Going around shooting and blowing up huge monsters. Out-of-control action. Game is worth playing. Simple controls. Graphics look great. Sound is OK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ready to fight some bugs, soldier?

posted by Gyojiro (CEDAR PARK, TX) May 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Earth Defense Force 2017 is the ultimate action gamer's shangri-la. Alien blood is spewing everywhere, you have infinite ammo, the sounds of explosions and gunfire surround you as you launch a rocket into a hundred story building, swarming with ants, and watch it topple to the ground.
The graphics for this game have been described as 'mediocre', but I disagree, the only bad part about the graphics is that the game will start to lag with hundreds of giant ants, robots, or UFO's on screen. Otherwise, the blood splatters nicely, the buildings look like they're actually toppling, and the sun shimmers off the carapaces of the bugs and the armor of the giant robots.
It sounds great, and the ambient talking of the EDF soldiers really makes it feel somewhat realistic. (As realistic as this game can be...)
The most fun part of this game, to me, was collecting the over 150 different types of weapons. Some are useless on some levels, and some are perfect on others.
Oh, and speaking of levels, did I mention there are over 50? Some taking well over 10 minutes on the easiest setting? This game is long, and carries a high replay value, as each difficulty setting is well defined.
My opinion? Buy it. For it's price ($39.99) It's a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Holy Shoot!

posted by ConradoRBD (OCEANSIDE, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wow, wow wow wow wow. this game is extremely fun and addictive, the gameplay rocks, and there's lots of cool weapons and collossal enemies to defeat. I give this game a 9/10 because it is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best "Budget" CO-OP Title EVER!! Also has VS

posted by IMM0LAT0R (ROSEBURG, OR) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is one of THE BEST CO-OP games for the 360. The graphics set the ambiance perfectly for what this game is all about. Shooting giant Ants, Robots, Spiders, Walkers, Space Ships and "Vallak Dino-Mechs" (AKA Mech-Godzilla). This game is a little repetitive and it STARTS OUT SLOW but it pays off in the end with - 170 unlockable weapons, 5 difficulty levels, 53 missions, and 4 vehicles.

Sure the game slows down sometimes, thats because of the huge area you can see at any time (3000 meters), including destroyable buildings, the mass amounts of enemies, explosions, GREEN alien blood, ant-acid (Look up Formic Acid on Wikipedia), spider webs, bullets, missiles, smoke, pick-ups, friendly AI, radio chatter(story progression - I recommend you turn way down)

Weapons are split into 7 groups: Assault rifles, Shotguns, Sniper Rifles, Rocket Launchers, (homing) Missiles, Grenades (includes grenade launchers), and Special Weapons.

Sure the vehicles are too weak to actually use in combat, but then again this is a shooter not a vehicle based game so it doesn't matter at all.

(As of 7/9/07)
(Stamina: 2313)
(Weapons Found 101)
(Missions Complete 37.36%)
(Play Time 20h23m11s)
(I have already beat this game on easy with a friend and I am now working on normal+. We beat the 2nd level and level 18 on insane =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It Was Good...

posted by Redneck747 (ALVA, FL) May 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Overall a solid game with really fun experience. me and my friend beat it in one nite so its a little short but a really sweet co-op game to play with a buddy. Graphics are Mid-Range but it dont matter cause this game was pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Neanderthal fun at its finest...

posted by fanboyking (INDEPENDENCE, OR) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Before reading this, a caveat, remember that this game has no place for strategy or for stopping to think. An uncompromisingly visceral thrill ride, every moment in EDF 2017 is a pleasure to play. The perfect game to relax with. Don't expect to play for long bursts of time but for what it is this game is quite good. Over 100 weapons and over 40 missions mean that this game has a lot of meat on its bones but playing for too long at once can cause the game to lose its thrill as the hand of monotony gets a grip on the fun. However, if a player bears this in mind they can eke many hours of fun out of EDF 2017.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Earth Defense Force 2017

posted by chubbers55 (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pretty much no story, but fighting massive amounts of huge bugs and robots turns out to be a lot of fun. Somewhat repetitive, but it has co-op play which is strides ahead of single player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Two player split screen is awesome !!

posted by EKyger (AUBURN, WA) May 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the best 360 game so far for two player split screen. My room mate and I beat it three times so far !! Note, beat it all on easy, then normal, then hard, etc. You keep what health you pick up forever so the only way to win on harder levels is to have beat the easy levels. Ok so this game is kinda cheap and is kinda like a old monster movie. Who doesn't like to Godzilla? Better yet who doesn't want to kill Godzilla?? There is giant ants, spiders, a Godzilla type creature all to be slaughtered by a crazy amount of weapondry !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for split screen co-op!

posted by leslie645 (HARRODSBURG, KY) May 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a fun game for split screen co-op. Its also nice and long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

B-Game

posted by grittyj (MADISON, WI) May 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Cheesy, shallow, repetitive; usually these descriptions mark a bad game. In the case of EDF 2017, they work. The B quality of the game makes for hours of mindless fun. It does not try to be a groundbreaking, well-written, graphical achievement; instead, it only tries to be enjoyable and nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its fun!!

posted by shoupdogg (WINCHESTER, VA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its not the best game, but hey it not the worst. It is however bug slaying mayhem...throw in some giant robots and you have a couple hours of raw fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Addictive Low Tech Game

posted by d448105 (WARMINSTER, PA) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Although this game looks and plays more like an old xbox or ps2 title, this game is strangely addictive because it's fun to play. Once you earn the right weapons, all come with unlimited ammo, it's full speed ahead, blow up everything in sight, even buildings and bridges. I agree with the critics reviews. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Big levels, big monsters and big guns

posted by Steelhead (BONNEY LAKE, WA) May 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Lots to kill and some crazy firepower to take them down with.
The game is fun but repetitive and has an arcade feel to it that the developer makes evidently the goal with oldschool 2D powerups laying around.
The game has great weapons and a big fun factor but can get stale rather quickly with really only a handful of mission types repeated over and over for close to 50 stages although it has some fun boss fights as well.
What drags the game down for me are the horrid vehical controls, below average graphics, bad presentation and awful soundtrack, lack of online play is also very disappointing considering it has co op play.
Overall the game is just to low calibur overall to get a good score but I would give it an 8 on the fun factor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse