Rent EA Sports NBA Jam for PS3
view large frontback

EA Sports NBA Jam

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
6.2

1747 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A nice attempt at remaking an arcade classic.

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Dec 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NBA Jam sticks to its roots and offers some fun, arcade style, 2 on 2, basketball. All the teams are represented as well as key players. The sound and graphics are decent for this type of game and the play modes are plentiful enough to keep you playing for hours. However, this game suffers in the controls department. The controls seem unresponsive at times and your partner AI is all over the place. I wish there was an option to allow you to control each player. Other than that, those who rent NBA Jam will have a nice time for a little while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the games AWSOMe but it still CHEATS!!!!

posted by mikeoxbig (WALDORF, MD) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

over all this was one of the more anticipated games of the yea for me. i have been around long enough to say i played the original NBA jam on SNES more then a few times. this is a fresh update to an old classic. the game play is similar to the original with a MEGA graphics update. the game play is still fast paced but no matter how good u are at the game it will ALWAYS cheat to catch up, and sometimes just flat out destroy you. i am a HARDCORE gamer and for kicks i was playing on EASY. and this is a warning to parents getting this for your young child. i MANY times was shocked by the absolute BS that the game started to pull. it is exactly like it used to be. it still lives on as the most computer sided game i have ever played. the "boss battles" were a nice addition to challenging veteran gamers, but the amount of times you need to attempt them is a joke. a younger child would have NEVER beaten ANY of the boss battles even on easy. there is NO information on how to play them as in most game where you have to perform a certain action in order to gain an advantage. also there is a "REMIX" mode in which it really brings a new exciting aspect to the game. you can play Smash, Domination, 21, or a remix game(which is like old NBA jam) which has the power ups. as a side note all the favorite catch phrases are still there with a few new ones to make u laugh.
Over all this is a 10/10 game it was EVERYTHING i hoped an so much more. have fun jamming it in there face. HES ON FIRE!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lacking something...

posted by wifen3kids (CLEMMONS, NC) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

... excitement, it's lacking excitement that the original had in the arcade. Gameplay is average, gets boring very quickly. If you don't have a few buddies to play with then skip this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BOOMSHAKALAKA!

posted by spiderkid (MCKINNEY, TX) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

awsome game! its the best arcade remake i've ever played. no flaws, no glitches, and no boredom. the narrator from the origanal game is back and hilarious! only one more thing to say: BOOMSHAKALAKA!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

excited to receive it, extrmly disaptd playing it

posted by fishoof38 (NORTH PORT, FL) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I used to play the original one, on Sega megadrive and thought it was one heck of a good game....the nowadays isnt great at all....am extremly disapointed by everything...
Gameplay, music, comments....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent but a carbon copy

posted by splitty64 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you were a fan of the first NBA Jam, then you will enjoy playing this for a few days. Unfortunately, there are little to no updates besides the roster and a few mini games. They should have spent more time making this game deeper. AND THE ABSOLUTE BIGGEST PROBLEM = Fire somehow makes you worse! In the old game you could drain 3's while on fire, in the updated version (at least in the 30 or so games i played) your FG % gets SIGNIFICANTLY WORSE while on fire. Bizarre I know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nba jam

posted by goretime80 (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME REALLY SUCKS AND SHOULD HAVE STAY WHERE IT WAS IN THE 90'S

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Weak Sauce

posted by naughtypug (GLENDALE, CA) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

This rental was a disappointment. This game might as well be a download from the PSN store, it doesnt even deserve a BLU-RAY disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not close to the 90s classic! An urban mess!

posted by Jetknight (CLEVELAND, OH) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Nov 2008

This is one of the titles that should had been left on the 90s vault of memories. As a former 90s teenager and now an adult, I am huge fan of akklaim/iguana NBA jam and it's 90s music and gameplay style. When I rented this game I was expecting a graphical update to the original sort of like Nba hang time was,and what I got was a huge mess of a game. Starting with the awful Hip Hop music and urban getto style gameplay. The soon as I heard the urban music I shut it down and shipped it back. If you don't mind the urban style gameplay then go ahead and give it a try but if you are like me and wished they would had stood to the original arcade style gameplay then stay far far away from this mess of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brings back memories!!!

posted by htmn2054 (RED HILL, PA) May 13, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I got this game expecting an exact copy of the awesome game I remember so fondly from my childhood. I was therefore surprised when it turned out differently than I expected, although it is a good surprise. I love that they kept the traditional elements like getting "ON FIRE", as well as the 2-on-2 street ball action that made the game so entertaining.

I have thoroughly enjoyed some of the extra games they have added to make the game more interesting for this generation. Not only have they updated the players and teams (which I did expect), they have added games like "21" and "Smash", where you try to destroy the other team's backboard. All in all, a great game that is fun to play by yourself or with a friend or 3. Booyah!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by BBoy17 (CLACKAMAS, OR) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Game is Horrible cheats way to much and gets very tedious after about an thirty minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8/10

posted by MikeDQ (TRENTON, NJ) Aug 8, 2012

Member since May 2011

So incredibly true to the original. The only points making it NOT a 10/10 was -1 for the computer cheats real bad, and -1 not having Michael in the game whatsoever. I know its probably a money contract thing, but that was a HUGE letdown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Computer cheates a lot...

posted by gtgames09 (LAUREL, MD) May 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

this was a wasted rental, thought it was going to be good, most of the trophies are easy to get except to finish the remix tour since the computer cheates a lot....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun! Just about true to the original

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

I got NBA jam because I remembered how fun it was to play on sega genesis/super nintendo in the early 90's when it first came out. It has big-head mode and is just as fun and outrageous as the original, and has the bonus of trophies and updated mechanics, etc.

I wish I had another person to play with beside me, but even playing one player mode is fun and keeps me entertained and laughing the whole time. A good rental, and I definitely recommend this one. Don't miss out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what it use to be.

posted by Mdot1988 (TRENTON, NJ) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Now that I look back at when I use to play this game as a kid, it was son fun and exciting. Now you look at it today and just say this game is not what it was before. I was shocked to see them remake such a great classic into a boring no show for remake. This game is great for kids but us adults, well for most of us adults I don't know about this game. If your smart please rent before you buy, or better yet read the comments and don't rent or buy at all lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

its ok

posted by jason162 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 30, 2011

Member since May 2008

disappointing a little its the same as the original nothing special the nostalgia feeling came back for a moment, online sucks keep getting disconnection I'm not a fan if nba games, I return it the day I got it not my type of game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

nba jam

posted by 321 (HAMPTON, VA) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

you can not control the other player this is ps3 what in the world!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BLAST FROM THE PAST

posted by kingAhole (WESTON, WV) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I grew up playing NBA JAM and always loved it. It's a fun take on basketball tht allows you to cut out the extra players and just use your favorite to rock the rim or drain some threes. When I heard they remade it I was pumped, but it has BLOWN AWAY my expoectations...ouutside of the fun of having so many current superstars in it, the amount of unlockable legends is staggering and adds alot of depth to the game. The new games modes are outstanding, as I remember playing 21 with friends daily and can now pit Dirk against Lebron and Kobe in a game....Judos to EA Sports for taking an old favorite and making it even better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nba jam

posted by spickey86 (ALSIP, IL) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i havent receive the game nba jam i just wondering when is it going 2 be here

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

gamefly

posted by swagking1235 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jun 12, 2011

Member since May 2011

i have sent nba jam back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

beast game

posted by billy02 (HARRODSBURG, KY) May 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

you can dunk from free throw line michael jordan not that impressive any more shaq can do it now you can make HALF cort shots at the busser for a beater.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by Leo123435 (TAMPA, FL) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

At first i thought this game would be epic i mean they tried to remake the classic but they didn't necessarily succeed . i mean it was good at first but then it got Very Very boring i don't necessarily recommend this game i mean i liked it but it got very boring .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was fun... for a day or two.

posted by SuperChargeD (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I was a big fan of this when it came out on Genesis (or Super NES) in the late 90's and I guess I expected it to be just as fun. The first few games I played did take me back, but after a while it became kind of boring. I would deifinitely check this out, but be ready to send it back right away. 5 stars is me being nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

old school

posted by olderthan35 (FOREST, VA) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

If u played this game as a kid like i did it's worth a try for a week just to make feel young again. It's not great,but fun to play with or against your friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sucker for Nostalgia

posted by F0ldsAtHom (SANTA MARIA, CA) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

To get a better view of graphics/sound/controls read the other reviews. This, like all my reviews, is written for an audience in their early to mid 30s.

The best thing about this game is that you don't even need to like basketball to play and enjoy NBA Jam. I can't watch a real basketball game and stay interested nor could I bounce a ball and run at the same time, but basketball video games have always been enjoyable. If you're not already familiar with NBA Jam, this game is nothing like NBA 2K11 (which was also a fine game and a lot of fun). It's silly, fast, over the top, and a ridiculous amount of fun for a gamer of any age.

The players/teams are obviously modernized but this is the same old game that has provided countless hours of mind-numbing entertainment. On that level it delivers. The control is the same as it was on the SNES and N64 but the PS3 version delivers that arcade quality experience where those aforementioned consoles failed yet each iteration of this game brings it.

Not much more needs to be said. NBA Jam is as fun as it ever was and like any well seasoned game that can be picked up and put down and played for good old fashioned fun (think Mortal Kombats, Street Fighters and the timeless Super Mario All-stars) the replay value is close to infinite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse