Rent EA Sports MMA for PS3
view large frontback

EA Sports MMA

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

919 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

It's not bad...but not what it could be.

posted by Idolpop (BURLINGAME, CA) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The good: Graphics are alright, the submissions feel more realistic than UFC Undisputed, you really feel like you can finish the fight if you smell blood, gameplans work well - ie keeping the fight on the feet if you're a striker etc. The take downs are more impressive and fluid.

The Meh: The career system is ok but could be so much more. You can only get 16 special moves and there aren't a ton of moves to choose from. Why are we earning money if we can't purchase anything? I would love to have a career mode that felt like an actual career and not just a slow tournament. I like this game...but I wouldn't buy it. Let's face it...UFC will always win because they have the top fighters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok I guess

posted by CAMERICA1 (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really liked the graphics, but the gamep seems really simple. Using L3 and R3 to punch and kick does not work that well as it did in EA boxing game. I still give UFC the edge due to the range of fighters that they have. I have no clue why they put Overeem in the light heavyweight division as well. This guy has not fought in that division in years. Thank God I only rented it.lay seems to be so simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WOW Armbar just like evrybody else....

posted by buccaneers (SPRING HILL, FL) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well if u end up liking this game its because u never heard my oinion. This game will seriously make u sweat at times and ends up being a button smasher and u get no satisfaction. Traning is pointless and u get money for pretty much craps and giggles, dont buy, heck dont rent

Pros: KInda fun carrer mode

Cons: Repetitive and at times pointless

Final: 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I dig it! Better than ufc

posted by sambino (Rogers, AR) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2006

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge UFC fan and played this years game, the controls were way harder than 2009 and I just wasn't satisfied with it. I've played MMA for about 2 hours now and the controls are alot easier to master and control and I can actually roll around on the ground and submit people! I don't like the Strikefarce commentators but they do a good enough job here. Very enjoyable game and more options as far as career training goes than UFC 2010.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okayy

posted by scottnc18 (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was way better than ufc at first, in the career mode atleast. but i was sad to find out that you can only fight 40 fights then your career ends, and as far as online goes i love the belt system but its pretty impossible to win and there is tons of lag... but besides that its an okay game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If You Are An MMA Fan Check This One Out

posted by JohnnyBoi1 (STOCKTON, CA) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't enjoy this game at first, its a game that grows on you. If you have been playing the UFC game you first notice that the control scheme is completely different, Punches and Kicks are all thrown with the right stick and grapples are down with buttons. First couple of fights you will be getting taken down with no fuss getting your ground game shredded into pieces(I SUGGEST CHANGING THE CONTROL SCHEME). The graphics in the game are some of the best in any sports game, in hard fights, fighters look tired beaten bloody, leg kicks are a visual treat. My only complaints would be the speed of the game kicks and punches look slow and feel slow when throwing strikes and takedowns. I was really feeling the submission game compared to the ufc, in undisputed its nearly impossible to submit anyone no matter who you faced or who fast you would rotate the stick. The Roster is pretty diverse too, fron Shinya Aoki to Bas Rutten its a Die Hard MMA fans dream. I love how this game celebrates the whole world of mma It even has the Crazy screaming announcer lady that does Dream events.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREATEST

posted by VADERSHOT (COLUMBUS, GA) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

GREATEST MMA GAME TO DATE....GREAT GRAPHICS....GREAT LOGIC..GREAT AUTHENTICITY ...SLOW LOADING ........SMOOTH GAMEPLAY...INTENCE MATCHES....JUST GREAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EA MMA vs UFC 2010 UFC FTW

posted by JonM7o3 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

this game is awful the graphics are okay but the gameplay is some garbage stick with UFC! EA just sucks and im happy 2K sports is owning the with the NBA games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good graphics but gameplay sucks

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

thats the whole reason i gave this game a 4 is because of the graphics other wise id gave it lower . the gameplay itself sucks because the career is very much lacking i mean within like 45min-1hr you can win 3-4 titles and within like idk like 8 hrs or so u beat the career np. this is a must rent save your money this tbh isn't imo even worth the rent but thats just me yes i rented it but to after the fact realized that i shouldn't have rented it . as for the online part i dont care about for the fact you got to buy the online unlock or buy the game to get online for the game so i could care less about it . the ground game now i do like for the fact its much easier to get off the ground quicker than u would from UFC and also lot harder to get a submission altho im not complaining about that but they could of did more testing/tweaking to this game before they released it . ill stick with UFC 10 tho cuz EA Sucks when it comes to MMA genre games imo . but they do have THQ beat in the Controls way easier and training mode in career mode also is a lot easier too .as far as blood well you dont see to much of it i think i seen a little blood when i got kneed in the head and the guy busted my nose open that was the only time i think i saw blood in the game so their is little to no blood in the game as in UFC . far as difficulty i had it on all 3 settings and all 3(easy ,Medium and hard) they all were way to easy in this game to beat even on hard ppl were still droping like flys in few short seconds .

over all id buy UFC and rent MMA .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sit on you

posted by umbrella543 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

wrestler sit on you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good, but not thought through.

posted by DXfan98 (CREOLA, AL) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game isn't a really good start to an MMA series. The developers barely focused on anything other than Career Mode. Career mode is good, but it could be bigger and better, there should be a create mode for something other than career mode, and even then the create mode lacked the creativity of other fighting games. The physics are good, but there are a lot of noticeable glitches. The graphics stand out well, but this game is lacks quality and quantity. I advise that you only rent this, but don't but it. It can get boring quickly. It's better to wait for the 2011 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST MMA GAME AROUND!

posted by titodrz (PROVIDENCE, RI) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

BEST MMA GAME AROUND! simple as that sure beats UFC 2010 and 2011.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible gameplay and control

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 42 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

of no use to anyone with at least 1/4 of a brain cell

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by santo974 (HIALEAH, FL) May 21, 2013

Member since May 2013

lots of fun undifeted record of 31-0 so far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not fun after you takedown someone :(

posted by Rampage24 (SOMERVILLE, TX) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

this game is not the best but it offers a little entertainment. the graphics are good don't get me wrong , the punches don't conect half the time if at all , sure ea master the muscle flexing but still character models don't look that good , the game gets glitchie most of the time and also when you your chin is a 100 you get knock out by some of the weakest strikers. I spent one night and beat the story twice and i was like this is it so i put it back in the mail the next morning. sorry i didn't explian more but for me thats about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

EA MMA

posted by Joey17 (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

HI GAMEFLY PEOPLE CN U PUT MY BRO GAME IN THE MAIL SO HE CN PLAY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loads of fun

posted by lonewlf4 (LA PUENTE, CA) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

All I can really say is I enjoyed this way more then UFC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It works...

posted by gump420 (VALLEY CENTER, CA) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

If you've played any of the EA sports boxing games, it should feel pretty similar, with the exceptions being the ground game/takedowns which aren't hard at all to master. I recommend the game for people who wanna play as the fighters that aren't in any of the UFC games, cuz quite frankly, this game can't hold a candle to any of the Undisputed titles out there right now, but it is still fun in it's own right. However I do think the career mode might be better, it plays out well, with you being a tûrd and polishing into a diamond...and also because i'm a fan of Bas Rutten who always brings the funny (and pain of course).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EA+MMA= disappointment (Stick to boxing)

posted by TheBeesNees (KATY, TX) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

O.K. when i heard EA came out with this game i thought hmmm well thats cool. I'm a die hard MMA fan thinking this is the first MMA game by EA sports it has to be a bad mother (shut yo mouth!) coming up from playing knockout kings on the N64 and now wanting to come out with a game thats rising in todays sports? That's a pretty big step. Unlike all EA fighting games the controlling system is confusing. The ground game controller is very confusing and not helpful at all. The only way I can win is with a KO. If i wanted to keep wining with a KO I would of got Fight Night. I started playing UFC Undisputed before this game and let me tell you I didn't come out guns blazing being the badest guy on the block. It took me a while to get use to it, but this game? First time I put this game in my system I took it back out put it in the sleeve and sent it back. I sugest UFC Undisputed 2010 the tutorials are very helpful and pretty easy to catch on, or you can wait til January like me for UFC Undisputed 3. So EA please do me a favor? Stick to football not MMA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

VERY GOOD GAME!

posted by Carlos820 (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This game is amazing..you actually need strategy to fight and the graphics are so smooth way better than UFC...the only thing that really lags is the career mode is too simple and wish you had more freedom instead of Bas choosing your fights oh yeah and in online mode there are a lot of body spammerws

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty darn good

posted by kuchiyose (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

I was a little hesitant to go to analog stick control over buttons presses but EA definitely made it work. And actually being able to pull off a submission was effortless compared to UFC. a career mode that wasn't a seriously boring grind helped too. Along w/ the option to join different leagues w/ different rules helped have some variety to the game. And an awesome replays you have can b uploaded for the world to see. I think I'll be picking up the next installment of this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great mechanics

posted by rusty (WALLINGFORD, PA) Apr 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I really love the mechanics of the game, so well put together. And the commentating alone is fun and really reactive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad for EAs first MMA game.

posted by boogieman833 (SPRINGDALE, AR) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The Good: great physics, realistic stats for appropriate style, mixture of martial art fighting styles - Muay Thai, Sambo, Wrestling, Judo, Jui-Jitsu, Kickboxing, Boxing, Brawler and Generalist - good cast of underated fighters including Fedor Emelianenko, Randy Couture, Ken Shamrock and other notable fghters.

The Bad: bad presentation, limited fighting techniques, nothing to set one style apart from another except stats because every style can do and learn the same techniques. some glitches like skipping fighters' entrances in career mode.

The Ugly: very rarely will you land a flush ko because it is a timing thing, but you can have an abudance of TKO's with a striker. if you are a judo guy who has outstanding strikng skills, you will still lose against a striker who only has average striking skills - not very realistic. the last thing: there are no knees from side control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mma

posted by Mclovin446 (SHEFFIELD LAKE, OH) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

this is a vary good game if your looking for a fighting game this is the game you should get you well love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse