Rent EA Sports: Grand Slam Tennis 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

EA Sports: Grand Slam Tennis 2

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.1

320 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nothing's Changed in Tennis Games for over 10y

posted by jco123psu (CLEARFIELD, PA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the same Tennis game you've played over and over. Sure, the graphics are decent, and the inclusion of actual tour majors is neat, but that's about where the fun ends.

The new Shot Stick controls are NOT intuitive whatsoever. I used the traditional arcade style controls pretty much for the entirety of my time with the game.

The AI in tennis games hasn't made great strides, either. My 35 OVR rated "Offensive Baseliner" was able to win EVERY match I played without dropping a single game with the same serve-volley mentality that crushed AI in every tennis game I've played since Virtua Tennis 1.

Career mode gets repetitive and old after only a few tournaments.

Nothing good to say about this game... except the graphics. Don't let those waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

JUST LIKE THE REST, WITH BETTER GRAPHICS

posted by analya (NILES, MI) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

well this game graphic wise is awesome, great detail to each player, with lifelike animations that each player does in real life. plus you get to relive some of the greatest matches in tennis history and have your part in playing them, great feature.

but the controls of this game make it not worth it. in my personal opinion, there has never and probably will never be a fun tennis game to me, they are all the same boring game. the movement of the players in unrealistic, the shot stick is too much of a hassle, just not a good game unless u want it for graphic purposes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great addition to the genre

posted by Maestro411 (HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

With the recent lack of decent tennis games over the years EA suprised me with this one. Unlike the original on the wii, this one is more on the serious side. You have two options simultaneously on how you want to control the action with either the controller thumb sticks or hitting with the buttons. I am suprised no Kinect feature was implemented to add an extra option considering the ps3 version supports the move but even without, the game provides a good amount of fun. Wimbledon also is now included as a venue which is nice giving you all four grand slam events.

Added to the game like some other EA titles is the ability to add your face in the game via the EA Game Face feature on thier website which can be suprisingly accurate. Career mode can seem a bit repetative at times and also from my experience a bit easy. Another nice gameplay option is the ability to replay classic grand slam moments in history at certain points in the match.
One big dissapointment for me was the commentary. By the time you have played 3-4 matches, you will begin to hear some of the same things over and over again. You may even want to eventually turn them down completley.

Overall if your a tennis game fan, I would highley recommend this to at the very least rent. No need to worry about EA's online pass with this one whether you rent it or buy (although it does come with an online pass code), they have confirmed they disabled it with this game due to "technical issues with the registration system", but regardless thats a plus and can make it easier to resell if you would like to purchase.

Gaphics 9/10
Gameplay 8/10
Commentary 3/10
Replay Value 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DONT TRUST THE OTHER REVIEWS!

posted by colombiamix (UNION CITY, NJ) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all guys don't trust the other review SERIOUSLY i thought for a long time to get this game but i soon as i saw all the 6 and 5 and 3 and 1 reviews i was a little skeptical BUT i WHEN ON AND GOT IT AND TO TELL U THE TRUTH I LIKE THE GAME......ALL THIS TALK ABOUT THE CONTROL BIG LIE.....maybe for people that start a career on this game without even going to the practice mode OF COURSE U WILL GET UR butt kick so stop by the practice mode beat the objectives get a game or two and U will be on your way to play......i did it and this is my first tennis game ever..... my record CARRER (66-0) O LINE (45-2)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Can't stop playing

posted by kaneatom (FARMINGTON HILLS, MI) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is super fun... period. I have fun playing it and i think that everyone should at least TRY it but.. the game has intense moments... very acurate hit detection... Career is so so.. could be more fleshed out but still over all solid game no lag online either

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Career mode is horrible

posted by KTurner (BLAWNOX, PA) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2004

Let me start off by saying that I play tennis every week and simply love the game and thought I would also love this game but I truly don't and let me explain.

First off I love the controls and using the analog stick to make shots. Takes a little to get used to after many years of video game tennis where you hold the button down and then let go to make a shot. If you are confused with the controls I recommend you do the training and you also have the option of the normal button style if you desire. I hope all future tennis games use this style of control as again it was awesome.

Where I had the issue was with the shallow career mode. You have the ability to create your character along with importing your face which all of this went smooth. You begin by having the ability to train, play exhibition matches, and even tournaments along with the 4 majors. Your career will span for 10 years where you need to up your rankings by winning and the goal is to become the best.

This all sounds great except for the fact you can't change the difficulty level as it increases as you go throughout your 10 years. I am good with this except for the fact I was able to win every single match and tournament I was in. Take for example as i worked through my first year my overall player skill was a 40 and would play against other CPU players in a major with a skill level of 90 or higher and I would stomp them into the ground by not even losing one point or match to them. Very unrealistic and if anything they should have been kicking my butt and then as I progress I would be able to battle them and eventually win. The other issue is the fact that once you go through at least 1 year then you have seen everything and not really a point to move on. Granted the difficulty gets harder but I didn't see a challenge till after year 6 and by then it was still easy and I simply quit.

Give it a chance if you want but I was expecting more out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Grand Slam 2 Review

posted by Aowens22 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

EA Sports attempt at tennis doesn't cut it. The full package is just not there for this game.

One of my biggest problems with the game is the fact that you cannot control the difficulty in the career mode, so your first year or two is super easy and a waste of your time. It's a joke that all I have to do is serve and volley my way through every single game to win all four grand slams easily my first year which is mostly just dumb. Luckily, you can choose to play short (1 set 3 games), medium (3 sets 5 games), or long (5 sets 7 games) matches. The short matches are the only thing that kept me attempting to make it through the first couple of years. If you can bear to get through the first few years (which I can't) the game might become fun and challenging.

Secondly, in the career mode, it seems that the best players are always grouped next to each other in the tournaments. You'll find that Nadal, Federer, Roddick, and Djokovic seem to all play each other before Round 3 of most Grand Slam Tournaments. Although this has nothing to do with the actual gameplay, it is just another instance of EA Sports not paying attention to the small things in their career mode.

If I were going to take any positives out of the game it is the following... The stick controls are way better than button mashing tennis. When you find the perfect timing and master your control over the shots its an extremely satisfying feeling. Also, obviously all of the Grand Slams are in this game.

This game is headed in the right direction for EA tennis, but the career mode needs to be fixed for sure. You can get some fun out of playing some exhibitions on higher difficulty. I only recommend the game for those who just want a fun tennis game to play with friends or those who are willing to give the career mode a lot of boring time before it gets good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand slam Tennis2

posted by icecreamcone (CUMMING, GA) May 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

Grand Slam Tennis is not one of your tipical sports games. It alows you to play as all the great Tennis players and also gives you the chance to create and play as your own character. So it gives you the chance to acually live and feel the dream of having a Tennis career.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why release this?

posted by tjritter79 (READING, PA) May 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I really tried to like/pl;ay this game, really. But the controls are just horrible! the user controlled player only hits the ball 50% of the time, and thats only if you time it perfectly. I got several aces and points against me when i had my guy set up for a winning shot, only to have the game decide...unh-unh! After 2 or 3 days of trying this frustratingly bad game...I sent it back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Grand Slam Tennis 2

posted by cooldude_123 (JACKSON, GA) May 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

I am a huge tennis fan, so I was really happy when I got this in the mail. I played it non-stop for the first day, I played it a couple of hours the next, and so on. This game can get boring really fast. All you do is move the left stick to run and the right stick to hit the ball... On career there is no challenge... The only reason I gave it a 6 is because I like tennis. Only rent this game if you love tennis, like I do. It is really not worth a buy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring

posted by jshea1981 (SAN JUAN BAUTISTA, CA) May 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

was super easy and boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just got boring to quickly

posted by GotGame36 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

It started out fun but then it was the same thing over and over and over. There is no replay value and every match seemed the same.

I sent this game back after a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love the new tennis controls. 9/10

posted by joshfarc24 (RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, CA) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I can understand people really complaining about the controls for awhile (especially renting it). I was extremely frustrated when I first got it and trained with controls and then went online and got spanked (not sure why I get to play online..).

Anyway, after starting career and playing drills and matches for awhile you really start to understand how to use and time the controls along with your characters movement (as well as hitting angles and shot type depending on timing). You control all this with the right and left sticks, and I would say the learning curve is steep and takes a solid 5+hours committed to learning the entire new game controls.

The presentation is amazing, most beautiful tennis game to date, along with a great TV like atmosphere and Mr. McenRoe(sp?) announcing is solid. Feels like the other sports games broadcast style. Career has enough depth to be fun creating a character and building him up, plus I feel its the best way to learn the new controls with the drills and building up from slower hitting to faster (really helps you get used to it).

Online play is great. Not much lag too often, and while there are some people that are just too good at the game and destroy me, about 50% of the matches are really competitive and I've played about 10 hours over the past few days in career before going back online, and now I'm solid.

Great overall game with great online modes, characters are great, and the presentation is great. I love the new controls, and if you don't you can switch to classic (pressing buttons for shots). I'd give it a 10 but the slight delay in animations for certain swings can be annoying, mostly spin shots, but its a great game to play online with friends and career.

PS: I never played tennis and just like the video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok game

posted by kimberlytennis (PLANT CITY, FL) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The graphics are really good however, I am a tennis player myself and I do not like the controls, it is not realistic to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by Diskey4 (DECATUR, IL) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

Not a big tennis fan, but this game is fun. Good career mode, and much like EA games there are the relive style moments. I am a sports fan so many of the greats are recognizable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wanted to like it

posted by ceero (VENICE, FL) Mar 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The graphics were definitely good, but the controls just brought the game down. The new stick system seemed very confusing and not intuitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So So game

posted by TRex188882 (HOMEWOOD, IL) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

Ugly graphics. Jerky animation. Non intuitive hitting system adds up to a lackluster game. There's a reason why it's a low priced game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »