Rent EA Sports: Grand Slam Tennis 2 for PS3
view large frontback

EA Sports: Grand Slam Tennis 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.9

242 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun demo

posted by KrazyAttack (MONETT, MO) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Grand Slam Tennis 2 has gotten pretty favorable reviews, an 8.5 from IGN, is quite good for a tennis game.

The online play will be make or break for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by Peteypabs (LEBANON, PA) Sep 12, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Fun game to play. ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Game To Have

posted by amwsabres (HAMBURG, NY) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is very good. I actually expected the game to be more real life. Like i am in the game. But i know all games are not like that. So, my best bet would be is still get the game, because of all it's hitting power, character choices and many more outstanding features and graphics. This is a game that i will keep for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for family

posted by Jb3azy (TUCSON, AZ) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Great to play with kids simple buttons and just something new to try. Not so difficult even when you turn skill level up. I say try it on gamefly not a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Tennis Game, best one out there I think

posted by 3stooges (BOCA RATON, FL) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I really enjoyed this tennis game the most out of the other tennis games out there like Topspin and Virtua Tennis. For me the rankings would be Grand Slam #1, Virtua Tennis #2, and Topspin #3. Topspin has the best graphics of all the other ones though. In Grand Slam I also wish you can play with one of the pros on career mode. You can only play as the pros in the tournament mode or exhibition play. You can create your own player in career mode but I would rather play as djokovic. The difficulty level isn't so hard in career mode. In the other modes you can turn it higher, I played it on the highest difficulty and Rafa just crushed me. Overall a good tennis game, was fun to play. One more thing to note, the controls were very difficult with the joystick, I highly recommend the arcade controls Triangle, O, X, square to use instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Solid Tennis Game

posted by lilneup3 (LANCASTER, PA) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I have played most of the tennis games out there and all the most recent (Top Spin 4, Virtual Tennis 3, and This)...

I enjoyed the gameplay in this game more than in any of the other games. Everything is done with the right stick just like most of EA Sports other games.

The graphics were about the same in comparison to Top Spin, (VT3 is worse). One thing that is alway cool though is the game face element for EA Sports games where you can import a picture of you to get an incredibly realistic character face. I personally was a little disappointed with the graphic though. I expect EA to have the best graphics, and they were just good. Characters look very real, but everything around them is very sub-par.

Now the game features, is pretty bad. It just has you train, and play in tournament to ultimately become the number 1 ranked person. I felt like it got boring fairly quickly, (about 2 seasons). It is way too unrealistic with the rankings. You can win every masters for 2 straight years and still be ranked 35th in the world. Seems a bit ridiculous.

Online play was really fun though. Everyone is really good on it though, so wait a little until you try it out. Good game over all, could use some new features to make it a lot more entertaining long term, but hey... this is GF, that stuff doesn't matter here. Definitely a rent though, and not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Tennis Game I've played

posted by MPL1999 (FRANKLINVILLE, NJ) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

I've been playing tennis games since the Playstation 2. If I have to rank it from 1-3 here's how it would go.

#1 Grand Slam Tennis
#2 Sega Sports/Virtua Tennis
#3 Top Spin

Having said that. Grand Slam tennis was worth the wait and blows those other tennis games out of the water. I've been waiting for 20+ years for EA Sports to make a tennis game and they've delieved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Grand Slam Tennis 2!

posted by jwilliams18 (HOLLIS, NY) Feb 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I just got this game on the 17th of February. I like this game. It's hard to determine if this game is better than the Top Spin games, but so far I'd say they're both good. It's harder to hit power shots in this game and I feel like I'm playing an arcade game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »