Rent EA Playground for Wii
view large frontback

EA Playground

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.2

1638 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

wii playground

posted by purdyluv79 (VINELAND, NJ) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first glance, we didnt think this game would be too hot, but man were we wrong. my significant other hates any game that isnt super mario bro's for snes. Somewhere along the first two days of having it she has become hooked and we have decided to just buy the game. our 4 yr old has some trouble with the games but at only the later levels. Im sure they couldve found something to use the nunchucks for but thats fine it still keeps all of us busy for hours. the AI can get near impossible during the end for adults to finish but that just shows that even adults can find a challenge in this game. Its another great keeper game from wii, cause once you rent it, you will buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by danimdecke (MONTGOMERY, TX) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you've read any of my other reviews, you know that I have been on a quest to find games for my 6 year old. This one's great. You go from playground to playground challenging other kids to games. There is tetherball, slot car racing, paper airplanes, handball, basketball, dodgeball, a game that combines soccer and volleyball, and many more. The games are easy to control but some can be difficult to win. You win stickers each time you defeat the other team and when you earn a certain number of stickers you open other parts of the playground. This game is great. The only negative is that when the players speak, there are no words, you have to read it. Which isn't a big deal except my son's still learning to read. So every couple of minutes I'm back reading what they're saying. I love this game, though. It's great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kids and adults love it

posted by bigdaddy68 (NOTTINGHAM, PA) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is totally entertaining, the kids and adults enjoy it. It is by far the best game we have played on the Wii so far. I play along with my kids. They love the competitiveness of the slot car racing, as well as the action in the kickball. Great game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Got little kids? Get Playground.

posted by dmorin (NORTH ANDOVER, MA) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My kids are 5 and 3, so I'm cool with simple games without a complicated plot or fancy controls. In Playground you'll do things like steer a paper airplane or a slotcar race. Sure it'd bore an adult to tears, but the 3yr old gets it just fine - point up, plane goes up, point down, plane goes into the ground. Tilt to steer and move around things. Push A or B when the screen tells you to. Perfect.

The other games are a mixed bunch - they like the idea of dodgeball, but you have to use the arrows to move your character, which is non-intuitive. Tetherball appears to be for righthanded players only. WallBall (aka Handball) is basically "Wii tennis, lite" so it makes a good practice game.

I suspect they will get bored with Playground as we get some new games, but for now this one is good practice at working the remote.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game kids loved it.

posted by DadnSonWii (WARWICK, NY) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My kids are 8-Boy and 10-Girl they loved this game. They said it was easy to use and wanted me to buy it...Too bad...enjoy hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than Wii Sports according to my 7 year old

posted by DadOfGirls (LEES SUMMIT, MO) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

7 year old daughter's impressions:

She was as active playing this game as you would expect from an average game of Wii Sports when playing EA Playground. She truly felt as if she was actually hitting the ball. It definitely has a better set of games for her age than Wii Sports. She only liked tennis and bowling on wii Sports and even those got boring for her after only a few rounds. She enjoys every game on EA playground (of course she favors some more than others) and plays match after match without it getting old. She definitely enjoys the idea of walking around the playgrounds to find and start playing the different games, as opposed to just selecting them on a menu like in most game collections.

My impressions (29 year old man):

The darts game is fun, it's a kid friendly version of a standard "on rails" arcade light gun game. It is definitely NOT what I thought it would be, a dart board game which did not sound like a fun video game. I was very glad I was wrong about what it was. I also enjoyed the paper airplane game. It uses the motion sensing in a fun, unique, and truly analog way that responses accurately to any tilt of the remote by tilting the airplane in the same direction causing the plane to turn left/right or up/down. The rest of the games basically use waggle as the only motion control. Some use waggle up/down for one command and waggle left/right as another. You also have no control over your character's position on the play field of wall ball (like handball) and kicks (a soccer/volleyball hybrid). Dodgeball does give you that control using the d-pad.

Conclusion:

I would not recommend even renting this for most adult gamers but my daughters want me to buy it so I scored my review as a parent grading a product for their children. And the fact that I enjoyed darts and airplanes helped me decide to go ahead and buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good multiplayer fun - loses novelty rather quick

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 19, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Playground is a great alternative when you have other people to play with and you're sick of puzzlers, RPGs and sports games.

As a multiplayer party game it becomes real good fun. Cutesy graphics but nothing overly fancy as they aren't really needed. Controls and rules for the games that are both simple to pick up and play with instructions in the game in case you lose the book like we always seem to. :-)

Dodgeball, the soccer game which is kinda more like twisted volleyball and the cooperative shooting game are probably our faves but most are good fun except the paper dart game which is a bit lame.

On the downside the controls can be occaisionally unreliable - shooting in the soccer game and dodging in Dodgeball where you can often go in the wrong direction if your flick of the controller is a little wild is probably where you will notice this the most. Also due ot the simplicity of the games you are not going to play this for hours but then I don't think it was ever intended for that - this is strictly a change up game and a party loosener-upper.

Overall great fun and you should rent this even if you only get some folks around on the weekend and get into teams to play. If you have parties regularly you may even want to hang on to this one and buy it as it will certainly provide some fun and the odd cry of "What the heck was that? Were you even watching?"

Oh yeah one final thing - WAY better than Mario Party

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Rental; but needs work!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty fun; especialy in multi- player. The AI can be a bit difficult when you are at the last challenge. However it would be nice to use the nunchuck to walk and it would have helped in some games also. Dont be fooled by this one; the hours fly by when playing. Just like real recess!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game

posted by JordansMom (DEERFIELD, IL) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was great for a 5 year old who has very limited reading skills right now. There are not very many games out there right now geared towards the non-reading group of kids, so I thought this one was great for his age. I thought the graphics were great, the theme is awesome...paper airplane racing, how cool is that?
My son loved this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good for kids

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Nov 5, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pros
- Pleasant Art Design
- Great party game
- Easy to pick up
- Entertaining for kids

Cons
- Not much depth, for adults especially
- Controls are a bit wonky
- Not nearly as good as Wii sports

This game is a rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A nice little distraction

posted by pezboy92 (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

If your looking for a huge immersive gameplay experience, then this game isn't for you, but if your looking for several hours of fun, then its worth a rent. This game has a lot of fun little minigames. It is also offers more features than most other minigame collections. The art style is cute and charming. I would rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tetherball: the last sport to get a game.

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Feb 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

EA Playground takes seven mini games and basically makes them the whole game. The premise is basically that you're some kid looking to compete against the best the schoolyard has to offer. Beating these opponents will get you stickers to show off in your sticker book and marbles which you can use to buy super stickers. In case you're wondering, super stickers give you enhanced abilities in the various games you'll be playing. At first, it really seems like Playground offers quite a hearty game experience. You'll have many competitors as well as challenges and collectibles to find. Soon though, you realize that the game is pretty much just that: seven games, a few collections and a couple challenges. You'll probably find a few things you like. I thought slot cars, dodgeball and paper planes were solid and mostly enjoyable. Some will seem tedious, like wall ball or darts (basically an on-rail shooter). And a couple are frustrating because of the limited controls (tetherball and kicks). The whole game is done with just the Wiimote. No nunchuk is needed here, but it would have been handy. Flicking the Wiimote up, down and sideways can get confusing and seems unresponsive in the games that rely on those functions. Personally, I think the nunchuk's analog control and addition functionality would have flushed out some of the gameplay. If you find yourself sick of these games, there really isn't anything else to offer in Playground. Collection quests are actually the easiest parts of the game to complete. If you're willing to finish off every dare and challenge, I suppose it will give you a good overall experience. This one is meant to be played in small increments over a large period of time, but it's likely not worth buying for the time frame you'd require.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun game

posted by yeshuvtali (MONTICELLO, GA) Jun 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

my two boys loved it, 6 and 11.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LOVE THE GAME!!

posted by cls7102 (HANOVER, MD) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is a great game for children and adults..very easy to play. My 4 year old and 8 year love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OK for a rental

posted by ryandanzig (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

i pretty much got the game for my nephews but i played it some and i wasn't disappointed since i only rented it. i liked the tetherball pretty good but it seems like it would get very old very fast. overall, i would not purchase this game but may rent it again if i plan to have kids at the house.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

EA Playground, Exciting for about a hour.

posted by canislupis (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This is EA's attempt of your childhood memories from recess with a few extra things you could never play in school. The first negative is that you only use the wand for controls. It would have been so much easier and less frustrating if they made it so you could use the directional pad on the numchuck. You use the arrow direction pad on the wand. After you figure out the controls took me about 10 minutes it is still very annoying. You play other kids to receive stickers and unlock different areas and challenges. There are to many kids on the playground "that sounds like real life" and you have to search for the challenges, on top of that you have to be on the correct side of the kid to challenge them. I got to the third level in the hour I played. During this time I was aggravated and annoyed. Running around and collecting items seem mundane to me, I would have rather got more for winning challenges and skip running around. On the positive side the challenges in the harder levels do present a challenge. The music was not bad, the character's moves when they win are hilarious. If I was a PE teacher I would probably love this game. Unfortunately in my opinion EA fell very far from the mark of having a best seller. Maybe playground games should me left outdoor and not indoors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by Tracie331 (CASSELBERRY, FL) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This one is pretty good, interesting games, great challenges. Great for the younger crowd. Not a waist of time or money at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay, but they weren't wild about it....

posted by siouxmac (CRANSTON, RI) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I have three children, ages 6, 5, and 4 (girl, girl, boy), and while they did play this and enjoy it, it wasn't their first 'go to' choice by any means. That said, despite their young ages, they were all able to navigate their way through the playground without any help from mom or dad - a big plus since it's frustrating for all concerned when an adult must constantly be summoned for guidance. All in all a good game, but I probably won't buy it. Worth renting, though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ROCKS!!!

posted by gamer740 (SMITHFIELD, RI) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game rocks! The best of all is DODGEBALL, SOCCER, and RACING! I play this game for hours with my fanily all of the time. I say rent!!! Better yet BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Had a Blast!

posted by BrandyR (RICHLANDS, NC) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

My son is now 8 and loved this when we bought it. He was 7 at the time. We're an overtly competitive family, so he likes to whoop butt just like we do. This game puts us on a level playing ground. He' s more physically fit then I, and I know the games from being 'old'. So he will play for hours, talks smack to our bigger kids and has a ball doing it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great multiplayer game

posted by shiachia (HOLLISTER, FL) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This is a great multiplayer game, especially for 2. You have more limited choices when playing with 4 players. For example, there is no tetherball. Different people will have different favorites. Racing fans will love the slot cars, which zoom around like crazy and are great fun. My little girl loved the soccer/volleyball game, which she could win at without even really knowing what she was doing. It is great fun. You can't use your Mii, but it offers a good variety of girl/boy choices. Instructions are given before each game (which you can skip), and that makes it much easier for little kids to understand what to do. On one player, as you unlock levels, it gets far more challenging. All in all, a great game that everyone can enjoy, with no violence, no gore, and no bad language, while still being fun for adults.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun for Everyone

posted by nunckuk34 (WEST CHESTER, PA) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game involves many classic playground/park games such as dodge ball and tether ball, and includes other games such as dart shoot-out and paper racer, but overall, fun always comes into the picture. You receive gold stickers for beating a game the first time and collect marbles for a job well done. Marbles can be traded for super stickers, which enhance your performance. After you beat someone the first time they give you challenges, called dares. You can also unlock different areas with harder competitors. Over-all, this game is very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My kid loves it!

posted by SDean98 (SPRING HILL, TN) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

My 6 yr old and I played this thing for hours and I doubt we will mail it back to Gamefly we will prob buy this one. Tetherball is tough and controlling that game is a bit difficult even with practice but the rest of the games are great.

I recommend you put this one in your GameQ and give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun for the whole family!

posted by McFlyFam (MADISON, WI) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I'll admit that I didn't have high hopes for Playground, but boy was I surprised. Playground is fun, interesting, relatively easy to play and...well, FUN!!!

Our 9 & 6 year olds truly love this game. The nine year old asks to play it all the time and has such a blast!

Give this one a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's ok!

posted by btrflykss (ANDREWS, SC) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

For a family game this is better as a 1 player. The multiplayer option has no build to it like the single player mode. You just pick a game and play. atleast in the single player mode there is some action going on. You have to meet people and play many different challenges.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse