Rent Dynasty Warriors: Strikeforce for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors: Strikeforce

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
5.6

1337 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the same, enough to impress

posted by tronsta (ROSELLE, NJ) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Yeah, it's another Dynasty Warriors game. Yeah, all the ol' gang is here. Yep, you'll have to chase Lu Bu again. All in all I should hate this game but I found it, once I got the hang of the mechanics, pretty enjoyable.

Firstly, the newest "innovation" to this series is the multiplayer aspect. It's done pretty well, seamless and without much problem, but truth be told hardly anyone is playing this online right now. I've logged on during the day, on weekends and weekdays, at night, late and early evening, and at most I've seen 4 different games to choose from, and that is after refreshing the screen over and over. If you don't care about multiplayer, or you have friends who play it, it's worth it. Otherwise, don't count on multiplayer if deciding whether or not to buy this.

Secondly, the ability to gain allied officers and swap between them during the campaign was pretty cool. They really focus on weapons in this game and each style of weapon is basically a rock-paper-scissors choice for each enemy,so having a team of mixed weapons works best. There's extensive upgrade options, almost exhaustive, and you find yourself becoming more and more powerful as your levels increase.

The level design has been changed from one big map to small maps that you travel to and from through portals. I would imagine this was done to both simply travel and provide faster performance when playing multiplayer. At first I wasn't a fan of this. I'm actually still not a fan of it. I loved the big open spaces, jumping on a horse and leaving one part of the battle for another. It makes it all feel shallow and small.

Basically take every Dynasty Warriors game you've ever played, add more character upgrades and online multiplayer, and you've got Strikeforce. If you've hated past DW games, don't bother. If you kinda sort like them, rent it and try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A pitiful excuse for a Dynasty Warriors game...

posted by Febostaf (OWLS HEAD, ME) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will keep this short and to the point and list the problems with this game...

1. they take the massive open battlefields away in favor of tiny instanced missions.

2. no empire mode or create a character, although i know these are newish features in DW games i have grown to love them and the lack of these make this game horribly linear and makes it have little to no replay value in my opinion.

3. the combat has taken a step back in terms of motion capture quality and FPS [20 or 30 NPC's make the game lag like crazy]

the list goes on and on but my hands are tired from playing a horrible game..... DO NOT GET THIS GAME, stick with the good DW games [after sending this game back in the mail i decided to get DW 6: empires to clear my head]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good

posted by Tacoshell (GIG HARBOR, WA) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This is a great addition to the series if you have played it before. the biggest difference is online play. the story is not told nearly as well in thing one as in others, little to no cut-scenes short dialogue and just overall lacks a sense of story. the game play is very much a hack and slash game with tthe ability to modify your character for a seemingly limitless amount of playing styles. Even with it's downfalls in comparison to the earlier games the move to online multiplayer easily makes up for it. Nothing beats cutting down hundreds of baddys with 3 friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do NOT waste 2-4 days waiting for this garbage!

posted by TitanD120 (STOCKTON, CA) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Seriously. I'm a big Dynasty Warriors fan, so naturally when I saw the new features (Fury Form, aerial combat, etc.) I was determined to get this game. I never thought I'd see the day where I would HATE a Dynasty Warriors game. Only Bosses and major units have displayable health bars. No difficulty setting meaning casual players will quit at the Hu Lao Gate battle (Lu Bu and his Bi Xie are rediculously strong when you face them at around level 15). The wierd contraptions that are used (Thunderstrike, Butterfly Thunder Wall, etc.) are just plain stupid. Koei really lost some fans with Strikeforce, and they'll have to bring back the good old you-against-China scenarios before I consider playing the next Dynasty Warriors game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This has been my favorite game series

posted by yagain (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is good-Howerer, I have played most of the Dynasty series and this one is not there best. As someone who has played 100's of hours of these games I felt that this realease was too diferent than the last two or three-(Dynasty Warriors 5-6 and both Emipires). You can't charge you Musou so using it in the classic way can't be done. New combos are not easally learned and there isn't anything that is imeadaiatly useable that is droped on the battlefeald. It just felt as if they had gone away from a good formula. For those who have never played any of there past games-I would recomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Strike Force

posted by AlfaRage (THEODORE, AL) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Well, when going into this game I figured "This will be awesome! I'll be able to relive all the epic battles of the Three Kingdoms Era with insane superhero like powers plus the online co-op! Hooray!" Nope. Simply a let down.

The game takes the stories of the Three kingdoms Era and removes the redeeming feature of the entire series, the epic large scale fights. Instead, you're forced to play as one of 4 allied officers pitted against a neverending slew of enemy troops, officers and strangely sentient siege equipment. If you can trick your friends into also getting the game it might be fun (sadly most of my friends have dignity), but I, being a jaded jerk, refuse to associate with the anonymous vagrants that pollute xbox live. Thus the game has turned into a dull hack & slash fest with a bunch of illegible menus that remain unexplained.

I suppose I should list out the good and the bad to give a more objective and concise review..

Good
-Ability to use and easily switch between Two Weapon Sets in battle
-Fury/Muso/Whatever God mode transformations
-Tactic Cards
-Allied AI is almost on par with the enemy

Bad
-The Flying/Hovering/fighting mechanic is broken
-FPS death when more than (20ish?) enemies are on screen.
-No large scale conflicts
-Menus make it feel like I'm playing the Battletech tabletop RPG at times. (That obscure geek reference means bad)
-Only officers and other important objects have visible health bars.

I'd suggest renting it if you feel very strongly about wanting to try, but definitely not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what I expected

posted by Drathoran (BEAUMONT, TX) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This Dynasty Warriors reflected, in my opinion, the epitome of games that should not be played. It was nothing like any of the other Dynasty Warriors. It was 3 steps backwards. Offline co-op being nonexistent was a big "no" for me. Without requirement to actually fight the little people, this game lost much of its value. Capturing pieces of the map was actually challenging in the other games. You used to have an army at your back, but you didn't, and without the ability to capture pieces of the map made one useless. Moving on, combos don't exist. They're all the same few buttons hit, and nothing different ever happens. The floating enemies added nothing to the game at all. AIs couldn't hit them when they floated just out of their reach. I could continue on, but this game is just... terrible. The only good things about this game were the town system and the equipment menus. Dynasty Warriors: Strikeforce shouldn't be played by any Dynasty Warriors fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay

posted by IVIHyBriD (LAFAYETTE, LA) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It is an okay game. It kind of just throws you in the mix and expects you to know how to play. I have had previous Dynasty Warrior experience, so the game was kind of enjoyable. I think this is good rent but a bad buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A fairly good game

posted by thegamer13 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Apr 2, 2010

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

However:the fatal flaws laid in a lack of good new features. they introduced online multiplayer (which unfortunatley I was unable to try) which is a step in the right direction. However the problem lies in single-player, my major complaint is the platforming elements (large gaps to cross, rising and falling platforms) which break up the action and can cause extreme frustration, especially when you're timed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The series took a step back

posted by Beau9488 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game, all in all, just is garbage. The control scheme is sloppy and some enemies are just too ridiculously overpowered. On the plus side the characters, as always look good and weapon customization has gotten better. The multi-player aspect is a nice new addition, but not worth paying $60. Fun rent, not worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

My god, no 2 player?

posted by LordSkully (HARTFORD, CT) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

4 player online? WHY?! ugh... I want normal 2 player action OFF line.

Played this game for about 5 min. I love the other DW games but this is pure...

Play time: 0-1 days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sorry excuse for game

posted by jsmooth (VALDOSTA, GA) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

for anyone that loved dynasty warriors on the ps2 like myself dont be fooled that this game is the second coming of the franchise. this game not only has early xbox1 graphics but has constant slowdown with only around 20 guys on the screen. the only saving graces is the town feature where you can create new weapons and items and customize your hero, but even if you are a dynasty warriors fan like myself if you have a copy of dynasty warriors three or four on the ps2 stick with it. Its then times better that this garabge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

loved it

posted by daddy44 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

i cant belive some of the review that i have read this game is great granted u must and i cannot stress this enough u must be a fan of the series and u must give it time as the others in the past it takes a little to get how to play and all the options they have for u in the game between the weapons the people u can take with u and your city yea the grapics are not what they should look like on next gen but if u are a fan of the series u already expect that and the story is lighter than the past games but it doesnt do much changing form them so if u know the story good if not get the oher what idk 13 games if it really that important to you this game is design to give u the freedom to fight with friend with a heavy customise system and fast paste action i love how simple the fighting is and how in dept the customing is

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sorry..but I can't say this is a good game at all!

posted by Renkoku (PORT RICHEY, FL) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 24 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I played Dynasty Warrior games in the past...this game revolves itself around one button...the X button. They destroyed the use of the Y button end combo and the Y button move is a one or single move that is worthless. The graphics are ok but nothing to smile about. The game drags you in at 1st seeing all those number of characters in each dynasty..but after you play and realize that there are no better moves and Fury is remarkably useless and uneventful..your jaw drops of the waste of time you put into this game at all.

I beat the yellow turban and the 1st two quests. After that...I couldn't find a reason to continue on...this is a game for casual gamers that want to play a game that is mindless and very dumbed out...I really wish game developers stop dumbing games down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Its all the same.

posted by copyrlik (DULUTH, MN) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The Dynasty warriors franchise has had my attention for a very long time, and with every iteration I feel that they are just losing the core of what players are looking for in game play. I mean, the first time you pick up a dynasty warriors game, it is a very fun experience, but it does get old. This one proves to me that, Koei just does not understand how to change a overall exemplary experience, but know how to add and modify smaller game features that honestly barely effects the total game play. In the end it is a total hack and slash that will and does get stale, even with small graphical improvements and small feature modifications, or in this case subtractions as well. Better luck next time Koei.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dynasty warriors strikeforce

posted by xmansdade (SALEM, AL) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Horrible game! They took the most enjoyable part of the game, which is running into a group of enemies and mashing x, and Decided to make you mix herbs and rune stones to make orbs instead of picking em up from bosses. The greatest strength of the series is the simplicity. Don't over complicate it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Way too difficult, even on easy.

posted by bobocar (SYCAMORE, IL) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Aug 2005

I like Dynasty Warriors, I've played almost all of them. This is different, and has potental. However, even on easy, I get wiped way too easily. Enemies constantly stun me. Camera is difficult to control. Your character is hard to control with the jumping/floating. Overall, I gave it a low score, since it is now mainly for more hardcore players. Those people like me that are not that skilled get too frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

i got a broken game

posted by 2_vizion_2 (BALTIMORE, MD) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

you gave me a broken game wen i got it it hade a death ring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dont knock it till u try it

posted by whendevilstrik3 (Chicago, IL) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Well i love the dynasty warriors since i was 13-14 now that im 20 still love it but got boring quick. I personally suggest you get this game. Is way different but, in a good way. If your a truly dynasty warriors fan get this game. In some ways i think this game is better than the others

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unbalanced

posted by iamlegend9999 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This is a good game but it is way to unbalanced, i got juggled in the air about 10 times on 4 different levels. But its good but it being unbalanced is annoying. So if you have anger problems, don't rent or buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Poor Application

posted by PolishWeener (TEMPE, AZ) Sep 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

Dynasty Warriors Strikeforce is different from other games of the series. And not in a good way. I'll use a simple pros/cons list to explain why you shouldn't buy this game.

Pros:
- The game adds strategic orbs and chi. These are magical devices that change how your character plays. Along with weapon choices, there are a lot of customization options.
- The game uses a city instead of a map for a central hub. Much nicer looking.
- Online coop. Explains itself.
- Each character has an awesome looking Musou state. They typically glow and have Dragonball-type hair.

Cons:
- Combat. I'll be straightforward. Koei has demolished all sense of fun with the combat in this game. Instead of slaughtering thousands of soldiers (which was oddly satisfying) you slaughter less than a couple hundred. Does that make you feel powerful? No.
- Not to meantion you fight butterflies. That's right, butterflies. Little fluttering green insects that shoot bubbles at you. And they are the ABSOLUTE MOST ANNOYING enemy in any game I have ever played.
- Remember getting "juggled" in an older Dynasty Warriors game? I hope you liked it cause that's all this game is. Get stunned, recover, repeat. What makes things even worse is enemy officers constantly use this "Ultra Mode" which makes them resilient to your attacks. Did I mention that it's a secret power only ENEMY officers can use? Yeah, major balancing issues abound.

I'm sure I could find more cons if I kept playing past 30 minutes, but I don't plan too.

All of the pros could definitely be integrated into a normal Dynasty Warriors game. It would make the series a lot better. Instead, Koei pisses away good ideas on some cheap game that consists of butterflies and frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good but...

posted by Dandor (BOUNTIFUL, UT) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

I've loved the Dynasty Warriors franchise. I used to play the originals way back in the day. But I can't say that I love this game. Although it sticks with the Dynasty Warriors feel (fighting hundreds of enemies by yourself with no problem) there are a few major problems.

While the town setting was different, it was filled with upgradable stalls that became useless if you didn't know what you were doing. Often enough I found myself rushing through levels then when the time came to upgrade one of the buildings, all of the supplies for it were found in previous levels which I could not return to. So I found myself fighting through the harder battles with a spear only level 2-ish. Very lame system, they should've made the upgrades using gold. Now I have terrible weapons and I'm sitting on half a million gold.

The campaign alone is extremely long. It took me forever to get through one and I just gave up after that. There is no way that I'm going to waste that much time again to beat another one. I'd maybe do it with friends, but this game's multiplayer died long ago.

Finally the combat: The targetting system alone is infuriating. When I want to target a boss or a weapon bombarding me, it insteads targets the noob private clumsily swinging his weapon at my feet. Then I have to rapidly flick the thumbstick until the targetter finally settles on my desired target. Often enough, I take alot of damage while doing so.
Computer allies also are severely underpowered. When it came down to it, I felt like I was doing all of the work while my allies were just slapping him occasionally to seem like they were helping.

And lastly, the missions are fun up until they start throwing you curve balls. Such as: "Escape to here within 5 minutes... Oh and by the way, you have to defeat bosses in each room with take atleast 3 minutes to whittle down normally." It becomes near impossible.

In conclusion: This is a fun game, but expect rage and cursing as the odds are stacked against you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dynasty Warriors: Strikeforce

posted by hens1974 (ADA, OK) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2006

This is just an all around average game. The ally AI is average as well as combat system. The idea of buying every item for an achievement is not worth it. Is hard to find anyone online willing to finish the main story with you so it is not worth completing. I was stuck on Ch.2 and could not get any further. The poor combos as well as being stunned for a long while made the game less enjoyable. The weapons system was poor because no matter how much i strengthened them it seemed to make no difference as well as enemies who could block all attacks and hit u with cheap shots. Game could have been better but it wasn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Starting Point

posted by Bourbon_Dingo (BEAUMONT, TX) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

A good point.

-Innovative stat-building features. Collecting items to cobble together artifacts, weapons, and stat-buffs is fun (for a bit). Shades of loot-collection games show through heavily here.

The problems. (Quite a few)

-Tiny linear levels, shoddy camera, and non-intuitive controls can be blamed solely on the fact that is, unabashedly, a port of a PSP title.

Overall?

Don't waste your queue. My opinion, at least. I've been playing KOEI games forever, at this point.

The game is good idea, on paper. The item collection is engaging, but with the advances that the newer consoles have brought to Dynasty Warrior gameplay, this feels like a massive step back to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not nearly as good...

posted by EvilRigger (DANVILLE, CA) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This DynastyWarriors game is not nearly as good as its predecessors. No more open world map. No more taking over stations. I played this game for about 15 minutes and nothing clicked. They have new options for Mousou, weapons, and abilities but no idea what to do with them.

Sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse