Rent Dynasty Warriors: Strikeforce for PS3
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors: Strikeforce

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

791 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Its a change.

posted by shadowmyre (RICHFORD, NY) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First: this is a multiplayer game (on-line only) and the difficulty is pitched as such. While beating it alone is doable, it is much harder than your average DW game. The expectation is that you'll have two or three people helping you out, and the difficulty is slanted as such.

In order to get better weapons/orbs/chi abilities, you need to level up the shops in town. This requires Officer cards (acquired randomly from officers that show up in town between missions) to level the shop, and materials you find in missions to actually build the new facility. You then need more of those materials to create the weapon, and yet more of them to enhance the weapon.

Characters have a primary weapon, which they'll always use. They also have a secondary weapon, which can be from any of the available types (but, in actuality, will probably be a bow). Each weapon has three different styles it can be used with (Power/Speed/Tech) which affect the weapons stats and how many orbs can be equipped.

Fury mode lets you gives you more dashes and jumps, changes how weapons work (bows shoot two arrows per light attack, etc) and gives you access to your musou (which would end your fury mode).

Now, the bad. Sorcerer enemies love to fly around and strafe you. Hitting them with regular weapons is problematic, which means most people need a bow (and bows are best against sorcerer type enemies, which is nice). The target lock is pretty weak, as changing it to a specific enemy often seems to be a matter of sheer luck; I've targeted enemies on the other side of the battlefield, but couldn't target the general right in front of me. Some enemies can't be targeted at all.

As for the good, the game is fun, with nicer graphics than I expected. Lots of character building options, the ability to use any weapon with anyone. Fury mode can be fun, and I like jumping over walls instead of breaking down gates. The statue enemies take some getting used to, but are a neat addition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not to bad

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well not a lot to say about this game. Its a hack and slash game for sure. It has a lot of missions in addition to the main storyline which are pretty fun. The storyline is much like any of the Dynasty games if you are familar with past releases. I made the mistake of not trying the online feature till the end of the game and I have to say that was a mistake. It was actually really fun playing with other players on the missions and teaming up to beat some of the harder bosses. Some replay value but pretty much the same. If you would like a hack and slash game that is a lot more than Gauntlet then this is a good choice!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent, but needs alot of improvment

posted by Daruna (RIPLEY, TN) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was amazing compared to it's Samurai or Dynasty Warrior counterparts in the fact that it exploded with new features. The sub-weapon system was very nice in my opinion and offered a better feel for the game. The other thing that I found made it really stand out from it's regular title standards was the sky battles that took place, being able to float and fight in the sky above all the weak foot soldiers was fun and entertaining. Now there are some problems I do find with this game, sad to say they out-number the pros, but it had a bunch of first-time additions so that is to be expected. Like I mentioned before the sky battles were a nice innovation, but they were waaaay too hard to control. You can only float with a skill, or if you use a temp item, you cannot float if you use your double jump and floating is very slow for travel. The transformations were a nice change of pace but hardly worth mentioning, you attack an officer or send your officers to do it and he transforms at least 1 time if he is a major boss(i.e. Dhong Zhou, Cao Cao, ect.) And they powered up at least 4 times before and after, when they powered up you did no dmg and had to break them out of their state, problem with that was they ignore all hits, you could use ultimate attacks and they could still be powered up. The officer reliance system on this game made it slightly too easy, you could sit back while your officers die over and over and come right back till all enemies are dead, was too easy in that respect. Another issue I had with the officers was they always had 50 feet high air battles with bosses, You can't reach them at all so you have to wait like 5 minutes for the boss to fall back to earth, the officers need more AI to keep the bosses standing, not flat on the ground all the time or sky high. It was a nice touch, I thought at first, to add the giant animals, till you had to kill them for the storyline quests.

Really great innovations, I can't wait to see improvments. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Major Disapointment

posted by JoeyValles (STOCKTON, CA) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

20 out of 27 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I am a huge Dynasty Warriors fan. I have been playing it since number 3 so I can honestly say that this is the worst one ever! The abilities to power up and fly aren't that great. The flying gets annoying and your other form is just a downgraded musou rage. Many characters are still missing and the story mode is the same for everyone, which definately lowers replayability. I think the worst aspect is that there is no split screen or free mode anymore. Dynasty warriors used to be the game I played together with my friends when they came over and was one of the few PS3 games where I was able to do that. That is not true anymore. Another bad thing is the smallness of the maps and how the game has to load when you leave a section of the it. There are also not that many guys to kill. I think the most I ever got on a level was 200 kills where in earlier games I would get 500 without even trying. To be fair the RPG elements are interesting and having a second weapon is kind of fun. The graphics are great and the character's other forms are awesome. Overall the game components are either flawed or have been seen before and whatever content that would have made it relatively enjoyable has been cut out. If you want to play Dynasty Warriors then I suggest picking one of the previous versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Has its upsides and downsides

posted by strikkid (FORT MYERS, FL) May 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Please read, may be long but will tell you what you need to know

Ok I was torn about getting this game. Almost everyone was either great or sucks no in between. I have to tell you my experience with this game since I have played this series forever it feels like. First of all I have to be honest. Like 15 straight hack and slash games are fine but a change was very refreshing. Dont get me wron it is still a hack and slash and the controls seem a little slower but overall this game is very much indeed fun. A few changes would have been preferred to make the gameplay better but all in all its a good game. First and foremost what i noticed off the bat is you cant manually charge your mosou gauge, but don't fret you can actually carry up to 5 different types of items so you can do a mosou attack then regenerate the gauge and whoop butt again. Also there is no more different type of charge combos, you know the attack attack then strong attack is different than a>a>a>a>st attack. Whenever you hit the strong attack it will at best do only one of 2 attacks, a held charged attack or a non charged attack. I am a little dissapointed that you can't choose a 2 player mode except by playing with others online. There also isn't as much side games, I would love for them to remake this, increase the combat controls, make it a little tougher, not to keep it as a button mash. keep the dashing because it works, keep the giant bosses. Not a big fan of the fury state but i guess its like the rage token you used to get. I like the ability for some to fly, maybe people that you know throw fire out of their staff but not all characters. Make every character or fraction ie strategist, lord, etc. have a unique technique. Definetely make the underlings suck like it used to be. Dont let the foot soldiers fly or at least only allow the majors to fly. Overall this game has a few flaws but personally tweeking this game a little and making it more for older people may turn this series into a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A new direction koei! KUDOS

posted by Prizzem (RANDOLPH, NJ) Feb 20, 2010

Member since May 2008

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan since DW3 and its been all down hill since then pretty much. Strikeforce is a breath of fresh air that the series really needed. From the RPG elements to the new fury system and not to mention 4 player coop or compet! Strikeforce sends this series in a whole new direction! The Fury system is now your first musou sends you into a Fury state where you can jump super high, dash super fast and do so pretty sweet air combos. To release fury just do your musou or let the bar run down. Strikeforce lets you customize your character quite a bit with orbs for weapons to add different damage types, Chi skills can be added to your hands and feet to aid you in combat. You can also use any 2 weapons you want to and switch out in combat on the fly. You can make a new weapon or upgrade your existing one. You can buy items before each fight and use them with a bit of a cooldown in between. The ported graphics have been cleaned and look great on next gen consoles. Control scheme on PS3 is works very well and with the online play i feel this game has a great replay value. IS this a buy? really you need to decide that for yourself. Pick it up! NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DONT RENT IT

posted by Hellrazor7 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I liked most of the Dynasty Warriors game but this one just disappointed me . The slow combat system did not keep me entertain the fighting seems repetitive the voice acting was dull. The online was good but didnt really change anything about the game. One of the worst dynasty warriors i ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The ideal example of a game

posted by bacon420 (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I'm a big fan of the dynasty warriors series couldn't wait to play this game. Come to find out that it is more like an early dragonball Z game, control of your character is very clunky and its set up like an RPG. This has to be the worst game in the series any abilities that you equip your character (which you can only equip 4 at a time like double jump) makes one of your limbs glow a neon color, perfect of a rave.

All of the guys can go super saiyan which doesn't effect much of anything other than allowing you to almost fly from jumping and making your hair grow. you can level up everything and each level grants a very small change. this would make a great dragon ball game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

best dynasty warriors game ever

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

and although it is the best game in the series, i am extremely burnt now and will not play this title, so it doesnt even matter, koei needs to end this over sequel ridden series once and for all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Dynasty Warriors Tragedy

posted by Tarquin (DANVILLE, VA) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Dynasty Warriors: Strikeforce was made for the PSP. And it shows.
The Dynasty Warriors series normally involves you as a "one man army" against a legion of extremely dumb soldiers on a large battlefield. It is mindless kung fu inspired fun.
Strikeforce ditches the normal formula. It shoehorns the game into narrow corridor-like levels with far less enemies. You have to eliminate a set number of enemies to move from section to section. The game does try something new by introducing gigantic bosses to fight. Make no mistake this game will not let you forget it was designed with the technical limitations of the PSP. The developers were kind enough to use the graphics from Dynasty Warriors 6. The bottom line is that Dynasty Warriors: Strikeforce is a horrible game. Avoid at all costs!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dynasty Warriors Fail

posted by ISkaarII (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of the prior titles which were always hated on for being button mashers with one big map. This one changed it and i didn't like it. The maps are split up into pieces and i miss the sheer obliteration you could do in the other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not so much

posted by JoeBoo69 (REDMOND, OR) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Great idea but the battle system is poo poo. The player lock on will get you killed. Wish they would have kept is like the old ones but added the new stuff. Missions are too short and you spend too much time upgrading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Not Great

posted by Theo456 (BLOOMINGDALE, NJ) Oct 6, 2012

Member since May 2010

i played all of the dynasty warriors 2-5 along with Empires and extreme legends i knew this would be a spin off i rented it to know if it was worth actually putting into my collection. unfortunately not. its very fun and interesting how they set it up but its not the original style dynasty warriors...

great to play but in my eyes its not to buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A big change.

posted by arachnidForger (LIMINGTON, ME) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

So this game does take a huge turn in making it's original look different. Firstly, if you get this game I would recommend that you give both yourself an the game time to get used to it. It gets fun, trust me. However, before I get into the ups and downs I will tell you that this game unlike the other games will prove more of a challenge.

The ups I liked about the game were the HD graphics, the new approach to the fighting which I wish they would incorporate it with the original games and the weapons.

The bad is, if you intend to play this game completely offline then you might be spending a LOT more time on this game by grinding and gaining materials. Also, in terms of being cheap I noticed a few things such as you can only get harmed by traps and water while the baddies can not get harmed. I also hated how your AI partners would keep on dying and dying, no matter what good weapons you gave them.

All and all, I loved this game and really was hoping we would get the second in english but I guess not. I give this game a good ol' 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DYNASTY WARRIORS STRIKEFORCE

posted by chaz_34 (TANGIER, VA) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

WAS A VERY GOOD GAME HAVE ALLREADY BEAT IT. AND I KEPT ON PLAYING IT OVER AND OVER, WITH DIFFERENT PEOPLE BEATING THIS GAME. THIS GAME WAS VERY FUN WITH ALOT OF ACTION THAT I LIKE..I AM SENDING THIS GAME BACK BECAUSE I AM PLAYING NINJA GAIDEN WHICH IS AN AWESOME GAME SO FAR.SO I WILL PUT IT IN THE BOX TOMMOROW WHICH WILL BE 1/16/12... SO PLEASE TRY TO REPLACE IT WITH GOD OF WAR 1 OR 2, THEY ARE BOTH AVAILABLE NOW. BUT I WILL PUT SOME MORE PLAYSTATION 2 GAMES UP IF THEY ARE NOT AVAILABLE AT THE TIME. AND ONE MORE THINGS YOU SENT ME AN EMAIL ON THE 1ST SAYING THAT I WILL BE ON THE 2ND LEVEL, BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN WITH YOU ALL FOR 6 MONTHS........SO PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU DO THAT,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,THANX ALOT,,,,,,,,,,,CHARLES DISE............

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blah

posted by tdidy91 (OSWEGO, IL) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

worst game i have ever played. ive played dynasty warriors since they first game came out and this is by far the worst trash ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth a rental

posted by RegjFPSFan (RIVERVIEW, FL) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Waste of a rental. Thought I knew what I was getting, but was dissappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

dynasty warriors strikeforce

posted by robby4ty (WILKESBORO, NC) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game is one of the best of the dynasty warriors series. quick and easy way to get around. fun and good story modes. excellent game. im never disapointed in the dynasty warriors series. all dw games are very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So much for the franchise

posted by lokiranea (MAGNA, UT) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I've been a huge fan of the dynasty warrior games until this one. It was a complete waste of time. The gameplay isn't what it should be and the entire game feels cobled together from leftover scraps of real games. This is one that never should have made it past the testing room floor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

8-year-old Son didn't care for it

posted by psyloch (THORNTON, CO) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

My Son played it for about an hour the first day, and another hour on the 2nd day. After that, he was done. It was something having to do with how the battles were set up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a good game

posted by kimikoshin (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I've played many of the Koei titles, such as Samurai warriors 1 and 2, Warriors Orochi, DW 6, but this game was such a huge disappointment. I played for a few hours, and then sent it back. I would NOT recommend it. The online is slow and frustrating. The new forms are cool, but they dont do anything, you cant really equip anything till you reach level 10, So you have to spend hours on this game. There's only three story modes. Its just a bad game. Dont rent it. DW 6 is WAY better. Go get that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst dynasty warriors ever

posted by wubloodkin (McKnightstown, PA) May 31, 2010

Member since May 2010

I LOVE dynasty warriors. I cant get enough of button mashing, mass killing and level 5 weapons. But this pathetic version of the dynasty saga was totally dissapointing. This is NOTHING like the other games of its kind. And the jumpi9ng/floating through the air was totally lame, and nearly impossible to control with any skill. The whole camp method of collecting materials was dumb, and alot of the original charachters had their weapons changed after years of the same thing that we are used to. I just was totally unimpressed, and hopefully the next warriors game will make up for this waste of time and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The worst Dynasty Warriors made

posted by ACNecron (BROOKLYN, NY) May 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

This game started alright and just takes a turn for the worse. Trying to activate the items while fighting and at the same time going through the item inventory, ridiculous. Some of the enemies in this game are downright impossible. The dash move and the item use are killing this game. They should've kept it simple like the previous games (not the Empires series) and this game would've been great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NO LOCAL CO-OP

posted by Chris206c (SEATTLE, WA) May 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

Why would anyone play this game for a reason other than to go killing with a friend?!?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I USED to like this game

posted by jenirose (AFTON, VA) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

All I have to say is the Dynasty Warrior franchise wasn't great to start with. So the question that comes to mind is, How do you make a so-so game worse? Do what Koei did when they made this game!

There is no longer a co-op split screen option, only multiplayer online.

Some new flying thing.. who knows what they were thinking when they came up with that.

The XP generator is cool and so is the second weapon of my choosing but what in the world do I need orbs for?

I have to collect stuff found god knows where to do anything with the market.

If you haven't caught what I am pitching yet...if you like the old PS2 versions don't waste your time. If you like the PS3 version...well you are probably the only one who still owns it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse