Rent Dynasty Warriors Next for PS Vita
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors Next

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

187 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

A lot of potential, but buggy.

posted by tysonedwards (Meeker, CO) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All I can say is that I am disappointed that I purchased this game instead of just renting it first.

I am a huge fan of the Dynasty Warriors series, but this one just seems as though they phoned it in.

The story doesn't make sense and is highly disjointed, the hack an slash gets constantly repetitive as you simply don't have as many moves as you do in the console games, and quite simply it takes way too much time to complete any of your objectives. Even on the easiest difficulty, resources that I take are retaken by the time that I am able to get 2-3 sites ahead.

Constantly trying to re-take things that should be protected by all of the forward positions that I have secured.

If I had rented at first, I certainly would not have purchased this portable addition to the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Game...But Brought Down by a Huge Flaw....

posted by Gobind05 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

A Little backstory. I bought the First Edition PS Vita and pre-ordered Dynasty Warriors Next. As the days went by, I was super excited to play it because it looked great! I went and picked it up and ya...about that greatness....I returned it and bought Dynasty Warriors 7 for ps3

The Good:

-It looks amazing on the Vita!
-Gameplay
When I say gameplay, I mean the hack and slash we all love. It's here and it's glorious espcially since they added two different types of Musou.
-Amazing Soundtrack (As always)
I love DW games OSTs because they get you in the mood to chop down thousands of soldiers. A lot of the songs are from DW7, which is fine with me because I loved DW7.

The Horrible Bad:

-The Touch Mini-games
This is what made me return the game. Yes, I know it sounds dumb but hear me out. Most of the mini-games using the Vita's touch screen are okay EXCEPT for Duels....this has to be one of the most annoying concepts ever put in a game. The problem with Duels are they pop up all the time and cannot be skipped. Add that Duels are non-responsive and extremely cheap. An example of this goes as such, I was playing a level that took me about 10mins to go through completely and then went and faced the final boss of the map....the duel took me an hour to beat because I kept losing to it's cheapness. You have to hit the computer about 50+ times while you can only take about 4-5 hits. Trust me when I say this, it ruins the game...seriously. I tried getting through it but you have a 1-3 duels each map. It was nerve wracking.

The Kind of Bad (But not huge):

-You cannot pick the track playing
Not a deal breaker but I did enjoy choosing the more epic tracks of the OST
-Story was all over the place
I say this because a new person to the franchise would probably be confused like none other.
-The progression system is kind of weak

Summary:
DW Next was a great idea but poorly executed. If you were like me thinking that this was just a port of DW7...you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lu Bu

posted by Tormoil798 (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Its... its.... LU BU!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by xrgamer (INDIO, CA) Aug 12, 2012

Member since May 2012

its a great game you can unlock numerous items some vita games save onto the game itself so look it up online googles your friend. the game follows multiple campaign at times you can become frustrated sice your actions dont show in the rsesult of battlle again i said sometimes this a great strarter game for any new vita owners

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun and fast paced

posted by Chaosage (PASADENA, CA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2006

A lot of changes in the style to speed up gameplay. Wish I could defend against attacks in conquest mode rather than risk style takeovers. Would be nice if there were no retries when taking over an area. Overall, a god DW game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

confusing

posted by cid2042 (Seattle, WA) May 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

First the was already saved data on the game. I couldn't find a way to delete the old information. So I tried to start the first level over again but it was clearly missing a tutorial stage. I spent a lot of time guessing and decided it was not worth my time.

I'm sure the game would be fun for someone that has played the other versions of the game but personally I'm going pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's Ok

posted by Abaas (GROVE CITY, OH) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It Is My First Dynasty Warrior Game, But Is Not My Last. This Is A Good Game But Could Be A Bit Better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dynasty Warriors Same

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Mar 2, 2012

Member since May 2011

First, this game is really good.

The graphics are great, controls and all that are great, the touch screen stuff is okay too (except the chase game, that's terrible).

I've played every Dynasty Warriors game out there, except the portable versions.
I wasn't going to play this game, as I usually don't play portable ports. But seeing it get surprisingly good reviews convinced me to try it and I'm glad I did.

I'm glad they went back to the old weapon system. They also brought back items and orbs. The story is told well, but isn't presented as good as previous titles (specifically DW5) they put in conquest mode, which is a great addition, they also put in Create a Warrior and that is spectacular, except that it's all the same pieces from the older games. I had no trouble with duels, other than that they end too quickly. I often get the the enemies Main Camp and before hitting anyone, I'm in a Duel with the General, and a flick of my finger and the Level is over. The maps are good, definitely the right size for a portable game.
The problem is the game isn't really anything new. If you're a fan of DW, it's great because it's a great DW game, but you're not missing anything if you don't check it out. If you're new to the series, it's a great game to play, but doesn't give you the same representation of the story that you can get in other titles.

It's a great game to pick up and play for trophies and all, especially if nothing else catches your eye but if there's something else out there, don't feel bad about passing on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »