Rent Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.3

1667 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best one yet

posted by MDGame (ALLENTOWN, PA) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

27 out of 28 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I was very excited for this game and I am not disappointed..

the new graphics style (cel shading) is amazing the game is easily the prettiest Dynasty Warriors so far the robots look sweet

speaking of robots DWG3 has lots of them including some of my favorites like Unicorn and Deathscythe

the gameplay is similar to previous entries with few new features like summoning a partner

the stages are also different they are smaller..some people may dislike this but I thought its fine.

you can customize all of your gundams and add attachments and maxing out their stats . Also they fixed the annoying relationship system

The game is hard, harder than the previous games which is a big plus. You can't just mindlessly rush and button mash your way, you need to use some strategy like taking certain bases early and using gameplay mechanics like dashing efficiently. you should especially be careful with aces..

the story is decent..its not really the focus of the game but if you are a gundam enthusiast you will enjoy seeing all the characters from different series interact and of course the robots too ;) you will surely find one of your favs

overall this has to be the best DW game, tons of content, smooth and fun gameplay, and lots of gundams. If you liked DWG1 or DWG2 then I guarantee you will love this one. If you are a newcomer then give it a chance, this game is just fun..and if your get hooked it will keep you busy for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST IN THE SERIES

posted by Icedog (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like the DWG series, then you will love this one.

Some simalarities with DWG2:
1. basic "XY" fighting style
2. thruster controls
3. every mobile suit from DWG2

Some differences that DWG3 brings:
1. graphics: amped up to almost cgi standards (real life cartoon)
2. mobile suits: a new handful of MS/Gundams including Deathscythe :D
3. Lab: you can develop, customize, and even sell "plans" (you'll find out once you play lol)
4. missions: characters team up with unusual allies in at least 4 different story missions. There are also "history" missions where you play through some events that happend in the actual Gundam timeline.

I highly recomend getting if you are a Gundam/ Dynastry Warriors fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Dynasty Warriors Gundam yet

posted by AoWdemon (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This should go without saying that the "Warriors" games are a niche style that you either love or hate. If you love the "Warriors" games you will love this one too.

They basically took everything people hated from Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2 and fixed it. The horrible friendship system is now much more manageable and isn't anywhere near as annoying. Buying Licenses and Skills is a lot less annoying. Changing mobile suit blueprints is no longer extremely annoying. Some of the movesets were upgraded. And they even added some fan favorites that people really wanted in like Duo Maxwell and Deathscythe. They also improved the AI a lot, they are much more aggressive and will be attacking almost all the time. And that's not just the enemy Ace Pilots.

One of the biggest improvements, which actually surprised me, was the change to cel-shaded graphics. This looks a lot closer to the anime and adds a lot to the general feel of the game.

A few other improvements include changing different fields on the battlefield to have different purposes like increasing the partner guage or disabling the enemies ability to respawn. And the Partner system where you select another pilot to be your partner (they all do many different things) which you can call in when you have one slot filled in the partner guage.

This game is infinitely better then the games before it and if you are a fan you cannot miss this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrendous.

posted by sunikusu (TACOMA, WA) Oct 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Look... the bottom line with this game is this:

This is for fans of the Gundam "Series" ONLY.

What's that? You don't know anything about the Gundam Franchise and it's characters? You like Dynasty Warriors and are looking for a fun beat-em-up? Well too bad friend.

Sure you get a Dynasty Warriors game... Sure you get loads of gundams' to fight with... but you DO NOT get a STORY. You literally start this game with NO INTRODUCTION whatsoever, assuming you know everything about the characters, their names, and what they're fighting for. And unless you're a die hard fan of the series, you'll be ripping your hair out like I did.

(( Try to imagine watching the show "LOST" midway through, and then trying to make sense of everything and all it's characters... yeah... it's like that. ))

Now you might be saying "I don't CARE about the story! This is DYNASTY WARRIORS GUNDAM! I just want to rip some robots to shreds!" and you will! But after 10 minutes have passed, and you realized you've done nothing but run around hitting enemies for no reason, you'll start resenting every minute this game is on. ( Granted, Dynasty Warriors is a repetitive franchise, but at LEAST every game before this gave you the courtesy of purpose. )

So yeah... don't get this game unless you REALLY want to see all your favorite gundam characters duke it out with hoards of enemies. If not, pass this one up and save the headache!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3

posted by Tyro123 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

14 out of 22 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Wow,...

This game,...

YES!

This game is endless hours of fun.

Seriously, open up a cold pepsi with some chips by your side and enjoy this game, and be ready to stay up late.

Positives: Everything. Ooohing and Aahing a lot.

Negatives: I went through all my sodas and snacks with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring after a few hours....

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've never watched the show, so that may be the difference, but as a Dynasty Warriors fan, I was very bored with this game after about 40 completed levels. Sure picking different robots to pilot gives different story arcs, but the levels are just small squares built upon each other, and after hours of playing it's just so repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

D.W.G.3 bout darn time

posted by chrisjh (CLARKSVILLE, IA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Yeah Big fan of this game and the other two as well. A few new Gundams, and characters to be added to the game make for well a fun but limited game. Considering that missions are split by four teams, and then two, two become one and then you just try to get new stuff and lvl up guys and gals you dont care about but you can use each others gundams so you dont get stuck driving the substandard Ball or Zaku Tank with one guy all the time. The newest and biggist change for this was the graphics I was sceptical about cell shading at first but wow it realy pops some times you get lost looking at all that color and I'm not an art or graphics junky but wow. I didn't like some of the creation tweeks that they made but i can forgive that consideing you dont need to play a whole match while wating for you new up grages and that rocks. If you havnt play this style of game I sugest reading everything other wise you will be lost but all arround its a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than I hoped

posted by AngelicN9ne (HOXIE, KS) Dec 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

Dynasty Warrior titles are known for not being very good and narrow minded but Gundam 3 kept me entertained and having fun the entire time I played. The sheer number of Gundams that are available is amazing and each has their own special abilities and attacks that makes each one unique. The story is decent but the dialogue is definitely forgettable. Its definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautiful Game!

posted by VickersFamily (CINCINNATI, OH) May 4, 2014

Member since May 2014

I love this game! My husband loves Gundam and this is the perfect introductory middle ground for someone unfamiliar with Gundam, my whole family loves it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Introduction to Gundam

posted by RPGojira (WILLIAMSVILLE, NY) Apr 23, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

An excellent beat'em up that gives players a stellar introduction to the, at times, convoluted world that is Gundam. I picked it up just to learn more about the series as a whole and have been blown away by the sheer amount of content. And it's a great stress reliever too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3..Epic, in short bursts

posted by ShadowMark (ROSENDALE, NY) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I am a Diehard fan of the Gundam Franchise and was really looking forward to this game. I was not disappointed, I enjoyed it thouroughly and am about 60 hours into it, still haven't finished everything. the amount of customization and Gundams/mobile suits you get is enormous, and there are millions of possibilities for your play style. The storyline is original and fresh, and the history missions are fantastic. the one gripe I have is that you cant pilot the Dark Gundam and cant use a Giant titan gundam. and that's another point, those Giant enemies are incredibly fun to fight, though annoying to fight on Hard. it encourages you to play every pilot by having missions that only certain people can unlock. also, having missions that require a certain friendship level (5 Freindship with kamille,haman and scirocco was annoying to get lol) is a good feature so you don't ignore anyone. I was planning on using only Setsuna F Seiei but had to change my pilots quite often which made things interesting. all in all, this game has great gameplay and story but, it does get repetitive after a few hours of nonstop play. I reccommed short burst of about an hour or 2 unless you really get into it like I have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't work

posted by rom11 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

the disc did not read.. i waited for this game too. >=(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DWG3 is awsome!

posted by lee6787 (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

As both a Dynasty Warriors and Gundam fan I find this game to be just amazing. The number of useable Gundams alone makes this game worth playing, let alone the number or pilots and multiple story lines. Addmitadlly its a button masher and takes very little skill to play but its just too entertaining to play as Domon Kasshu and the Burning Gundam and beat bown on litterally hundereds of enemy gundams. I also find the fact that unlike so many of the older DW games it doesnt take two hours just to finish a mission and i find my self being able to complete most stages in about 5 minutes. Which makes it perfect for those times when you just need some quick fix gaming. The game also has rather nice graphics and a good soundtrack both bonuses in my book. As a gamer i should probbably really rate it an 8/10 but as a long time Gundam I have just got to give this one a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by bevannlewi (CLEVELAND, OH) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

Very Repetitive, but was good to see the iconic pilots and mobile suits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring, that is all

posted by Plasmawarrior (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I never thought I'd say this about a Dynasty Warriors game, but this one bored me. The main problems is that it's too linear this time around, and it's not really that different from past versions of this series. The Moble Suits themselves aren't too bad to use, many with creative special attacks that aren't the same old 'blow one guy up' as you'd expect, but that's not the issue here.

The story mode is split into many parts, but I found myself going no-where with them fast. I often found myself playing in the same area during one string of character events, a problem I didn't have with any other Warriors Series game. I remember playing though the same stage 3 times in a row before finding another one.

The graphics and the music however are almost too good. I loved how the game breaks apart enemies when they go down, and the music blends both space opera like music into a rock-and-roll blend. The voice acting is ok, but some parts don't have voices in the story, while others do. Odd to me being that I'm use to hearing a voice though pretty much EVERYTHING that's said in a Warriors game.

Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3 is NOT the same as the past games, and that's the problem: It's the same in and off itself, meaning repeative besides just controls. The game needed way more original content to it to work. It's fine for some, but even the hard core Dynasty Warriors fan will be bored with it fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It is ok

posted by DragonLord53 (LATROBE, PA) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The game is fun but after a few hours, it is just the same thing over, over, and over again. The gundams are easy to get but the pilots are hard to get (grind). The online play is dead. No one plays online with this game. Overall it is ok game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better, but still lacking.

posted by Aidra (GREENFIELD, OH) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

First of all, let me state that I have been playing the DW games since Dynasty Warriors 2, and have been a pretty big fan ever since. I've always liked the Gundam series, so naturally DW:Gundam drew me in.

I've played the previous to Gundam entries in the DW series, and this one is a step in the right direction for sure.

BUT... there are some major areas in this game where it just falls flat. Compared to Dynasty Warriors (the core series) and even Samurai Warriors, the fundamentals of the game are mind numbingly bland. I'll ellaborate in the pros and cons

Pros:
-Most of your favorite mobile suits are in the game.
-The cell shaded graphics on the mobile suits are great!
-The animations are pretty to watch.
-A butt load of content to play through, and unlock

Cons:
-Ridiculous story that fails to capture your attention
-Almost half of the mobile suits are worthless and have very few attacks/abilities.
-The maps are absolutely wretched. The textures are low quality, as well as they all look pretty much the same. Go to this field, kill mindless suits, capture field. It's ALWAYS the same, save for the random ace pilots that it throws into the mix, that are almost equally as brainless.
-The customization of your suits starts out exciting, but in the end you don't really feel like you have a lot of choices.
-I love leveling up and unlocking attacks/abilites, but you do so too quickly in this game. In less than 2 hours you can have all your mobile suits attacks unlocked, and from there on its the same combo's over and over until you tire and pick another suit to mix things up.

All in all, this is another DW game. If you're a fan of hack and slash and love Gundam, give it a try. If you love the DW series, give it a try. Otherwise, don't waste your time and find something else to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you love Gundam, have I got a deal for you...

posted by Natiow59 (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

Starting this review, I think stating the obvious is necessary. This is a Dynasty Warriors game. If you don't like these games, you will not enjoy this one. Sorry, but thems the breaks.

That said, this game is worth at least a prolonged rent.

Pro: Better graphics than ever, more attempt at new gameplay mechanics, more characters, more suits, more attempt at plot.

Con: Repetitive, more characters, more suits, voice acting and writing, inexplicable design choices.

Overall, I like this game. As a huge Gundam and Dynasty Warriors fan, I look forward to each new release, even if just to play it for a little while before some bigger and better comes along. Having played this game for a long time both solo and co-op, I would recommend it as a solid rental. The game kept some of my interest for a long time, which means it can give you a lot of hours of entertainment. Worth $60? Maybe not, but not a worthless game.

I very much enjoyed the addition of new characters and mission parameters in this game. While some new mechanics don't work out so well (Operators, unimportant new characters, characters with only generic suits), the new twists are more than enough to bring this game home. I would highly suggest this to fans, especially if you have a friend to co-op with.

That said, there is not a whole lot that is new here. Many new characters are essentially worthless. Many are only useful as assist partners, and only after lengthy investments in their development. This can and will get tedious. Getting new suits is sometimes a pain, as is new characters. Often you will like maybe only a handful of characters, and feel content just to play around with them and then get bored.

But don't lose hope! This game has a lot to offer, and if you are willing to forgive its flaws, you can enjoy the fullest of the game in the way it was meant, as a fan. Oh, and also this game is unintentionally hilarious often, which warrants mention as it actually improves the game fo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best gundam ever should make another

posted by tito805 Jan 13, 2012

it is the best gundam game game ever it feels like yestraday i was watching this show my little brothers are asking this for his birthday to see how the gundams where when there my age

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest one yet

posted by OokamiRyouko (ANDERSON, SC) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Despite sending this game back soon after getting it, this was the best Gundam Musou game to date. I couldn't ask for anything more from it, other than a bigger cast. The battle system is flawless, graphics are flawless, everything is perfect with this game. Favorite game on the Xbox 360 yet. Can't wait for the next time I play this one, or play the hopefullyreleasedsoon sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best Dynasty Warriors Game

posted by mamajama72 (PLAINFIELD, IL) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I have not yet played all of them, but Dyansty Warriors 3 (regular) is a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My Review

posted by RpgGamergirl13 (RICHMOND, IN) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

though i did not play the game very much.. it had pretty decent graphics and is worth renting if you like the dynasty warriors series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

On the edge.

posted by Leyero (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Personally I think this is a great game especially with the cell shading. You may not like this do to the the constant button mashing and bland story but it it eats at you, and makes you want more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Game

posted by Sethamphetamine (BRADENTON, FL) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The only reason I give it an 8 is because the game kept freezing and I'd have to reboot my console. Otherwise your typical Dynasty Warriors game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ridiculous but awesome...

posted by aaronelmitt34 (ANTHONY, KS) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3 was completely ridiculous but awesome all the same. The only problem I had with it was the story it was quite random and had no real plot but the game play made up for that 100 times. The combos are very fun to master and quite ingenious all in all fun, fun, fun...lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse