Rent Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.5

1152 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprised me.

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Jul 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

33 out of 38 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I agree with Gamblor, the game is very slow at first, and you definitly wont get to the true, raw action that you experience later on. Take a moment, and read this review.

Gameplay/Storyline: As mentioned before, it starts off very slow, but slowly progresses to a state in which the game is just pure fun. Gundam vs. Gundam. You upgrade your machine and then battle other machines to see which has more skill. And when you get bored of Single Player, take the fight online and challenge your friends! (Which is REALLY FUN i might add)

Visuals/Sound: Nothing out of the ordinary yet nothing surprising. Although it is cartoon-graphic quality, it still gets a rating of 7 i'd say, while the Sound is pretty good, yearning itself an 8.

Replay Value: THIS is why i gave it a 9. Because no matter how many times you play the game, you'll find something new everytime, which reminds me of some other great games out there (Bethesda Softworks... cough). Weither its spare parts, some new Gundam model. Or maybe you'll just find some really awesome-looking combination you haven't tried before. Plus there's always online, and there's no end to that.

In all, i'd say this game is worth a rent. POSSIBLY a buy, but you'd better try it out before you buy, so that you don't lose precious money to something you'll be sticking back in your videogame drawer to be forgotten forever....

Thanks for checking my reviews out on GAMEFLY. You guys are great.

:food'n'drink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A time investment

posted by adman3344 (DEWITT, MI) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you like dynasty warriors, gundams, or jus hack n slash games this one is pretty good.

tons of characters and partners to unlock, long story modes, upgrades galore.

I had my hours of fun while this was rented

only complaint is that some things got boring and tedious while trying to unlock content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hours of entertainment

posted by Gamblor87 (EAGLE BRIDGE, NY) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

at first its slow and cumbersome working with certain characters but once youve gotten a few unlocks and points you can make a simple mobile suit into a fearsome muder machine and watch wave upon wave of enemy crumble before you. This game is repetitive as of most dynasty warriors games with maps and enemies and that terrible dialogue but heck its worth piloting your favorite mobile suit to destroy everything in your path with limitless upgrades!! 5/5!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gundam dynasty warriors 3

posted by bloodedge (ROCKFORD, IL) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

gundam was a good game because its my type of game nd it also brings back my days when i was younger and i used to watch some of the older gundam shows like wing gundam mobile g gundam so its a fun game for all you anime lovers like myself so if u like animes or watever like hack and slash games repetetive stuff u will like this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better dynasty gundam

posted by silenth2u (MANASSAS, VA) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is an upgrade from Gundam Dynasty warriors 2. The game starts out a little slow but it makes your earn the more powerful moves instead of just giving you all the moves. All suits are upgradabel and its alot easier getting parts. The upgrade system gets a little getting used to but you dont have to play a thousand missions just to get the parts you need for the gundam that you like playing. The gameplay gives you loads and loads of hack n slash fun but the camera is a little off this time. Its a little to close and with the closes stages some times the visuals can get a little overwhelming.

All and all this is the best one yet. A little more tweeking for the next one and it will be perfect. I cant wait till the downloadable content comes out. This one is definatly a great rent if you need to spend tones of hours blowing off steam mowing down mech's. If your a Gundam fan like me this is definatly a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

almost worse than strikeforce

posted by jason1992 (BEECHER, IL) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

well lets put it this way. the combat is exactly the same which i have no problem with i mean its koei.
but the main problems i have with it is. that the story is AWFUL ok its like a REALLY BAD version of warriors orochi which was dynasty warriors mixed with samurai warriors. the charactors from different era's come together and none of them know whats going on so they get allies and make enemies just like in warriors orochi

next the levels and their designs painfuly bad. its super congested. you know like when you play any dynasty warriors game (not strikeforce) you have the freedom of going anyware you want and not like your going to like 1 area after the next with barely any freedom. you have no freedom and nothing fun about the levels

sure there are cool things about the levels but the cool factor goes away super fast like how in certain areas there are like bonuses like a catapult that shoots you to another area in the level or a repair place. they could have done more to it

another horrible thing is that they added charactors to the roster from different series. why is that bad? well in gundam wing series theyre missing 3 of the main characters. also they got rid of some characters for what reason well to my theory is that koei is gunna start charging money to complete the series of characters like i stated above. so basically instead of having a full roster of charactors for all the series we get (which is a heck of a lot some i could do without OO gundam and G gundam) they will make us spend more money to have all the characters for the shows

there are more negatives but lets focus on the positives
1 the graphics are actually nice cell shaded and the cut scenes are great looking.
2. the gundams and mobile suits are for the most part different in terms of combos
3. the partner attacks are intresting
4. online play is not the greatest at all but i like playing with my friends

i loved gundam 2. it was the best in the series. this one is a huge step back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by Archer9914 (EMMETT, ID) Jul 20, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Starts out slow but after a few missions has an amzing story and gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly Excellent

posted by societydweller (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I wasn't expecting a lot from this game. It ended up being my favorite slash-em game in a long time. And the graphics make it look just like you're playing the cartoon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by Filthylooker (WORCESTER, MA) Dec 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

brings back old experiences playing the Dynasty Warriors games and now its got a Gundam Feel......even better i was psyched when i found out i could use Domon along with his Burning Gundam. They kept a lot of the original voices although they did recycle a few. Even the online feature was awesome can't wait for a part 4 or even better if they go with another anime series like Bleach, Ronin Warriors, naruto, guyver, or even Dragon Ball would be sick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3

posted by MattW1980 (NAPLES, FL) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I actually began my DWG interest with the second installment on the ps2. However, Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3 has surpassed all expectations for me. I have held onto the game for nearly a year, and still do not tire of it. I will split my review into 2 sections, first noting the negatives, then the positives.

1. The only real complaint I have is that I wish more of the soundtrack from the original japanese version had been transferred over to the american version. The cgi movies suffer especially from a very lackluster soundtrack. I also admit that having to pay extra for five dlc mobile suits is a bit of a downer. All around I just wish we had more characters and mobile suits to play with, and ones that made sense (Lacus Clyne is a pilot? Really??)

2. The soundtrack, however, does not deter from the bliss of hacking and slashing my way through wave after wave of Mobile Suits, or having to occasionally think my way through a map. Indeed the core gameplay is fantastic. The selection of Mobile Suits is excellent, despite my previous comments. The roster is already very plentiful, but like any other game of this type, I always hope for more. The DLC Mobile Suits I mentioned earlier are, at least to me, well worth the price to add them to your roster (I bought all 5). The story mode is interesting, to say the least, and fairly well thought-out. Gone is the annoyance of fluctuating friendships and developing them one character at a time, in favor of a much more simplistic system that runs way smoother.

My final verdict is that aside from the soundtrack, Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3 takes everything good from it's predecessors, and just improves on it. If you love Gundam, you will love this game. If you love Dynasty Warriors, you will love this game. If you love giant robots running around beating the tar out of each other, YOU WILL LOVE THIS GAME!
9.5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Warriors with a Twist

posted by GameboyID (HOSCHTON, GA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I started out by giving this game a 7 because I didn't send it back immediately. I then said "Pros - MASSIVE variety of characters and mobile suits from the Gundam franchise and DLC. Beautiful graphics. Interesting gameplay features." 3 pros, 3 points. Then I said "Cons - Repetitive." This takes away 2 points. Why? Because it's a KOEI game. They couldn't do something else,even for Gundam. So this gets an 8. Don't let the repetivity scare you. I got this game twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best dynasty warriors!

posted by black_hawk (ELIZABETH, NJ) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Not the best dynasty warriors game but it is ok. Cut scenes in the regular dynasty warriors are alot better. action is better do in the regular one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun when it worked

posted by manequin (TACOMA, WA) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The game was over all fun. the story could have had more to it, and more objectives in each mission. I really enjoyed this as i have all the dynasty warrior games and samurai warrior games. However the game would go into infinite loads, freeze and reset the ps3 and would just completely lock up the ps3 every 3 or 4 missions. The disk was completely clean, ps3 wasnt even getting warm.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as fun as other Warriors games..

posted by savedsuccessful (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

was pretty disappointed with this. the game isnt terrible but it wasnt what i was expecting and i just didnt like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lazy level design but still good fun...

posted by Lucread (CLEARFIELD, UT) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This games does Dynasty Warriors gameplay better than any other title in the franchise. Taking the core gameplay that, lets admit it, hasn't changed since hte first Musou title (or Dynasty Warriors 2, as it were), DWG3 manages to make it exciting and new again. No longer can you rush the main camp (enemy HQ) and take out the boss, instead you have to work through a series of goals to even get him/her/it to appear.

These new mechanics make the game seem fresh, and the game lots of fun.

Unfortunately, the level design is likely the laziest ever seen in a DW title, and thats saying alot. I honestly think there are maybe 6 or 7 different levels that are all repeated over and over again with different areas holding different characteristics depending on the mission. At first this is nothing big, but after playing a few dozen missions, it gets extremely repetitive and quite annoying.

There's nothing wrong with reuse, but this got extremely ridiculous.

That said, however, its still good fun, and manages to be the most entertaining Gundam video game in the American market (if you're willing to look elsewhere and import, might I suggest ACE:R, an awesome crosover video game featuring Gundam, Macross, and more). Basically, if you like Dynasty Warriors and/or Gundam, then you should defintely give this game a go.

It'll give you at least a week of good fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Do not Bother!

posted by WillK00 (MERION STATION, PA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2005

I thought this game was going to be like the other Dynasty Warriors, but it's not. Save your que space for games that are worth it, this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3

posted by burstshot23 (PERRY, MI) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Personally, I don't see why a lot of people have a problem with this game. I have seen a lot of postings about how repetitive it is. I have played games like that before (Mega Man, Mega Man X), but they still are fun to play if you are a die hard fan. I have been a fan of the 00 series since I saw it. The graphics for this game are amazing, the gameplay is challenging, and the way you can mix and match as well as customize is an awesome perk. But I do have to admit that the story really doesn't have the spark that I like. Other then that, this game is in my top 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DYNASTY WARRIORS 3 GUNDAM

posted by chaz_34 (TANGIER, VA) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I AM SENDING THIS GAME BACK BECAUSE I DID NOT LIKE IT. SORRY IT WAS JUST NOT MY KIND OF GAME. AND ALSO I AM SENDING ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I HAVE EVER PLAYED NINJA GAIDEN. THE REASON I DID NOT RENT THE SECOND ONE MY BROTHER HAS THE SECOND ONE. BUT THE GAME WAS KILLER, AND THE SECOND GAME I AM PLAYING IS JUST AS FUN. LET ME KNOW WHEN THE THIRD ONE IS COMING OUT BECAUSE I WOULD DEFENITLY RENT OR BUY IT FROM YOU ALL. AND THANK YOU FOR SENDING CASTLEVANIA, I DON'T KNOW WHAT I WOULD DO IF YOUR COMPANY WAS NOT OUT THERE. BECAUSE YOU ALL ARE CHEAP, AND RELIABLE TO YOUR CUSTOMERS. AND THANK YOU ALL FOR DOING SUCH A GOOD JOB.............

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by Chrisanimefan (SAINT JOHNS, FL) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I like to say that this game is awsome. If you are a Gundam fan and the Gundam anime series you will like this game. I have been a Gundam fan since I saw Gundam Wing more of the other Gundam series. I think this game covers all of the Gundam series from the first series to the lates series. You get characters from Mobile Suit Gundam and all the way to Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn. And you get characters that was not in the first two games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Painful.

posted by shark_attack88 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

This game seems like a great concept and I was really looking forward to it.

It did not deliver.

The story line was painfully dull. The gameplay is COMPLETELY monotonous.

On top of that, all the trophies in this game are for segments that quite frankly take forever to unlock.

The game's only saving grace is the online play, but even then you would have to spend countless hours gaining experience and points to upgrade your Gundam.

Overall unenjoyable and a pretty big letdown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Game

posted by Tame421 (SUNRISE, FL) Jan 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

The gameplay is exactly how the trailer for the game shows. You bashing your way through scores of enemies in an attempt to control the battlefield mission after mission after mission. However, I found that there are various little things within the games mechanics that, if your willing to extend your combat time, is worth the amusement. Little things such as mastering the boost dash, emergency dash, partner strikes, and Quick time events. For example, while piloting the 00 Raiser in Trans Am mode it's emergency dash changes. The 00 Raiser will, very quickly, quantize (as seen in the anime) to avoid further damage and reappear depending on where the player chooses. I took the extra time to search and learn them and it added to my gameplay experience, as I could try to make battles as intense as possible.

The online side of the game is a hit-and-miss. Of course running around various stages with three other people in your favorite mobile suit is fun, but the lack of people available to play with is a sure let down. I once spent 40 minutes waiting for more players. If you do get lucky and find a match online with other people it's a blast, albeit a short lived one. At the most, it'll take a four person team 3-5 minutes to clear just about any stage. There are giant boss battle stages like the Dark Gundam stage, but even that is a breeze (especially when I person can KO the boss in 30 seconds; an experience I had). The only use for the online for me was easily getting gold to buy and build my Gundams.

Other than the online multiplayer, the only thing that disappointed me a bit was that I got the 00 Raiser way faster than I expected. I was looking forward to having to work for it, though that's a personal problem. This game is definitely worth renting and maybe even buying if your a fan of the Gundam series.

Gameplay: 8/10
Story: 9/10
Online: 4/10
Gametime: 200+ hours
Overall: 9/10

Currently renting for a second time and considering keeping it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better Than 2

posted by shu44 (OCOEE, FL) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

has alot of new things like a launch pad so deploy faster

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun.

posted by garretreyes83 (LUBBOCK, TX) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3 was very fun. More like anime than a video game. was a bit upset about in some of the history missions like Char's counterattack some of the characters in Gundam 2 were replaced with nameless characters. Other than that very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring Slasher

posted by CallMeThumbs (PEWAUKEE, WI) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I rented this game being a big fan of games like the God of War Series. Also, enjoying Gundam television shows I thought this would be a good fit. However it was boring and simplistic. The single player mode I played for twenty hours and got sick of the same cut and paste fighting. The unlockables could take a lifetime to unlock and there are few online levels that take two minutes for one team member to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good Game.

posted by leferink40 (ENTERPRISE, AL) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

It's a great game. A flaw is the fact that it's Dynasty Warriors gundam 2 with more characters and a small amount of more features. Another flaw was how easy it was. You could just buy a strong gundam and take every enemy down in 2-3 hits. This is the type of game where you don't buy it, you wait for the sequel a year or two later. So if you haven't bought the game just rent it and if you want to own one, wait for the sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse