Rent Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2
GF Rating
6.8

2046 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best game ever, but strangely addicting

posted by TaterSalad (LINTON, IN) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

28 out of 30 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I don't know why, exactly, but I can't stop playing this. I feel COMPELLED to upgrade Master Asia so he is even more overpowered than before. I think this is a testament to the game design in some way, that the core gameplay is so lacking yet I can't wait to play it more. The game design has flaws otherwise, though.

As an example, if you get a mission where a fail condition is that an allied pilot dies, and a Mobile Armor appears (which seems to be fairly random), just quit the mission and restart it. Your allied pilot will always decide to run up and attack its legs until the ally dies. When you become face-shatteringly powerful you can, about 60% of the time, do enough damage to it fast enough that your ally can survive, but even then it's far from guaranteed.

I guess if you like Dynasty Warriors, and you like Gundam, this game is peanut butter and chocolate, with a little fly stuck in the middle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Vastly Improved

posted by MalcolmX (WICHITA, KS) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Make no mistake that this is a Dynasty Warriors game and you often find yourself pressing X several times followed by Y and sometimes even A. That being said, Dynasty Warriors 6 contained basically no combos and the combos added in this game are a welcome change. This game also contains literally 100's of missions to play through as your favorite pilot. Characters both obscure and legendary are featured in the roster of 40+ pilots to chose from, that is not even counting the mobile suit. This game contains almost every mobile suit I can think of and several I've never heard of. Each suit has its own parts to collect which can also be outfitted with special attachments. If you don't like Dynasty Warriors gameplay you will hate this game, but if you do, this game contains hours of button mashing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, even for a non fan of Gundam

posted by Lajon18 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never watched the Anime and the storyline doesn't interest me at all...but I really love this series of games. I was a big fan of the Dynasty Warrior titles but this Gundam installation allows you to customize upgrades for your robots and it has very high replay-ability. The adjustable difficulties make it so all ages and skill levels can enjoy the button mashing and robot slicing. Only thing that would make this game better is if I cared about the storylines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a Look for Gundam Fans

posted by HeatSonata (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) May 31, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm giving the game a 5 because it has more than a couple of obviously annoying gameplay elements. Many things are easy to overlook the first time, but when I'm upgrading a fully upgraded part again for the tenth time or trying to pilot a Dom with no charge attack in many difficult missions just to unlock slightly higher stats for it and become "friends" with the Black Tri-Stars, you have to wonder how some of these things were intended to be enjoyed. On the other hand, if you DO find these things fun then there is plenty of fun to be had, as the extensive mission mode will allow you to run its gambit of nearly identical missions for many characters.

Now, I am a bit hard on the gameplay, but there is some good news. First off, Dynasty Warriors players (for better or worse) will find getting into it like riding a bike. You still have your armies of soldiers to slash and your aces (like officers) to defeat, you still have your same health pickups and powerups, and Fields replace the guard depots of DW. A few new mechanics include boosting and shooting, but both of these should fit in pretty well and are certainly logical inclusions for a Gundam variation.

The other piece of good news is that this game should be immensely entertaining for any Gundam buff. I'm not saying it's necessarily pulled off well, though it is tons of fun playing some of the theoretical storylines included in the mission mode even if they don't fit together. What I mean is that the game will be hilarious to anyone who has watched the Gundam series in any of its incarnations and sees what it's been stretched to here. Things like Domon's hilarious English voice actor for the game and some pieces of dialogue (Scirocco: You smart-alec! Kamille: What's wrong with being smart?!) had me in stitches.

I wouldn't call it a quality game, I'm afraid, but I do think that DW or Gundam fans should be able to enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

improved from the original, but with more problems

posted by Masque (BRONX, NY) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Now don't get me wrong, i enjoy the dynasty warriors formula... to an extent. I like the original games because it followed a story line, even if it played through the same story numerous times, the new cut scenes and improved level designs kept me coming back, and i always loved gundam so i tried the original. The original was a little... hectic to say the least... this one makes less sense

the official mode, by far, the best part of the game, the cut scenes of the mobile suits were always awesome and the details and game play were all solid. scenes where two people talked to eachother made NO SENSE... where is this person? in a suit? standing next to eachother? over the radio? where? and when someone screams aaaaaaah! their mouth opens and closes the whole time. also unlocking characters in the character gallery is a pain (did you know that there is 3 of one character, that look EXACTLY the same?) but collecting mobile suit parts to make mobile suits actually did make sense, so did the part finding upgrade system... the mission mode upgrade system was a bit confusing so i just kept pressing A or X which is usually what youre supposed to do in this game.

MISSION MODE WAS TERRIBLE. certain characters did certain things that made sense... domon wants to fight you in a gundam fight, he wants to find the dark gundam... loran fights the guy that is from his home world of the moon (the heck?) to make piece... also made sense... but when you start a mission mode trying to help out someone, and then you fight them on the field for no reason... then if you lose and you start the mission over and get COMPLETELY different opponents and allies? what the heck is that? theres an achievement for being friends with every character in the game... how is that even possible when to become friends with one character you have to save that one character from like... 5 others that were friends and arent now becuase you blew them up?

well theres still more that needs to be fixed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best dynasty warriors game yet....

posted by ranncore (Kapolei, HI) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

boy, where should i start, well, the newest thing i realized when i hit up the menu screen was, well, the menu. i am a dynasty warriors fan, i have rented and or bought every dynasty warriors game since the fourth installment, so i will have lower standards than the die hard hardcore player would. so, the combat: nothing new. just the usual, except there are like googleplex more enemies to kill and more "explosive" combo's you can pull off and not to mention the larger roster of charecters to choose from. so the ace's in this game are alot easiers to kill, but what makes up for that is in time, every few missions, you will face a mobile armor, fas of the gundam series already know what these are, but for the newcomers, they are very very huge mobile suits that wont go down with a minute of wacking, no sireeeeee, they will take the most expert skill to take down, because you have to dodge all of its fire while being close enough to hit it, easy enough till about half of its life and from there it goes berserk and unleashes its most powerful attacks. but hats enough, im not here to tell you about the hard guys to kill im here to give a review. so moving on, he charecter all have their distinct story if yo choose original mode. and a charecter builder in mission mode where you choose your charecter and do anything freom there, die hard gundam and dynasty warriors fans will rejoice over this title like i have and will keep you satisfied for the rest of the time until the next dynasty warriors game comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DYNASTY WARRIORS GUNDAM 2

posted by Heeroyuy (EASLEY, SC) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

AWESOME!!!!!!! only thing i hated was the camera view garbage. everything else was freaking amazing. i would have liked more gundam wing gundams but oh well. still AmAZing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same ol thing

posted by beruzeruku (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

its the same game with 2 new gundams and a few new modes with the same story...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DW: GUNDAM 2

posted by Hays21 (STREATOR, IL) May 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

I never watched the T.V. show and rarely play dynasty warriors games, so my review rating is strictly based on game-play. The move set is very very small, graphics are not that great, there is no customization mode and the campaign lacks any kind of compelling story. On the positive side, it has a decent number of missions, large amount of characters and an online mode. Decent if you like Gundam, not worth playing if your looking for something different and exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair Overall

posted by Shadow051 (MEADVIEW, AZ) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game is decent in its own way. If your having a craving to play a gundam game and go nuclear on some enemies then this is a game worth checking out out.

The gameplay is highly repetitive, but thats obvious with any Dynasty Warriors title, so if your a fan of the franchise then you know what your getting anyways. This repetiveness is a good and bad thing. Its definetly a good way to get out some frustration, but if your looking for intriquet combos and a deep story this is not a game for you.

The graphics are decent at best. The details in the mobil suits just remind of the action figures thats about it. Its definetly not that detailed

The corny punch lines hardly come close to matching that of the characters of the show, but if you are not a fan of the show then you will hardly notice beyond that the sound is pretty good.

Overall I think is a good game worth renting if you need to get your gundam fix or just need to let out some anger on some robots

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Where is Gundam Deathscythe!?!?!?!?!?

posted by sephirothben (EVERETT, WA) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

The game as a whole is okay. Gameplay is very repetative. Achievements take an UNGODLY amount of time to unlock. There is no story whatsoever. And most importantly, WHERE IS GUNDAM DEATHSCYTHE????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dw Gundam

posted by Kenrick (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game sucks I hated it. Nothing like Dynasty Warriors with Ma Chao, Cao Pi, Guan Yu. The name is decieving! Oh did I mention that the game is one of the worst games I have ever played?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gundam SEED Meets Gundam WING

posted by lolmanzero (NORTH CHELMSFORD, MA) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Ok The game is not bad but ther is tooooooo much stuff to that I forget easily but overall its a really good game even non gundam fans and a whole new roster of chracters but its to easy to get the special abilities.:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game

posted by GeeMyKnee (BRADENTON, FL) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

The game in general is a great game the only problem I have is the mission mode it can be confusing at times. You do get to be a gundam so it makes up for it. I would tell anyone who like to just straight up kill to rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games

posted by aaron703 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

Gundam was always the best best anime cartoon but the game was lackin more story lines but it was good im waitin for more to come out and more cartoons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Dynasty Warrior Game Yet!

posted by TheTobiMan (WAHIAWA, HI) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Where do I start?

Gundam 2 puts you in the seat of a massive war machine, known as a Gundam, and tasks you with completing a host of different missions that usually involve destroying hundreds of enemies. Just like all the Dynasty Warriors games before it, Gundam 2 is very easy to pick up and play. All the Gundams have a standard attack that you can mash away at as well as a charge attack that can serve as the "finisher" for any particular combo. For example, hitting standard attack three times and finishing with a charge attack might execute one particular special move, while a different special move can be performed by only hitting standard attack twice and ending with a charge.

Each Gundam also comes equipped with an SP attack, which is the equivalent of a Musou attack in the traditional Dynasty Warriors games. This technique slowly charges up as you defeat enemy Gundams and it's usually the most potent weapon in your entire arsenal.

Besides these various attacks, all the Gundams can dash, strafe, jump and some can even transform into an alternate mode. This might sound like a complex battle system at first glance, but it's not. It's old and it's easy. You fly around and blow stuff up. You're not rewarded for/encouraged to use different combos.

Gundam 2 has a few different modes to its name. Official Mode and Mission Mode are very similar, as both let you select a pilot and then give you different missions to complete in a mini-campaign. Official Mode is supposed to be based off of plot lines from various Gundam anime, while Mission Mode is less linear and gives you a slew of different mission types to experiment with at your leisure. But of course, these missions rarely stray from the formula that's been around for ages: you move from zone to zone, destroying enemies in order to capture the zone for your own team. Occasionally you'll square off against an enemy officer, which is actually somewhat of a challenge, so enjoy this game Gundam Fans!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 2

posted by Dalamar (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I found this game very awkward to play. Interesting concept, but the cut scenes with the horrible Japanese to English translations really took the fun out of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's Dynasty Warriors and Gundam.

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

Seriously. It's about the same as any other Dynasty Warriors game out there. I've nothing good nor bad to say about this game. It works right, it's entertaining, and.. piloting giant mechs is pretty fun.

Worth renting if you're sick of playing games that are story-heavy, and just want to beat the ..er.. (think a word that rhymes with 'split' that isn't exactly polite) out of enemy mechs.

It's not bad, buuut.. I like the first one more, if only for the option of switching over to Japanese voices. (Japanese Domon > English Domon)

Anyway. If you're a Gundam fan, a Dynasty Warriors fan, or someone who's sick of 'text-games' (y'know, the ones with 400000 lines of text to read before you can get to the combat), then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

powers the same

posted by viper6919 (HORNBECK, LA) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

the only thing that is bad is that no matter how many bars you have your power is the same unless you jump up which is lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not a good game displeased

posted by josh5674 (TOLEDO, OR) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

and iam a big gundam fan what has happend to the gundam games is out of wack

the time limits are not very long and to beat axes they dont give a long time limit this games time limits are to short i would not play this game again Dynasty warriors gundam 2 A BIG TURN OFF i rate is game a 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NO

posted by KMAC972 (KEMP, TX) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is not for me thought it was like Dynasty warriors nope not at all ok graphics and thats it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is way better than I thought it would be

posted by DTK221 (FARMINGTON, NM) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Okay well first off I didn't play the first one so I can't say anything about improvements, but, I just got my 360 and I can't stop playing this game! It's that good, sure its a little easy, but once you beat the official modes, you get that character (and a few others) in mission mode, which is much harder and funner, while official mode follows the anime, if you've seen the characters anime you'll be able to predict what will happen. Mission mode is all original story lines, you have a good amount of MS at your disposal, once you complete them that is, though the Mass-produced ones could be better. You also have a good amount of characters. I hope they come out with a 3rd one! I'd love to play as Exia in this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game gave me that nice dynasty warriors feel

posted by JpandCg (NORTH PORT, FL) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I like this game because it was just like all the other dynasty warriors but with a gundam twist. If you are a fan of the gundam series then it is a must play. But one bad thing about would have to be that you would not be able to save if you were split-screening with two profiles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gundams? In my Dynasty Warriors?

posted by SirSchmoop (WILKES BARRE, PA) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 Sound: The voice acting is completely horrible. The voice actor for Domone was atrocious. As for ingame battle music, it was very generic. Only reason i gave it a 2 is because the sounds of the weapons sounded just like they should and was not disappointed with them.

6 Graphics: The graphics during the cutscenes were nice. However ingame was so-so. However Dynasty Warriors was never about the graphics. It was always about the hack and slash gameplay.

7 Gameplay: The gameplay is the same as in other dynasty warriors games, nothing ever really changes. The only thing which i believe changed was the customization wasn't that great. It felt random. However the game is quite long, and there are a ton of unlockable gundams.

10 Controls : The controls could not be any more simpler. If you can spam X and B when the bar is up, you can play this game. (it isn't that simple, but that is the basics of it.)

2 Re-playability : If you have a friend to do coop with you, then this game could last awhile with all the unlockables. However if you have played dynasty warriors gundam (the original) there isn't much reason to rent this one. So the only thing you look forward to is the unlockables.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as good as the original DWG

posted by Vorthe (AUDUBON, NJ) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I much preffered the original Dynasty Warriors Gundam. I basically wound up playing this game for the story elements. I quickly tired of the giant gundam bosses. I also didn't like the new Lounge or Terminal features, nor the was a character's story was revealed in dribs and drabs during Original mode. New smash attacks are interesting, adding an extra dimension to combat, and the combat difficulty is ratcheted up a notch so players of the original will find it something of a challenge. Maybe my problem is I just got used to the original and was looking for more of the same, but I couldn't help but be a little disappointed by DWG2. I rated the original an 8, btw.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse