Rent Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.3

1435 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game :) Try it

posted by Anubis1988 (WATERFORD, NY) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

21 out of 22 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was far better than the first. It has improved graphics, controls,gameplay, and alot more characters. I really like the fights with the huge bosses. The only thing that would make this game perfect for me is if they had the Wing Zero Custom instead of the tv version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addicting

posted by PapaMudd (MESQUITE, TX) May 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For fans of the Dynasty Warriors series this is definitely a title to atleast check out. I hadn't played the predecessor to this game, but fortunately it isn't required to be able to enjoy bashing your opponents to bits. Highly addicting and alot of things to unlock and customize. I recommend starting off with Amuro in official mode until you unlock him for mission mode as a new type. This is definitely a game I'd want to add to my collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An unappreciated game with good gameplay

posted by robert5 (ANN ARBOR, MI) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So far Gundam games have gotten a lot of low rating but this one is actually really good compared to the others. With hours of gameplay this game will keep you busy for a while.

Good aspects:
The game has a lot of modes of gameplay. Official mode; which is kind of like a story mode with different playable characters and each follow their own story.Mission mode; in which you play as various Gundam characters completing different missions.And online mode; which you can play with another person or play on the Playstation Network with some random players or some people on your friends list. You can also collect Gundam parts in battle and use them to unlock new mobile suits you fight with throughout the game. There is a gallery where you can watch movies and other various media unlocked in the game.

Bad aspects;
At times the story get's so complex that a player who is new to Gundam will not understand what is happening. In mission mode each character has to go through the tutorial. This is bad because you should only have to play the tutorial once, not with every character.

Overall this is a really fun game and is worth every cent.I highly reccomend this game to any gundam fan out there.

Gameplay-8.0
Story-7.8
Sound-8.5
Graphics-9.0
OVERALL SCORE-8.7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game that stumbles a little.

posted by Razgriz19 (MOYOCK, NC) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being a long time DW fan, i enjoyed this game. I did have a few problems though.

Good:
Lots of new chars and MS's, including being able to create the foot soldier mechs like Zakus and GMs.
Online, while being a pain to get working, is DEFINATELY a welcome addition.
The parts system is pretty decent, very similar to the old DW system of finding weapons.
Mission mode was an ok idea that allows a bit of freedom in how you play threw a chars story.

Bad:
Large mechs like the Psycho Gundam are more annoying time wasters than intimidating bosses
Horrible Ally AI means that VIP mechs kamikaze plenty of times and other main chars are really meat shields with fancy mechs rather than fellow Gundam aces.
Although they did add a decent amount of new chars to the sequal, WHY did they not expand on the other series (like Gundam Wing or the G Gundam series)? They missed out on having mechs like Deathsythe, Shenlong, and Tallgeese from the Wing series and Rose, Bear, and the other ones from the G Gundam series. That was a pretty hard blow imo.
Mission mode's "relationship" system is pointless seeing as how you would fight along side a character in one mission, but the next you would be fighting that same person.

I was hoping that they would have an Empires-like addon for this series. As i said above, i would have prefered to where we would fight along side the same 3-6 allies in each chars story like in the first game rather than it be all over the place.

It's an ok game overall, strongly recommend it as a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2

posted by Valkerion (SAVANNAH, GA) May 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is the 2nd game in the DW gundam series. The first was a great update of the classic DW formula and this one is a more updated, bigger, more to do version of the first.

This game is what the DW series needed to do. The game is very well made in its graphics and gameplay. Everyone knows it for having dozens of baddies on screen at once, but this one really made me say wow. I could not believe there were so many on screen at one time. Well over 100 individual mechs on screen.

If you have played a DW before you know what to expect. This game takes that and enhances it by gradually giving you more attacks, skills, power ups as you go. Lots of diffrent characters to pick and even more diffrent Gundams and Mobile Suits to pick. Each with different attacks.

This game has alot, ALOT of diffrent missions. Offical mode follows the events of the anime for the Universal Colony series (original, Z, ZZ, Char's counter attack) which is about 15 missions for each character. Then mission mode which has all the other series in it. This mode has about 6-8 cant remember, diffrent mission types. These range from story, free missions, missions to get new gundams ect.

Best part about mission mode is that the missions change constantly outside of story mode. One time you may fight with a certian character on your side another it will be someone diffrent or maybe a diffrent map.

Lots to collect and unlock in the game for hours of gameplay. The is nothing but great replay value in this game. If your a DW fan or a gundam fan you MUST try this game. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A time investment

posted by itsamia (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I was really dissappointed by this new release. There are some good points...but few and far between. You have a wider selection of mobile suits to choose from as well as pilots. They added in more button mashing to do more damage. And it really feels like your creating the mobile suits as you are collecting the pieces.

However those are about the only good things on this game. As an avid player of Dynasty Warriors Gundam 1, I felt this game would be quick to appreciate. First off it, the mission mode requires a lot of time invested into it. There are numerous missions to choose from and after 4 hours I was unable to make a dent.

Also in mission mode the story line to each character is lackluster. In the first one you played more of a coherant storyline but in the second installment it was more random. It was weird, at times the people you have as allies would become your enemies and you would end up lowering any relationship you established with them.

Then there was having to fight the giant mobile suits, at first it was challenging, but after you got the hang of it it became quickly annoying. You have to charge up while avoiding any enemy fire then attack them with the arrows form around them then start wailing on them. And if you have any person you need to protect, make sure they don't die, this battle becomes really agitating. Simply because the AI would never avoid any enemy attacks and end up dying.

Another thing that was rough to listen to, was the repetitive voice over's. For many of the characters in mission mode they just took their lines from the original mode. I found myself turning down the voice over pieces.

All in all, if you have a lot of time on your hands atleast rent it. If you are a hardcore Gundam fan, such as myself, or a hardcore Dynasty Warriors fan then rent the game, it is worth it. But if you said no to both, then don't bother it is kind of lackluster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by Triplesix (MONTEREY, CA) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was so repetitive and monotonous that I began daydreaming while I was playing it. Moving and pressing buttons over and over and over does absolutely nothing for me. I like the genre but the game did not do it justice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Some Of The Most Fun I've Had

posted by Justin18 (MOSS POINT, MS) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've had this game for about two weeks now, and I gotta say, I made a great choice!

I was kinda hesitant on getting this game so I went ahead and rented it before buying. This game is a great success in the Gundam/DW product line. The game is good old hack and slash which I love. Ever get into those moods where you just want to destroy countless numbers of enemy mechanical combat suits? Well this is the game! The storyline is pretty good, and the numer of characters/Gundams/levels really impressed me. I've been playing for days and I'm still only on Heero Yuy's story.

The only bad thing I would have to say about this game is the big enemy Gundams. They just get really annoying after the first few.

Great game! Just rent is anything.. But I suggest a buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DWG 2

posted by hammedark (Fort Dodge, IA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is ok. Dont put it in your q over some of the upcoming games but trust me when i say U HAVE PLAYED WROST.Its not great but if you love DW or Gundam you well enjoy it and if u dont well u dont need to worry about this game cause it wont change ur mind

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DWG 2

posted by DMC213 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome, don't take my word 4 it try it yourself, if you don't like it then this game is not 4 u , and if you say this game make no sense then you seriously need a reality check, that is the point of this game, you have to play all the way through the game to piece things together. IF YOU DON'T HAVE THE PATIENCE TO PLAY THIS GAME TO ITS FULLEST, WHY DID U RENT IT, HUH!?, well maybe that is over the top but seriously take your time with game before saying its bad, think about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2 is decent

posted by Milosh13 (Cullowhee, NC) May 28, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What can i say? It's Dynasty Warriors with Gundams.

I own the first DWG and love it, i will probably end up buying this one too because of the new parts system and the hordes of enemies on the ps3 version. They look truly daunting when on a 42" HDTV hooked up with the ps3 via HDMI cable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So Frustrating

posted by JSteele (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I got the game a few days ago and I already feel like returning it because it is so frustrating. One thing is that it is so repetitve and your allied A.I is so stupid they kept getting killed by the stupid giant size robots. All I have to say is that I don't recommend buying it unless you are a big fan of Gundam and Dynasy warriors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

what happend

posted by WSPungelbc (LONG BEACH, CA) May 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

the last dynasty gundam wasnt so bad this one is just like putting a new jacket over the same tired system that made dynasty warriors the same tedious and button smashing crapola it has been since the begining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hope this helps..

posted by MarielitaM (HIALEAH, FL) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

OK I give this game a chance. I was VERY fustrated at a few points on the game. The graphics are awsome. But if you like to spend hours smashing on your controller (I know I need one after this game) than this game is for you. If you didn't mind the smashing get ready for the A.I.. There missions were I told myself this is all wrong..........

If you are a fan of Dynasty Warriors or Gundam and have HOURS.......to waste than I would recommend to rent or /cough buy it. But if you are like me, in it for the trophies than i would have to say skip this one.

By the way this is my frist review EVER....... on a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game sux!

posted by docsmooth1 (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) May 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you have ever played dynasty warriors before ,and or even played dynasty warriors gundam 1, do not and I repeat do not play this game!

For some reason Koei thanks that it can repolish some characters, throw in some people we never seen before and completly recycle the stroy and call it version 2.

Please give me a break! I can't stand it! Not only is it hard today to find a co-op game that doesn't involve sawing someone's limbs off, or practially blowing there heads off...we get this load of garbage that is an alternative...please! Just don't play this game...I'm going to stop now talking now before I start using words to really describe how awful this game is!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Even Hardcore Gundam Fans will hate this

posted by suarEZ (CLAYTON, NJ) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

If you're a hardcore Gundam, you might find ways to enjoy this title but even that might be a stretch.

This game is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't even think of putting this trash in ur Q!!

posted by D1rtyyyy (METAIRIE, LA) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 26 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This was the most mindless, uncreative, button-mashing game I've played this year! Maybe... EVER! This was HORRIBLE! They should be put in jail for stealing if they actually take $$ for this wanna-be game!

DO NOT RENT!
DO NOT BUY!

Thumbs down... WAY DOWN!

-D1rtyyyy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it is not good

posted by javonc1 (CLINTON, MD) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 29 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

the game makes no sense

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Amazing

posted by styxfan (BOCA RATON, FL) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game is great. I'm never bored playing it. Wing Zero is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Only 2 things wrong

posted by Chaotix (MILTON, FL) Dec 9, 2009

Member since May 2008

Decently good game. I'd buy it if I had the money. However, I think there aren't enough Gundam models to choose from, and even some that don't exist. For example, there is a model named "Turn A Gundam" Does that exist? Second of all, the enemy AI was too good. If you get hit once, your death is almost there. They can pull off amazing combos and can block far too well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring and Mindless button masher.

posted by Tatzlwurm (OSTRANDER, OH) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

Only need to play for about an hour before you get bored in this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

what the heck

posted by padin0017 (FONTANA, CA) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Dont get this game not good even if ur a fan of gundam it
sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUUUUUUCKKKKKKKSSSSSSSS

posted by Crazyguts (ROCKLIN, CA) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

quite honestly one of the worst games i have ever played...dont waste your time and dont put it in your gameq...all it is is just a grindfest..horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing reply value

posted by danku186 (TURNERSVILLE, NJ) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

I loved the first one and of course i loved this one. Honestly my only complaint is that they could have worked on the mission mode story lines. The official mode stories were done so well it was such an amazing part of the game. I really enjoyed showing people up online as well lol.
i do agree that other "secondary" gundams would be great such as the amazing deathscythe, but this game is easily worth renting and in my opinion just buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DWG 2

posted by jammingem (LANSING, MI) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

i havent played this game yet but i played DWG and was satisfied. i have no dought that this game will kcik a $ $ :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse