Rent Dynasty Warriors: GUNDAM for PS3
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors: GUNDAM

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.0

1173 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Gundam Game in a Long Time

posted by Solstatic (TOWNSEND, DE) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has some of the most solid and fluid controls that I've seen in Gundam game for a longtime. Let me tell you now that this game is more heavily based on the original Gundam and the sequels to its storyline (Zeta Gundam, etc.), but a few Mobile Suits from Gundam Wing/G Gundam/Turn a Gundam make appearances. Overall, I was pleased with the game. However, I do feel that the selection of Mobile Suits was very weak, but hopefully that will improve in the next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun button masher!

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This has got to be the first Gundam game to come out in years that is really any good. Heck my wife has been playing this game more than me! The controls are very well done and while they are very simple they let you do a variety of moves with each Gundam you unlock and use. The selection in Gundams is somewhat on the scant side. The majority of the Gundams are from the original series and Zeta Gundam while there are a few from the more recent series as well. I was hoping to see more of the Gundams from Gundam Wing but alas there seems to be only Wing itself. This game gets a 9...while the game is extremely fun and entertaining it lacks in content just a little. Hopefully the next installment will have more of the cooler Gundams. Freedom Gundam would be awsome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Multiplayer is ungodly

posted by Darkdemon (ESSEX, MD) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a pretty solid game. Other than the stupid camera, it was a good game. The multiplayer was the thing that really made this game enjoyable. You and a friend could just sit there and destroy everyone. So I'm gonna list the pro's and con's.

Pros:
-Decent Graphics
-Gundam Story
-Animated scenes are entertaining
-Large amount of characters
-Easy Gameplay
-Multiplayer

Cons:
-Sucky camera (Meh...)
-An online versus mode would have been awesome
-Original story doesn't contain much substance
-No way to control troops

Other than that, I would give it about an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fits the name but lacks the next gen expirance

posted by CrowGamer (SARASOTA, FL) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Theres not much to say. all in all its a good game. however its clear that this could run on the ps2. the graphics, though mostly solid, is not all detailed.

the game is long as it takes about a half hour to beat one level and theres up to 5 levels per caracter. and with 20 characters pus haveing to play though offical mode to unlock the most adds.

There is tons and tons of oponets on scran and it dont drop frame rate. a big plus in the series. however the same stupid ai makes it suffr. but as the bosses in tha game are freaking strong its easy to look over.

lost of cutsceans in an anime stile action makes it enjoyable.

all in all its not a bad game but seeing it was put on hardware that could have done so much. its a bit disapointing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

alright game

posted by xagerated (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was an alright game, no real storyline, but that's understandable for a dynasty warrior game. The Gundams all look cool and have the nice moves they have in the shows. However the game gets kind of repetitive and boring after playing it for a few days other then that I have nothing against it. Really good if you're just looking for a hack'n'slash game and you are a fan of the Gundam series other than that you shouldn't bother you won't enjoy it very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gundam + Dynasty Warriors = Epic Failure

posted by OvrKill (STANLEY, VA) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have played many games in my life but none of them were near as bad as Dynasty Warriors:Gundam. This has to be the most repetitive game ever made, you can litterally win the game with one button. And the missions are almost exactly the same for every level, you get the full experiance of the game after an hour(I played 13 levels). I advise everybody to stay away from this game, only a die hard fan of the Gundam or Dynasty Warrior series should ever even try to play this game even then you're looking at only 7 hours of entertainment max.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dynasty Warrior Gundam style

posted by Gabriel1 (CLEMMONS, NC) Oct 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of the Dynasty Warrior type of game play, then you will like this game. If you are not a fan, you will find it boring and repetitive. The graphics are very good and so is the sound quality. However, after just a few hours of game play it becomes repetitive and all levels start to look and feel like the previous level. This title is strictly a rental and I would not recommend purchasing it, even for Gundam Wing fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dynasty warriors

posted by phillyphil (DEER PARK, TX) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

this is game is very amusing and fun non-stop action and it just keeps you guessing on what happens next and i know every one will like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Button-Smashing FUN

posted by Squeegie (BELLINGHAM, WA) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

The combos are pretty easy to do but the all-out battle is a button smasher. The graphics for this game are good...boss battles were a bit of a challenge. This game is real easy to get into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dynasty Warriors Gundam

posted by Kalatrax (POCAHONTAS, AR) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

IF you enjoy mindless hacking and slashing this is the game for you. You can easily take on 100's of enemies and come out with little more than a scratch. Has a good diversity of gundams and pilots most of which are unlocked by completeing the game with beginning pilots. Game is extremely easy and is not frustrating at all, so if your a controller throwing gamer this should help keep you controller intact.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what I thought!!!!!!!!

posted by Chachi428 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I love the Dynasty Warrior series, even though the game play in all of them is basically the same, the fighting sequences and moves are what I like the most. But when I put this game on I thought they sent me the wrong one. I immediatly thought I was playing a 'Transformers' game. There was nothing in this game that even remebled any of the other games. It is not what you think....Be aware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dynasty warriors Gundam review

posted by mycaleb8 (CARMEL, IN) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Dynasty Warriors had much potential. It could have been one of my favorite games all time, but it wasn't. Ill tells you what it was. One my least favorite games EVER. These are of course not including movie games, but let’s get back on track. this game had its highlights like...
Its boss fights were okay, they even fairly difficult at times witch gave the game something to look forward to. It had a great controls scheme to. It even had a number of different Gundums to play as. Now on to the bad points of the game. This game had ton of things that made it a piece of #!%$.
First It did include a leveling system, but it took killing like 300 enemies’ just to level up once up once, and it took like 5 levels before any thing happened witch didn’t matter since all the enemies just there in a big group waiting for you to kill them. Second the game was so repetitive it was just the same thing over and aver again. This practicality ruins the game by its self. third the games voice acting is terrible. terrible like worse than power rangers voice acting, okay maybe not that bad, but still bad. And another thing that isn't that bad is how little your actions change the plot for example in the second mission "it’s the ghost of gemmy" yet after the first mission gemmy was still alive.. there were many more things that made this a bad game. Now I hope you pay attention to this review, and remember the Gundam series is okay but not this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

if there is a hades...

posted by chrisbzd (HIGH SPRINGS, FL) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

if there is a hades and you've been bad...... you'll have to play this game nonstop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

INSANE FIGHTING HISTORY!

posted by ezdamenace (OAKLAND, CA) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I got to say in the beginning it was weird and confusing then it was insanity, you keep fighting, and fighting you feel stamina running, its just crazy!i'll give a B-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a so so game

posted by suede84 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

the concept of the game itself are decent but the overall fights get old after a while. the Ai thats on your side is just horrible and the direction of the game is lacking. you'll have to defend a single area with your useless squad of mobile suits against 3 of the boss gundams while your teamates lolly gag else. meanwhile your getting your butt handed to you as the 3 suits bust out 30 hit combos that take half you life before you get a chance to recover... it's stupid. try it if your bored but don't expect much from it unless you like repeating the same level over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

We need better Anime games!

posted by DiscNinja (BURLESON, TX) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

I didn't expect a great story because it is a DW game but it would've help if what was there actually made sense. However, I'm not one of those gamers who likes long two hour cut scenes. I wish we could get more games based on classic anime like Battle of the Planets/Gatchaman (without alex ross' input thank you.) or the great old Shogun Warriors from the 70's! Or even Casshan, Voltron and Gen 1 Transformers!! Anyway, the controls and graphics are ok. It could use a new menu and a auto-saving feature. It's not the best game but what do you expect from the DW games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An Ugly Mash-Up

posted by rex8000 (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Story: While the game does have some content to please its more avid Gundam fans, it leaves most people confused. Dynasty Warriors fans may be disappointed in this area of the game. 4/10

Presentation: The graphics are decent, but leave a lot to be desired from next-gen consoles. 6/10

Gameplay: While not really achieving the Dynasty Warriors level of enjoyment, you will find yourself using melee attacks for 90% of the game, even while piloting these incredibly versatile mobile suits. 5/10

Design: The game could improve much more on its pace and if more time was put into it they could have reduced those little things we all hate about Dynasty Warriors games and milked the awesomeness of Gundam games. But they did neither, and ruined both sides. 5/10

Overall: 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gundam

posted by Dino46 (REVERE, MA) Feb 14, 2008

Member since May 2007

Couldn’t think of a title for the review/ Overall I think the game is good. You have to beat it about 20 times to complete the game. If you have a friend to play with you it will make things a lot easier and probably can play it on hard. You get to check out 20+ different Gundam suits and play different points of view on the story line. After beating the game 15 times or so it does get repetitive but you’re so close you just keep going. The fun part is getting someone else and doing the VS battle modes with new unlocked Gundams.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gundam the way it should be?

posted by Jager7 (GREENCASTLE, PA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

If you love third person repetitive shooting and destruction of mobile suits this is the game for you. Controls are, as many say, fluid. The camera is a bit off though. When you can't see the enemy, who is behind you, you're either guessing or looking at your radar to attack them. The game boasts about having all of your favorite Mobile Suits/ Gundams to play as. Yet most of the suits are from one generation and the rest are one or two mobile suits from other generations. The story is hardly enticing. For the most part, it seems as if Bandai is treating the Gundam series like the Megaman franchise. If you are a Dynasty Warriors fan, you would most likely enjoy this game. On the other hand, if you are a hardcore Gundam fan, you will most likely put this back in the sleeve with dissatisfaction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Dynasty Warriors w/ a new wrapper...

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

but that doesn't mean it's any less fun :D I guess I should admit I know nothing about Gundam beyond this game and the Crossfire one. I've been playing DW since #2 though and love that series. In that light I think this game delivers exactly what you would expect it to, a DW feel w/ a new skin/look. I'm only a couple of levels into it but so far this is probably one of the best DW games to date. All the usual level ups, use of items, attack the generals/guards to capture territory and win the level stuff is in here. The major differences I see are:

- Health seems to be a little more spare than in your typical DW game.

- Sometimes it can be harder to disengage from your enemies.

...and while these two may seem like criticisms I think it just means you have to put a little more thought into your actions as opposed to run "run over here, mash these buttons, kill off these guys then run off to the next group".

- The major improvement I see is the use of ranged weapons. Instead of holding steady and taking a shot, you can use the ranged attack on the run. It takes a little getting used to but it can be very handy at times.

- The one real criticism, and this could just be character dependent, is the fact the special attacks don't seem to do as much damage as in DW.

Overall if you like the DW series you should at least rent this one. If you're not into button mashers, and I admit they can get dull/repetitive at times, then you'll probably want to give this one a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Weak

posted by ficarrar (STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

The best game I played on the PS3 was a PS2 game...I'm not impressed with any of these games...and Dynasty Warriors is no acception...I played it for at most 5 minutes before i put it back in the package to return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »