Rent Dynasty Warriors 7 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors 7

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.6

2905 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If your a dynasty warriors fan then youll be happy

posted by edwardo711 (KINGSTON, NY) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

54 out of 56 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Story mode is more emersive with a kind of role playing element involved now where you can interact with the members of your clan. Other than new storys and some new weapons its the same hack and slash concept. You do get to carry and switch between two weapons now which is cool. If your a fan get it... its one of the best yet. Still mindless action but does have a little more of a rpg feel with added plots and back stories. Ive been playing this series of games since dynasty warriors 3 and its the best yet. I mean come on... theres like 70 playable characters !!! Great game to mix up a collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good reboot to the series

posted by xXMr_VampXx (WALDORF, MD) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

25 out of 26 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I have been playing this series since even the first DW, which was merely a Soul Calibur style fighting game. Yet, since the Warriors series became what it is, the game has been the same over and over again with each installment, with only a few new characters added in every now and then.
Dynasty warriors 7 finally breathes new life into the series, with just a few minor problems, but the game is good all around. The game finally has an up to date graphics engine, the action is fast paced, and strategy in battles plays a bigger role. Story mode is quite impressive, I found myself actually connecting with the characters and learning more about them, unlike other games where you pretty much had no idea what was going on and everything was just kill kill kill. Conquest mode (the new Free Mode) is a nice replacement, though the battles are a little short, but the rewards of battle are worth it. It's also pretty cool that any officer can use any weapon at any time, and you can even pause in the middle of battle to change weapons.
The only bad thing I would say about this game is that, much like Dynasty Warriors 6, Koei took a lot of shortcuts with this game. You will begin to notice that MANY of the officers still have the exact same fighting moves. (For example, WangYuanji and Zhu Rong both have the same throwing knives, all of the sword wielders have the same move set, any one with the same weapon type has the same moves). Other than this, the game is perfect if you are a fan. There are also a lot of pretty cool DLC coming out, like old outfits and additional weapons, the ability to switch the language to Japanese.

This game is worth a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Greatest Dynasty Warriors Game

posted by Ds1nt3k (SPRINGFIELD, MA) May 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As far as I'm concerned, if you're at all interested in DW, you should understand the combat system is fairly basic. do a couple weak attacks, then a strong attack, then a special. It's not rocket science. However, If you do play because you know about the history, or have read Luo Guanzhong's Romance of the Three Kingdoms, then rejoice! This is the MOST accurate DW game ever released, even going so far as to include Jin, the eventual conquerers.

The Renbu system, which made the gameplay far TOO basic, has been removed and replace with the older system from 5, with the exception of EX attacks. The Weapon system is also better, thanks to the return of finding and buying weapons from the XL incarnations and you can carry 2, a la Strikeforce. Mounts have returned, with the addition of bears, and you can have tigers, wolves, or falcons fight alongside you.

The story is accurate to the novel, and is played differently. Instead of picking someone, and leveling them up, you get shared experience between all officers of a force. And you will use a majority of the officers in story mode, because it has you use specific officers at different battles they played major parts in.

If the stories aren't enough for you you can play conquest mode, which is something of an amalgam of the last two empire modes. You fight through the land, making allies and conquering cities until you unite all of China under your officer. And, if you don't want to play alone, take it online!

The officers who Koei has deemed not important enough for a sprite of their own are still cut from one of 5 cloths, as they ever were, and they all throw around the same 8 or 9 different vocal reactions, but that comes with the territory. There are too many different people in the book to make them all different would be inconcieveably tedious.

All in all, the game has grown greatly since DW:2. If there are any after this, chances are this will have been the penultimate, there's not much more to do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

By far, the best entry in the Warriors series

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Despite the fact that these games rarely show much innovation aside from new weapons, characters, and maps.. I have to admit, I was skeptical.

But, what the hey, I said (in a much more explicative-laden way), and grabbed a copy.

Wow.

Just wow.

This game has better graphics, better controls, much better frame-rate, and is far more user-friendly than the older titles. Not only that, the story mode.. oh man.

I'm a huge fan of the Romance of the Three Kingdoms story (and the old games--managed to get a few for the PC, and that took a LOT of digging) and I have to say that, while some room is allowed for creative writing (not much) this portrays the Romance of the Three Kingdoms storyline better than any other game I've played to date.

Period.

So, here's my breakdown of Dynasty Warriors 7:

-Similar to previous entries in the series (more or less like any sports game is the exact same as the previous year's entry, just with updated graphics).

-Greatly improved graphics.

-Improved controls

-Improved story mode

-Conquest mode (not as good as the Empires-styled games, but still a lot of fun to play through, and man it is LONG!)

-Improved User Interface

-Improved frame-rate

-Weapons system update (one in hand, one in reserve, swap em on the fly; easier to upgrade weapons how you want them to upgrade)

-Musou system update (Two styles of Musou attack, upgradeable)

That's the good. The not so good:

-Still a repetitive combat system (granted, with updated animations it is more entertaining to watch)

-The voice acting (My God, it is so incredibly cheesy at some points.. the best it can ever manage is "Mediocre". A lot of the dialogue sounds forced, and a lot of the voice actors and actresses have difficulty pronouncing the Chinese names)

...

Those are the only two complaints I have about the game. Check other peoples' reviews for details.

I recommend this game to fans and newcomers alike; it is by far the best entry in the "Warriors" series to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game was pretty epic

posted by Dale995 (BRADENTON, FL) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The game was just like the last dynasty warrior games, but they threw in a separated game type just like dynasty warriors empires. The graphics were increased the camera angle was less stressful and now you can change weapons in the middle of battle to increase your hit combos. The only thing i found wrong about this game was some of the achievements were long term achievements and also it basically had the same concept of previous dynasty warriors but more into the story(campaign).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best yet

posted by warchiLd9 (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

If you love the hack and slash of previous Dynasty Warriors you will not be let down with this one. They have included more weapon variability and a more immersible storyline. Everything has been improved over previous installments of the game. Downside is that just like in previous games slashing through hundreds of mindless enemies gets old eventually.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Junk Food

posted by Horsefurry (PARKER, CO) May 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Look, I know that the voice acting is awful. I know that the gameplay is simple and repetitive. But that's what makes this game a god: It throws together everything you know you should hate, but in a beautiful, nostalgic package you can't help but love.
11/10!
Whinny!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An acquired taste

posted by TanzKommandant (CHICAGO, IL) May 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Dynasty Warriors on the surface is a simple & repetitive hack & slash title. Beneath that, however, is a wonderful storyline w/ a vast world of characters to meet. So while the game play is somewhat lacking in variety & the voice acting can be at times comical, if you delve into the world of Dynasty Warriors (which is based upon the literary series "Romance of the Three Kingdoms" which is about the end of the Han dynasty & the Three Kingdoms era) then you'll find yourself quite pleased and will even learn a little.

I've been with this title since its early days & will say it's one of the best yet. Each title has their own quirks & features but this one definitely does not disappoint. The storyline mode is cool b/c you can play as each of the Three Kingdoms (and the newly added fourth kingdom which ultimately united the land) in order to learn about the characters & the historical progressions. The conquest mode is truly immersive & allows you to select any character in the game & create your own story mode so to speak. Very long and very cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I should have known better

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) May 24, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Reading 10 plus reviews at it being rated 8.0 was very misleading
This game is nothing but a hack and slash and a bad one at that no consept other than kill this general stop this guy help your other friend from being killed and its just non stop run here run there hack and slach it gets repetitive after 1 hour. I would rent only if bored to death.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing has changed!

posted by outsider161 (MUNDELEIN, IL) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Nothing has changed from the Dynasty Warrior games from previous systems. Those were fun games, but they were stale around Dynasty Warriors 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Big Let Down

posted by Perrind (RUSSELLVILLE, AR) May 17, 2013

Member since May 2013

Growing up with all of the Dynasty Warrior games on PS2, this game was sad in comparison. The gameplay is too jumpy, and the characters have lost their unique identities. Not being able to custom create characters and guard units was a major let down, as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointed

posted by Redsnappa (AGAWAM, MA) May 2, 2013

Member since May 2013

I love dynasty warriors. I have played since dynasty warriors 2 and I played the Samurai Warriors series too. This game was a giant step backwards in terms of gameplay. It wasn't nearly as fun as it use to be. In addition, they took out the feature to make your own warrior. The only positive I took away from this addition was a noted improvement in story telling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not What I expected, yet VERY entertaining

posted by CovMag (TAMPA, FL) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I miss some of the old things done in DW series like, identifying the troops your fighting (sergeant, Lt, Private etc) Also troop morale, I miss that. As well as gate captains. Now I have to say the new graphics and effects are pretty amazing. I don't like how your unable to charge your Special attack anymore, that took some of the dazzle away. I feel that they should have put more into the combo mapping, lacked a little. Overall the plus side is hours of fighting and challenging fights between the officers and the player character choice. If you have a friend to play w/ or alone. Give this a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Relapze_o (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

If you're a fan of this franchise you will not be disappointed, The stories of each kingdom are historically accurate for the first time, which I really liked. In Conquest mode you can choose your officer and change it at any time eventually taking over all of China. It really put some life back in to the series, 6 was a disappointment for me but this one went back to the old ways of DW. Mounts and guardian animals are available again and the weapons system is nice too.

My only complaint is there is no free mode but I guess conquest mode is kind of like a free mode.

To people who aren't a fan of DW it may only be worth a rental to you, or maybe not even that. But I've been playing since dw2 and I was definitely not disappointed.

The replay value is there, each story is long and tells the story of the romance of the three kingdoms very well. Conquest mode I have not even completed and would imagine it would take over 25 hours to do so.

All in all, a very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its ok

posted by avery_norris (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

im a big dynasty warriors fan ive played almost every dynasty warriors game and dw 7 is too me the best of all the dw warriors just cause its has more things added the story mode is super good its sad and entertaining i love it it also has a sew new characters too theres not much to complain except like all dynasty warriors its the same kill the generals and u win

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best, but not too bad ether

posted by Plasmawarrior (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I really, and I mean REALLY loved Dynasty Warriors 5, and it kept going in innovation with Dynasty Warriors 6 to a large degree, but when it comes to Dynasty Warriors 7, it just went back a lot. The gameplay didn't seem as reppeatitive this time around, and the graphics didn't slow down as I'm use to, but most of the story was too linear for me. The Conquest mode is an ok addition, but I really would prefer the Empires games as apposed to that.

The music also seemed a bit lazy this time. The great tracks that this series is known for that aren't just Lu Bu aren't here this time, but at least they're still ok for me. The voice acting at least in this case didn't bore me to death. Dynasty Warriors repeats the same people all though the game almost, but this time they did mix things up.

To sum up Dynasty Warriors 7 in one word, I'd say typical. It's all been done but it played way too safe as apposed to having more creativity and game modes. It's up to you rather you'll like it or not. I kind of do, but I still think 5 is the cream of the Dynasty Warriors Crop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Did not enjoy

posted by Arugami (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Big Koei fan, love DW games the most, this one did not play as good as other DW titles the character models and movements seemed so plastic. On top of the the random loading in game was awful, as well as the buggy disappearances of the enemy generals. As for the music, great as usual but mid battle it would stop, and for the remainder no other tunes would load.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

change isn't always bad

posted by cooldude1990 (PIEDMONT, SC) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This new update to the legendary dynasty warriors saga has many improvements in my opinion but it also lost track of its originality. never the less this game is still a must play for any true dynasty warriors fan. Because as i said change isn't always bad .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guilty Pleasure

posted by pwtrash (CEDAR PARK, TX) May 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Ok, I admit it - I love these button mashers. Great fun with the wife, conquering the world in co-op.

The single player is solid enough, using some of the same techniques we've grown to know...folks survive thousands of arrows and swords in battle, but die from an angry look in cutscenes. If you've thinking about renting this, you know the drill. The story is actually told much better in this incarnation than any I've played before.

As a co-op game, I would have preferred to be able to play through any of the campaigns, but there is a lot of co-op available - probably as much or more as DW:Empires.

We've been playing DW for about 5 years now (so, relative newbs), and of the ones we've played this is the smoothest and most enjoyable. It would be great if they added depth, but this is a lot of goofy fun, and in the end, fun is why I game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game damaged

posted by wcprice21 (MOUNT STERLING, KY) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

The game had scratches all over it, and would not load or play right. Never got a bad game from you guys better, hopefully it wont happen any more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

First time playing dynasty warriors.

posted by ExiledNightmare (HALLANDALE BEACH, FL) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

A bit late getting into the franchise but this game definitely had a lasting impact. The story was good and grew attatched to the characters. Felt remorse when putting it in the mail box to ship it back. The only thing I didn't really like that much was how the co-op was a bit restrictive for the second player. But other than that a great game nonetheless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

greatest warrior game ever

posted by dercalan (MONTGOMERY, AL) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

i love this game i just do not know what to say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Same Old Dynasty Warriors

posted by Jpm1993 (BUCHANAN, NY) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

I loved the game, the story mode was amazing. I found my self immersed in every story with the amazing narration. I liked how the conquest mode let you do what you wanted and use your favorite Dynasty Warrior character. The only thing I didn't like was that you had to unlock your conquest character if it wasn't there yet. I am a fan of Lu Bu so unlocking him was an annoyance but didn't hinder my experience to the game. I recommend this to Dynasty warrior fans and others who would like to try out the series it was a great addition

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Addition

posted by jollygreen8403 (MEXICO, MO) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

If you do not mind that this is a game that has been installed now multiple times it is a great platform and the graphics are much improved and the story mode is very much interactive. As negative a they did do a way with build your own officer which takes away the personal feel to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same frustration as previous games

posted by goallin (WEST LAKE HILLS, TX) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Was hoping for a better game, but got to a mission that not only demanded that I be in two opposite ends of the map at the same time and risk game over, but also ended up being a 30 minute battle that ended with a boss that was way better than anything previously encountered, which of course meant I died and had to start the mission over. Wish I could say I hadn't encountered that in previous installments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse