Rent Dynasty Warriors 7 for PS3
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors 7

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.7

2129 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better, but Not the Best

posted by JoeyValles (WASHINGTON, DC) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

48 out of 51 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Let me just say this, if you are a Dynasty Warriors fan you will like this game, but not love it. The graphics are great and they fixed many of the problems from Dynasty Warriors 6. Many of the characters have their old weapons back and the ones that aren't are suppose to be released in a dlc. Characters old costumes are also supposed to be released in a download. In contrast to DW6 the weapons actually upgrade and aren't just three versions of the same weapon. They got rid of the renbu system and returned to the combo system and they brought back and even added new characters. The story mode is good but you can't play it in co-op. This would be alright if they had a free mode. You are able to do split-screen in conquest mode but it is no free mode. It is mostly made up of small missions that seem more like a sidequest than an actual battle. I thought you would be able to play the stages that happen in the story mode, but I guess not. I don't know why they didn't just keep free mode but they made a very bad mistake. Also, one last thing that I don't like, leveling up. There are still skills like in DW6 but there are a lot less. They mostly just give you extra attacks and musou, a lot less than the previous game. They should have just gotten rid of it completely since it is so small. Another thing is that the characters don't have levels. They level up but there is no indicator that they did. It makes it confusing and gives you less of a feeling of accomplishment.
This game is much better than the last couple of installments. They fixed the characters and fixed some of the gameplay. Unfortunately they also messed up some of the gameplay. In my opinion, if KOEI wants a truly great game they need to make it more like DW5. Keep most of the characters the way they are, add the new kingdom, and update the graphics and maps. KOEI is trying way too hard to please professional game reviewers. Anyway, that's my opinion. You can decide yours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Does Justice To The Characters

posted by TheCrispyDud (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Previous iterations of the Dynasty Warriors series lacked one key element behind each character present in the Romance of the Three Kingdoms novel, that being, drama. Naturally that element has been fixed. With ditching the concept of a roughly 5 mission based story mode for each and every character (some missions they never even took part of) they instead adopted a story mode for each kingdom which more or less plays out the rise and fall of the rulers of each kingdom. These stories are lengthy, forcing you to switch in and out of characters to see it told from the point of several generals. This is a fantastic way to tell a story without slogging through the exact same battle twenty six times. Voice acting is still over dramatic and silly but personally I've always enjoyed it. The music has adopted a mix of both dramatic and classic metal/rock.
As for gameplay fans of the renbu system cry now. The six button combos have returned, on the field power ups (such as atk and def ups) are back as well such as they were in early DW games. The level up system is more a collective pool of skill points for each kingdom which are refunded after each mission, thus allowing character progression to continue even if you never play as a general again. Weapons have easy to acquire seals (think atk up, weapon range up, etc.) which can be applied to any weapon, anytime, and held by any character. (unless its a certain male/female only weapon) Musou has now been changed to now be more of a special ability rather than swing weapons wildly for ten seconds, a superior change in my opinion.
Conquest mode acts as a sort of DW: Empires filler so i wouldn't expect to see another one of those any time soon all in all in sort of strikes as a greatest hits pack for DW with old and new mixed together for one last, mostly, HD hoorah before something really truly needs to change.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Getting there but not quite there.

posted by KentaTakashi (TOWACO, NJ) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Dynasty Warrior 7 really takes you back to the core basics of the hack and slash system. And that's all fine it's a good game to blow off steam after a long days work, school,etc... in terms of playability it's definently there but lacking. It honestly could have been made better by the character creation system absent since Dyansty Warriors 5, a newer combat system, and more intelligent AI. Storytelling wise it is stronger than ever. Otherwise this would be the game of the century.... I find it pressing and a little concerning that after the length of this series that koei never considered hiring chinese voice actors to give a different option to those who would like the authenticity of hearing voices like that on the battlefield. Voice acting in DW7 is stunted like the rest and sounds horribly artificial. Other then that the core basics are there. And it is indeed fun to play through all the seperate storylines as you do come to love/hate each lord etc... Not the worst game but perhaps not the best. Rent it from gamefly before you buy it. If you like it like I do keep it. If you don't return it without regret.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but lacking in areas.

posted by Buck22184 (COLUMBIA, MS) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Story wise this is the best DW game in my opinion being that it stays very close to the true story of the Three Kingdoms but can be slightly different depending on who you are playing with. The story mode is different in that you dont choose a character and play 6 battles and you are done, you go through the story of each faction with many more battles but you do not choose the character you want to play with it depends on the battle who you are. The thing you will find different with the stories is that characters will die through the story unlike some before. The main thing that is lacking to me is character weapon originality. Yes many have there old weapons back like Zhang He with the claws and Xiahou Dun with the sword. But any character in the game can use almost any weapon depending on male or female and some weapons are not wielded well by certain characters but besides a special combo that each character has the weapons are mainly the same. For example Xiahou Dun, Sun Jian, Cao Cao, Sima Zhao and others main weapon is the same sword and the combos are the same except for the special which can be very similar to. It is like this for many others to. Another disappointing thing to me is there is no choosing the horse you want. Yes all the characters have their horses from the previous game and Red Hair looks awesome but from looking all throught the game I can't find anywhere to equip a horse that can level up. Another thing missing is a free mode to battle whatever battle you want to be in whichh realy sucks. Althought the game takes a step up with the story telling side, and goes back to the roots with weapons and combos, which still lacks originality, and graphics are no better than before if not worse than the previous game especially during game play. This will be fun for fans of the series to see the new story mode but it can also be very disappointing to, don't look to be overwhelmed and you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The good and the bad

posted by ToastHunter59 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Being a person who has played many dynasty warrior games and their branch off series i can safety say that DW7 was rather good compared to previous titles. While these things improve game play on a grander scale kaoi still is missing aspects of its genre that they really need to explore.

The Good:
1. Story mode is actually played out with you being forced to play as a pre picked hero letting the story mode contain more of what story mode should, Story. You are also given one extra clan to play as giving the distinction of 5 clans if you count their "other" clan.
2. No more free mode. While this wont come off as good news to most fans it actually is. Free mode has been given a shiny new car and some much needed depth. No more random battles and hello to a hexagonal game board where each hexagon has its own type of quest and reward.
3. No hero has 1 weapon that they have to use which ultimately makes continuous game play less stale.
4. Musou got a much needed revision

The Bad:
1. Even after games like mount and blade, 99 nights, and bladestorm kaoi continues to produce games that leave the battlefield heavily lacking and even more so in DW7. The combat may have keep true throughout the entire series but i feel its time for a change up. Make me want to kill them, give me a reason to kill them. After 1 hour of playing i found myself ,more then previous titles, Officer rushing. Each battle was just a random number of officers i had to run around and find with 100's of pawns in the way.
2. Getting over powered weapons is far to easy which in previous titles would mean just transitioning over to hard and eventually chaos mode but i failed to see what hard mode gave me over normal besides a few higher power-ups
3. The difficulty modes were even more stale then before. Officers carry stronger weapons "woooo" i occasionally get better power ups "yaaaay" sarcasm much?

Conclusion:
DW7 is for sure the best dynasty warrior game to date but kaoi needs revisions bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good , but could be better

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) May 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i went out on day one of its release and bought this without knowing that for some reason that Koei the makers of the game decided to raise the price of this DW game to 60$ instead of the 40-50$ range that the others normally are priced at . which was a total waste i was expecting something different for this game but was disappointed in it . the up side to it is you can do 2player co-op online this time but it is hard to find someone to help you out tho . and the choice of weapons was a good improvement over the last one but i still prefer DW6-DW6 empire over this one this is worth a rent not a buy . but i like hack n slash so i wasn't too let down by the game itself .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dw7

posted by Troy365 (CAMBRIDGE, MD) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is quite possibly The Best DW Game in the series!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dynasty Warriors 7?

posted by IbexThrone (HOUSTON, TX) May 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It plays like every other Dynasty Warrior game EVER. But still I like mindless hack n slash. So im game but if you dont want repitition just dont rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best 2 player Co-op

posted by PanamanianPain (ADRIAN, MI) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Loved it! They have redeemed themselves with this number 7 edition! More 2 player Co-op games please!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Newest game in series, but little improvement..

posted by tropicalrays (WILLOW SPRINGS, IL) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I own every game in the Dynasty Warriors series and I must stay I'm disappointed with this game. The story is still great and in this version it's broken up a little and takes longer to get thru. There's a large amount of content to play thru and replay vaule is good. The addtion of the Jin clan and expaned timeline greatly improves the story. But I was hoping for some updated graphics which there isn't. Yes it looks a little fresh, but at this point in the series it needs a complete make over. These dated graphics really take a toll on the gameplay. By now most game developers have taken full advantage of the power of the PS3 and made graphics almost lifelike. There's so much potential out there for this story, that its sad Koei countinues down this path. Any gamer who has played thru a previous version of this series will feel right at home, which isn't a good thing at this point in the Dynasty Warriors lifeline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not very good

posted by fothead (MATAWAN, NJ) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Can't play co-op in story mode.
Plus in story mode you are forced to constantly use different characters.
Co-op in the conquest mode seems like an afterthought as both players cannot visit the towns. Without co-op the entire Dynasty Warriors series is worthless.
Too focused on the story, like I care about a Chinese civil war from like 1000 years ago or whatever it was. I play games to enjoy, not learn history from foreign countries.
The game needs another difficulty level between normal and hard. On normal, I blew through the first 10-15 levels of conquest way too easily. On hard, I couldn't survive more than 5 minutes on any level as the stupid archers now take a huge slice of life with each arrow and they are everywhere. The regular guys take 20 hits each just to kill and the generals are rediculous.
Maybe you'll like it, but as a long time fan I was very disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Should be called Strikeforce 2! Not Dynasty 7!!

posted by Dj99 (LINCOLN, NE) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game should NOT be called "Dynasty Warriors 7" It should be called "Dynasty Warriors: Strikeforce 2"

The game is NOTHING like traditional DW games, even 6 was more mainstream than this one! DW7 is almost EXACTLY like Strikeforce! The only difference was the extra mode that allows you to play single levels, many of which will require you to use different characters for specific levels.

Honestly, I would have given this game a 0/10 if possible. I HATED Strikeforce. This one isn't any better. But to make matters worse... Once you start using a character it will only take about 10~20 stages to max that character out!

I had this game in my queue, but I removed it because I went out and bought it.... BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER!! A complete waste of $60...

If you think this game might be to your liking... RENT IT FIRST! This is one of those titles that you will have to test before you waste a bunch of money on it.

To further my point: You character starts out fairly strong.. the enemies pretty much fall apart just being around you. I started out on Hard because I have played almost every DW thus far.. It was completely effortless! Starting out with a completely noob, all out basic character... and I still walked on Lu Bu my first time! This game is completely noob and nerf. Too dang easy. Period.

I think that Koei and anyone else involved in making this one were trying to get new people that need a DW without any real challenge. Any hardcore DW fans that loved the Character Creation... get ready for another disappointment. They still didn't bring it back. Another HUGE problem to me.

But possible the worst part.. YOU DON'T GET TO CHOOSE YOUR CHARACTER IN STORY MODE! You have to use the character that the story insinuates is the most relevant. Which I find pathetic and annoying.

The last order of business.. If you want to rent this game.. Please move it down in your queue... You will understand when you play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Is Not Safe For Anyone!

posted by Captain_Cash (HAZEL CREST, IL) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I almost had a seizure within 15 minutes of playing this game. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone not even my worst enemy. I wish I could give an even lower rating than 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much better

posted by Axisfighter (WAUNAKEE, WI) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Those who have followed the series have probably all played 6. The changing of character weapons in 6 and the ultimate renbu turn the game to even more button mashing than before. The weapon changes also hurt the game taking some of the favorite players and making them and the new weapons they weild craptastic at best. but enough about 6 this is 7 where the weapons are back and the game feels back on track. I liked the new special skills and the ability to weild multiple weapons. I would say my only complaint is on hard modes the archers even stronger than they were in dynasty 4. Not only is it almost impossible to dodge them shooting at you (which you could do in 4 becasue you could see the arrows comming) but on harder modes they destroy you while your fighting a group of mele troops. Other than that its a fun game and alot of new characters and weapons to mess around with. I cant wait for Empires which is always my favorite in the series especialy if i get to create my own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Typical KOEI Warriors

posted by GameboyID (HOSCHTON, GA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Good way set up the story and cool way to introduce Jin, and nice keeping up that many characters, but it's, you guessed it, repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Dynasty Warriors game I ever played.

posted by multiblaze96 (STATESVILLE, NC) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This Dynasty warriors is the best one I ever played. I enjoy playing conquest mode, and I couldn't stop playing it until I beat all the stages. The game's graphics are superb, and I don't think the graphics designer could make it better even if he/she tried. The game's storyline is also another thing that doesn't fail to impress, especially the story of Jin. It was interesting hearing about how Jin conquered all of the land. I didn't even know about Jin until I played this game. Some people argue that the game is just a button masher, but no, its not. You don't just press square all day non stop. Besides, I don't see why people want the game to be more complicated. I like simple to learn games like this one. Anyways, on to how its not a button masher. 1st of all, you have to use square and triangle to attack, triangle is for strong attacks, square is for your normal attacks. 2nd, you have to press circle to use your special. How is that button mashing? If I cut out the other buttons and just left square, I would be screwed. In conclusion, I don't really suggest buying this game if you don't have a lot of money, because its great and all, but if you become addicted to the amazing conquest mode, then, you would end conquest mode in about a week, it depends on how much you play. The storyline isn't very long either, but, if you have beaten this game, I suggest renting the expansion, Dynasty Warriors 7 Xtreme Legends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic

posted by chewy0295 (ALTO, GA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The game was great i say anyone that plays this game will have their mind blown

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Freagin awesome

posted by bpmorgan15 (TORRINGTON, CT) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I'm highly impressed with the details. The efforts in creating this game is greatly shown. This game is totally worth a try if you're into running around and destroying massive amounts of people. Battle of Supremacy - FOR..THE..WIN. I love the fact that you can use pretty much any weapon on any character. Of course, there are limits on who can use what weapon very well vs. cannot wield.

The smithing skill can be bought by 3 characters only in the skills menu of the character.
Lu Meng,
Zhuge Liang
and Guo Huai.

The blacksmith in town has nothing to do with the Smith skill. The blacksmith simply unlocks the seal on the weapon given over a period of time. The Smith skill is needed to buy the stronger weapons on the other hand. These weapons can only be bought by the 3 people mentioned above.

I was confused for a long time about this, so I hope this clears it up for whoever's suffering the same confusion I had.

I'm very critical when it comes to games; this one is 10/10. I buy very few games ever. I will be buying this one for sure. It's worth the money. Plenty to do. In depth story mode as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DYNASTY WARRIORS 7

posted by chaz_34 (TANGIER, VA) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I THOUGHT THIS GAME WAS GOING TO BE ALOT OF FUN, WITH ALOT OF FIGHTING. LIKE THEY ARE IN PLAYSTATION 2. BUT IT IS ALOT MORE DIFFICULT AND DIFFERENT TO ME. BUT ANYWAY I AM SENDING IT IN THE MAIL TOMMOROW WHICH IS 1/16/12 WHICH IS A HOLIDAY, BUT I STILL CAN PUT IT IN THE OUTSIDE BOX,,,,,WOULD YOU PLEASE SEND GOD OF WAR 1 OR 2 ON THE PLAYSTATION 2 IF IT IS AVAILABLE.....THANK YOU,,,,,,,,,,,,CHARLES DISE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hmmmm...

posted by chaossonata (OLD BRIDGE, NJ) Jan 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

This game is fun but gets very repetitive after a while. Rocking tunes definitely help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

same toilet different poo.

posted by CroVlado (BROWNSBURG, IN) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

same stuff over and over and over and over since like dynasty warriors as far as i can remember. but if u enjoy it u would enjoy this. different poo meaning they try different things with weapons and things of such but it doesn't really change the game any.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dynasty warriors 7

posted by daishonx23 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

this game is a really action pact game that has non-stop fighting and it will keep you busy throughout the day when your bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i bought and returned.

posted by david222 (GROVETON, TX) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i bought game and returned to early and got only case

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

dynasty warrios 7

posted by 68bird (DEEP RUN, NC) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

same old game some games it's a good thimg but not this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't waste your time

posted by CharleyGardner (AMERICAN FORK, UT) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Doesn't hold up to today's standard of games in any category. Voice acting, graphics, controls, story, ect. All lame. I don't know exactly how much goes into game development these days but it seems this title was made in a month and shipped off to the stores.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse