Rent Dynasty Warriors 6 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors 6

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.7

3726 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For a Dynasty Warriors game, its great!

posted by EvanSmith (HUDSON, FL) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

42 out of 47 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Koei seems to want to keep making this game over and over again, which in my opinion is ok, because killing 1,000's of enemy troops is never a bad thing. Although as the series went on, it never added any thing new to keep it fresh, since all the stories and levels were almost always the same.

Now though, it seems Koei has an actual interest in doing some new thingswith this game, and they all work fairly well.

1) Skill tree- It replaces the old item system, which was annoying to me anyway, since only a few items were actually worthy of being used. You get skill points, which you in turn invest in a skill tree, granting bonuses in all stats, and also gives you abilities. Also, for being Koei's first stab at a system like this, it works very well, and the growth of the tree usually coincides with the way the character is meant to be played.

2) Horses- In the old games, you got the horse, and thats about it. There were only about 5 or 6, and really weren't all that good except the red hare. Now, there is an insanely large amount to choose from, each with their own individual stats and abilities. Also, they are levelable, giving them some reason to use them, although, once you have a level five horse, using anything else is kinda pointless, since horses are only good for getting around.

3) Musou mode- Instead of the story relying mostly on what faction your on, it now more relies on the individual character, as in the extreme expansions. It's a good idea, because it provides more depth to the character, although, since only a handful of the characters are playable in this mode now, it drains the replay value. I also didn't like the choices I had for that mode either. WEI YAN NEED STORY!

I personally enjoyed this addition to the series, as its the best to date. If you enjoy the series, you'll love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same

posted by Groovyitsm (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only different thing with the addition is the leveling up, you can choose which attributes you want to make better. Everything else is pretty much the same old same old. If you like the other ones you will like this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the same, still fun

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Feb 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

30 out of 42 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

These kind of games aren't for everyone. Dynasty Warriors 6 has the best graphics and moves of the series. I found this game to be a lot of fun, but I got bored after a few hours. The game play is repetitive and most characters fight the same way.

If you master a few combos and do the special moves, this game becomes too easy. There are a bunch of unlock-ables, but other than that, no reason to play this game more than once.

I recommend this game to Action fans, some button mashing and lame voice acting (Japanese)so be careful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Classics

posted by sixsnownin (SOUTH HAMILTON, MA) May 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This brings you back to classic gaming where all you have to do is press X to attack any one near you and Y to power attack. Then you have the classic I WILL KILL YOU AND YOUR MOTHER B button which does exactly what i sounds like. All games now you have to aim then shot and unload on one guy. In this you can just take one swipe then you kill 10 guys. Making it even better then like 1000 more guys come plus their awesome captains that can actually stand a chance against you.

You can't forget this game gives a challenge. It is like you are actually in a war... if you don't do something you either lose or don't get points. In the new age game the whole plot stops for you to complete an objective. Also sometimes you actually have to wait for everything to happen in other places in the war before you move on.

One thing i enjoy is that you can ride a horse. yes that sounds weird but you can just jump over guys then jump off and POWN. This game combines the fun of fighting with great culture and a great story line and the feeling you are not just a guy you are important. Right and the graphics are awesome!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Camera angles and poor controls

posted by Barrels (EASTON, PA) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

rented this so I could enjoy some old school button mashing but the camera angles ruined it for me. I couldn't change the way you look with the thumbstick midgame and that made playing the game unbearable. Plus, I even though I could play the 1st level through to the end boss with full health, when I got to the end boss (3 times) he locked me in some combo chain and I couldn't break away. After 40 minutes of playing around I just threw it back in the GF envelope and sent it back...

Always high hopes but constantly disappointed but Dynasty Warriors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What has changed?

posted by santi777 (NEWARK, DE) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

When I had a ps2 I bought a version of this game I believe it was Dynasty Warriors 2 which I thought had great graphics and was fun for the ps2. When I put this game in my xbox 360 I assumed that it was going to have better graphics and there was going to be a new game play system. I was surprised to find that the game play is the same as it was in DW2 and the graphics are not that impressive so I'm sad to say I played it for one day hoping that it would grab my attention but it didn't so I returned it asap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old, same old

posted by SgtGodzill (LAFAYETTE, CO) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 18 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I first started playing DW a while back, playing almost every single game in the series for at least 5 hours each. Even the GBA one. One thing I noticed about the series is that it's afraid of change. And not just gameplay change, but storyline change, character change. There are some characters in this game that were in DW1. One thing that strikes me as odd is that it's afraid of visual change. We have games like Halo, Devil May Cry, Super Mario, they just keep improving their graphics. Dynasty Warriors? Not so much. DW6 looks almost exactly the same as DW5. Expressionless faces, the enemies only have one walking animation, so when they come towards you, you see what looks like a giant blob of clones, moving in unison. Also, the game doesn't add much in terms of combos. Oooh, you can climb stuff. Thats no big deal. What really needs to be added is a deeper combat system. All it seems to be is walking through somehow endless hordes of brainless enemies (that never seem to want to attack you and die in a few hits, except for all the officers, who hit you too hard and take too many hits. Theres really no balance there.) to get to a control point and capture it with no effort at all. The game is really quite brainless and doesn't offer much in terms of challenge. Sure, theres a lot of characters, but there pretty much all the same. And the achievements? Worst achievements since Guitar Hero III. Every single one is secret? Why? And I hear that they're all the same thing: just beat the game with every character. Lame. All in all, be glad you have Gamefly to rent games like this, rather than blowing $60 on them, only to trade them in in a month or so. I'd say it's enjoyable, but repetitive and nothing new,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

old made into new

posted by supream53 (RUSSELLVILLE, AL) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

you guys just cant think of eney thing new can you?!?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dynasty Warriors 6

posted by HOMICIDE (SPRING LAKE, NC) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game is pretty good if you were a fan of the older Dynasty Warriors. It has some good features like the lvl up on ur horse and the different horses. The only bad thing about the game is that the camera angles kinda suck and it still has no new officers.

Other then that I think this game is a good rent or buy.

I give it a 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS IS PERFECT THE BEST DW YET!

posted by IceMaster (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

My review says it all. Good graphics, climatic cut and movie scenes, exploring, diolog, EVERYTHING. When u battle a commander they form a circle and watch you duel it out. Get this game its the best DW yet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugly On The Inside!

posted by Perfec7 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 33 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

This game may be a graphical beauty on the outside, but it's ugly to the core. This game is ridiculous. The bosses are near impossible to kill for novices to the game, even when the game is set on "easy". This is a clear example of amature programers abusing the difficulty settings in order to mask a mediocre game. Many will return this shortly after playing the first boss battle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Button Mashers unite!!

posted by LocoForte (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

There is no reason to play this game unless you like games with no strategy or skill. Honestly it's the worst game I've played in years. As it seems to me, after several hours of game-time, is that it really is a 'press all the buttons you can' kind of game. If I try to figure this game out, I die. If i push the buttons willy-nilly and just try to do all the "special moves" I can, I do OK. I'm not an idiot when it comes to gaming btw. There are no instructions in-game, and obviously the manual is no better. The game is chaos with no redeeming value. Character advancement is incredibly basic, graphics are mediocre at best (think a dressed up command and conquer 4) The 'story' is a waste of time- no plot; game-play is no better than Centipede. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average

posted by hens1974 (ADA, OK) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2006

I loved DW 7 but this DW 6 was bad. I hated the camera angles and controls as well as how tough the bosses are on easy. Already sending it back but if u love DW 6 then more power to U.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One Man army

posted by KyleKelso (NORTHGLENN, CO) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

A great game if you feel like being a champion of an army. Killing thousands of enemies every battle. The game is massive with several campaigns to play through. Not a fast to beat game at all, even on easy. Takes several hours to unlock the best character keeping you verry entertained. The only weak point is it hard to know how to play as there is no instructions at all but the little hints in the game.

Pros:
+Massive sized campaign (many campaigns each with different stories)
+You feel like a Bad A killing thousands of enemies
+Many characters with each haveing unique skills

Cons:
+No instructions how to play
+Camera makes fighting hard at points getting attacked from off screen enemies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great addition to a legendary franchise!

posted by TitanD120 (STOCKTON, CA) Jul 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

I've owned DW6 for a while now, so I've played it enough to know that it is well worth getting. The number of troops one can have on the same screen is staggering, and the "overload slowdown" when you charge into them is a thing of the past (I've owned it for months and it's only happened 2 or 3 times, and even then it was very minimal). The only 3 problems I have with this game is that 1) Not all characters have Musou Modes. 2) Some characters have cloned movesets with other characters (i.e. Lu Meng, Xu Huang, Ling Tong, and Guan Ping all have the same attacks) and 3) Some characters' weapons do not change looks, even when they have different names (i.e Lu Meng's Valor has the same look as his Courage and Spirit). But these can just be overlooked by all of the other great additions to the game (you can jump on a horse, call your horse when you need to, compete in duels with other officers with troops surrounding in a circle, etc.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Typical Dynasty Warriors game

posted by gaminfreak (IRONDALE, AL) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Dynasty Warriors 6 is the typical DW we have seen for the past 10 years, you pick a officers and you fight a gang of enemies until you can defeat the enemy's officers and you just button mash the whole way through the game. Even though a lot of the characters have some awesome moves and specials, after playing it for few hours it becomes repetitive, since your fighting in the same places with different officers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Only For Veterans

posted by xenon2k7 (DARLINGTON, SC) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I tried to like this game, but I just couldn't get into it. I assume veterans of the series could jump right in and dominate, but if this is your first taste into the series, don't expect to know what is going on, or how to pull off any cool moves. I myself pressing the attack button and watching the same attack over and over, and it wasn't that powerful. And it's a bummer to not know how to properly use combos when the boss character know how, and aren't afraid, to use them against you. Playing this game really made me appreciate Ninety-Nine Nights. Yeah N3 had story issues (as there wasn't one, and if there was, it was poorly explained or not told at all), and yes it had collision detection problems, but the best thing it had was the combo combat system. It showed you from the start what moves you could use, and in combat, you actually felt like the overpowering fighter you were suppose to be. And in the end, if the combat is really what you play games like this for, wouldn't the better game be the one you have the most fun in combat? If you ask me, I think Dynasty Warriors could take lessons from N3 on how create a combo system for games like this, at least with N3, you did the cool moves on purpose because you knew what you were doing, and they didn't happen accidentally. Like I said, veterans to Dynasty Warriors might know the secrets to the combat and, by association, the fun, but if you didn't get in it back then, don't try to now (and don't even get me started on the horse or camera!).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

more of the same just a little better.

posted by 04281997 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This is same thing as the others 5 just with more features. it still has the classic characters like zhao yun and lu bu. some of the new features is you have a horse with you at all times. you can jump a horse. the only bad thing is that they gave some characters new weapons which was stupid. but overall this game is new and improved. this game is worth to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good, that's it.

posted by VictaGFly (GORHAM, ME) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

The game is good, but two annoying things hurt it.

1. The annoying camera/analog control.
2. Enemies will be two feet away and they wont appear until you hit them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth Playing over and over

posted by Eversoris (BRAHAM, MN) May 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I loved the game i still have it as of now some new innovations make it better than the originals like the sieges at certain levels but the storyline has not changed what-so-ever altho i do not recall the missions of Chang Ban, He Fi Castle, Conquest of Jing, Campaign against Yuan Shu and Fan Castle. The modifications to some of the characters were pretty bomb like....

Lu Bu - A more blood thirsty B A...his armor looks way cooler and the antenna hanging from his head look better. his attacks are pretty cool i like the idea of the boomerang spears but sometimes i wish he held one in each hand rather than perpendicular in one hand

Zhang Fei - A drunken brute...the first charater i got to lvl 50 his attacks were good once i discovered how to use the block attacks he was even better at killing officers his special attack was pretty good but i wish it swung the spear around a little more rather than the shockwave

Zhang Liao - By far the best character with 2 weapons hes quick but effective his special attack was probably one of the best(second to Lu Bu) because you could clear out 50+ soldiers if in a crowded situation

all in all the game is very fun tho the special tomes effects could be better for most of the characters it just fills their rendbu gague or whatever it is...thats not worth it. less food drops ok way less food drops if im going to fight a strong officer i would have to do it near one of the peach colored jars or near a base under my controll great game i reccomend it to anybody that likes mindless killing and well thought out storyline(but redundant at the same time)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

deja vu

posted by drjohn (KENT, OH) May 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Yet another dynasty warriors game. Not all bad, but I've played this all before: same storyline, same characters, same battles. Will you have to fight the boat battle at chi bi again? Absolutely. Will the yellow turbans use some lame magic tricks to try and stop you (again)? You know it, because you have seen it before in the last game.

It's not terrible. I enjoy assuming the persona of an uber tough killing machine that hacks through hundreds of useless enemy troops that are in my way. There are some improvements: new next generation paint job, skill/experience tree for character development, new weapons for some characters. There's also some questionable changes: I didn't like some of the new weapons (bows) and there is a new renbu(?) gauge that makes long combos possible that is irritating at times.

It's fun, for a while. It needs some fresh ideas to jump start the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dynasty warriors 6 Good or Bad????????????????????

posted by Uchihaboy7 (SAVANNAH, MO) May 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I think that it was good becuz of the graphics and story mode but the part that i hated was that you die very easily it takes like 1000 hits to kill Lu Bu and its hard to get the other characters like Lu Bu,Zhang Liao etc.. so the game is equal

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best one yet

posted by sev705 (DIBERVILLE, MS) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

I don't know what it is that keeps making me play these games, but about once a month I have to play one of these games all day. They are addictive. Anyways, this installment is by far the best one I've played. The attacks are streamlined and the amount of enemies on screen at one time is amazing, I found myself easily getting 1000 kills every mission. The targets for the missions were fun, but also frustrating, sometimes you could only do one or the other.

I like all the new character models, but I'm still getting used to seeing and using everyone with new weapons. The skill tree is a neat addition as well, as it gives a little rpg aspect as well. The weapon system was an improvement, although, I usually just used strentgh weapons because I didn't see the quickness or reach of the others.

Amazing game, now just gotta wait for empires to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My point of view for Dynasty warriors 6

posted by xMarux (MIAMI SPRINGS, FL) Apr 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Ok to start of dynasty warriors 6 was a pretty good game if i am to say, but what saddened me is that they took out so many features of the original dynasty warriors game, like in dynasty warriors 4 you are able to create ur guy and have your own troops supporting you and u choose the squad you want to have like spear or bow or swords etc., but other than that i guess the game was pretty fun if your into its saga , so dont play this game unless u have little spare time, it gets boring after an hour of game play, thats my review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dynasty Warriors 6

posted by jordanpimp (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

this is the best dynasty worriors in the world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse