Rent Dynasty Warriors 6 for PS3
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors 6

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.5

2458 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Making the right changes

posted by Kleintime7 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2004

55 out of 58 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I have been playing the Dynasty Warriors series for many years now. Dynasty Warriors 2 was the first game I bought for my PS2 many years ago, and I have played every game in between. So, it is with great excitement that I can tell you that this game is a must play for any gamer. While the basics of the game remains the same, the characters, weapons, levels, stages and items have all changed.

Now, your character has the ability to do unlimited combo moves, which is a neat change from the max of 5 combo hits that you could turn in to a juggle move. Also, as you gain experience and levels, you now gain points towards a growth web of abilities. This is how you shape your characters growth in fighting abilities and special attacks.

The stages are huge and with a new updated FPS rate, the action is non-stop. There are a few times the game will slow down, like when there are tons of fighters, a couple of commanders and your character all doing charged moves and magic... that will slow it down pretty well.

I may have overlooked it, but it appears that there is no create mode, so that is a bit of a negative hit in my opinion. But where one loss happens a gain is made elsewhere. The amount of freedom you have on the battlefield will make the game a whole new experience for old Dynasty fans.

Overall I would highly recommend this game to everyone with a next gen system. Very beautiful graphics and soundtrack with an addictive game play will have you stuck in front of the TV for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid Game - But not quite there yet.

posted by Rootgamer (BEND, OR) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would give this game a 7.5.

What I Like:

I believe that the improvements over previous installments are good

Abandoning the square,square,square, triangle combo structure and switching to the new 'renbu' system is a welcome change. It allows for infinite combos and has a better flow, since you can throw in a charge attack anytime. The short press/long press attacks and block/grapple moves add variety to you combo. The new dodge button is cool too, though I didn't use it much.

Swimming is very helpful for getting around the level faster, and the ladder climbing is also useful. On many levels you have to break down gates using siege weapons, but as soon as a ladder is step up, you can get over the wall immediately. There are also times when climbing provides shortcuts.

Also, the left analog stick now controls the camera, so no more tapping block to see where your going.

What I Dis-like:

The Pop-up is the biggest problem in the game. It's so bad it nearly breaks the game. It makes tracking enemies very difficult. Many times, an officer you are trying to defeat will disappear and then reappear to attack you. Entire crowds of enemies will show up on the map but not in the game until you ride past them.

Horses/weapon drops are now entirely random, so getting red hare is now by chance instead of by method. '4th weapons' no longer exist, so its just whatever you can get to drop (although level and game difficulty are still factors in the quality of drops).

To Sum It Up:

The gameplay is still awesome, single-handedly taking down an entire army is gratifying. Nice changes and different levels/musou stories provide a new and fresh experience from the previous games. Yet I feel that this game has so much more potential. Technical issues hinder this game and keep it from being triple-A. An even better and expansive combo system would be great, and more straying from the 'work your way to the enemy commander and kill him' pattern would be nice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Same Hack Same Slash

posted by realtalk45 (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of Hack n Slash games, and DW6 is no exception. I only played the Mousou Mode once through with Guan Yu, but it was very fun, light and enjoyable. The game has very high replay value, as there are numerous unlockables such as characters and maps that can be attained through playing different character story modes. As always, avoid fighting Lu Bu until your character is AT LEAST level 20+...

If you like the hack n slash genre, i definately suggest you pick this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dynasty Warriors 6 Review

posted by XxJansenxX (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really great for anyone who played the previous games,like war-type games/strategy games,and want a really fun game. The storyline is great. The game is really long so it's not just like a 3 hour game and that's it. Also unlocking secrets is a really fun thing to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good but Repetitive

posted by blindwolf (HIDDEN VALLEY LAKE, CA) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game is great and really good. The battle system is great and the graphics are amazing. This is truly a good game. The only thing I would have to say was bad is that it is repetitive. If you would like to unlock everyone, good luck! You would want to buy the game it will take you a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by leodjonelu (DALLAS, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of this game, you will love it. You can do more moves and the graphics or great. There also a lot more things that you can do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic Game!!!

posted by Sebastian (SEBASTOPOL, CA) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of the Dynasty Warriors series and this game leaves nothing to wish for. With crisper graphics and new interactions, this is a good step in the right direction for next-gen games. The story can get slightly repetitive with the small number of battles but hacking at a hoard of enemies that barely ever flutter in and out of view (like the PS2 version) never gets old.

I highly recommend renting this game and then buying it if it has the same effect that it had on me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Koei Serving Up Next Gen Genius

posted by VVarumono (GROVE CITY, PA) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Ever since i was little i read up on History and The Three Kingdoms Era has always been one of my favorite things to read about....and with the birth of Dynasty Warriors Way back on PS1 i was hooked...look where we are now folks the age of HD has turned a blocked polygon fighting game into a fully adaptable/innovative hack n' slasher. I have not played the US Version but i've been playing the JP version since 11-07 when it dropped. The new "Renbu" system is how Koei thought they would have the players better adapt their own playing style with the new AI they would be fighting against. the generals and even the regular infantry are much harder than they used to be making the user have to use more strategy than just the average DW button mashing. Dueling is back with a vengeance i still have no clue how to challenge someone myself but a few friends that own the JP version said that you can but it's complicated...anyway when your in a duel no longer are you whisked away to some random arena...you battle right there in a circle of soldiers who will try and help their commanding officers by trying to cut you down if you get to close and likewise for your men...all characters have a new look and weapons, this being what Shibusawa Kou (Koei big shot for those when may not know)calls a more "authentic approach" to the series...so enjoy fellow Dynasty Warriors i HIGHLY recommend this version over the X360 (due to a higher on screen soldier count...well it seems that way..also less lag in battle)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game.

posted by jollyj (NEVADA, MO) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty good game.

The end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NO Bodyguards = Weaker Game

posted by chambatoka (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

In this installment they got rid of the bodyguards. In the past, you could choose from several different types of troops to lead out into battle. They would level up and different characters could all use the same troop of bodyguards. This improved re-play value because when you'd choose a new officer, you could keep the same levelled-up bodyguards from the last character and you would thus start off more powerful. But in DW6 they have ditched the bodyguards for the silly horse system. Unlike the bodyguards which play a huge role in clearing out bases, which horse you choose has minimal impact on actual gameplay.

I've played through three Musou modes and I am returning the game. In old Dynasty Warriors games, I'd play ALL the characters because starting off a new officer wasn't so daunting as you could recycle experienced bodyguards. Here, when you choose a new officer, you have to start the game all over again and fight all of the same enemies and stages without any benefit at all from your previous runs through. This is is the weakest Dynasty Warriors I have played yet (despite the improved graphics). Fun enough game, but the worst Dynasty Warriors to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What is W-Omega Force and Koei thinking?

posted by Maikeru (TROY, OH) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

16 out of 24 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Hi! I am a fan of this series much like a few of you. I have played since DW2, and I must say this series hasn't come that far. DW6 is proof of that! I mean the gameplay is fun, but the lingering technical issues still bug me. For instance the pop-up of trees and bushes, they appear in front of you and when you walk on top of them they dissapear! I have been fighting in a few of the levels and guys will just pop-up out of thin air! This also happens when I walk around and theres a huge empty space and just as I come up on it theres like 50 guys that just pop-up! Am I the only one seeing this? One more thing that bugs me is the slowdown on two-player mode, if you're both fighting in an area that has a lot of battle action the framerate sttutters and bogs down. I was hoping Koei and W-Omega Force would have addressed these technical issues that plagued the PS2 Games in this installment, but i guess I was wrong. The Gameplay on the other hand is much like all the others. I really don't see a need to be able to climb latters or swim, cause I really havn't played to far in the mosou modes yet, but I am hoping that they intergrated it more. Also the lack of a few Warriors doesn't surprise me, if you look at it from this standpoint: DW6 might as well start the series over from the beginning, because it looks and feels like the first of a series. The enemy models are bland and reused, there is a huge lack of any real expansive content for your character, or weapon. What do we have to do wait another six months and shell out another $30 or $40 for DW6 Xtreme Legends to get that content? I mean there is a unique experiance gaining system that I kinda like but I don't yet see its real purpose. So all in all I gave this game a 7! Its not worth a 10 like some of you other people gave it. To obtain that Koei and W-Omega Force would have had to do a heck of alot better than just give us a watered down version of what could have been a masterpiece!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Koei Steps It Up On Next Gen

posted by Twilight43 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok, I love the Dynasty Warriors series. This game takes "6" steps in the right direction. The character visual updates are the best thus far. The new genbu system lets attacks flow without haveing to start a combo over. There are 41 playable characters and none feel the same. I wish there were more Museu(Story) Modes. This is a great game. If you are looking for a game that is fun to play alone and fun to play with others. This is Your Game. Its easy to just pick up and play. I love Dynasty Warriors. I can't wait until DW6: empires/xtream legends comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A rental if you got nothing else lookin good.

posted by Alpha007 (STRUNK, KY) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gameplay-----> 4
Graphics-----> 6(scaled for ps3 titles)
Sound--------> 6
Control------> 7

Gameplay 4: I'm used to each DW installment making 1 step forward and at least 1 step back but this title broke the mold(unfortunately). They managed to remove all the best features and add a few interesting yet useless ones. Mostly this title has one big drawback, the camera angle(and it is a game killer). I fought harder battles with the camera than with any boss I came across. This severely limits the fun of the game when your constantly stabbed in the back by a invisible enemy or shot at range with zero chance of finding him quickly. Other drawbacks include lack of body guards, create a character system, computer constantly blocking, and the removal of the combo finishing moves(instead you just do the same 3-4 moves over and over by hitting the square button).

Graphics 6: First I should point out I'm NOT playing on a HDTV. This should be kept in mind. What HDTV users see may be much different. The levels look nice but that's about the only upside. For a PS3 title the characters and enemies are of average detail. The color scheme is horrendous, everything is done in weak pastels. At first I thought it was my TV but messing with the color and contrast just made it worse. It's possible it looks much better on a HDTV.

Sound 6: Typical generic rock soundtrack. Nothing special done by serious artists but not annoying and you can turn it off if you want. Same old decent sword clashing sounds and other sound effects from the past games.

Control 7: Controls are fully customizable. Camera controls are invertible on both axis. In game character response is quick although the limited ability to turn to target someone while attacking gets annoying. Many times while attacking I would walk around someone specific I was targeting striking everyone but him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by acemaster (LEXINGTON, SC) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game has great graphics and awesome game play I encourage anyone with a ps3 to at least rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game.

posted by Carrots (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of Dynasty Warriors and I think this one was definetly a hit.
Koei does repackage and release the same games over and over, but im still a sucker for it.
People complain that there wasnt that much of a difference from the last, but I disagree. IT'S FOR THE PS3!
I know the released it for PS2 as well, but one of the biggest problems with Dynasty Warriors in the past has been the huge lag when too many fighters were on screen. Well the PS3 handles it beautifully. I have played this game a million time, in every different situation and have never had a lag in motion. I dont know how this looks on the PS2, but the visuals are stunning on the PS3. Way better than I have seen in the past.
I guess the biggest con is that there arent enough characters with stories.
Oh, and I thought of another. There are a couple of characters that have cloned movesets.
Other than that, I LOVE IT. I have played it so much, and I refuse to trade it in because I never know when I will want to get immersed back into the Romance of the Three Kindoms story.
-Carrots :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dynasty forever

posted by Jubeiluck (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of dynasty warriors you will love this game even if it give your more of the same. We are able to now swim and break down gates its by far the best out of all the other Dynasty warriors. Plus the online score option is great. So bottom line if you like dynasty 1-5 you will love this game get it it worth the rent or buy. Also it the 1st PS3 game i seen with a vibration option which will go well with the new rumble controllers sony about to release. Just watch out for Lu bu his not playing around in this DW6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DYNASTY WARRIORS

posted by MOBBSTARR (TORRANCE, CA) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I HAVE EVER PLAYED I HAVE BEEN PLAYING DYNASTY WARRIORS SINCE THE FIRST ONE AND IT HAS NEVER DISSAPOINTED ME. THE GRAPHICS ARE ok BUT THE GAME PLAY, CONTROLS AND THE MASSIVE AMOUNT OF WARRIORS THAT YOU CAN DEMOLLISH IS UNFATHEMABLE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as previous titles

posted by kentk94 (GREEN BAY, WI) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

At first I really liked this game, however a few hours into it everything changed. The graphics update is a nice touch, however I found several of the levels to be way too dark. I ended up having to turn the brightness way up on my TV just so I could see where bridges and ledges were.

The gameplay is fine. I don't think anything really needed to be modified there. I'm not a big fan of games that require you to pull off calculus style equations to perform moves ala Mortal Kombat or Dead or Alive. A previous review said that using the horse was like controlling an RC car, that would be dead on. The horse controls like garbage.

Character selection is also great. Camera angles severely need to be worked on. It is so frustrating having to readjust the angle every single time an enemy dodges out of the way of an attack and lands behind you. I can't tell you how many times I was jumped by officers because I couldn't see them due to the camera angle. The voice acting is bad and the storyline gets old fast, especially if you've played previous DW games.

The difficulty is ridiculous. I had the game on easy and a few levels into the game I was getting smoked. The thing is, it wasn't even my fault, my officers kept giving up. Now maybe I suck, but when I stick a game on easy, I want to be able to breeze through it so I can crank up the difficulty later on. Like I said, maybe it's just me and I suck. I really wanted the game for an Empires like mode, but I'm sure they'll release that game later on this year. As far as modes go, I think Empire mode takes the cake.

This one is a pass for me. Next?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Only for hardcore Warriors fans.

posted by NappyTom (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like this game. I really did. But Koei really dropped the ball with the oppurtunity to show what a current-gen Warriors game could be. Instead its more of the same. In fact, it wouldnt be entirely unfair to say its exactly the same. You've heard it before. If you've played Dynasty Warriors 2,3,4,or 5, then you've played 6. If that sounds like fun, then Koei truly made this game for you. Personally, the Warriors game have fallen out of grace. How sad is it that besides the prerequisite, mandatory leveling up system and level design changes that come with each iteration, the only other addition this fo around is costume redesigns. Oh thank the heavens, Koei! You finally gave these kind people a change of clothes (and not just palette swaps, which are still the "alternate costumes" in this game) and it only took 15 RELEASES! 15! (I just wikipedia'ed the console releases) Wow, way to be cutting edge. Koei seems to be taking advantage of fans. Outside of Capcom's Devil Kings, no one seems to be challenging Koei's throne (despite some rather nice sells in Japan. If it sold like that in America, there'd be 20 different knock-offs by now.) This leaves Koei to release a game with barely updated graphics (BARELY.), unenhanced gameplay, and the same exact story and events. (How about exploring some of those events in your in-game encyclopedia, Koei.)They even went so far as to take away characters and story modes. Not, add. TAKE. AWAY. Thus, Dynasty Warriors is simply another cash-cow. (Just like Warriors Orochi 2, another game using the exact same character models from the first Warriors Orochi game, coming out for the PS2, that will look just like a higher resolution Warrior Orochi if they release it on the Xbox 360.) Simply put, Dynasty Warriors 6 is the exact same drivel Koei has put out before, that only the most devoted, Warriors fans will gladly suffer through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dynasty Warriors 6

posted by Rolltide10 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is one of the greatest games you will ever play. Dynasty Warriors forever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by skiller (WARRENTON, MO) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

i love playing Dynasty Warriors game but this one was every better then i throght i dont care want other may say about this game but i love play it i played all other DynastyWarriors game iam buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dynasty Warriors 6

posted by Kosten07 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

What a huge disappointment this game was. I was expecting to be blown away by DW6 because it was on the PS3. Specifically I hoped to see truly massive armies to battle, refreshing game play, and perhaps something that would push the title to new heights.

Instead what I found was a rehashed game with slightly better graphics than previous versions, small battles with the same amount of armies to fight as the previous (in fact if you had too many people on the screen the game actually lagged, which was odd since the new hardware in the PS3 should have had the opposite effect). However, the most disappointing thing about the game was that it has nothing new. I take that back, it had a new skill tree, but it was completely lackluster and really added nothing to the game. Same boring characters, same boring story. If you played any of the previous DW's, then you've played this game already.

My recommendation is to play this if you have nothing else to do and expect to be entertained for about 4 or 5 hours before becoming bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Almost the exact same as the other DW games...

posted by johnnyred3 (LAKESIDE, CA) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

There are only a couple of differences. You can swim in the water, you can always start out with a horse, and the graphics are better. Those are the ONLY differences. You can only play as 9 characters through the Musou mode and of coarse everyone has their own story, but that isn't any different. Beating the whole game with the 9 characters will only take about 20 hours. It gets boring though, just like the other Dynasty Warriors. I hate how Dynasty Warriors have mode almost NO changes at all since they released the games. There is no online mode which sucks. If you are a fan I would say buy it but there is no way I would. This was a big let down for me. If they aren't going to change these games dramatically then they need to stop making them all together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So, so game

posted by TallusTheKiller (OGDEN, UT) Jan 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

The game certainly had its bonuses however it is too short lived. I finished the Wu people and then found no point in going to the Shu and Wei forces. Great graphics but to short of a Musou Mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

gameover

posted by mooksreview (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

the game is a good fighting game , but when you die its a automatic gameover. if it was more on the lines to start at like some sorta checkpoint or last saved it will be better. Also more characters would be nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse