Rent Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires for PS3
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

1318 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IF YOU LIKE THE DW SERIES

posted by adams12 (GREAT LAKES, IL) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You'll like this game as well. The customization of the game is great. The Empire Mode is fun to play, when you win or lose it affects your empire. There's two options to Empire Mode which are Officer and Ruler. I think both are fun to play, but you get more interaction on the Officer option. You can even get married on this game. I like it, you may not. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dynasty Warriors 6 Empires

posted by morales23 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is the best game I have ever played.I like when you can create your warriors and fight alongside with other warriors or I can rule warriors and unite the land.My favorite character is Liu Bei.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not too bad!!

posted by markyd31 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like how you can create a character and go thru the game! nice little touch. But nothing spectacular, PS2 graphics, same bad voice acting, same concept, Hack and Slash. Once you get your character to Level 50 your almost unstoppable which makes the game very easy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More wild card based empires

posted by MMMAAADDD (OLIVEHURST, CA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

27 out of 33 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

When i first got this game i was surpised that most of the freedom like in the other empires is gone, like using your money on troops, gold, and officers. Everything now is by turns, which is slow but in that time you can level up your weapons and buy other things.

Now you can either be a Officer or a Ruler, which ever you pick will be what you can do at the very beginning of the mode.
The gameplay is sometimes too repetitive, so take a break when you get tired.

I like the fact this game is somewhat deep for a hack n' slash.
There are also edit characters you can make.

This game is pretty fun, card game with some hack n' slash and land for the taking. If you didn't like the other Dynasty Warrior games then you'll sure probably get bored of this game as well.
I sure did injoyed playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same ol' DW games....

posted by Sadistikal (BYESVILLE, OH) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

As a long standing fan of Romance of the Three Kingdoms and the Dynasty Warriors series, I have always been a little disappointed in these titles, but still had to pick it up which is why I rented.

Pretty much your run of the mill hack-fest you get in DW games with a few little target objectives thrown in that might make you approach the battle a little differently, nothing that requires much thought.

Still so far from what they could do. If only they would mix in the true complexity and depth of the RTK series and let you battle it out DW style and still have to issue more orders and strategies on field, this game would rock.

Characters creation is pretty cool, would like to see some non already established character actions for how you fight and what not. Appearance wise, it is great on the customizing with some pretty cool unlockable gear.

All in all if you like the DW series and it gives you what you want, you will get that from this title and maybe a little more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dynasty Warriors 6 Empires

posted by Noobiuspri (WEST FARGO, ND) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy Dynasty Warriors games this game would be fun for you. Me, I am a DW fan since 4, so I enjoy the game. Its got some good character creation, but its no Fallout 3. The game just like previous ones will lag if too much is going on in one screen (this happens often while playing co-op). The enemies will spawn and randomly disappear and reappear to attack you from behind. If you can tolerate that, then this is a good fun simple game. But don't get me wrong when I say simple, one must think before they attack as a ruler, and must tactically capture bases to link your main camp with the enemy's main camp. Oh and another let down for me since the last DW game I played was 5 is, you can level your characters up but when you start a new campaign all that work is gone. So all in all I'd give it a 7. If this were a letter grade. I'd say a low B or high C.

HIGHS: Good game to play with a friend, decent character customization, and easy to pick up on gameplay

LOWS: Lag when too many characters are on screen, character customization COULD be better, and enemies randomly disappear and use that against you.

If you would like to add me as a PSN friend my ID is Noobiusprime

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game! lots of options.

posted by SFBanshee (OLIVEHURST, CA) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

love the customization and the games flexibility, great strategy like a live Risk Type game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a bad game

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like how you can create a character and go thru the game! nice little touch. But nothing spectacular, PS2 graphics, same bad voice acting, same concept, Hack and Slash. Once you get your character to Level 50 your almost unstoppable which makes the game very easy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Niiiiiiice

posted by playboi (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

liked the game alot
been a fan of dynasty warriors since i was 9.
it seems like every game they make they're
getting a step closer to a RPG. cant wait for
strikeforce to come out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kinda Bland

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jul 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I am very much a fan of the DW series, but this game is poor in comparison to even DW 6. You run about 20 missions, then either take over the land alone or following a Ruler. The levels are horribly repetitive, with the same features over and over, and rarely any weather change. Even with the missions included, the game is really about taking over the enemies base... over and over. I won once and that was enough. The character creation is unique because you can choose a range of voices, and if you have multiple characters made, they will eventually be enemy officers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what you dont understand

posted by hotmagma96 (BALLSTON SPA, NY) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

what you dont understand about this game is you have to like these kind of games in order to like them. Like me ive played every dynasty warriors and i like them so rate it on the features,graphics, not on the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Upgrade as is the norm for DW

posted by BigMeezy (VISTA, CA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game as any fan has come to expect from the DW series. Good character creation upgrades ; fun action and all around the usual Dynasty experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game, Seriously lacking

posted by Kaladorph (KANSAS CITY, MO) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

While Dynasty Warriors has been constantly pumping out more versions of itself, Dynasty Warriors 6 Empires is not nearly as fun as Dynasty Warriors 6. It gives the false hope of the strategy role as you try to conquer China, but there is no strategy required as long as you dont lose every battle. And losing is difficult to do even if you're trying to lose. My advice, avoid this game and just play Dynasty Warriors 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hack and Slash at its best

posted by KingMonkey (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of Dynasty Warriors - and I am - you will love this game. Others will probably hate it. Dynasty warriors 2 is the reason I bought a PS2 and have been a fan ever since. PS - I hate the dynasty warriors gundam games and I do not recomment those.

Lu Bu and Guan Yu forever!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

back peddaling

posted by BlkViper (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

what on earth happened? I think mentally challenged lab monkeys got a hold of this title...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I think this might be the worst game...

posted by MooseLove (THEODORE, AL) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Of all time.

1. It does not give you instructions when you play.
2. It has no storyline, just sen. which is the way those games are but still.
3.there is no way 1 man can take down 10,000 people in 2 mins

Im a big trophy person,and i just said " im not even going to try for plat"

its that bad.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

KOEI You Let Me Down...

posted by ZefroKaru (BRADENTON, FL) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 19 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This is really a downfall in Stupid AI yes yes you get to have ally AI
but only 3... Honestly now...
And what good are they u send them to defeat an enemy officer and they die even with all 3 of them attacking the same enemy and they can never capture a base or they take forever because they are brainless!...

The enemy AI are better then ur ally AI they block attack with combos and faster but there still no challenge when u get to a high lvl u take them out with one attack or hit them with your horse (WHATS WITH THAT)...

The attacks are reppetitive and they get boring after a couple of battles And the dialog is tiresome and boring I was about to quit the game after hearing the same dialog over and over...

And theres no more fun of unlocking char's...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

"THE WORST DYNASTY WARRIORS GAME EVER!"

posted by INSIGHT321 (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 39 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I DID ENJOY THIS SERIES ON THE PS2. . .AND A FEW MINUTES INTO THIS GAME YOU WOULD THINK YOUR PLAYING A PS2. DW6 SHOULD HAVE RUN WILD ON THE PS3 BUT INSTEAD ITS SLOW AND BORING. NOT EVEN THE BEST SOUR DIESEL YOU CAN GET YOUR HANDS ON COULD MAKE THIS ENTERTAINING LOL ALL YOU DO IS RUN IN CIRCLES AND BY THE TIME YOU REACH YOUR DESTINATION IT SEEMS YOUR CHARACTER IS TIRED THE WAY HES FIGHTING LOL ITS SIMPLY JUST NOT FUN!!!!!! I DONT UNDERSTAND WITH ALL THE OTHER ROCKIN GAMES OUT THERE WHY KOEI WOULD WASTE EVERYBODYS TIME AND MONEY WITH THIS GARBAGE. HOPE THIS INSIGHT HELPS OUT AND HAVE FUN GAMING :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Dynasty warriors game but....

posted by nfelix (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Jul 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I used to love the dynasty warriors games, (only played 3,4,4 Empires, 6 Empires) but with that being said it just seems.... and feels.... exaterated in story, and all the same once you play dynasty warriors you play them all, let alone with the repeating of the same thing by voice acting.. seems very limited in voice acting....but remember this very important quote from good Ol' Liu Bei: "Ones who comes across virtue shall fail."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No, just no!

posted by alexisBeyond (HIALEAH, FL) May 8, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

- Bad graphics
- Bad story
- Gameplay issues
- Cam issues
- Bad IA
+ Customization

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Emperors of Repetivity

posted by GameboyID (HOSCHTON, GA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

THIS THE MOST REPETITIVE KOEI GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dynasty warriors 1 to 6

posted by annini (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

this is a awesome game need more like this please

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DYNASTY WARRIOR 6 EMPIRES

posted by chaz_34 (TANGIER, VA) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

It was a pretty good game, but not like the other one's. But I will say this much it would keep you on your feet fighting and that is what i like. So to me it was a pretty good game. I have sent this game around four days ago, you all should soon be getting it now. But I like to get the first two I got on my game q list if they are alailable. I would certainly appreaciate it...Still playing darksiders, that game is a killer game,can't wait untill the second releases.........thanx alot.............CHARLES DISE,,,,,,,,,,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by Kashilato (RALEIGH, NC) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

this game kept me thinking of strategy to out think my opponent it may be a button mash but you have to think a lot to win

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

waste of time

posted by wrldrckr (MONMOUTH, OR) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

seriously waste of time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse