Rent Dynasty Warriors 5 for PS2
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors 5

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
8.2

1188 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good game with lots of replay value

posted by thecritic (WEST CHESTER, PA) May 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dynasty Warriors 5 is an action adventure game that plays very similarly to most hack-and-slash games. It's not just pounding on the square button though. To succeed, you have to take bases, which were newly added to the series, and defeat the opposing officers. These small elements add strategy to the game that I find very appealing. You might find yourself plotting out the route you're going to take, or which bases you'll conquer first, before the battle even begins.

Another great element to the game is the replay value. There are a lot of battles to fight, many characters to play as and unlock, and even powerful items to find.

The reason I gave this game an eight, instead of a nine or ten, is because it has barely changed from its predecessors. I have already played Dynasty Warriors 3 and 4, and enjoyed the fifth installment, but the gameplay has gotten kind of stale. If you haven't played any of the Dynasty Warriors series yet, then I'm sure you'll like it, and it won't feel a little...old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

really good! the best in the series

posted by dulun18 (MESA, AZ) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is way better than its previous version, regarding about graphic clarity (fog problem), and "slow movements" problems in the previous games. In order to enjoy this game fully i recommend a guide, used it to acquire a horse and items quickly so you can play hard mode or chaos mode, which are very challenging.

there are a lot of improvements in this version, along with new characters, still there's something amiss here. The unique moves of each characters are no longer unique or as devastate as before. In DW4 when you release a shock wave as a final attack you will see your enemies being blown away, but in this game that shock wave did nothing but tilt them back a little, which they can easily regain balance and attack you ( a big problem in Chaos mode). Also, some unique attacks of characters like Cao Pi, or Zhao Yun are pretty blame, Zheo Yun used to have a unique and powerful move in DW4 which can clear a lot of enemies quickly. But in this game, all he does is jump up and slash diagonally with this spear, the same with Cao Pi and his double swords.

beside all that, This game is a must have for those who like to fight using weapons other than a gun, and like fighting against multiples enemies.

P.s.
at first, this game will suck but until you have all the items and weapons this game can keep you entertained for hours, Tired of one characters? YOu have 46 (not sure) characters to choose from. Also, i recommend a guide to help find a horse (most needed) and items and weapons. Guides are available for free from anywhere from the web, most of them are fellow gamers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The perfect game review

posted by cmaster (CLOVIS, CA) Oct 10, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a game were you show your anger and skills the characters have great talents and looks and all the worriers arent just boys you should see some of the girls fhigt in this game there amazing and it even brings a little history out about the characters and china. You can really feel the excipment in it and i can asure you will want to play again. The best thing in this game is the battle fields there is barly any small ones and the bases and weopons like catapolts on giant walls are awsome to destroy or camand. But dont take my word for it rent it and find out how perfect this game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Again?

posted by Linerunner (PROVIDENCE, RI) Apr 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I really don't get this series. Same fights, same characters, same over the top, unrealistic battles that really have not changed since the first DW. I can't even imagine having the patience to unlock everything in this game, given the sheer hours of button mashing and repeats of the same battles one must endure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SAMURAI WARRIORS MUCH BETTER!!!!

posted by Pharaoh13 (OSWEGO, IL) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

If you have never played Samurai Warriors, you will probably like this game. But because I have played Samurai Warriors, I found this game lacking a story and purpose. Take my advice, get Samurai Warriors 2 Empires instead!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dynasty Warriors

posted by slonnerr (SHELBYVILLE, KY) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game in my opinion is not very good. If you want to try out a game i do not recommend this one, but if your bored one day and want to try it then go ahead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The gangstas review

posted by hertig (BOWDEN, WV) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The game was great but way to easy. I did like all of the families u can play as. I really like the chaos mode or whatever it is called. The game is to easy I hope dynasty warriors 6 is harder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, not great

posted by gamefreak3 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This is a good game. The fighting is fun, and the special moves are entertaining to watch. The bosses are challenging, and the maps are gigantic. However, it gets repetitive after a few hours. Some bosses are real pains, and the armies are pushovers which is not very realistic. You will find yourself killing at least 200 men every level. This game is good enough to buy, and better to rent, but you see yourself playing it hours at a time, so I suggest you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The usage of your bodygaurd and ally.

posted by Reaperking (GREENBELT, MD) Jun 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

This game had an incredible story line. It just had me waiting to play as another character, but I really wanted to use my bodyguard more. I wanted to aid my allies with my bodyguard. Or tell him to go takeover a defense base, attack base or a nuetral base. I also wanted to control more of my allies except for them from roaming free. Maybe you could tell your whole ally to defend an area or attack an area. But for an overall of the game I would say it would be a 9.2/10.
P.S- The game was great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

all right

posted by nejihuga (BUSHNELL, FL) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

this game is pretty good but if your like me and have played the other dynasty warriors this isn't as good as the others. yes it has new characters but truly id much rather still have the officer and bodyguard setting. playing with the same people will get kind of boring and when you unlocked everyone its kind of useless. but if you like the other dynasty warriors series than you would probably like it for the game play and new characters. but definitely only rent its not worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its a Very good game but some flaws

posted by IceMaster (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Aug 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

See i love dynasty Warrior games. My favorite part of the game is when you play a diffrent difficulty and beat it you get diffrent endings when the tell you about the character. The harder the difficulty the more rewarding the ending. But there are some flaws to the game. For example. The text gets very boring, and there are no twists in the game. The fighting just gets boring with the same tasks, and they try to blend strategy with the game but it does not work out. Try the game out and see what you think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok

posted by death5 (BEECHER, IL) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

the bodyguard thing sucks cause you only have one but everything else is great the weapons are cool the story is good but its kind of short.

it could have been better but its stil good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dynasty Warriors 5

posted by Question (HOHENWALD, TN) May 2, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

Alright,this game is good if you like choosing a character,and killing 500 enemies if you win.You'll like it if you like facing multiple enemies at one time that are weak,some enemies are stronger than others,generals they are called.So,anyway,I rented this game because it looked cool from other people playing it.I suggest that this is a rent,not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »