Rent Dynasty Warriors 5: Empires for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dynasty Warriors 5: Empires

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
5.7

2263 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by Barbadus (CEDAR HILL, TX) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I love the Dynasty series, and this one has really proved its worth. The game first starts you off where you can create your character, from there on you choose a dynasty and conquer the entire country. The graphics in this game are great, they may not be like project gotham, but for a dynasty game their pretty darn good. I really liked the new HUD. Its really shrinked down to where you can see everything around you and character without it being all clustered onto the screen. The only set back for this game is no musou mode. You gotta love playing the story over and over and over :P I'm not sure how Dynasty Warriors does it, but this game is worth the buy if you love hack and slash(you versus everyone on the screen)and feeling that power of turning the tides of war. As the other empire games, you command your army and set tactics up for the enemy.

I give this game a 8 out of 10, Consider it a BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Addictive, yet repetitive

posted by monlienNH3 (AUGUSTA, GA) May 22, 2006

Member since Jul 2003

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

First, I'm not really a fan of the Dynasty Warriors franchise because it's just too repetitive for me - button mashing and more button mashing. However, this version was very addictive for me because of the Empires mode. It took the classic DW gameplay and mixed the strategy of Risk or Utopia (both of which I am a huge fan of). Adding that strategy element made the button mashing worth it. If you like DW games, you'll obviously like this one too. But if you don't like DW games, this might be the one that changes your opinion.

I hope they release more DW Empires games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game with a Learning Curve

posted by Gfunc88 (SUN VALLEY, CA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

24 out of 30 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is *mostly* like the previous Dynasty Warrior Games. If you enjoyed playing those, you will enjoy this one. If you enjoy the board game RISK, you'll be in heaven, as it is a hybrid of Dynasty warriors & RISK. Empires is not just a pick up & go game, now there is atually some learning you *have* to do before you can proceed past the first level.

The Objective in this game is not to follow a specific, prestructured game, as in ALL the DW's prior to this. You choose your side & attempt to conquer the world by conquering individual countries, one at a time.

The item menu between battles has been changed as well. In between turns you must designate which specific items need to be created. There is no more infinite amount of Red Hare Saddles, now they are made 1 at a time, and you get to designate which items you make...

The graphics are incredible, I don't recall 1 slowdown, a HUGE improvement from previous installments. The music is exactly the same as I remember it in every other recent version.

This is a fun game, especially if you are a fan. Employing officers individually (yes, Cao Cao can have Lu Bu as a commander in his army!) is an unexpected, and welcome addition. Just don't expect any more substance to the game, nor any drastic improvements in controls or camera angles from previous installments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just What you would expect if you've played it b4

posted by OptimusVic (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Now I really like this game. If you have played the other games in the Dynasty Warriors series, this is the same type of action.

So if you liked DW before, you will like this version. If you didn't like DW before then leave DW5 for the 360 on the shelf.

The graphics are pretty solid. Especially the environments. There are a heck of a lot of Generals with different weapons and upgrades for you to try.

I'm not sure how far the game goes, but I am about to take over the whole territory. I'm assuming that the game goes beyond that since I haven't unlocked 80% of the level based acheivements.

There sure is not a lot of challenge to the normal skill level. I recommend cranking it up to hard so that you actually stand a chance of being defeated. Also train up your generals quickly and upgrade your weapon smiths if you want to win. It's money well spent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Old...

posted by DeadlyDevi (GRESHAM, OR) May 27, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Well first of all i had fun playing this but it does get old fast. This game is pretty much a hack-and-slash type of game. You go through each level tapping X 100 times and it gets old after around 3 hours of playing. Yes their are combos like X X X X Y but still hack-and-slash. Their are alot of people you can play as anywhere from a girl with a hoop to a guy with bear claws. The levels get old too. Their are 25 levels in the game and if you like gamerscore you will be playing them 5 or 6 times...

On the positive
~The game has a wide variety of things you can do in menus and what not
~Alot of characters
~Anyone can pick this game up and play it

On the negative
~Voice acting is VERY bad
~Same stuff over and over again
~Don't kick into the 360s power and graphics much...

I give it a...6..out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dynasty Warriors 5 Empires

posted by Random1Pie (HOULTON, ME) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Its a good game. But they added very little, the only thing they added was give your officers orders. Besides that its like every other Dynasty Warriors.(VERY REPETITIVE)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EXCELLENT

posted by JellyJugs (GOODYEAR, AZ) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I have always been a fan of the dynasty warriors series and since the very first I have played them non stop. This game is one of the greatest out there with the strategy spin they put on the game. I will recommend this to anyone who loves a good hack and slash or a good strategy game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game if you're into the Dynasty series

posted by jamaal1 (MARINA, CA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I loved it. I have every Dynasty Warriors game though. Its the regular button smash, and the map and conquering of countries is a little weird, and playing on Chaos is ridiculous, but the game is still the fun, hack'em, 1,000 kill series we'd expect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An awesome game

posted by bmfbigshow (COLUMBUS, OH) Aug 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the DW series and empires is just another great game to add to the series. Nothing has changed in the game and thats what makes awesome, why mess with something if it aint broken. The created characters is the best yet. Ive played for 2 weeks now and cant let it go its so addictive. Some people hate it cause its the same old game, but if you like the series as much as i do then get it NOW!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good game

posted by marine (SPOKANE, WA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

well this is a very good game. gameplay is good graphics and everything is fine . except its dynasty warriors. which means it gets very repetitive.
i would recommend renting it but not buying it just seeing how it is a little repetitive. unless of course the price is really cheap like gamefly used games are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Redundant Hack and Slash Fun with sad graphics

posted by GiD3ON (APPLETON, WI) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a 4 simply because its fun. Is it a good game as a whole? not really. Let me explain.

If you enjoy a good hack and slash, this game will be fun for a while because it does offer lots of slashing and smashing as the series does. However that is about the extent of the good qualities.

The graphics are simply some of the worst to date for a 360 game. It could easily be a PS1 game for the graphic quality, and the sound track is also nothing to behold and finally the voice overs and cinematics are some of the worst I have seen in any game period.

The game content is fun but then you realize wait, its the same thing over and over. Each campaign is EXACTLY the same, the same people, the same country, the some provinces, the same tactics the same music the same outfits, the same options, NOTHING changes. Not only that but you don't even get to keep your upgrades from campaign to campaign.

As a whole its a rental at VERY best, but it won't take long until you are bored of the fairly easy, redundant campaign game, without even any eye candy, as a fan of the series, I am thoroughly disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun game that has some problems.

posted by NutMan (EAST PEORIA, IL) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I generally like to follow the rule of only playing 1 or 2 Dynasty Warriors games per console generation because they tend to get old after awhile. Fighting the same battles, the same enemies, and playing the same characters gets really old. The Empires versions of DW keep the game fresh for me. Yeah it's still the same old hack n' slash gameplay, but with the added strategy game that, while extremely simple, gives you a reason to play same old hack n' slash battles that you've been playing since Dynasty Warriors 2.

Basically you're fighting over control of China. You take territories, fight special historic battles(not historically accurate but they did take place), ally with other nations and all that stuff. It's pretty fun in my opinion. The last DW game I played was Dynasty Warriors 4 Empires on the PS2 back in 2004 or 2005. Koei did a good job updating the Empires gameplay. It isn't a revolution, but its an evolution.

While the empires mode has been updated I swear to god that the graphics have not. I can't tell if this is an xbox 360 game or a Ps2 game. I'm guessing this is because the game is a port from Ps2 to 360 and not made for the 360 from the ground up. There might be more characters on screen than normal, but I can't tell. Not that it matters since the AI SUCKS. I mean they REALLLLLLY SUCK. The non-general units are apparently just there to huddle around you in a circle for you to kill. A lot of the time they just stand there and don't attack until after you hit them, and even that doesn't happen sometimes...

If you're looking for a fun and simple hack n slash game with some simple strategy elements then this is for you. But I would not suggest buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same Old Same Old

posted by JThimdit (LEWIS CENTER, OH) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Dynasty Warriors was never a great game. The second sequel to the game (Dynasty Warriors 3) was probably the best improvement to the series. I own it on Playstation 2 and I haded the constant frame rate issues, i hoped that this would be fixed when it came to the 360 but there are still frame rate problems. The graphics are still just as good as the Playstation 2 game and it is more confusing. Yeah this is a terrible game. I thought the co-op play would help up my opinion, it only lowered it for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dynasty Warriors 10?

posted by DigitalSky (OAK PARK, IL) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This is Dynasty warriors 10. I know, I know, it doesn't SAY that, but trust me, it is. With nine Dynasty wrriors games behind it, you'd think Koei could stand to inovate a little bit, but no, it just isn't so. The graphics are only made that much worse by the high def support, because the textures and character models are PATHETIC for what should be on the 360.

The strategy components of this game are poorly done afterthoughts, hardly worthy of being placed in a next gen game.

The half-stategy half-mockery that this game is should be avoided unless you just CAN't stand to be away from your favorite chinese warlords.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STAY AWAY FROM THIS GAME

posted by AABeeR (TAMPA, FL) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

this is the first time i've tried the dynasty warriors series. its got alot of acclaim for being pretty decent so as soon as i got it in the mail i poped it in. now, considering, i've never played i was looking for at least some sort of 1st level guide on how to play. but, i didn't see one. i'm not a manual kinda guy so i didn't look into the manual to learn how to play. i tried it and went through a bunch of BS before i could even try the combat. this game is GARBAGE and one of the worst games i've played in years. i sent it back first day. bleh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A bland port.

posted by chaotix42 (BUFFALO, NY) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

My roommate played this game for a bit, and after watching him for an hour or so I was ready to return it. It wasn't even worth it for the achievements. :(

All in all I'm not sure why this couldn't have been done on the Xbox. It's just a port of a lame PS2 game to fill the thin ranks of 360 titles. Stay away from this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mediocrity at its finest

posted by AntiXryst (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 9, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Premise of this game: mindless hacking. There are strategic elements built in, but overall fruitless. Spend a few bucks between each turn upgrading and you'll sail right through if you are simply looking for achievements. Few days casually or a long day if you're hardcore.

If you are looking for leisure - rent a different game. This one is tedious and unimaginative.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cool Series Gone Bad

posted by JoeFig (GREENSBORO, NC) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well I will just say i have been a fan of the Dynasty Warriors series of game until now. This game used to be fun, you had your pick of up to 50 different characters in all the other games and you got to pick from anyone of them and play a good button mashing/tactical game, but now it has changed. I know they were trying to make the game better by adding all these new features, but in fact it has made this game boring. You now have to fight with who they want you to fight with, and with all the planning and other complicated things you have to do before a mission you would think that it would be more fun its not its boring. With all the changes they made to this game the actual game play has not changed. In my personal opinion if there was anything they should have changed it should have been the game play not the strategy part. Long story short if you were a fan i think this might turn you off these series of games. ooh yea and shouldnt it look awesome on the 360 it doesn't it looks the exact same. Don't waist your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD BAD BAD

posted by eviltrance (STAFFORD, TX) Jul 18, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Bad is all I can say. 5 Minutes... it took me 5 minutes to get the game from the sleeve, put it in my 360, and then put it back in the sleeve because of how bad it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What the Heck?

posted by Fatman (HIGHLAND, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

This game really stinks! It lasts forever, the graphics are mediocre, and the game play is really repetitive and it is really boring. Don't waste your time!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointment

posted by Adamemnon (WILMETTE, IL) May 1, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game really fell short of my expectations. It has pretty bad gameplay and it does not take advantage of all the functions on the controller. It feels like you are playing a game on the sega dreamcast or the ps2. I really don't like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dynasty Warriors 5: Empires BAD!!

posted by vleboy (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game i've ever played in all my years of gaming all of the stages are the same this is a BAD GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This was a really bad game!!!

posted by SavingJunk (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) Jul 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game isn't worth poo in a jar. I totally hated this game. It was just DW 1 through 4 all over again. The game also always bugged out to the point where i couldn't win the battle because I had killed the commander but the game didn't register it. So all I could do was run around and kill little peons over and over again. This game was horrible, don't even rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Horrible

posted by Ashaman (GREENVILLE, KY) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Never played a Dynasty Warrior game before, decided to give the game a shot. Man, I wish I hadn't.

The graphics are not even sub-par, they look like something for the PS2. There aren't even any decent animations.

The sound is horrible as well, some lame guitar just randomly playing in the background. The voice-acting is horrid as well.

First time I tried playing it, I walked out to go attack and a tornado hit me and every time I would get back up it would hit me again. No possible way to move out of it's path, I died. Forced myself to try it again. The fighting is annoying, just a button masher, you can't move the camera so you have no idea what is behind you. Your "army" just stands there and watches 10 guys beat the life out of you. The game play sucks.

So, newcomers just stay away from this game. Maybe the others offer something fun but this one just flat out stinks. Fans of the series may find something they like, but I doubt it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dynasty warriors

posted by ratfaceweasel (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i have loved all the dynasty warriors since i was a kid and playing them with my moms boyfriend and others they have always improved and have been limited by the console you play them on (playstation sucks) this one tops all the others of course i havent played 6 or 7 yet but being able to command each soldier to attack on your command with over 50 or 75 stratagies (cant remember have to play game real quick) theres never a way to play the game the same

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse