Rent Dungeon Siege III for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dungeon Siege III

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

3718 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad but I feel let down

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jul 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

49 out of 55 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I have played all the PC Dungeon Siege games (and Space Siege), so my expectations were probably a bit too high since this is the first version on console. I should have expected some growing pains. I would have been correct.

Story is better than expected for such a Diablo clone. The game is played from 3rd person perspective and the goal is basically to kill a bunch of enemies and loot their stuff for better weapons and armor. That sort of thing can get addictive, but I saw very little change if any at all in what my character looked like when I changed what I was wearing. I like to see some progress as I increase my abilities and equipment. Graphics are low level for this current generation of consoles, but would have been amazing for last gen consoles. Characters lips don't even come close to moving with their speech and their voice acting is just mediocre anyway.

The camera can get annoying at times and some boss battles ramp up the difficulty quite suddenly from "it's easy wiping the floor with 10 enemies at a time" to "Dear God, I just died 3 seconds into that battle!"

I think the game is definitely worth a rental and some might like to own it and replay it using the four different characters available (I much prefer creating my own character, thank you), but I don't think I'm going to be able to finish it even once. It isn't really bad at any point, but it's not really very good either. There is potential though for another DS game, more polished and hopefully more like the DS I grew to love on the PC somewhere down the line. The series looks to be on the verge of becoming an impressive console title, but it's not there yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good story, but a few major downfalls.

posted by CameronMorrison (PERRY, ME) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

The good: This game has a great story, as fantasy-RPG-typical as it may be (you are one of few. at one point you are living a normal life, then you are called upon to save the world from a common enemy, a singular source of evil.)

Also, the graphics are quite impressive. The character models could be more detailed, but the world you explore is rather good looking. Also, there aren't any loading screens as you travel from area to area (although your character may be forced to walk a few feet as the game loads the area you are heading to.)

There is also a good loot&item system, but that's where I head into the negative...

The bad: While the items may be diverse, and are divided by rarity (grey, green, blue, etc.), that's where the praises end. many items have the same skins, and, quite frankly, one of the most rewarding things about great RPGs (Diablo II and Fallout 3, for example), are that you get to watch your hero, over time, go from rags to Super-Suit&Buster Sword. This game does not give you that pleasure.

And one thing the good graphics and story cannot make up for is /gameplay/. You get two fighting stances, each with a default attack and 3 abilities. The problem is, you don't need those abilities unless you play the game on hardcore. If you're careful, you can get through most battles by evading, blocking, and using your primary attack. It all adds up to senseless button-mashing. You may even force yourself to use your special attacks when you don't really have to, just to rid yourself of the monotony.

Also, !!spoiler alert!!, as you set up your team of 4 legionnaires to destroy your common enemy, you don't get the sense that you are creating a team, because you only get one ally to play with at a time, and you'll likely pick one and stick with them.

Overall: The game's good story and graphics are a big plus, but hardcore RPG fans beware. There are many downfalls that may keep you from liking the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Real Decent Action/RPG

posted by trentthedestroy (SENECA, PA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

25 out of 32 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I've been playing action/rpgs for quite a bit of time now, and I can tell you this is one of the better ones out there. The story is ok for this type of game in the genre.
Normally these type of games have a disposable who cares type story, and while Dungeon Seige III's story isn't the best out there it's better than average (for the genre). Dialogue options borrow the Mass Effect conversation wheel that at times you can pick out side quest though most of the time youre just weeding through the options until you get to the meat and potatos of the task at hand.

The action part of this game is great and has some really good ideas to keep action flowing. Two of my favorite concepts they add into the game is no potions and no mana. I've never really enjoyed the potion and mana concept in action/rpgs. It takes me out of the immersion of the game when im constantly stocking up on the various strength vials and running from a fight and popping these drinks like a homeless drunkard. Instead, they use defensive abilities to take the place of potions and a focus bar instead of mana. The defensive abilities run along the lines of damage reduction and heals over time. Each one of these abilites can be augmented to increase the benfit of the reduction or heal.
The focus bar depletes as you use abilites and normal basic attacks fill the bar up. Each character has 2 different combat stances that have access to different skills based on your current stance, for example, Lucas (the warrior class) has sword and shield stance which has access to a shield bash and charge ability as well as a two handed sword stance which allows him to use sweeping attacks and a cleave blast type of attack.

The RPG part of it is a little limited but each ability the classes have are augmentable and there is a talent "tree" on top of the augmentable abilities. All in all if you like action/rpgs this is definetly one of the better entries into the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by Prophets (FORT CAMPBELL, KY) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Graphics were horrible, story line seemed good but, I couldn't play it long enough to really tell because the mechanics of the game annoyed me to much to continue playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Single-System Co-Opers BEWARE!

posted by Fellwarre (CARSON CITY, NV) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

My wife and I have always been a fan of multiplayer, top-down 'hack and slash' games, from old school Baldur's Gate, to Champions of Norrath, and so forth. We were VERY excited about Dungeon Siege III.

To begin with, the game seems as if it was not REALLY intended to be multiplayer. The story is such that, even though you're meant to have an NPC 'Companion,' it's pretty obvious the secondary character is very, very secondary. They hardly have any acknowledgement in the game at all.

This is also true in showing that you have a shared 'gold' bank. This is great because it eliminates some of the marital stresses involved in the many, 'WOULD YOU STOP GRABBING ALL THE LOOT' arguments ;) However, I can't say with 100% accuracy that it's all involved in 'luck,' but it seems that when you get the big, fat quest rewards, they're all tailored to the first player. In the game, 'Gold' items are the best. By the time we just quit playing in frustration, I had 6 gold items, my wife had two, and those two she bought at merchants. This did not promote marital bliss in our household.

Then, there's the actual gameplay. During single-player mode, you have some control over the 'zoom' of the camera. In multi-player mode, you have no control over the zoom. This isn't usually an issue, but during many points of the game, the action on the screen is SO busy that it's easy to literally lose where your character is at. Additionally, if your characters are 'too far apart,' the game will teleport player 2 to player 1, which doesn't help the 'losing track of where your character is.'

And bugs. So many bugs. We would save the game with my wife (2ndary character) at full health, and load at half health. The screen would 'spin' automatically until we manually corrected it. All in all, the game lacks the type of polish you'd expect with a major-brand release, when there are $10 and $20 downloadable games with better quality control and better gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice change of pace.

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) Jun 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2010

17 out of 28 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

This is a solid hack n slash/rpg type game with some nice items and story line too.
Very nice graphics smooth gameplay it doesn't even slow down when you have 10 plus creatures on the screen wich is nice and it has some replay value since there are 4 different characters to choose from.

Online mode is Blahhh just cause i hate waiting on people to follow me i rather just go and do stuff and if you want to join me feel free but when your standing around impeeding me from progressing your gonna get kicked.

The abilities for the mage wich is what im playing now is very nice he gets some real good spells.

Definetly a rental maybe a buy if you enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

3rd times a failure...

posted by davhar311 (CONWAY, AR) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The first two Dungeon Siege games were great games for their time. I played Dungeon Siege II to fill my RPG needs and to stay away from WoW, and it worked. Dungeon Siege III however, is a complete failure when compared to I and II. Probably doesn't deserve the 3 rating I gave it, but when compared to the first two, I could have given it a 1. Quick review of why I feel the game is so bad. Solo questing can be hard because of no true healing ability which leaves you relying on AI revives or reloading. No character creation, and every time you join someone elses game you have to use a different character with different, if any, gear. If you make your game open to the public, players can join your game and blow your gold! If you have something better to play, play that game instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must. Find. More. Loot.

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jun 23, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This was an almost perfect RPG/action adventure for me, and I thought Obsidion and Square killed this game! They created a seamless, loading-screenless, loot finding, cave exploring, amazing hack n slash magic using RPG adventurer. Things you've HATED in most RPGs were eliminated or fixed here, so I couldn't stop playing. The online co-op is a huge bonus, being able to gather a squad and rip through levels together, collecting tons of loot and treasure.

You'll have the option of playing as sword using melee button masher legionnaire, a mage who casts magic, a girl who only uses guns, and one to can shoot fire and stuff. Magic and moves vary, but there is enough familiarity between the 4 that you can flow into player transitions. You can only control your guy, and 1 other AI member fights alongside automatically. You can swap out that 1 for another at any time.

Some amazing aspects to the game are practically ZERO loading screens. There is seamless transition from one place to the next. Whether you're going from a city into a building or a road into a cavern, it's so nice to see no loading. Thank you!!! Also, managing inventory and spells was not a constant struggle like a Mass Effect, Dragon Age, or Fallout type. They also don't bog you down with 100 different level-up paths to choose, or spells/abilities to use. It was also very easy to manage quests and see where you needed to go.

But basically you'll explore this world from the aerial view behind to allow for tons of treasure hunting and loot collecting--a huge part of the game is upgrading equipment, which makes it very addicting. Even the way the treasure flies out of the chests was just cool. The combination of melee and magic was just right, but there were also sidequests to complete if you wanted to level up quicker. Sidequests were also not errand boy stuff over and over. I highly recommend renting or buying Dungeon Siege 3.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Nice change of pace

posted by Bmoney1508 (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

17 out of 29 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Game is def a hack and slash at best, the visuals are very nice as well as the story line! Lots of weapon and armor choices which makes the game more interesting for me cause i want to see the next possible set or damage i put out with the next sword i find. I also gave it a 10 because im sure there will be alot of haters out there that rate it a 1-5 beacuse they are not fans of this game type id give it a 8.5 only flaw to me is the camera view other then that game is pretty darn good if you want to check it out before renting its on the xbox live demo market its def worth a rent not sure replay value just yet enjoy ...my first review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth playing.

posted by wyldcard (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I have played every ds. And this game was nothing like the others.
The others were loot based rpgs, square took this game and made it story driven, and completely ruined it for me, the camera angles sucked. the fact you can control 1 guy only, and only have 2 ppl in your party goes completely against previous versions.

One of my favorite things was finiding crystal armor back in ds1, putting it on and seeing what it looked like. Characters are very boring in this game.

You have almost no skills to learn, if you want an rpg for a dumb person who just wants to be told a story, this is the one for you. This review may be harsh, but that just tells you how disappointed I was with the game, it is trash. It is so bad that in 18 years of gaming, this is the first review I have ever posted for a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average Linear system launch type RPG

posted by ozzman1327 (HAYDEN, ID) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be the most linear dungeon crawler i have ever played. The graphics are kind of simplistic not terrible but not very detailed. Im pretty sure the equipment on Champions of Norath still has more detail and variety. I dont like the fact that you cant see your character in the equipment screen, if Im going to be gathering loot at least let me see it up close. Basically the loot is just as average as the game, there are a handful of models that they color different or give it a random magic enhancement. About 90% of the stuff you pick up is completely useless anyway.

Story ok, choices are kind of neat and different for this type of game but I hate the pointless retracing of your steps over and over ever heard of a gate scroll it worked for a lot of really good games. Instead we get a teleport system which on functions in a linear manor in keeping with the linear story.

Incorporating companions is a neat twist, only problem is the game is so short you will never get them to their full potential pick one and roll with him/her. They are at least some of the more skilled AI help Ive seen.

All that being said I dont know what the trend of Next Gen games being so short is all about budget maybe? But seriously you can get more play time out of much older games on outdated systems. If you dont pick this one up you wont miss much and if you do get it you wont get much out of it thats why it gets a 5 nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dungeon Siege Let Down

posted by SEC9_SpiderC (CHICO, CA) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I am giving this game such a low score because I got it specifically for the multiplayer. When I joined my friends game the view instantly went to directly over-head; which made our rage weapons useless because we could not see the enemies until they were right up on us. And a further annoyance was that we could not separate; the characters were forced to stay close enough to be on the same screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great but...

posted by Caleb_Mac (SAN MARCOS, TX) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game and thought it could have been great. However, I thought that it was far too short seeing how I beat the game in under 11 hours first time through doing all the side quests on normal. That being said, I still think its a must rent for a few solid hours of entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enter the Magical World of Dungeon Siege III

posted by CanadianVandal (SPRING, TX) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Enter the Magical World of Dungeon Siege III. IGN's review severely underrated this game. Sure the game isn't as epic as Oblivion but it's still a magical experience. This is a game you can play for hours and get lost in time. Developers don't release their blockbusters during summer, and for a summer release I say this game is a solid release. If your looking for a new RPG I highly recommend you rent this game! This is one of the best games released during the summer of 2011.

---Pros---
Voice Acting
Story Line
Graphics

---Cons---
Multiplayer Dynamics
Camera Angles
Character Customization

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Inotak (BRISTOL, VA) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played Dungeon Siege 2. This game is as if its creators didn't even try to live up to its predecessor. The camera angle and gameplay were terrible. This game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

An RPG without a map

posted by Tony208 (FLUSHING, NY) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Other than the minimap on the top of the screen, there is no world map for you to view and check if you're going in the right direction. Completely unacceptable for an RPG not to have a world map.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bleh

posted by BigV1027 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Couldn't even get myself to play for more than an hour. May just be that I wasn't feeling the whole "involved RPG" thing, but whatever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by Twitchside2 (LAYTON, UT) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Boring, Boring, Boring..... Not sure how I got through one play. The loot is boring. The combat is boring. Even leveling up skills, abilities, etc. is boring as well. Story is boring. Graphics are not good for this late in current console market. Just a boring game overall. I simply could not force myself to play through this a second time even if someone had a gun to my head. I'd rather take the bullet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hard

posted by Jerry (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I may not be the best RPG player, but why do they have to overwhelm players with enemys. I can't even get past the first boss fight, Vera and I'm playing on casual. No fun getting killed 50 times in a row trying to kill her. It just should'nt be that hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good

posted by vargoth (LUSBY, MD) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The combat system in this game was very slow, and sluggish feeling. I was expecting it to be similar to diablo, and it clearly was not. The camera angles were weird at times, and made it a little difficult to navigate through. I played the game for roughly about 2 hours or so, and repackaged it, and sent it back to get a different game. I very rarely do not finish a game, and this one was just frustrating to me. Even the leveling system was sub-par. They maybe could have put a character creation option in the game, but that probably would not have been good either. Not that I am a game reviewer by any means, but i would definitely not recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth it

posted by DynamiteK (MADISON, WI) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I put this into my queue thinking it would be a fun Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance 2 type co-op game to play with my girlfriend, but it is boring and mediocre. Shipping got screwed up on this one so Gamefly had to send another, both arrived on the same day (about 2 weeks too late) and now I've been waiting about 3 weeks just to receive another game. I don't blame Dungeon Siege 3 for the slow shipping but if the game would have sucked less I wouldn't have minded quite as much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring!!

posted by ckoehler45 (LA MARQUE, TX) Sep 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Combat consists of hitting the "a" button. Game play is sluggish and boring. I've played games similar to this one on the PS2 that had better graphics and game play. Expected much better from Square Enix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A dissapointment to the series

posted by Aenema139 (FERNLEY, NV) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The first Dungeon Siege was amazing. Just all the different loot, different options for your party and skills/spells/weapons. Dungeon Siege 2 was pretty good as well but then they released this aweful game. i half expected it to be not as good as the others because it was for consoles but i didnt expect this. If you like fable youll like this game but im not a fan of fable so i dont like it. i like the point and click games because the loot and lenth of the game is way more interesting than games like fable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok for rental

posted by trueblue72 (HORN LAKE, MS) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to this after watching vids,what i got was a avarage rpg with limited replay value i say that since 90% or the loot is useless and just takes up inventory. the story isnt bad the best part is the ending when you get to see how your choices affect the rest of the world,very much like dragon age origins but much longer and better done,it a good rental but playing with friends is fun for a day till you beat in 10-12 hours then it loses it luster.some of the boss fights are flustrating and difficult i have 32 inch tv and i was having trouble moving around with 20 enemys rushing at me as well as the boss trying to kill me in different way(wont say how incase you want to finish it)also not sure if its a dungeon siege thing or not but having 3 teammates and only using one at a time sucked(if you wanted to max out their loyalty you had to use them whole game you could not switch)lacked alot of things you find in most rpg(limited inventory,spells,weapons,talents)save your money and rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ugh

posted by Sundrop79 (KANNAPOLIS, NC) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Story was sub-par, characters were sub-par. Voice acting was average, as were the graphics. Camera control was lacking. Overall this game was very disappointing. Expected better from Square Enix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse