Rent Dungeon Siege III for PS3
view large frontback

Dungeon Siege III

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.2

2308 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game but very dated

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Aug 16, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

By all rights this is a fun well done game, but it comes off as so dated and lacks any real surprise. If you are a young player new to RPGs, this is a good transition into that genre. Anyone that grew up from 90s on, will have some nostalgia but that's about it. Again good but doesn't stand well with current decade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I demand more from obsidian and Enix

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Ok, from the people that make FF. And the ones that made Neverwinter Nights, I expected more. Way more. You know what, you all should to. Obsidian set a standard on game play. Square Enix captured my imagination from FF to Illusion of Gaia. This is NOT a comparison. These are standards that two industry giants have set the bar for others to emulate or seize for themselves. Dungeon Siege Three did not do that for me.
Don't get me wrong, there are some good things here just not enough. It seems like a cookie cutter of Diablo just updated graphics and an original story. Thats ok as long as it works. I was looking for more of a sandbox style of game with not such a linear path to progress.
I enjoyed the story. Original, not stellar, but memorable. Characters are solid each with their own background and their own fighting style, scratch that, they add their own personality.
Graphics are good and at times beautiful. From character models, to backgrounds, to the environments. Effort is there in abundance.
Sound Fx are ok. Voice acting decent. Nothing stand out but it gets the job done.
Game play. I'm on the fence here. The title is fun and as your character gets stronger and more powerful you do get more out of the game play. However, when it gets to the latter of the title. It does get redundant and boring. Thats where you need to get to the online co op. It feels better and more refreshing when your doing your thing and others are as well at the same time. Whether when your completing random quests or the more rewarding aspect, when your taking down bosses. It does serve the title better when you play with friends.
Overall, yes its an ok title. Yes, there is decent entertainment here. However, this is my review and I say this should have been better. If EA and Obsidian can do Dragon Age and Mass Effect. Square Enix who have made their empire in this genre and Obsidian, should be able to do better. Way better. Thanks for your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So-So

posted by Ashliea (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Jan 25, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Pros: Liked the concept of the game and character build ups.
Cons: Too far away viewing on the screen and some of the voices are sounding like a computer voice simulator.

All in all if you haven't played many games it might interest you but after playing games like skyrim, dragon age, etc. I guess i want more out of a game. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good Idea But Lacking

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Dec 11, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

This game immediately pulled me and I hold a high place in my heart for RPG's so I was excited for this game. My feelings for this game after less than 5 hours of playing were dull and boring. This game has very few pros and many cons.

Pros: This game has remarkable graphics in both landscape and character design with a few frame rate drops and awkward movements. This game is completely open world with maybe one or 2 loading screens making it easy to go back and forth across the map. Your decisions in both main quests and side quests actually matter making you feel important.

Cons: 90% of the game is combat which is fine but with a 10 hour campaign it becomes very repetitive since you will be mashing buttons over and over again. Decisions never felt difficult to make, you are almost never left with a decision that could potentially change everything or affect your feelings. I felt no reason to play as a different character since the story is exactly the same except the opening movie. Teammate AI does not respond quick enough when you are down, constantly I watched my teammate stand near my dead body fighting enemies that were not even blocking my body. The leveling up system is terrible and pointless since the enemies level up with you. The ending was too abrupt and did not make any sense and was clearly left for a Dungeon Siege 4.

I would not recommend this game to anyone, unless you like boring RPG's with repetitive combat making it feel more like an action adventure game. I still have a fairly long list of cons but most of which just make me mad not really a lot of other people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dungeon Seige III

posted by sportsgamessuck (HUDSON, WI) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Having never played DS1 or 2, I thought it looked fun anyhow and wanted to give it a shot. I like hack and slash games, the plot was decent. The game was fun but a little long winded, after about 8 hours of the same combat format it got kind of boring. The weapons system leaves something to be desired, I took a long ranged rifle character and when you change out for a new gun the only apparent difference is a different coloured aura on the end of it even on a 60" 1080p Sharp Aqous. All the weapons looked like an old musket. Towards the very end of the game I got a few pieces of cool looking armour for my side kick, but it would have been nice to see a little variety on the way each weapon looks. I would also like to add it was nice that your different decisions in dialogue actually do effect the story. At several points in the game you get to decide wether you wish to show mercy or slaughter some one and how you are perceived by many depends on the choices you make. Also there is a system for your side kicks called "influence" where if your side kick likes your decisions you gain influence on the, but it doesnt seem to count for much of anything. Also I would have liked the ability to pilot my side kick rather then have the AI drive them. The guy with swords is a dunce, constantly reverts to one-handed stance even when he has been given a really good two-handed weapon and all of his two-handed proficiencies have been leveled up. Anyhow I would reccomend the game to others, just know that a playthrough will probably take you a minimum of 10 hours if you skip all the extra exploring etc. If you dont I think my total time was some where closer to 14 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Warning

posted by Sarasota_Don (SARASOTA, FL) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

any game that on the lowest difficulty settings ( the one that says not much chance of dying) then pits you in one of the first quests against things 5 to 6 times more powerful then you should be avoided. I feel cheated out of an hour of my life from playing this.
Do not waste your time with this game. It would be far better spent sending a nasty letter to the programmers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good two player game

posted by jdel1972 (KENNER, LA) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

good two player with an average story line. worth renting if there's someone to play with you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I've played the previous games. . .

posted by Dnario (VACAVILLE, CA) Sep 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

And I felt that this one lived up to them story-wise, but game play was a little bland. The characters felt interactive and well developed, and each one had a unique personality and skill set. But, I felt that it had no replay value because of the simple game play, even though each character would have a different twist on the story line and there were several options you could chose and major plot areas.
Overall, I did have fun with my first play through, but when I tried playing it as a different main character, I just couldn't get through the first area.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, addicting, but missing something

posted by Xterriorate134 (BOGART, GA) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I went into dungeon siege 3 never playing eny of its previous titles not knowing besides its name. I can say i came out with a smile on my face saying that last 20 to 30 hours i spent on it wasn't wasted. The game itself looks great and dialogue functions like mass effect but the combat i felt was lacking. I played as lucas or the swordsman class. He has two options for combat. Thefirst is sword and shield which is extrmeley weak and lacking. The other is two handed which i found more satisfying hitting more enemies and dealing massive damage. There is also magic abilities in the game and i know there are two characters based around it as well. The story i also felt was lacking it was cool but only enough to keep into it just till the end but to make up for its story there are tons of sidequests that litter the game. Though its not very replayable dungeon siege 3 is something that will keep you addicted until the end if you can pass its short comings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cooler than people give it credit for.

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

This game didn't seem to have the best reviews, but all in all I thought it was pretty good. I like the ability to change the influence of other characters in the game based on what decisions you choose to make in various situations.
The graphics and gameplay are decent, though there were a few times when I would die from being overwhelmed by enemies that do a lot of damage. But I learned quickly to dodge or block incoming attacks, and counter with a couple quick swipes of the sword.

The items were decent, and there was some variety to be had. There are no healing items or anything like that, which made some battles difficult. If you die in combat, your AI partner will bring you back to life; you'll have to get used to healing yourself through abilities and use a vampire drain weapon to replenish health.

I had a good time playing it, and though it was a very short game with not a whole lot of missions or side-quests, it has relatively decent replay value.
Worth a rent, or a cheap purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

glitchy

posted by mars2thunder (NEWARK, DE) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

restarted game 5 times after recieving and kept getting stuck in the same place of the story... same problem, a blank screen for hours and nothing more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst RPG/Dungeon Crawler I have ever played

posted by burstshot23 (PERRY, MI) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The title speaks for itself. What it doesn't say is how disappointed I was when i played this game. When the commercials for it first started playing, I was really excited. But when I got my hands on it and played for 10 minutes, that excitement turned into disappointment. This game is an embarrassment to RPG/dungeon crawler fans worldwide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a Rental

posted by xdaydreamerx11 (ERIE, PA) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Graphics were acceptable, gameplay was fun until it fell flat about 12 hours in, story was amusing but didn't keep me drawn in.

However, after playing and getting stumped a couple times and trying the multiplayer I began to feel like this was a typical type dungeon based game. I felt the more I played the story didn't seem to progress enough. Playing multiplayer was frustrating when playing with random people, and couldn't get my own stuff done unless I left - which was confusing whether I might lose my progress or not.

I am a big SE fan, and expected more abilities or choices - it was missing SOMETHING. The graphics were blah after a while and I never attached myself to the characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Been there, done that

posted by cablenajun (ALVIN, TX) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Nothing about Dungeon Seige III could keep me from remembering the painfuly stagnant style of gameplay present in older video games of this genre, such as the Playstation 2 hit Champions of Norath or Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance. Gameplay gets a 1/5 due to lack of originality and repetitive combat styles.
The fact that the characters are non customizable and class locked doesn't help either. Miscellaneous Attributes gets a 1/5 for that.
The graphics are nothing like what I expected from the trailer, but they are not far off. Visuals gets a 3/5.
Another redeeming quality would have to be the voice acting; while it doesn't always match up with the character's mouth movements, the pitch and tone of the voice acting itself is spot on for the various situations that arise. Dialogue gets a 4/5.
The music for the game was weak to the point of almost non-existence, so Music and Sound gets a 1/5.
There are many other things about this game that just irk me, but I'll let Dungeon Seige III limp off for now. All in all, not worth buying, but rent to your hearts content if you wish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply amazing!!!

posted by Jmac1928 (WHITTIER, CA) May 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

let me just say that if your the kind of gammer that has no life and sits in front of a tv or computer screen all day and nit picks at everything that does not please you about a game then this is not the game for you.......HOWEVER if your like me and video gamming is a hobbie not your life then u will simply love this game as i did. I relativly found nothing wrong with this game, solid story, different and unique characters, and decisions you make in the game change the story, everything you would expect from an action rpg. only down side is the game was kinda short but that also made for a good thing because it made me want to play again and again to see what i could change and use each character. Leveling up is great because no matter what you get every abillity at the end it just your decision when you get it which i thought was awesome. lots and LOTS of loot with no stupid slowing effect cause you have too much. now idk about the xbox but im sure its the same but i love how there was no loading times virtually anywhere in the game, saveing took 5 seconds, no load time when entering new places, and even starting a saved game took all but 1 min max. all in all great game i strongly recommend this game to everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Underestimate this ONE

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

Just because few people have heard of this game doesn't mean it isn't worth playing...a great upgrade system, 3 others helpers you can switch between, and tons of weapons and armor make this an excellent choice for anyone who loves "dungeon crawlers". If you are a fan of Baldur's Gate, Champions of Norrath, and even Oblivion games don't miss the chance to play an under-rated gem. Fun and very epic, with side quests and cool characters are definitely a plus. Give it a chance!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

copy cat

posted by dasking (ERIE, PA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

it's almost a copy exact copy of lord of the rings war in the north but camera is to far off i think this game wouldv'e been better as a first or a second person view but not a 3rd

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful or worst than that

posted by AWESOMEX (SALAMANCA, NY) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

If youve played skyrim and got that felling like you needed more games like that then this is definitly not your game reasons why? shure

1. you have a set character dont get to create your own
2.the screen is always aiming down on you you can zoom in but it dosent really help
3.combat blows attack enemys they wont even flinch sometimes

this is why i hate it
my reason=its just misleading bye the way it looks and how kewl it seems in reality it sucks :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dungeon Siege 3

posted by big_red_5342 (KENOSHA, WI) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game is really good i like how u have a quest tracker, can equip gear and have an ally in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DS 3 Game Tag

posted by gamer135 (MINNETONKA, MN) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

It's understandable how people wouldn't like this game. there are a couple of elements i don't like. i'm just going to say this right off the bat: this game is essentially Dragon Age, but with no blood, and less options. if you are a younger gamer or a player thats new to the ERPG genre, then this game should definitely be on your que, if it's not on your shelf already. this game is severely underpriced, and underrated. don't turn your nose just because it's rating isn't the best. this game, in my experience, is one of the better RPGs out there. the one thing I would say is that skillmaping and controls in general could've been better thought out. other than that, it's a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WACK GRAPHICS & STORY

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

This game is so wack only played 1 hour and was hoping the story get better but it did not boring game i ever play & im a fan of rpg but just gave up on this game combat is lame & cam is so wack while at times i could not see my guy got mad & took game out & sent it back fast =( don't rent or buy this lame game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by Dragonox97 (SANTA MONICA, CA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game has a great storyline and great gameplay the only thing I kind of don't like about this game is the controls and the way the camera is, but besides that great game and really fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't know why but I like it.

posted by Ml33tninja (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

like the title states it made me enjoy it and the coop if pretty fun at times. Sure its not worth anywhere near $60 dollars but it was worth the 13 buck I put down to buy it. The sharing of the screen when playing coop it a big problem at times. But playing four player coop has been a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than expected, but still too much running

posted by drwebmonke (JACKSONVILLE BEACH, FL) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

A good adventure that turns into a button masher at times.

Fun, but too much running around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Local/online co-op only

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

First off the graphics will not catch your attention. Nor will the endless, repetitive, linear story and missions. What will get you attached to this game will be the amount of fun playing with others. When all characters are being used by other players something familiar happens, something fun. Then it goes away when you start on the story, and hear the voice acting. However the sound graphics did tend to dull out the pain of watching what happens on screen. Then the action dies down, and your left pointlessly replying, to pointless questions. To top off this disaster that does get people playing together, save this game for someone else to rent or buy. Then, if your their friend, go over and play a few minutes to show your support of your friends awful decision. Then, look them straight faced and say, "it was a fun game to play together... wanna play battlefield 3? Im goin home and logging on, Ill send you an invite. Whats that? You spent your $60 on DSIII. Go and trade it in with some others and see if you have enough to get BF3."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse